María Luisa Pacheco

1919La Paz, Bolivia | 1982New York, United States
Informations

Bolivian-American painter.

Exposed to drawing at an early age through visiting her father’s architectural studio, she enrolled at the Academia de Bellas Artes Hernando Siles in 1936, studying under Cecilio Guzmán de Rojas (1899-1950) and Jorge de la Reza (1901-1958). She also took correspondence courses in art. Joining the newspaper La Razón [The reason] in 1946 as a portraitist and illustrator, she soon rose to be director of the art and literary section. It was not until 1951 that she took to painting as her medium of choice. A recipient of a fellowship from the Spanish government, M. L. Pacheco travelled to Madrid to attend the Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando. She also frequented the studio of Daniel Vázquez Díaz (1882-1969), a neo-cubist portrait and landscape artist interested in planes, colour and light, who, along with Pablo Picasso (1881-1973), would profoundly influence her art. Returning to La Paz in April 1952, she taught at the Escuela de Bellas Artes, soon becoming part of the avant-garde as a founder of the collective Los Ocho Contemporáneos, whose members dominated the mid-century Bolivian abstract art scene. After securing first prize at the Salón Nacional Pedro Domingo Murillo in 1953  and a special prize at the II Bienal Hispanoamericana in Havanain 1954, M. L. Pacheco’s career ascended while her marriage faltered. In 1956, at the age of 37, María Luisa Pacheco left the comforts of an upper-middle-class existence in her hometown of La Paz, Bolivia, to pursue a professional painting career in New York.

It was in New York, however, that M. L. Pacheco’s style fully emerged. Receiving three consecutive Guggenheim Fellowships (1958-1960), she maintained a studio practice that allowed her unrestricted experimentation. Moving away from the semi-figurative abstraction that had characterised her early period, she enthusiastically embraced a new aesthetic vocabulary of art informel and abstract expressionism. Dominated by monumental vertical elements devoid of any referents, her austere compositions evidence her conscious attention to detail as seen in the artwork Inca of 1964. Juxtaposed planes, angles, lines, textures – generated by the incorporation of sand, wood, newspaper, and fabric on the canvas – and gestural strokes were carefully arranged on an underlying geometric grid as evidenced in Ritual of 1967. Her work was included in the 1959 São Paulo Biennial where she received an award, and shown in the exhibitions South American Art Today at the Dallas Museum of Art in the same year, New Departures: Latin America at the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston in 1960, and Magnet New York: A Selection of Paintings by Latin American Artists Living in New York at Galeria Bonino in New York in 1964. At this same time, she also worked as a textile designer for the leading fabric houses in New York.

M. L. Pacheco achieved her mature style in the 1970s. Returning to aspects of the human shape, she synthesised the planes in large-format compositions to depict chains of overlapped nature-like volumes. Represented by the prestigious Lee Ault & Company, she became an established contemporary artist. M. L. Pacheco died in New York in 1982. In 1986, during the celebration of its tenth anniversary, the Museum of the Modern Art of Latin America (now the Art Museum of the Americas) in Washington DC organised a retrospective tribute to the artist. She is one of the most significant artists in the history of the modern art of the Americas.

Read more

Adriana Ospina & Olga U. Herrera

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Wila, 1972, oil on canvas, 121.9 x 127 cm, Private collection

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Untitled, 1955, oil on canvas, 74 x 99 cm, Private collection

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Untitled, 1966, mixed media and wood on canvas, 76.20 x 61 cm, Private collection

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Untitled, 1973, oil on canvas, 101.6 x 101.6 cm, Private collection

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Mallasa, 1974, oil on canvas, 86.4 x 101.6 cm, Private collection

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

María Luisa Pacheco

1919La Paz, Bolivie | 1982New York, États-Unis
Informations

Peintre bolivienne-états-unienne.

Familiarisée au dessin dès son plus jeune âge lors de ses visites au studio d’architecte de son père, María Luisa Pacheco s’inscrit en 1936 à l’Academia de Bellas Artes Hernando Siles, à La Paz, où elle a pour professeurs Cecilio Guzmán de Rojas (1899-1950) et Jorge de la Reza (1901-1958). Elle suit également des cours d’art par correspondance. En 1946, elle est embauchée en tant que portraitiste et illustratrice par La Razón, puis, très vite, elle est nommée directrice de la section artistique et littéraire de ce journal. Ce n’est qu’en 1951 qu’elle choisit la peinture comme médium de prédilection. Le gouvernement espagnol lui octroie une bourse et elle se rend à Madrid pour étudier à la Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando. Elle fréquente aussi l’atelier de Daniel Vázquez Díaz (1882-1969), un artiste néocubiste, spécialisé dans le portrait et le paysage, qui s’intéresse aux problématiques liées au plan, à la couleur et à la lumière. Celui-ci, tout comme Pablo Picasso (1881-1973), influencera profondément son art. De retour à La Paz en 1952, M. L. Pacheco enseigne à l’Escuela de Bellas Artes et devient rapidement une figure de l’avant-garde en tant que fondatrice du collectif Los Ocho Contemporáneos, dont les membres occupent le devant de la scène artistique bolivienne du milieu de siècle. Après avoir remporté le premier prix au Salón Pedro Domingo Murillo en 1953 et le prix d’honneur à la IIe Biennale hispano-américaine d’art à La Havane en 1954, elle voit sa carrière s’envoler, alors que son mariage bat de l’aile. En 1956, à l’âge de 37 ans, elle quitte le confort de sa vie bourgeoise à La Paz, afin de poursuivre une carrière de peintre à New York.

C’est à New York que le style de M. L. Pacheco s’exprime pleinement. L’attribution de trois bourses Guggenheim (1958-1960) lui permet de maintenir une pratique d’atelier et de laisser libre cours à ses expérimentations. Elle s’éloigne alors de l’abstraction semi-figurative qui caractérisait ses débuts et adopte avec ferveur un nouveau vocabulaire esthétique proche de l’art informel et de l’expressionnisme abstrait. Dominées par des éléments verticaux et monumentaux libres de toute référence, ses compositions austères mettent en évidence l’attention délibérée qu’elle porte aux détails, ce que montre son œuvre Inca (1964). Juxtapositions d’aplats, d’angles, de lignes et de textures (obtenues grâce à l’ajout de sable, de bois, de papier journal et de tissu sur la toile) et coups de pinceau sont soigneusement agencés selon une grille géométrique sous-jacente, comme l’illustre Ritual [Rituel, 1967]. Son travail est présenté à la Biennale de São Paulo en 1959, où elle reçoit un prix, et lors des expositions South American Art Today au Dallas Museum of Art la même année, New Departures: Latin America à l’Institute of Contemporary Art de Boston en 1960 et Magnet: New York. A Selection of Paintings by Latin American Artists Living in New York à la Galeria Bonino de New York en 1964. À la même époque, elle conçoit des motifs textiles pour les plus grands fabricants de tissus new-yorkais.

L’œuvre de M. L. Pacheco atteint sa maturité dans les années 1970. L’artiste revient à des formes plus humaines et synthétise ses aplats pour former des compositions faites de chaînes de volumes superposés semblables à des paysages. Représentée par la prestigieuse galerie Lee Ault & Company, elle devient une artiste contemporaine établie. Elle décède à New York en 1982. En 1986, à l’occasion de son dixième anniversaire, le Museum of the Modern Art of Latin America (l’actuel Art Museum of the Americas) de Washington organise une rétrospective en l’honneur de M. L. Pacheco ; elle reste l’une des artistes les plus importantes dans l’histoire de l’art moderne des Amériques.

Lire plus

Adriana Ospina & Olga U. Herrera

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Wila, 1972, huile sur toile, 121,9 x 127 cm, Collection particulière

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Untitled, 1955, huile sur toile, 74 x 99 cm, Collection particulière

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Untitled, 1966, techniques mixtes et bois sur toile, 76,20 x 61 cm, Collection particulière

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Untitled, 1973, huile sur toile, 101,6 x 101,6 cm, Collection particulière

María Luisa Pacheco — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Luisa Pacheco, Mallasa, 1974, huile sur toile, 86,4 x 101,6 cm, Collection particulière

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29