Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Cybèle Varela

1943 | Petrópolis, Brazil
Informations
Sponsor
— Cybèle Varela

Brazilian visual artist.

Cybèle Varela attended art classes at the Rio de Janeiro Museum of Modern Art from 1962 to 1966; there, she met artists such as Rubens Gerchman, Carlos Vergara, and Cildo Meireles. She first participated in the São Paulo Biennale in 1967, but one of her works was taken down because it was considered offensive toward the authorities. Her first solo exhibition in Rio de Janeiro was held the following year at the Goeldi Gallery. Her paintings and objects at the time reflected her interest in cityscapes and in Brazil’s popular culture. They generally made use of industrial paint on wood in very bold colours and conveyed an aesthetic informed by elements of North American pop art and narrative figuration, while also remaining strongly attached to a critical vision of the realities of the country. In 1968, Varela moved to Paris, where she studied first at the École du Louvre, then at the École Pratique des Hautes Études. In the early 1970s, she became particularly interested in the relationship between light and shadow, and began to use video and photography, resulting for instance in the film Images (1976), which shows moving beams of light. She also produced paintings and photographs in which light, both real and imagined, reflects onto paintings of landscapes or onto the walls on which they hang, thus becoming part of the pictures themselves.

Her reflection on the nature of pictorial representation can also be found in works that she created the 1980s after moving to Geneva. From then on, the relationship among the images of the sky, clouds, and natural scenery became one of her preferred themes, of which she has made many variations using an array of mediums. Varela’s more recent output has seen her reverting to figuration, which was absent from her pieces from the 1980s. Her work has been the subject of many solo exhibitions, most notably at the Museum of Contemporary Art of the University of São Paulo in 2005, and has been featured at major collective shows.

Read more

Giulia Lamoni

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Um passeio Feliz [A Happy Walk], 1970, industrial painting on wood, 100 x 100 x 5 cm, Collection of Museu de Arte Contemporânea de São Paulo, Brazil, © Photo: Romulo Fialdini, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Ao entardecer [At Dusk], 1983, acrylic on canvas, 126 x 158 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Image, 1974, industrial painting on wood, 140 x 125 cm, Collection of the Fonds National d’Art Contemporain, France, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, A Passagem [The Passage], 1988, oil on canvas, 119 x 160 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, De tudo aquilo que poderia ter sido e que não foi [Of all that could have been but was not], 1967, industrial painting on wood, Tryptic, 80 x 100 cm each piece, Collection of Museu de Arte Contemporânea of São Paulo, Brazil, © Photo: Romulo Fialdini, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Image, 1976, video (super 8 film), 22’’32’, black and white, Collection of the Centre Pompidou, France, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Image, 1987, acrylic on canvas, 116.8 x 160 cm, Collection Art Museum of the Americas, United States, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, The Artist 2, 1999, acrylic and industrial painting on canvas, 280 x 144 cm (composition of 5 paintings), © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Maçã de transferência de astral [Astral transfer apple], 2009, acrylic on canvas, 120 x 80 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Unknown Boy, 2016, oil on canvas, 50 x 50 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Unknown South American Indian, 2016, oil on canvas, 150 x 150 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Cybèle Varela

1943 | Petrópolis, Brésil
Informations
Soutien
— Cybèle Varela

Plasticienne brésilienne.

Cybèle Varela fréquente les cours d’art du musée d’Art moderne de Rio de Janeiro, de 1962 à 1966 ; elle y rencontre des artistes comme Rubens Gerchman, Carlos Vergara et Cildo Meireles. En 1967, lors de sa première participation à la Biennale de São Paulo, l’une de ses oeuvres est retirée, car considérée offensive à l’égard des autorités. Sa première exposition personnelle à Rio de Janeiro a lieu l’année suivante à la galerie Goeldi. Les peintures et les objets de cette époque reflètent l’intérêt de l’artiste pour le paysage urbain, mais aussi pour la culture populaire de son pays ; très colorés, réalisés généralement avec de la peinture industrielle sur bois, ils traduisent une esthétique nourrie d’éléments du pop art nord-américain et de la figuration narrative, tout en étant fortement liée à une vision critique de la réalité brésilienne. En 1968, l’artiste s’installe à Paris, fréquente l’École du Louvre, puis étudie à l’École pratique des hautes études. Au début des années 1970, elle s’intéresse particulièrement au rapport entre lumière et ombre, et commence à utiliser la vidéo et la photographie : ainsi, Images (1976) montre le mouvement de bandes lumineuses. Elle réalise également des peintures et des photographies, dans lesquelles la lumière, réelle ou fictive, se reflète sur des tableaux de paysages – ou sur les murs où ceux-ci sont accrochés – et devient de cette manière partie de l’image.

Sa réflexion sur la nature de la représentation picturale se retrouve aussi dans les œuvres des années 1980, conçues après son départ à Genève. La relation entre l’image du ciel, avec ses nuages, et celle du paysage naturel, devient alors un thème de prédilection, dont elle propose de nombreuses variations, en exploitant des médias différents. Le travail plus récent de C. Varela est marqué par le retour de la figure, absente dans les pièces des années 1980. Son œuvre a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles, dont celle présentée en 2005 au musée d’Art contemporain de l’université de São Paulo, et a été montrée dans d’importantes expositions collectives.

Lire plus

Giulia Lamoni

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Um passeio Feliz [Une heureuse promenade], 1970, peinture industrielle sur bois, 100 x 100 x 5 cm, Collection du Museu de Arte Contemporânea de São Paulo, Brésil, © Photo : Romulo Fialdini, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Ao entardecer [Au crépuscule], 1983, acrylique sur toile, 126 x 158 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Image, 1974, peinture industrielle sur bois, 140 x 125 cm, Collection du Fonds National d’Art Contemporain, France, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, A Passagem [Le Passage], 1988, huile sur toile, 119 x 160 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, De tudo aquilo que poderia ter sido e que não foi [De tout ce qui aurait pu être, mais qui ne l’a pas été], 1967, peinture industrielle sur bois, tryptique, 80 x 100 cm chaque pièce, Collection du Museu de Arte Contemporânea de São Paulo, Brésil, © Photo : Romulo Fialdini, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Image, 1976, vidéo (super 8 film), 22’’32’, noir et blanc, Collection du Centre Pompidou, France, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Image, 1987, acrylique sur toile, 116,8 x 160 cm, Collection Art Museum of the Americas, États-Unis, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, The Artist 2, 1999, acrylique et peinture industrielle sur toile, 280 x 144 cm (composition de 5 toiles), © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Maçã de transferência de astral [Pomme de transfert astral], 2009, acrylique sur toile, 120 x 80 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Unknown Boy, 2016, huile sur toile, 50 x 50 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Cybèle Varela — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cybèle Varela, Unknown South American Indian, 2016, huile sur toile, 150 x 150 cm, © Cybèle Varela

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29