Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

1971 | Kavadarci, North Macedonia
Informations
Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Mitra Memarzia

Macedonian visual artist.

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva is a Macedonian-born contemporary artist. She graduated from the Glasgow School of Art with a BA(hons) Fina Art in Sculpture in 1996 and earned her MA in Sculpture at the Royal College of Art in London in 1998. She works in different media such as sculpture, installation, video, sound, photography and architectural interventions.  The main focus of Hadzi-Vasileva’s work is the connections between research of each installation’s site specifications and science, history, technology, community, heritage, nature, landscape, ecology and cosmology. Very often she works with non-traditional materials, using specific technologies of material preparations, pre-investigated in laboratories with scientists and biologists.
E. Hadzi-Vasileva’s earlier interest was in the floral world and then, after several years, she started her experiments with the fauna. One of the characteristics that characterize her oeuvre is “knitting” (floral pieces that are lifeless and thrown into nature, such as branches, leaves, grass, trees, roots and planks; or the stomach of a cow, cocoons, rat and fish skins and other waste materials from the meat industry), creating beautiful constructions as individual installations or interventions in interior architecture. Within the first group of artworks, dealing with plants, such as Connection, (1995); Re-evolution (1996); Revival, (1997); Ambush (2000), she came up with the initiative to restore life to broken branches and damaged plants, by placing them in new ambient contexts. On the other hand, in the “animal-based” works, for example Epidermis (2001); Butterflies in the Stomach (2008); Fragility (2015); Making Beauty (2016); Angels and Animal Delights (2017), etc., by using internal or external parts of animal origin she creates a kind of “woven lace” by hand. This type of recycling restores dignity to the biological and, at the same time, tries to raise awareness of regenerated forms of existence. It also has ramifications for pharmaceutical giants that experiment not only with animals, but with humans as well, inventing viruses and creating other dangerous forms of biological weapons that threaten existence and management of the world. The complexity, multilayeredness, intertexturality, transhistoricism, existentialism of her works, certainly entices the viewer and never leaves them indifferent. Some like it, some not, seemingly the same as the definition of the aesthetics of the ugly in “On Ugliness” by Umberto Eco, who concludes that ‘One man’s trash is another man’s treasure’.

The Vatican commissioned Hadzi-Vasileva as part of the Holy See Pavilion at the 56th Venice Biennale in 2015, while at the Venice Biennale in 2013, she represented Macedonia. In 2017 she received Grand Prix, Osten Biennial for Awarded Authors in Macedonia, and in 2016 the Golden Osten Award, at the Osten Biennial of Drawing in Macedonia. She has also received awards from the Wellcome Trust, the Pollock-Krasner Foundation, the Arts Council England, and the Ministry of Culture of Macedonia. Her artworks have been commissioned and developed in urban and rural sites, in interior and exterior spaces, including Danielle Arnaud Gallery, London; Fabrica Gallery, Brighton; Pied à Terre, London; Gloucester Cathedral, Bennachie, Aberdeenshire; L’H du Siège, France; Kilmainham Gaol Museum, Ireland.
E. Hadzi-Vasileva’s artworks are in public collections including Luxelakes a4 Museums, Chengdu, China; The Vatican; Office of Public Works, Dublin, Ireland; Križanke, Ljubljana, Slovenia; Casoria Contemporary Art Museum, Napoli, Italy; MIMA, Middlesbrough and New Hall Art Collection, Cambridge and private collections around the world.

Read more

Ana Frangovska

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Gill’s Slits, 2016, skate bones, metal, perspex box, 45 x 45 x 50 cm, © Photo: Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Ladies Purses IV, 2017, sheep testicle purse lined with silk, antique frame and chain, mounted in perspex box, various sizes, © Photo: Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Making Beauty, reconstruction of Fragility, 2016, pigs caul fat, plastic and metal, 16.4 x 7.4 x 4.5 m, © Photo: Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Fragility, 2015, installation view, pigs caul fat, plastic and metal, 22 x 10 x 8 m, © Photo: Bernard G Mills, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Eurydice Prevails, 2019, two elm trees, 23.5ct gold leaf, © Photo: Alan Fletcher, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Bibles I-V, 2017, pigs call fat, perspex box, various sizes, © Photo: Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Bibles I-V, 2016, pigs call fat, perspex box, various sizes, © Photo: Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Beauty Exposed III, 2017, sheep stomach, pig intestine and turned wood, 52 x 30 x 32 cm, © Photo: Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva 2017

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Revealing Beauty: Three Studies for Figures…, 2016, pigs caul fat, plastic sheet and LED lights, 60 x 160 x 8 cm, © Photo: Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Reoccurring Undulation VII, 2017, salmon skins on zinc plated tiles, 20 x 20 cm framed, © Photo: Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva 2017

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Rendition of Self, 2016, cow stomach, turned wood, audio, 55 x 55 x 50 cm, © Photo: Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Manometry II, 2017, copper and steel wire, linen, 100 x 200 x 5 cm, © Photo: Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Making Beauty, reconstruction of Haruspex, 2016, pigs caul fat, lamb intestines, cows stomachs, plastic and metal, 10 x 7.4 x 4.5 m © Photo: Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

1971 | Kavadarci, Macédoine du Nord
Informations
Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Mitra Memarzia

Plasticienne macédonienne..

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva est une artiste contemporaine née en Macédoine. Elle obtient une licence de sculpture avec mention à la Glasgow School of Fine Art en 1996 et un master dans la même discipline au Royal College of Art de Londres en 1998. Sa pratique mêle plusieurs médiums, notamment la sculpture, l’installation, la vidéo, le son, la photographie et les interventions architecturales. La thématique principale qu’E. Hadzi-Vasileva traite dans son œuvre est le lien qu’entretiennent les spécificités de chaque site où elle réalise ses installations avec la science, l’histoire, la technologie, la communauté, le patrimoine, la nature, le paysage, l’écologie et la cosmologie. Elle utilise souvent des matériaux non traditionnels et des technologies et matières élaborées en laboratoire avec des scientifiques et des biologistes.
Au début de son parcours, E. Hadzi-Vasileva s’intéresse au domaine de la botanique, puis, quelques années plus tard, ses expérimentations se portent sur celui de la faune. L’une des caractéristiques principales de son travail est le « tricotage » (pièces florales inertes exposées à même la nature, faites de branches, de feuilles, d’herbe, d’arbres, de racines ou de planches, mais aussi de panses de vaches, de cocons, de peaux de rats et de poissons, et autres rebuts de l’industrie carnée), grâce auquel elle crée de magnifiques structures présentées sous forme d’installations individuelles ou conçues en dialogue avec l’architecture d’un lieu spécifique. Pour la première catégorie, qui inclut les œuvres Connection (1995), Re-evolution (1996), Revival (1997) ou Ambush (2000), l’artiste veut faire renaître des branches cassées et des plantes abîmées en les plaçant dans de nouveaux environnements. Pour la série d’œuvres fondée sur le monde animal, dont font entre autres partie Epidermis (2001), Butterflies in the Stomach (2008), Fragility (2015), Making Beauty (2016) et Angels and Animal Delights (2017), elle façonne à la main des dentelles tissées à partir d’organes internes et externes d’animaux. Ce type de réutilisation rend au vivant sa dignité, tout en sensibilisant le public au cycle de régénération de certaines formes de vie. Le discours de l’artiste s’étend également au domaine des géants de l’industrie pharmaceutique qui se livrent à des tests sur les animaux et les humains et sont en mesure de fabriquer des virus ou autres armes biologiques susceptibles de menacer la vie et l’équilibre terrestres. La complexité, la multiplicité des niveaux de lecture, l’intertextualité, la transhistoricité et l’existentialisme du travail d’E. Hadzi-Vasileva sont autant d’éléments susceptibles d’attirer et de passionner le public. Certain·e·s y seront sensibles, d’autres non, comme l’illustre bien la définition de l’esthétique proposée par Umberto Eco dans son ouvrage Histoire de la laideur (2007) : « Le rebut des uns fait le bonheur des autres. »

En 2013, E. Hadzi-Vasileva représente la Macédoine lors de la Biennale de Venise et en 2015 le Vatican fait appel à elle pour le pavillon du Saint-Siège à cette même Biennale. À Skopje, elle reçoit en 2016 la médaille d’or à la Biennale Osten de dessin, puis en 2017 le grand prix à la Biennale Osten des artistes primé·e·s. Elle est également lauréate de prix décernés par le Wellcome Trust, la Pollock-Krasner Foundation, l’Arts Council England et le ministère de la Culture de Macédoine. Ses œuvres ont été exposées in situ en ville et à la campagne, à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur, notamment à la Danielle Arnaud Gallery et au Pied à Terre à Londres, à la Fabrica Gallery à Brighton, à la cathédrale de Gloucester, ainsi qu’à L’H du siège à Valenciennes et au Kilmainham Gaol Museum à Dublin.
Elles sont également conservées dans de nombreuses collections particulières dans le monde, ainsi que dans plusieurs collections publiques, notamment celles des musées Luxelakes·A4 à Chengdu (Chine) et du Vatican, celles de l’Office of Public Works à Dublin, du théâtre Križanke à Ljubljana (Slovénie), du musée d’Art contemporain de Casoria (Italie), du Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art (MIMA) à Middlesbrough et de la New Hall Art Collection à Cambridge (Royaume-Uni).

Lire plus

Ana Frangovska

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Gill’s Slits, 2016, os de patin, métal, boîte en plexiglas, 45 x 45 x 50 cm, © Photo : Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Ladies Purses IV, 2017, sac à main en testicule de mouton doublé de soie, cadre et chaîne anciens, monté dans une boîte en plexiglas, différentes tailles, © Photo : Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Making Beauty, reconstruction de Fragility, 2016, graisse de porc, plastique et métal, 16,4 x 7,4 x 4,5 m, © Photo : Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

 

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Fragility, 2015, vue d’installation, graisse de porc, plastiques et métal, 22 x 10 x 8 m, © Photo : Bernard G Mills, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Eurydice Prevails, 2019, deux ormes, feuille d’or 23,5 carats, © Photo : Alan Fletcher, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Bibles I-V, 2017, graisse de porc, boîte en plexiglas, différentes tailles, © Photo : Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Bibles I-V, 2016, graisse de porc, boîte en plexiglas, différentes tailles, © Photo : Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Beauty Exposed III, 2017, estomac de mouton, intestin de porc et bois tourné, 52 x 30 x 32 cm, © Photo : Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva 2017

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Revealing Beauty: Three Studies for Figures…, 2016, graisse de porc, feuille de plastique et lumières LED, 60 x 160 x 8 cm, © Photo : Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Reoccurring Undulation VII, 2017, peaux de saumon sur carreaux zingués, 20 x 20 cm framed, © Photo : Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva 2017

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Rendition of Self, 2016, estomac de vache, bois tourné, audio, 55 x 55 x 50 cm, © Photo : Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Manometry II, 2017, fil de cuivre et d’acier, lin, 100 x 200 x 5 cm, © Photo : Oscar Proctor, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Elpida  Hadzi-Vasileva — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva, Making Beauty, reconstruction de Haruspex, 2016, graisse de porc, intestins d’agneau, estomacs de vache, plastique et métal, 10 x 7,4 x 4,5 m © Photo : Nick Dunmur, © Elpida Hadzi-Vasileva

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29