Marion Baruch

1929 | Timisoara, Romania
Informations
Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Oskar Landi

Sponsors
— Nathalie Viot — Noah Stolz

Romanian visual artist.

In 1948 Marion Baruch began to study at the Fine Arts Academy in Bucharest, which at that time was heavily subservient to the Stalinist regime. The following year she had the exceptional opportunity to emigrate to Israel, and thus continued her studies at the Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design in Jerusalem, where she was taught by Mordecai Ardon, a Bauhaus artist and former pupil of Paul Klee. Four years later she exhibited at the Micra-Studio Gallery in Tel Aviv to very positive reviews that led her to be awarded a grant, enabling her to attend the Accademia di Belle Arti in Rome in 1954.
This intense development, punctuated continuously with new encounters and experiences, though also with unexpected twists and turns, was reflected in her painting, which was often described as being “strongly expressive”. Critics of the period, such as A. Mann, who wrote for the Tel Aviv newspaper Maariv, and Lionello Venturi, who wrote about her following her solo exhibition at “La Cupola” in Rome, were amazed at her constantly developing style and had difficulty in classifying her talent. Her teacher, Roberto Melli, who intuited Marion Baruch’s volatile and developing artistic language, wrote: “I do not know what the future of this artist will be (I do not use the word ‘painter’) if she is able to achieve the ambitions aspired to by the passionate enthusiasm of her nature, [and] her intuitive understanding of the empirical facts and specific directions current in modern painting”.

Her first son, Gabriele, was born in 1958 and her second, Paolo, in 1961. During the 1960s Baruch’s pictorial language changed radically to leave figuration permanently behind her, developing into an interest increasingly marked by a gestural approach that moved in the direction of abstraction, graphics and, in some ways, towards a plastic language that would reveal itself in a series of large sculptures at the turn of the 1970s that would be shown at the sculpture biennial in Paris and the Fondazione Pagani in Castellanza, Italy. This new phase probably began following the construction of the modernist villa in which she lived with her family, which she followed with almost maniacal diligence. It was as a result of this project that she met the blacksmith with whom she would create the metal sculptures mentioned above. With simple lines stylistically characteristic of modern architecture, these works create a space around the human figure though remaining open towards the exterior. This was the period in which Marion Baruch met A.G. Fronzoni, with whose help she produced two very radical works of experimental design: Contenitore-Ambiente (1970) and Vestito-Contenitore (1970). Masterfully photographed by Berengo Gardin, the images went around the world and were published in Abitare and Domus, among other magazines. She also met the visionary designer and manufacturer Dino Gavina, who invited Baruch to work on his project Ultramobile, a group of non-object objects designed by artists of such calibre as Man Ray, Meret Oppenheim, Sébastian Matta and Allen Jones.
This brief incursion into the world of design had an enduring influence on Marion Baruch’s way of thinking. She began not just to assimilate a conceptual form of practice but also to develop a pronounced interest in industrial production as an essential aspect of contemporary creation. Another period of assimilation was required for her to digest the relationship between the artist and Western art history. During this phase of transition her practice once more took up painting but included the production of artefacts and conceptualism in a series of works that were almost never exhibited and that can be understood in their most intimate nature only today: a series of Rembrandt (1978–82), and later Monitor [Monitors], Bandiere [Flags] and Pedane [Boards] (1985–89).

In 1989 she met the charismatic gallerist Luciano Inga Pin, with whom she was to work for several years showing her work at Art Basel and Art Cologne (1990–93). Her confrontation with the art market had an immediate effect on her development, as a result of which, though before the publication of the theorisation of the Esthétique Relationnelle [Relational Aesthetics], she turned herself into a company called Name Diffusion at the Chamber of Commerce. In establishing a dialogue with the textile companies with which she worked, her work made visible the production chain involved. Thus, her work was a form of mediation between worlds that were otherwise remote from one another. In 1992 she was included in a large group exhibition at the Groninger Museum, which was the first attempt to bring together artistic collectives that existed as companies. The exhibition was called Business Art / Art Business. For it, Marion Baruch produced a structured mediation platform that highlighted the dynamics of production with the help of a well-known textile company in Gallarate. She included in the work documentation of all the elements and people involved in industrial production: the products themselves, workers, workplaces, and stands for distribution and sales. She even included the museum café, which she customised, the museum’s signage and the shirts worn by the museum staff.

She lived in Paris from 1993 to 2000. In 1994 she was included in the exhibition Femmes Publiques at the Palais de la femme, where she fitted out a voting centre, having obtained all the official equipment required for municipal elections. By eliminating the boundaries between reality and fiction with a simple act, she staged a role-playing situation that turned the event into a place for encounter, debate and the expression of one’s will, catching it in suspension before it developed into a political act.
The activities of Name Diffusion underwent new developments affected by socio-political themes. A series of projects was created with the help of Internet platforms, which touched on such topical subjects as genetics, immigration and the phenomenon in France of “sans papiers”. Between 2002 and 2011 Name Diffusion included Arben Iljazi and Myriam Rambach and offered a series of workshop events that focused on translation as a moment of encounter. These participative events were held in Parisian institutions under the name “Tapis volant, jeu de cartes”, involving a public that was for the most part made up of migrants and “sans papiers”.

The most recent phases of Baruch’s career have been marked by her progressive loss of sight. In 2012 a new set of plastic works appeared characterised by a return to a formalism that the artist had long abandoned. The “rags” that she collects are nothing more than textile waste thrown away by the prêt-à-porter industry. The choice of how each piece should be exhibited gives rise to a complex and stratified linguistic procedure. Issuing from her visual memory come a series of images, dynamics, faces and the techniques of an artistic practice that brings together dimensions of expression and translates them into a simple act, taking into account the force of gravity.
Marion Baruch has partnered and exhibited in a number of prestigious European institutions, such as the Kunstmuseum Luzern, the Mamco in Geneva, the Magasin in Grenoble, the Palais de Tokyo in Paris, the Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Moderna in Rome, the Mambo in Bologna, the Groninger Museum, the Turner Contemporary in Margate, Fri-Art Kunsthalle Fribourg, Kunst Werke Berlin, and Maga Gallarate.

Read more

Noah Stolz

Translated from Italian by Timothy Stroud.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Untitled, 1967, installation, steel, unknown dimensions

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch and A.G.Fronzoni, Contenitore-Ambiente, 1969, plexiglas sphere, © Photo: Berengo Gardin

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Abito – Contenitore, 1970, photographs, unknown dimensions

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Untitled, 1964, oil painting, unknown dimensions

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Ron Ron, 1972, unknown technique, unknown dimensions

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Untitled (Bandiere), 1987-1989, wood, glass, acrylic, beeswax and pigment, dimensions variables

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Superart, 1988-1989, structure in aluminium and caddy in inox steel, 177 x 90 x 48 cm

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, Untitled (Statement Name Diffusion), 1990, photocopy on pink paper

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, Museum Fashion, 1993, orange silk shirts with logo “Name diffusion”and “Gröninger Museum”

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, Plat du jour, 1992, installation, table, ceramic plate, head of Woody Allen and vegetables, framed colour photograph, variable dimensions

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, 1993, exhibition view Business Art/Art Buisiness (1993), Groninger Museum, Groningen), Courtesy Marion Baruch

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, “L’autre Nom”, 1994, exhibition Femmes Publiques at Palais de la Femme

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, exhibition view Le parti pris des nuages, Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou, Paris, 2013

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, exhibition view Le parti pris des nuages, Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou, Paris, 2013

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Arroser l’ivresse, 2017, fabric, 140 x 107 cm

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marion Baruch

1929 | Timisoara, Roumanie
Informations
Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Oskar Landi

Soutiens
— Nathalie Viot — Noah Stolz

Plasticienne roumaine.

En 1948, Marion Baruch, entreprend des études à l’Académie des beaux-arts de Bucarest, à cette époque fortement asservie par le régime stalinien. L’année suivante elle a l’exceptionnelle possibilité d’émigrer en Israël. Elle continue donc ses études près la Bezalel Academy of Arts and Design de Jérusalem, fréquentant ainsi le cours de Mordecai Ardon, artiste de l’École du Bauhaus et élève de Paul Klee. Quatre ans après, elle expose dans la Gallerie Micra-Studio de Tel Aviv, les critiques très positives, lui ont permis d’obtenir une bourse d’études, grâce à laquelle elle déménage en Italie, en 1954, où elle étudie la peinture à l’Académie des beaux-arts à Rome.
Ce parcours, dense et articulé par de continuelles nouvelles rencontres, mais aussi par des bouleversements soudains, se reflète dans sa peinture souvent définie comme « fortement expressive » et qui continue à évoluer en provoquant de l’étonnement parmi les critiques de l’époque. Ces derniers peinent à classer son talent, de A. Mann, critique du journal Maariv de Tel Aviv à Lionello Venturi qui écrit sur elle à la suite de l’exposition personnelle à « la Cupola » de Rome. Son Professeur, Roberto Melli, pressent l’explosive nature du langage en devenir de Marion Baruch, qui écrit : « Je ne sais pas quel sera le futur de cette artiste (exprès, je ne dis pas peintre), si les forces pourront lui faire atteindre les objectifs auxquels aspirent la fougue passionnelle de sa nature, son intuition des faits picturaux et des directives particulières de la peinture moderne ».

En 1958 nait son premier enfant Gabriel, et Paolo, le second en 1961. Pendant les années 1960, le langage pictural de Marion Baruch change radicalement jusqu’à annoncer un dépassement définitif  de la figuration et se termine dans un intérêt toujours plus marqué par une approche gestuelle vers l’abstraction, les arts graphiques et d’une certaine manière vers un langage plastique qui se révèle en effet vers la fin des années 1960 et le début des années 1970 par une série de sculptures de grandes dimensions qui sont exposées à Paris, à la biennale de sculpture et à la Fondation Pagani di Castellanza. Cette nouvelle phase s’ouvre probablement à la suite de la construction de la villa moderniste où l’artiste habitera avec sa famille et dont elle suivra les travaux avec une assiduité maniaque. C’est en effet à cette occasion que Marion Baruch rencontre le forgeron avec lequel elle met au point les sculptures en métal. Ces sculptures, stylisant les traits de l’architecture moderne, se développent, en même temps, autour du corps humain, restant toutefois ouvertes vers l’extérieur. C’est dans cette phase que l’artiste rencontre A. G. Fronzoni, avec l’aide duquel elle réalise deux œuvres radicales de design expérimental : Contenitore-Ambiente (1970) et Vestito-Contenitore (1970). Magistralement pris en photo par Berengo Gardin. Les images font le tour du monde et sont publiées par Abitare et par Domus. Elles sont donc découvertes par le producteur visionnaire de design Dino Gavina, qui décide d’inviter l’artiste à participer au projet Ultramobile, un groupe d’objets non-objets conçus par des artistes de classe mondiale comme Man Ray, Meret Oppenheim, Sébastien Matta, Allen Jones et autres.
Cette brève incursion dans le monde du design marque d’une manière indélébile la façon de penser l’œuvre de Marion Baruch, qui commence ainsi, non seulement à assimiler une pratique de type conceptuel, mais aussi à développer un intérêt remarquable pour la production industrielle en tant que dimension indispensable de la création contemporaine. Une nouvelle période d’assimilation est nécessaire pour incorporer la relation de l’artiste à l’histoire de l’art occidental. Dans cette phase de transition, la peinture revient, l’artefact, le conceptualisme à travers une série de travaux pratiquement jamais exposés et qui ne sont compris qu’aujourd’hui dans leur nature la plus intime ; ainsi nait la série des Rembrandt (1978-1982) et plus tard celle des Monitor [Moniteurs], des Bandiere [Drapeaux] et des Pedane [Estrades] (1985-1989).

En 1989, elle rencontre le charismatique galeriste Luciano Inga Pin. Elle travaillera avec lui pendant plusieurs années en participant régulièrement à des expositions comme celles de Art Bassel et de Art Cologne de 1990 à 1993. La confrontation avec la réalité marchande a un effet immédiat sur les évolutions futures de l’œuvre de l’artiste, qui bien avant la théorisation de l’Esthétique relationnelle lui affirme l’altérité de l’artiste en se constituant en forme d’entreprise. Elle fonde ainsi la marque Name Diffusion, régulièrement enregistrée à la Chambre de Commerce. Son travail rend visible la chaine de production, établissant un dialogue avec un pied dans l’industrie textile avec laquelle elle collabore. L’œuvre se traduit donc dans une action de médiation entre ces mondes si lointains l’un de l’autre. En 1992 elle participe à une importante exposition collective au Groninger Museum qui rassemble pour la première fois dans l’histoire des collectifs artistiques sous forme d’entreprise, Busines Art / Art Business. À cette occasion Marion Baruch met en scène une plateforme articulée de médiation qui représente les nombreuses dynamiques de la production en s’appuyant sur une célèbre manufacture textile de Gallarate et elle montre des éléments qui documentent et qui incluent tous les éléments et tous les acteurs de la production industrielle : les produits, les travailleurs, les lieux de travail, les stands pour la diffusion et la vente. Elle arrive même à inclure dans cette opération la cafétéria du musée spécialement customisée, ainsi que la signalétique ou les chemises pour le personnel.

De 1993 à 2000, Marion Baruch vit à Paris. En 1994 elle participe à l’exposition Femmes Publiques au Palais de la femme où elle installe un bureau de vote, obtenant tout l’équipement officiel nécessaire pour le vote municipal. Avec un geste simple, elle abat les frontières entre la réalité et la fiction en réalisant un jeu subtil de rôles qui fait de cet événement un lieu de rencontre, d’expression du désir et de débat qui se cristallisent juste avant de devenir un acte politique.
L’activité de Name Diffusion est constamment soumise à de nouvelles modalités sensibles à des thématiques socio-politiques. Une série de projets nait et se développe à l’aide de sites Internet et qui touchent des thèmes de l’actualité comme la génétique, l’immigration et le phénomène des sans-papiers. De 2002 à 2011 Name Diffusion intègre Arben Iljazi et Myriam Rambach et propose une série d’évènements laboratoires centrés sur la traduction comme phénomène de rencontre. Ces évènements participatifs ont lieu dans des différentes institutions de la ville sous le nom de « Tapis volant jeu de cartes » et impliquent un public composé surtout de migrants et de « sans papiers ».

Les dernières phases de son parcours sont marquées par une perte progressive de la vue. En 2012, nait un nouveau groupe de travaux plastiques construits à travers la redécouverte d’un formalisme abandonné depuis longtemps par l’artiste. Les morceaux de tissus que Marion Baruch se procure ne sont que les déchets du Prêt-à-porter. La manière dont chaque morceau est mis en place donne lieu à une complexité linguistique stratifiée. De la mémoire visuelle de l’artiste affleure des images dynamiques, des visages et des techniques d’une pratique artistique qui réunit différentes dimensions expressives qu’elle traduit dans un simple geste et en tenant compte de l’autorité fondamentale de la gravité.
Marion Baruch a collaboré etexposé dans différentes institutions européennes comme le Kunstmuseum Luzern, le Mamco de Genève, le Magasin de Grenoble, le Palais de Tokyo, la Galerie Nationale d’Art Moderne de Rome, le Mambo de Bologne, le Groninger Museum, le Turner Contemporary de Margate, le Fri-Art Kunsthalle Fribourg, Kunst Werke Berlin Maga Gallarate.

Lire plus

Noah Stolz

© 2018 Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Sans titre, 1967, installation, acier, dimensions inconnues

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch et A.G.Fronzoni, Contenitore-Ambiente, 1969, sphère en plexiglas, © Photo : Berengo Gardin

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Abito – Contenitore, 1970, photographies, dimensions inconnues

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Sans titre, 1964, peinture à l’huile, dimensions inconnues

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Ron Ron, 1972, technique inconnue, dimensions inconnues

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Sans titre (Bandiere), 1987-1989, bois, verre, peinture acrylique, cire d’abeille et pigment, dimensions variables

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Superart, 1988-1989, structure en aluminium et chariot en acier inox, 177 x 90 x 48 cm

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, Sans Titre (Statement Name Diffusion), 1990, photocopie sur papier rose

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, Museum Fashion, 1993, chemises en soie orange avec logo “Name diffusion” et “Gröninger Museum”

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, Plat du jour, 1992, installation, table, plat en céramique, tête de Woody Allen et légumes, photographie couleur encadrée, dimensions variables

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, 1993, vue d’installation, Business Art/Art Buisiness (1993), Groninger Museum, Groningen, Courtesy Marion Baruch

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Name Diffusion, “L’autre Nom”, 1994, exposition Femmes Publiques au Palais de la Femme

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, vue d’exposition Le parti pris des nuages, Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou, Paris, 2013

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, vue d’exposition Le parti pris des nuages, Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou, Paris, 2013

Marion Baruch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marion Baruch, Arroser l’ivresse, 2017, tissu, 140 x 107 cm

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29