Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Camille Claudel

1864Fère-en-Tardenois, France | 1943Montdevergues, France
Informations

French sculptress.

It was with neither teacher nor model that Camille Claudel started working clay —(lost) figures of illustrious characters, a sketch of a David and Goliath made when she was 12 or 13. In 1881, her family moved to Paris. The following year, the artist produced the bust of La Vieille Hélène, marking the end of her period of apprenticeship. She was then 17, taking classes at the Colarossi Academy, and moving into her first studio. Alfred Boucher, a sculptor from Nogent-sur-Seine, kept an eye on how her works were progressing, but when he decided to go to Italy, he asked Auguste Rodin to take his place. The sculptress attended Rodin’s studio—that was the time when La Porte de l’Enfer [The Gates of Hell] was being created (1880-circa 1890)—and swiftly became his associate, confidante, and alter ego. Their works influenced each other and merged. In the spring of 1886, their relations grew very tense, and she fled to England. On her return, Rodin drew up and signed a paper in which he undertook to be her patron, and marry her. They worked just a few feet from one another. La Valse [The Waltz] (1889-1905), which sensually expresses the intoxication of love, with bodies swept away until they lose their balance, embarked Claudel on the road to fame. She tried to obtain a State commission for its production in marble, but had to alter the composition and clothe its dancers; her new version, produced in 1892, was eventually championed by the inspector of fine arts, Armand Dayot; the order was never actually signed, but the work was cast in bronze and exhibited in 1893, much admired as a masterpiece in harmony with the Symbolist spirit and Art Nouveau.

But there was a famous Valse, and a sad Valse; while it brought her recognition, her life was suddenly shattered: 1893 was in fact the year when she broke up with Rodin. She then created Clotho, Fate entwined amid the snakes of her hair, an old lady with a broken body and a morbid grin. Then began the lengthy genesis of her first State commission: L’Âge mûr (1894-1900), a figure of a man split between an elderly woman holding him up, and a young woman, imploring him—this latter figure, re-used on its own, would become L’Implorante (1893-1897). The sculpture spoke for itself: Rodin had given up any idea of leaving Rose Beuret, his partner of thirty years, and went to live with her in Bellevue. Over and above the pain in which it is steeped, the work reveals the sculptress’s artistic independence. As the outcome of so much work and isolation, and the evocation of so much suffering, L’Age mûr marked the artist’s entry into a time of despair. It was nevertheless in that period that she came up with her most original works, the “croquis d’après nature” [sketches from nature] (1893-1905), precious, small-format works, combining bronze, stone and marble onyx. The first of them were snapshots of life, but the ensuing works focused on the chasms of thought and solitude. In 1899, Claudel set up home at No. 19, quai Bourbon; there now took root in her, little by little, a sense of persecution, and the fear that her work would be plundered—by Rodin, from whom it had been so hard for her to separate.

Exhaustion overtook her; and her inspiration dimmed, too. In 1905, when Eugène Blot held an exhibition of her work in his gallery, she proceeded to systematically destroy her sculptures. Her brother, Paul Claudel, demanded that she be “voluntarily committed”. On 10 March 1913, Claudel was taken to the lunatic asylum of Ville-Évrard, and then transferred to Montdevergues on 12 February 1915, which is where she expired. During her thirty-year confinement, she received no news, and no letters: this was the express instruction that her mother was forever renewing with the asylum’s administration; and when the doctors suggested a permit to leave the place, or an establishment closer to Paris, such ideas were also firmly opposed. The sculptress wrote endlessly, clamouring for freedom, whatever kind of freedom that might be: “just a barn at Villeneuve” and “realizing that dream: of being at home”.

Read more

Anne Lemonnier

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claude, La Valse, 1895-1905, © Sotheby’s Collection particulière

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, L’Âge mur, 1898-1913

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, L’Implorante, modeled 1898, cast probably 1905, bronze, overall: 27.9 × 36.8 × 21.3 cm, 11 × 14 1/2 × 8 3/8 in., © MET

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, L’Abandon, 1898-1905, © Sotheby’s Collection particulière

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, Jeune fille à la gerbe, c. 1890, gift of Wallace and Wilhelmina Holladay, © Photo: Lee Stalsworth, NMWA

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, Paul Claudel à seize ans, 1884, bronze, © Photo: Daniel Martin

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, La Petite châtelaine, 1895-1896

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Camille Claudel

1864Fère-en-Tardenois, France | 1943Montdevergues, France
Informations

Sculptrice française.

C’est sans maître ni modèle que Camille Claudel commence à travailler la glaise – figures (perdues) de personnages illustres, esquisse d’un David et Goliath réalisée dans sa douzième ou treizième année. En 1881, sa famille déménage à Paris. L’année suivante, l’artiste réalise le buste de La Vieille Hélène, qui donne à voir la fin de la période d’apprentissage. Elle a alors 17 ans, suit les cours de l’académie Colarossi et emménage dans son premier atelier. Alfred Boucher, sculpteur nogentais, suit ses travaux, mais en partance pour l’Italie, il demande à Auguste Rodin de le remplacer. Entrée comme élève dans l’atelier de Rodin – c’est alors la genèse de La Porte de l’Enfer (1880-vers 1890) –, la sculptrice devient rapidement sa collaboratrice, sa confidente, son alter ego. Leurs oeuvres s’influencent et se fondent. Au cours du printemps 1886, leurs relations devenant très tendues, elle s’échappe en Angleterre. À son retour, Rodin rédige et signe une note, où il s’engage à être son protecteur et à l’épouser. Ils travaillent à quelques mètres l’un de l’autre. La Valse (1889-1905),qui exprime avec sensualité l’enivrement de l’amour, des corps emportés jusqu’à la perte de l’équilibre, entraîne C. Claudel vers la renommée. Elle cherche à obtenir une commande d’État pour sa réalisation en marbre, doit amender la composition et habiller ses danseurs : sa nouvelle version de 1892 est finalement défendue par l’inspecteur des beaux-arts, Armand Dayot ; l’arrêté ne fut jamais signé, mais l’œuvre est fondue en bronze, exposée en 1893, et admirée comme un chef-d’oeuvre en harmonie avec l’esprit symboliste et l’Art nouveau.

Célèbre Valse, triste Valse pourtant ; alors qu’elle lui apporte la reconnaissance, sa vie est soudain brisée : 1893 est en effet l’année de sa rupture avec Rodin. Elle crée alors Clotho, Parque enroulée dans les serpents de sa chevelure, vieillarde au corps défait, au rictus morbide. Puis débute la longue genèse de sa première commande d’État : L’Âge mûr (1894-1900), figure d’un homme partagé entre une femme âgée, qui le soutient, et une jeune, qui le supplie – cette figure, reprise seule, deviendra L’Implorante (1893-1897). La sculpture parle d’elle-même : Rodin avait renoncé à quitter Rose Beuret, sa compagne depuis trente ans, et partait vivre avec elle à Bellevue. Au-delà de la douleur dont elle est empreinte, l’œuvre révèle l’indépendance artistique de la sculptrice. Fruit de tant de travail et d’isolement, évocation de tant de souffrances, L’Âge mûr signe l’entrée de l’artiste dans le temps du désespoir. C’est pourtant à cette période qu’elle conçoit ses œuvres les plus originales, les « croquis d’après nature » (1893-1905), petits formats précieux, alliant bronze, pierre ou onyx-marbre. Si les premiers d’entre eux sont des instantanés de vie, les suivants se concentrent dans les abîmes du songe et de la solitude. En 1899, C. Claudel s’installe au 19, quai Bourbon ; peu à peu se développent en elle le sentiment d’une persécution, la peur d’une spoliation de son œuvre – par Rodin, dont elle a eu tant de mal à se détacher.

L’épuisement la gagne ; son inspiration, elle aussi, faiblit. À partir de 1905, alors qu’Eugène Blot accueille dans sa galerie une exposition consacrée à son oeuvre, elle procède à la destruction systématique de ses sculptures. Paul Claudel, son frère, demande alors son « placement volontaire ». Le 10 mars 1913, C. Claudel est emmenée à l’asile de Ville-Évrard, puis transférée à Montdevergues le 12 février 1915. Elle y rendra son dernier souffle. Au cours de ses trente années d’internement, aucune nouvelle, aucune lettre ne lui parvient : c’est la consigne express que sa mère renouvelle sans cesse auprès de l’administration de l’asile ; et quand les médecins proposent une permission de sortie ou un établissement plus proche de Paris, l’opposition est tout aussi nette. La sculptrice écrit sans relâche et réclame la liberté, la liberté quelle qu’elle soit : juste « une grange à Villeneuve » et « réaliser ce rêve : être chez soi ».

Lire plus

Anne Lemonnier

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claude, La Valse, 1895-1905, © Sotheby’s Collection particulière

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, L’Âge mur, 1898-1913

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, L’Implorante, modelée en 1898, probablement 1905, bronze, total : 27,9 × 36,8 × 21,3 cm, © MET

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, L’Abandon, 1898-1905, © Sotheby’s Collection particulière

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, Jeune fille à la gerbe, vers 1890, cadeau de Wallace et Wilhelmina Holladay, © Photo : Lee Stalsworth, NMWA

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, Paul Claudel à seize ans, 1884, bronze, © Photo : Daniel Martin

Camille Claudel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Camille Claudel, La Petite châtelaine, 1895-1896

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29