Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Jacqueline de Jong

1939 | Hengelo, Netherlands
Informations
Sponsors
— Dürst Britt & Mayhew Gallery — Galerie Château Shatto

Dutch Artist and Publisher.

Jacqueline de Jong was born to a Jewish family of art amateurs and collectors. Facing the rise of the Nazis, she and her mother fled to Switzerland when she was only three years old, before returning to the Netherlands after the war. Wanting to embrace an artistic career, she accepted an assistant’s position at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam under the direction of Willem Sandberg in 1958. She also took classes with art historian Hans L. C. Jaffé and in the studio of Theo Wolvecamp (1925–1992). She was thus close to members of the CoBrA movement, Asger Jorn (1914–1973) in particular. The book The Case of the Ascetic Satyr, composed by the duo between 1959 and 1969, is like a chronicle of their intimate relationship.

In 1959, J. de Jong met the Gruppe SPUR, a German artist collective linked to the Situationist International (Internationale situationniste). She got closer to the movement, becoming one of the rare women associated with it. In September 1960, she acted as an interpreter during the fourth conference of the Situationist International in London under the command of Guy Debord and was chair of the phantasmic Dutch chapter. She moved to Paris in December 1960 and assiduously practiced engraving in the studio of Stanley William Hayter (1901–1988). In February 1962, the members of Gruppe SPUR were expelled from the Situationist International, an event that separated J. de Jong from G. Debord’s group and led her to pursue the editorial project The Situationist Times (1962–1967). She first used the publication to support the Gruppe SPUR’s outcasts and progressively brought together friends and acquaintances from various artistic backgrounds: Noël Arnaud (1919–2003), co-editor of the magazine’s first two issues, Serge Vandercam (1924–2005); Max Bucaille (1906–1996) as well as Pol Bury (1922–2005), Guido Biasi (1933–1982), Lourdes Castro (born 1930) and René Bertolo (1935–2005). In issues 3, 4 and 5, respectively dedicated to interlacing, to labyrinths and to rings, J. de Jong compiled images from different eras and origins to compose a kind of illustrated encyclopaedia of the “analysis situs” or topologies. The Situationist Times freely explored the subversive and heuristic potential of the non-Euclidean branch of mathematics, subject of abundant theoretical literature by A. Jorn, another contributor to the magazine.

Throughout the 1960s, she created a robust body of work coloured by violence and eroticism. The series Accidental Paintings (1964), Suicidal Paintings (1965) and even the Série noire (1980–1981) crudely exploited everyday images from the news. She also dedicated several paintings to pinball machines (or “flippers”, as she called them) and billiards as a playful means charged with sexual connotations. In 1968, J. de Jong participated in the conception and production of posters made in the Atelier Populaire at the Beaux-Arts de Paris.

After oscillating between Paris and Amsterdam for administrative purposes, the artist returned to Amsterdam in 1971. As she lacked a studio, she made her painting practice mobile with Les Chroniques d’Amsterdam (1970–1973), diptychs resembling suitcases when they were closed. Autobiographical stories, political statements and drawings were combined in what was like both a reliquary and a comic strip. Throughout the 1970s, J. de Jong participated in the activities at the Galerie Brinkman, alongside Hans Brinkman, her husband until 1989. Between 1986 and 1988, she painted 28 panels entitled Upstairs/Downstairs for the new city hall of Amsterdam.

In the 1990s, the artist purchased a house in the Bourbonnais region of France with her partner, the lawyer Thomas H. Weyland. It was in this environment that she introduced potatoes into her artistic production in 2006. For Pommes de Jong, she transformed humble potato tubers into precious golden ornaments. This humorous production pursues a work that plays on established hierarchies and categories in favour of fluidity.

The Cobra Museum of Modern Art in Amstelveen dedicated a major exhibition to her in 2003. In 2018 and 2019 the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam and the Musée Les Abattoirs in Toulouse each held retrospectives of her work. In 2012, the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale University acquired the archives of The Situationist Times. The review is entirely accessible online. J. de Jong was the winner of the 2019 Prix d’Honneur of the association AWARE.

Read more

Juliette Pollet

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Tournevicieux cosmonautique (les âmes les plus confuses se retrouvent un matin conditionnés par un peu de pesanteur), 1966, acrylic on canvas, 114 x 162 cm, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Le salaud et les salopards, 1966, acrylic on canvas, plastic mirror and wooden frame, 196.25 x 287 x 2.5 cm, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Autofresser (Accidental Paintings series), 1964, oil on canvas, 163 x 133 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Pauvre petit bateau en deluge paysagiste, 1987, oil on canvas, 60 x 90 cm, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Kobü, 1995, oil on panel, 122.5 x 140 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, L’Œil de Perdrix Retrouvé, 2017, digital print, oil stick and nepheline gel on canvas, 90 x 62 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Melancholic Potato’s, 2018, digital print, oil stick and nepheline gel on canvas, 87 x 62 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Pommes de Jong, 2008-2011, potatoes and gold, © Jacqueline de Jong

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Jacqueline de Jong

1939 | Hengelo, Pays-Bas
Informations
Soutiens
— Dürst Britt & Mayhew Gallery — Galerie Château Shatto

Artiste et éditrice néerlandaise.

Jacqueline de Jong naît dans une famille juive d’amateurs et de collectionneurs d’art. Face à la montée du nazisme, sa mère et elle se réfugient en Suisse alors qu’elle n’a que trois ans, puis reviennent aux Pays-Bas après la guerre. Après avoir voulu embrasser, en vain, la carrière d’actrice, elle accepte en 1958 un poste d’assistante au Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam, sous la direction de Willem Sandberg. Elle fréquente les cours de l’historien de l’art Hans L. C. Jaffé et l’atelier du peintre Theo Wolvecamp (1925-1992). Elle est alors proche des membres du mouvement CoBrA et plus particulièrement d’Asger Jorn (1914-1973). L’ouvrage The Case of The Ascetic Satyr, composé à quatre mains entre 1959 et 1969, apparaît comme une chronique de leur relation amoureuse.

J. de Jong rencontre en 1959 le Gruppe SPUR, un collectif d’artistes allemands liés à l’Internationale situationniste (IS). Elle se rapproche alors un peu plus étroitement du mouvement, devenant l’une des rares femmes à y être associées. Elle fait office d’interprète lors du congrès de Londres en septembre 1960 et, sous l’injonction de Guy Debord, dirige quelques mois une fantomatique section hollandaise. Elle s’installe à Paris en décembre 1960 et pratique assidûment la gravure dans l’atelier de Stanley William Hayter (1901-1988). En février 1962, les membres du Gruppe SPUR sont exclus de l’IS, événement qui scelle la rupture de J. de Jong avec le groupe de G. Debord et la pousse à mener à bien le projet éditorial de The Situationist Times (1962-1967). Elle utilise d’abord sa revue pour soutenir les parias du Gruppe SPUR et rallie progressivement à elle des ami·e·s et connaissances de divers horizons artistiques : d’abord Noël Arnaud (1919-2003), coéditeur des deux premiers numéros, Serge Vandercam (1924-2005), Max Bucaille (1906-1996), mais aussi Pol Bury (1922-2005), Guido Biasi (1933-1982) ou encore Lourdes Castro (née en 1930) et René Bertolo (1935-2005). Dans les numéros 3, 4 et 5, respectivement dédiés aux entrelacs, aux labyrinthes et aux anneaux, J. de Jong compile des images de toutes époques et de toutes origines pour composer une forme d’encyclopédie illustrée de l’« analyse situs » ou topologie. The Situationist Times explore avec une grande liberté le potentiel subversif et heuristique de cette branche des mathématiques non euclidiennes, objet d’une abondante littérature théorique d’A. Jorn, également contributeur de la revue.
Tout au long des années 1960, elle affirme une œuvre picturale truculente, teintée de violence et d’érotisme. Ainsi les séries des Accidental Paintings (1964), des Suicidal Paintings (1965) ou encore la Série noire (1980-1981) exploitent de manière grinçante l’imagerie du fait divers. Elle consacre aussi plusieurs tableaux à des flippers et à des billards, des dispositifs ludiques chargés de connotations sexuelles. En 1968, J. de Jong participe à la conception et à la production des affiches de l’Atelier populaire des Beaux-Arts de Paris.

Après avoir beaucoup oscillé, pour des raisons administratives, entre Paris et Amsterdam, l’artiste s’installe à nouveau dans cette dernière ville en 1971. À défaut d’atelier, elle rend sa peinture mobile, en élaborant Les Chroniques d’Amsterdam (1970-1973), des diptyques qui une fois refermés s’apparentent à des valises. Récit autobiographiques, prises de position politiques et dessins se combinent dans ce qui tient à la fois du reliquaire et du comic strip. Au cours des années 1970, J. de Jong s’implique dans les activités de la galerie Brinkman, aux côtés de Hans Brinkman, son époux jusqu’en 1989. Entre 1986 et 1988, elle peint 28 panneaux, intitulés Upstairs/Downstairs, pour la nouvelle mairie d’Amsterdam.

Dans les années 1990, l’artiste fait l’acquisition avec son compagnon, l’avocat Thomas H. Weyland, d’une maison dans le Bourbonnais. C’est dans cet environnement qu’elle commence, en 2006, à introduire les pommes de terre de son potager dans sa production artistique. Ainsi, avec les Pommes de Jong, elle métamorphose d’humbles tubercules en précieux ornements dorés. Cette production pleine d’humour poursuit une œuvre qui se joue des catégories et des hiérarchies figées pour privilégier la fluidité et les chemins de traverse.

Le Cobra Museum of Modern Art à Amstelveen lui consacre en 2003 une exposition majeure. En 2018 et 2019, le Stedelijk Museum à Amsterdam et le musée Les Abattoirs à Toulouse présentent chacun une rétrospective. En 2012, la Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, à Yale University, fait l’acquisition des archives de The Situationist Times. La revue est par ailleurs entièrement accessible en ligne. J. de Jong est lauréate en 2019 du prix d’honneur de l’association AWARE.

Lire plus

Juliette Pollet

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Tournevicieux cosmonautique (les âmes les plus confuses se retrouvent un matin conditionnés par un peu de pesanteur), 1966, acrylique sur toile, 114 x 162 cm, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Le salaud et les salopards, 1966, acrylique sur toile, miroir en plastique et cadre en bois, 196,25 x 287 x 2,5 cm, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Autofresser (Accidental Paintings series), 1964, huile sur toile, 163 x 133 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Pauvre petit bateau en deluge paysagiste, 1987, huile sur toile, 60 x 90 cm, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Kobü, 1995, huile sur toile, 122,5 x 140 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, L’Œil de Perdrix Retrouvé, 2017, impression numérique, stick à l’huile et gel néphéline sur toile, 90 x 62 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Melancholic Potato’s, 2018, impression numérique, stick à l’huile et gel néphéline sur toile, 87 x 62 cm, Courtesy Jacqueline de Jong & Dürst Britt & Mayhew, © Jacqueline de Jong

Jacqueline de  Jong — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jacqueline de Jong, Pommes de Jong, 2008-2011, pommes de terre et or, © Jacqueline de Jong

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29