Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Paula Dawson

1954 | Brisbane, Australia
Informations
Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Dove, da Dove Sei? [Where, where do you come from?], 2003, © ADAGP, Paris

Sponsor
— Paula Dawson

Australian visual artist.

Practicing sculpture, performance and holography, Paula Dawson has been influenced by the inventions of her father, an electronics engineer, and her mother’s artistic sensibility, particularly in the realm of opera. At a very early age, she studied classical dance and adopted the techniques of Martha Graham (1894-1991) and Merce Cunningham (1919-2009). Her first performance, Music and Lasers in Mazes (1977), associated dance and light. She graduated from the Melbourne Institute of Technology in 1978 and from the Victoria College of the Arts in 1981, and developed an interest in the porous boundary between the real and the virtual. After producing explosive sculptures in 1978, she focused on the creative possibilities of holography, which was then becoming accessible, and which she introduced into the Australian artistic arena in 1974, when she was still a student, and then in 1977, at her solo exhibition, Transparent Things, at the RMIT Gallery in Melbourne, and the following year in the installation The Difference Between Tuesday and Thursday.

Dawson then devised ambitious installations, such as There’s No Place Like Home (1979) in the laboratory of General Physics and Optics in Besançon. In this installation, she reconstructed an Australian suburban home and its ordinary living room, awash in the green light of the laser, and furnished with monochrome holographic objects. In 1999, this exploration led her to submit a doctoral thesis on the space-time potential of the holographic image. While teaching in Sydney, she carried on her work on holograms, trying to transpose the chiaroscuro of Italian Renaissance painters in Shadowy Figures, (2003), and developing the capacities of the rainbow hologram in Phantom Brush (2009).

Read more

Fanny Drugeon

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Hyperobject-Homeland, 2013, digital hologram, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, There’s No Place Like Home, 1980, laser transmission hologram, 150 x 95 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, To Absent Friends, 1989, production still documentation of To Absent Friends, depicting construction of the pub set at the National Acoustics Laboratory in Sydney, © Photo: Fiona Hall, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Luminous Presence (detail), 2007, computer graphic holographic stereogram, 25 x 25 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, The Legend of the True Hologram, 2007, holographic stereogram, 25 x 25 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Mirror Mirror, 2004, holographic print etched on bronze disk on bronze figurine, 33 x 14.7 x 7.5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, To Absent Friends, 1989, poster, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Paula Dawson

1954 | Brisbane, Australie
Informations
Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Dove, da Dove Sei ? [Où, Où viens-tu ?], 2003, © ADAGP, Paris

Soutien
— Paula Dawson

Plasticienne australienne.

Pratiquant la sculpture, la performance et l’holographie, Paula Dawson est marquée par les inventions de son père, ingénieur en électronique, et la sensibilité artistique de sa mère, notamment à l’opéra. Elle étudie très tôt la danse classique et intègre les techniques de Martha Graham (1894-1991) et de Merce Cunningham (1919-2009). Sa première performance, Music and Lasers in Mazes (1977), associe danse et lumière. Diplômée du Melbourne Institute of Technology en 1978 et du Victoria College of the Arts en 1981, elle s’intéresse à la frontière poreuse entre le réel et le virtuel. Après des sculptures explosives en 1978, elle se consacre aux possibilités créatives de l’holographie, qui devient alors accessible, et qu’elle introduit dans la sphère artistique australienne en 1974, alors qu’elle est étudiante, puis en 1977, lors de son exposition personnelle, Transparent Things, à la RMIT Gallery à Melbourne, et l’année suivante, dans l’installation The Difference Between Tuesday and Thursday.

P. Dawson conçoit ensuite d’ambitieuses installations, comme There’s No Place Like Home (1979) au sein du Laboratoire de physique générale et d’optique de Besançon : elle y reconstitue une maison de banlieue australienne et son salon ordinaire, plongé dans la lumière verte du laser, et meublé d’objets holographiques monochromes. Ces recherches la conduisent, en 1999, à soutenir une thèse de doctorat sur les potentialités spatiales et temporelles de l’image holographique. Enseignante à Sydney, elle poursuit son travail sur les hologrammes, cherchant à transposer le clair-obscur des peintres de la Renaissance italienne dans Shadowy Figures (2003) ou à développer les capacités de l’hologramme arc-en-ciel dans Phantom Brush (2009).

Lire plus

Fanny Drugeon

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Hyperobject-Homeland, 2013, hologramme numérique, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, There’s No Place Like Home, 1980, hologramme à transmission laser, 150 x 95 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, To Absent Friends, 1989, documentation de production de To Absent Friends, illustrant la construction du pub au Laboratoire national d’acoustique de Sydney, © Photo : Fiona Hall, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Luminous Presence (détail), 2007, computer graphic holographic stereogram, 25 x 25 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, The Legend of the True Hologram, 2007, stéréogramme holographique, 25 x 25 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, Mirror Mirror, 2004, tirage holographique gravé sur disque de bronze sur figurine en bronze, 33 x 14,7 x 7,5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Paula Dawson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Paula Dawson, To Absent Friends, 1989, affiche, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29