Bill Kouélany

1965 | Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo
Informations

Congolese visual artist.

In the late 1980s, after turbulent teenage years marked by vulnerability and rebellion, Bill Kouélany sought paths to newly found freedom. This was the start of an artistic life punctuated by writing, with pioneering plays such as Cafard, cafarde, which she read in Paris in 2003, and Peut-être (2007), created in collaboration with Jean-Paul Delore. Her written pieces are imbued with the works of Tchicaya U Tam’si, a tormented and highly sensitive writer that she also featured in her first canvases. B. Kouélany’s painting is self-taught and autobiographical. It is marked by the Congolese Civil War and, beyond its sociopolitical commitment, it also conveys the artist’s personal struggles. The bodies she depicts in her canvases, which she cuts and roughly sews back together, as if they were part of a therapeutic process, are representations of her own body and express an impossible healing.
Her radical, formal and committed painting shows naked bodies, suffering faces and skeletons – the results of self-criticism tormented by the desire to explore what hurts, to delve deeper and to confront pathos. It is this intimate struggle that makes her work stand out on an international level; first in 2001 during the residency programme of the Doual’Art urban workshops in Cameroon, then in 2002 in the off section of the Dak’Art Biennale with the “Creators of Central Africa”, and in 2006 on the occasion of the seventh edition of Dak’Art. In 2004 she was an artist in residence in Nantes and took part in the exhibition Beautés d’Afrique. Two years later she was awarded the Prix de la Francophonie and Prix Montalvo Arts Center at the Dak’Art Biennale.

In 2007 B. Kouélany was the first sub-Saharan African woman to exhibit at Documenta in Kassel. She presented her largest piece to date: a paper maché wall with excerpts of texts from several international newspapers and warped videos of her face, in which she expresses, as a mother and daughter, her empathy toward the Congolese people. The artist considers this wall, which is dominated by wars, cataclysms and chaos, as her own body. It is a conduit through which she can speak of what she feels in her flesh everyday.

Since 2012 B. Kouélany has served as artistic director of the contemporary art centre Les Ateliers Sahm, the foundation of which is perhaps one of her greatest achievements. This multidisciplinary centre, a one-of-a-kind initiative in the Republic of the Congo, is devoted to supporting young artists from the country and the rest of the African continent. In 2018 her efforts in support of Congolese culture, her excellence and the innovative nature of her undertakings earned her the title of Officer of Arts and Letters, awarded by the French Ministry of Culture. She was also a recipient of the Prince Claus Prize in the Netherlands in 2019. B. Kouélany is an influential woman artist who is seen as a model by young creators in the Republic of the Congo and around the world. She pays close attention to new talents, encouraging them and giving them the tools and courage to maintain their aspirations of becoming great artists. Her unequalled charm and incomparably sharp eye make her a mentor who has left her mark on several generations. In addition to her work at the art centre, she continues to create art: in 201, she took part in the exhibition Prête-moi ton rêve in Morocco, which featured some of the greatest African painters and will travel to several other countries on the continent.

Read more

Pierre-Mans

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in the framework of the Season Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2008, acrylic, charcoal and couture on canvas, 180 x 200 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2014, acrylic, stitching and collage of papier-mâché on canvas, 120×120 cm,  © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, papier-mâché and couture on canvas, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, papier-mâché, acrylic, charcoal, red chalk and couture on canvas, 194 x 85 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, série de 7 toiles, papier-mâché, acrylic, charcoal, red chalk and couture on canvas, 194 x 85 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, papier-mâché and acrylic on canvas, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, acrylic, couture and cloth and plastic bags collage on canvas, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2002, acrylic, couture and collage on canvas, 100 x 100 cm and 15 x 15 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2002, acrylic, collage and stitching on canvas, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2002, acrylic and collage on canvas, 100 x 200 cm, 100 x 200 cm,  © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre (Tryptique), 2007, papier-mâché, acrylic, charcoal and couture on canvas, 200 x 150 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Bill Kouélany

1965 | Brazzaville, Congo
Informations

Plasticienne congolaise.

C’est dans les années 1980, au sortir d’une adolescence mouvementée oscillant entre fragilité et rébellion, que Bill Kouélany cherche un ailleurs, une liberté nouvelle. S’annonce alors le début d’une vie artistique ponctuée par l’écriture, avec des pièces phares comme Cafard, cafarde, lue à Paris en 2003, et Peut-être (2007) en collaboration avec Jean-Paul Delore. Son œuvre écrite est empreinte de celle de Tchicaya U Tam’si, auteur écorché, à la sensibilité exacerbée, qu’elle figure dans ses premiers tableaux. Les peintures de B. Kouélany, artiste autodidacte, sont autobiographiques ; elles sont marquées par la guerre civile du Congo, mais, au-delà de cet engagement sociopolitique, c’est un combat personnel que mène l’artiste. Les corps qu’elle représente dans ses toiles qu’elle incise et recoud maladroitement, comme s’il s’agissait d’un essai thérapeutique, sont son propre corps. Ils expriment une impossible guérison.
Sa peinture, radicale, formelle et engagée, exhibe des corps nus, des têtes en souffrance, des squelettes, résultat d’une autocritique tourmentée par le désir d’explorer ce qui fait mal, d’aller au fond des choses, de se confronter au pathos. C’est dans cette lutte intime qu’elle se distingue à l’échelle internationale. D’abord en 2001 lors de sa résidence de création aux ateliers urbains de Doual’Art au Cameroun, puis en 2002 dans le off de la biennale Dak’Art, avec les Créateurs de l’Afrique centrale, et encore en 2006 à l’occasion de la septième édition de Dak’Art. En 2004, elle entre en résidence de création à Nantes et participe à l’exposition Beautés d’Afrique. Deux ans plus tard, elle reçoit le prix de la Francophonie et le prix Montalvo Arts Center lors de la biennale Dak’Art.

En 2007, B. Kouélany est la première femme d’Afrique subsaharienne à exposer à la documenta de Cassel. Elle y présente la plus grande œuvre qu’elle ait jamais réalisée : un mur constitué de papier mâché, de fragments de textes de plusieurs journaux internationaux, ainsi que de vidéos de son visage déformé, où elle témoigne, en tant que mère et en tant que fille, de son empathie pour les Congolais·e·s. L’artiste considère ce mur où dominent les guerres, où se lisent le cataclysme et le chaos comme son propre corps. Il est un viatique qui lui permet de parler de ce qu’elle vit quotidiennement dans sa chair.

Depuis 2012, B. Kouélany est la directrice artistique du centre d’art contemporain Les Ateliers Sahm, dont la fondation est certainement sa plus belle réussite. Ce centre à portée pluridisciplinaire, unique au Congo, est consacré à la promotion des jeunes artistes du pays et plus largement du continent africain. C’est notamment grâce à son action pour la culture congolaise, pour son excellence et pour le caractère novateur de ses entreprises qu’en 2018 B. Kouélany est promue officière des Arts et des Lettres par le ministère français de la Culture, puis qu’en 2019 elle est l’une des lauréates du prix Prince Claus aux Pays-Bas. Femme influente, elle est un modèle pour les jeunes créateurs et créatrices congolais·e·s et du monde entier. Attentive, elle détecte les talents, les stimule, et leur donne les outils et le courage nécessaires pour nourrir leur espoir de devenir de grand·e·s artistes. Le charme inégalable, le regard aiguisé et incomparable de B. Kouélany font d’elle un mentor qui ne cesse de marquer des générations. Parallèlement, elle poursuit sa carrière personnelle : en 2019, elle participe au Maroc à l’exposition Prête-moi ton rêve, qui réunit les plus grand·e·s peintres africain·e·s et qui se veut itinérante dans plusieurs pays du continent.

Lire plus

Pierre-Mans

Publication réalisée dans le cadre de la Saison Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2008, acrylique, fusain et papier mâché sur toile, 180 x 200 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2014, acrylique, couture et collage de papier mâché sur toile, 120×120 cm,  © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, papier mâché et couture sur toile, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, papier-maché, acrylique, fusain, sanguine et couture sur toile, 194 x 85 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, série de 7 toiles, papier-maché, acrylique, fusain, sanguine et couture sur toile, 194 x 85 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2007, papier mâché et acrylique sur toile, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, acrylique, couture et collage de tissus et sac en plastique sur toile, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2002, acrylique, couture et collage sur toile, 100 x 100 cm et 15 x 15 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2002, acrylique, collage et couture sur toile, 102 x 165 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre, 2002, acrylique et collage sur toile, 100 x 200 cm,  © Bill Kouelany

Bill Kouélany — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Bill Kouélany, Sans Titre (Tryptique), 2007, papier mâché, acrylique, fusain et couture sur toile, 200 x 150 cm, © Bill Kouelany

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29