Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marisa Merz

1931 | Turin, Italy
Informations
Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Fondazione Merz

Sponsor
— Fondazione Merz

Italian sculptress and mixed media artist.

Before dedicating herself entirely to graphic arts, Marisa Merz studied architecture, during which time she met her husband, Mario Merz, a major artist of the Italian art scene of the second half of the 20th century. She began showing her work in 1967 in Turin, birthplace of Fiat and of the protest movement Arte Povera (“poor art”). The movement, which brought together a group of Italian artists as from the late 60s, used “poor” materials, often taken from everyday life, as art objects. In 1968 Marisa Merz, her husband, Jannis Kounellis and Michelangelo Pistoletto, among others, participated in the event Arte povera + Azioni povere (“poor art + poor actions”). On this occasion, she made braided copper and nylon thread pieces shaped like small children’s shoes (Scarpette di Bea) or in the likeness of her daughter Beatrice and left them on the beach in Amalfi. Since her beginnings, metal was always her material of choice in her figurative and abstract work alike. This material was typical of Arte povera artists but also of the New York disciples of Minimal Art – a movement she distinguished herself from in the way she worked materials and created new shapes, delicately assembling aluminium sheets, weaving inextricable nylon and copper webs, subjecting these industrial materials to the patient labour of sewing traditionally attributed to women, making them light, airy, and insubstantial like cobwebs (Untitled, 1979), organic in their tubular or triangular shapes and in the slightly irregular excrescence they always present. The artist’s attention to the intrinsic properties of materials and value she places in their rigidity or flexibility, their malleability, and especially their colour, are essential elements of her universe – poetic, uncluttered, and undeniably driven by a search for beauty.

In the 70s she started working with wax and paraffin, giving shape to these usually shapeless substances. Copper is also very present in her work, whether in its material or warm-coloured form, and has almost become the artist’s leitmotiv. This play on shapes and materials reaches its full expression in her installations, which merge seemingly scattered and dissimilar objects as if in a dream: cups and threads, glasses, tables, rose petals, leaves, or a bathtub where plant-like steel excrescences grow alongside an isolated block of paraffin. Her installations, which often remain untitled, question the unity of the work of art. They do not make for easy interpretation, but rather conjure up the viewer’s imagination, like an invitation into an intimate world made even more lyrical as the artist became in the habit of supplementing them with her own poems as from 1979. Our imagination is particularly stimulated by a combination of sensory suggestions; for example, the 1997 piece Untitled features a violin-shaped white wax fountain placed in a dark leaden receptacle, which receives the trickling sounds of the water jet as it spouts from the violin. As from the 80s the human figure, whether drawn or modelled, began to take up a considerable part of her installations. She drew an extensive series of portraits on canvas and paper, in pencil or pastel, in small or very large formats. She also began a series of plaster and clay modelled heads, and experimented with all sorts of shapes, eventually obliterating the features altogether by pouring green wax onto the heads, in an approach remotely reminiscent of Medardo Rosso’s sculpture. Often coloured (Untitled, multi-coloured clay, 1982) and sometimes covered with thin copper or gold mesh, her modelled heads are placed on suggestions of pedestals (stools, tripods, chairs), as are her painted heads and most of her objects, thus adding complexity to the scenography of her installations. In spite of the artist’s discretion, many prestigious institutions – Venice Biennale, Rome Quadrennial, Centre Pompidou – have paid tribute to her work.

Read more

Anne Lepoittevin

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Senza titolo (spirale) [Untitled  (spiral)], 1993, copper wire, iron, raw clay, variable dimensions, Courtesy Fondazione Merz

Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Senza Titolo, undated, two of raw clay heads, gold painting on iron tripod, 16 x 16 x 12 cm, Courtesy Fondazione Merz

Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Living Sculpture (part.), 1966, aluminium, emanel, three parts: 334.6 x 137.2 x 85.1 cm; 205.7 x 101 x 87.6 cm; 284.5 x 88.9 x 87.6 cm, Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York © Photo: David Regen

Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Senza titolo [Untitled], 1984, mixed media on canvas, wax, wood copper wire, Courtesy Fondazione Merz

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marisa Merz

1931 | Turin, Italie
Informations
Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Fondazione Merz

Soutien
— Fondazione Merz

Sculptrice et artiste multimédia italienne.

Avant de se vouer pleinement aux arts graphiques, Marisa Merz poursuit des études d’architecture, durant lesquelles elle rencontre son mari, Mario Merz, artiste majeur de la scène italienne de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Elle commence à exposer en 1967 à Turin, ville de Fiat et lieu embryonnaire du mouvement contestataire Arte povera (« art pauvre ») qui, dès la fin des années 1960, réunit un groupe d’artistes italiens prenant pour objets d’art des matériaux « pauvres », souvent tirés de la vie quotidienne. En 1968, elle participe avec son mari, Jannis Kounellis et Michelangelo Pistoletto, entre autres, à l’action Arte povera + Azioni povere (« art pauvre + actions pauvres ») et abandonne, sur la plage d’Amalfi, ses œuvres en fil de cuivre ou de Nylon tressé en forme de petites chaussures d’enfant (Scarpette di Bea) ou à l’effigie de sa fille, Béatrice. Dès ses débuts, dans ses œuvres figuratives comme abstraites, elle choisit des matériaux métalliques, emblématiques des artistes du groupe mais aussi des tenants new-yorkais du Minimal Art, mouvement dont elle se démarque toutefois radicalement par le travail qu’elle effectue sur la matière et les formes nouvelles qu’elle crée : elle assemble finement des lamelles d’aluminium, file d’inextricables toiles de Nylon et de cuivre, soumet ces matériaux industriels à une patiente besogne de couture, séculairement attribuée à la femme, qui les rend légers, aériens, inconsistants comme des toiles d’araignée (Sans titre, 1979), organiques dans leurs formes tubulaires ou triangulaires, dans leurs excroissances légèrement irrégulières que toujours ils assument. Ce sont l’attention et la valeur qu’elle accorde aux propriétés intrinsèques des matières, leur rigidité ou leur souplesse, leur malléabilité, leur couleur surtout, qui créent l’univers de l’artiste, poétique, dépouillé, mû par une évidente recherche de beauté.

Dès les années 1970, elle travaille la cire et la paraffine, et donne forme à ces matériaux par essence informes. Très présent, le cuivre, à la fois couleur – chaude – et matière, est presque devenu l’antienne (le leitmotiv) de l’artiste. Ces jeux de formes et de matières trouvent leur pleine expression dans ses installations qui rapprochent, à la manière du rêve, des objets a priori épars et dissemblables : des tasses et des fils, des verres, des tables, des pétales de rose, des feuilles ou encore une baignoire où poussent des excroissances végétales d’acier associée à un bloc de paraffine blanc isolé. Ses installations, très souvent « sans titre », posent la question de l’unité de l’œuvre d’art. Elles n’offrent pas une lecture facile mais conjurent (sollicitent) plutôt l’imagination du spectateur, invité dans un monde intime et d’autant plus lyrique que l’artiste prend l’habitude, à partir de 1979, d’y insérer des poésies de sa main. L’imagination est particulièrement stimulée par un ensemble de suggestions sensorielles. Par exemple, l’œuvre Sans titre de 1997 présente un violon-fontaine de cire blanche placé dans un socle de plomb sombre, réceptacle des jeux sonores des jets d’eau que libère le violon. À partir des années 1980, la figure, dessinée et modelée, tient une place considérable dans ses installations. Elle exécute une abondante série de portraits sur toile ou sur papier, au crayon ou au pastel, petits ou très grands. Elle entreprend également une série de têtes modelées en plâtre ou en terre, et expérimente toute une série de formes, jusqu’à abolir pleinement les traits des visages en coulant sur les têtes une cire verdâtre qui évoque lointainement les têtes du sculpteur Medardo Rosso. Souvent colorées (Sans titre, argile polychrome, 1982), parfois revêtues d’un mince filet de cuivre ou d’or tissé, ses têtes modelées, placées sur des mémoires de socles (tabourets, trépieds, chaises) comme le sont ses têtes peintes et beaucoup de ses objets, viennent complexifier les scénographies de ses installations. Malgré la discrétion de l’artiste, plurales et prestigieuses sont les institutions qui lui ont rendu hommage : la Biennale de Venise, la Quadriennale de Rome, le Centre Pompidou.

Lire plus

Anne Lepoittevin

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Senza titolo (spirale) [Sans titre (spirale)], 1993, fil de cuivre, fer, argile crue, dimensions variables, Courtesy Fondazione Merz

Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Senza Titolo, sans date, deux têtes de terre crue, peinture or sur trépied de fer, 16 x 16 x 12 cm, Courtesy Fondazione Merz

Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Living Sculpture (part.), 1966, aluminium, émail, trois parties : 334,6 x 137,2 x 85,1 cm; 205,7 x 101 x 87,6 cm; 284,5 x 88,9 x 8,6 cm, Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York © Photo : David Regen

Marisa Merz — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marisa Merz, Senza titolo [Sans titre], 1984, technique mixte sur toile, cire, fil de cuivre de bois, Courtesy Fondazione Merz

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29