Sturtevant

1930 | Lakewood, Ohio, United States
Informations
Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Alamy Stock Photo

American multimedia artist.

The work of Elaine Sturtevant, a landmark in the history of art, questions representation and reproduction. Since the beginning of her career almost fifty years ago, she has challenged the critical discourse and postmodern rhetoric, guidelines based on post-Duchampian diversion. Her large 2004 retrospective at the Museum für Moderne Kunst in Frankfurt was true to its title: The Brutal Truth, revealing that her work are not duplicates. She questioned the autonomy of art in a new way. From the early 1960s her work has consisted of replicating artworks by artists such as Jasper Johns, Andy Warhol, Marcel Duchamp, Joseph Beuys and Roy Lichtenstein, dating from just before they became recognised on the international scene, thus revealing a critical intuition and capacity to determine the trends of a history in the making. Her project is, at its origin, considered aggressive and provocative, not to mention unspeakable. Often mistakenly associated with the appropriationism of the 1980s, her work anticipated and radically stood out from the reproduction process of Sherrie Levine (1947) and the political undertaking of desacralization of Mike Bidlo and of Philip Taaffe. Distanced from these practices, she developed in parallel to the movement of historical thinking of Michel Foucault and Deleuzian philosophy.

For several decades she has concentrated on the power of art and images, the idea of cloning, and in a visionary way, predicted the impact of cybernetics and the digital revolution, a revolution which was only the promise of false subversions and that ended in making the handmade replica technically obsolete to open the reign of the simulacrum and simultaneous diffusion. What interests her even more in this digital age is the reversal of values, hierarchies of reality and its representations. “My works reflect our cyber world of excess, limitations, transgression and dilapidation. Once, the higher power was the force of knowledge, intelligence and truth. Today, the superior power is to hate, to kill, while a mask of truth covers the dangerous power of lies,” she wrote in 2007. Two fundamental figures reappear constantly in her work: M. Duchamp and A. Warhol. If there is one thing accepted in art today, it is the possibility for an artist to carry out A. Warhol’s “programme”. Yet, E. Sturtevant is perhaps the only one to have integrated the true logic of things (to the detriment of the logic of meaning), that of the series, the surface, the machine. The circular projection Dillinger Running Series (2000) is one of the most remarkable examples; in the movement of walking it reveals the movement of the machine in the centre of the same space. Her videos are composed of looped sequences, where everything seems to be delivered in reality as the only event. The camera is no more part of the subject who is filming than it is of the object it is filming. It records the passage of a body and an object.

The film and video installations show to what extent this production from the last ten years exceeds and renews all questions of the origin: that of impulse, of seeing and of doing, mechanisms of clearing and repetition, and pornography, of course, which synthesises all the others. One of her most powerful installations, The Dark Threat of Absence/Fragmented and Sliced (2002), composed of seven screens arranged in a line distorts modes of interpretation and perception. It is not a reference to Paul McCarthy’s video The Painter, even less to painting, but rather the great, globalised factory of images: all of these images of mutilation, excess, disjunction, transgression, fear and depletion that remain static and flash on the screens. From this principle of fragmentation, the artist prevents the adhesion, suspends enjoyment, the door to the limits of frustration, of a form of violence in language, because language clearly holds a determining place here that opposes the background noise and resists with all its “biopower” to inertia.

Read more

Stéphanie Moisdon

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Duchamp Man Ray Portrait, 1966, photography, 21 x 20 cm, private collection

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Dillinger Running Series, 2000, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Dillinger Running Series, 2000, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Flag after Jasper Johns, 1967, newspaper, photograph, and wax on canvas, 56.5 x 49.2 cm, private collection

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Sans titre, 1997, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Yves Chenot, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Sans titre, 1997, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Yves Chenot, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, The Dark Threat of Absence Fragmented and Sliced, 2002, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Warhol Flowers, 1990, acrylic paint, 122 x 122 cm, musée d’Art ancien et contemporain, Epinal, © Photo: RMN-Grand Palais and Michèle Bellot, © Sturtevant Estate

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Warhol Licorice Marilyn, 2004, acrylic and silkscreen ink on canvas, 40.7 x 32 cm, private collection

Magazine
Linked article
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Sturtevant

1930 | Lakewood, Ohio, États-Unis
Informations
Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Alamy Stock Photo

Artiste multimédia américaine.

L’œuvre d’Elaine Sturtevant, événement dans l’histoire de l’art, remet en question la représentation et la reproduction. Depuis son apparition, il y a plus de cinquante ans, elle piège le discours critique et la rhétorique postmoderne, la grille de lecture fondée sur le détournement post-duchampien. Sa grande rétrospective en 2004 au Museum für Moderne Kunst de Francfort ne démentait pas son intitulé : The Brutal Truth, « vérité brutale » qui révèle que ses œuvres ne sont pas des copies. Elle pose, de manière inaugurale, la question de l’autonomie de l’art. Dès le début des années 1960, son travail consiste à répliquer des œuvres, comme celles de Jasper Johns, Andy Warhol, Marcel Duchamp, Joseph Beuys, Roy Lichtenstein, juste avant qu’elles ne soient reconnues sur la scène internationale, témoignant ainsi d’une intuition critique et d’une capacité à distinguer les courants d’une histoire en train de s’écrire. Son projet est, à l’origine, perçu comme violent ou provocateur, pour ne pas dire inqualifiable. Souvent associée à tort au courant appropriationniste des années 1980, son œuvre l’anticipe et se démarque radicalement des procédures de reproduction de Sherrie Levine (1947), de l’entreprise politique de désacralisation de Mike Bidlo ou de Philip Taaffe. À l’écart de ces pratiques, elle se développe en parallèle du mouvement de la pensée historienne de Michel Foucault et de la philosophie deleuzienne.

Elle se concentre ainsi depuis plusieurs décennies sur le pouvoir de l’art et des images, sur les principes de clonage, et préfigure de manière visionnaire l’impact de la cybernétique et de la révolution digitale, révolution qui n’est que la promesse de fausses subversions et qui achève de rendre techniquement caduque la réplique handmade pour ouvrir sur le règne du simulacre et de la diffusion simultanée. Mais ce qui l’intéresse encore davantage dans cet âge numérique, c’est le renversement des valeurs, des hiérarchies de la réalité et de ses représentations. « Mes pièces reflètent notre cybermonde d’excès, d’entraves, de transgression et de dilapidation […] Autrefois, la force supérieure, c’était celle du savoir, de l’intelligence, de la vérité. Aujourd’hui, la force supérieure, c’est haïr, tuer, tandis que le masque de la vérité recouvre le pouvoir dangereux du mensonge », écrit-elle (2007). Dans l’axe central de sa production apparaissent sans cesse deux figures fondamentales : M. Duchamp et A. Warhol. S’il est une chose acceptée aujourd’hui dans l’art, c’est la possibilité pour un artiste de réaliser le « programme » d’A. Warhol. Mais E. Sturtevant est peut-être la seule à en avoir intégré la véritable logique des choses (au détriment de la logique du sens), celle de la série, de la surface, de la machine. La projection circulaire de Dillinger Running Series (2000) en est un des exemples les plus remarquables, et révèle dans le mouvement de la marche celui de la machine au centre de l’espace. Ses vidéos sont faites de plans-séquences en boucle, où tout semble être livré au réel, comme seul événement. La caméra ne fait pas plus corps avec le sujet qui filme qu’avec l’objet qu’elle filme. Elle enregistre le passage d’un corps et d’un objet.

Les installations de films et de vidéos montrent à quel point cette production des dix dernières années outrepasse et renouvelle toutes les questions d’origine : celle de la pulsion, du voir et du faire, des mécanismes d’évidement et de répétition, celle de la pornographie, bien sûr, qui synthétise toutes les autres. Une de ses installations les plus puissantes, The Dark Threat of Absence/Fragmented and Sliced [a menace obscure de l’absence/fragments et tranches, 2002], composée de sept moniteurs disposés en ligne, pervertit les modes d’interprétation et de perception : il ne s’agit en aucun cas d’une référence à la vidéo de Paul McCarthy, The Painter, et encore moins de peinture, mais de la grande fabrique mondialisée des images : toutes ces images de mutilation, d’excès, de disjonction, de transgression, de peur et d’épuisement, qui se fixent et clignotent sur les écrans. À partir de ce principe de fragmentation, l’artiste empêche l’adhésion, suspend la jouissance, la porte aux limites de la frustration, d’une forme de violence dans le langage, car le langage tient ici évidemment une place déterminante, qui s’oppose au bruit de fond et qui résiste de tout son « biopouvoir » à l’inertie.

Lire plus

Stéphanie Moisdon

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Duchamp Man Ray Portrait, 1966, photographie, 21 x 20 cm, collection particulière

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Dillinger Running Series, 2000, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Dillinger Running Series, 2000, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Flag after Jasper Johns, 1967, journaux, photographie et cire sur toile, 56,5 x 49,2 cm, collection particulière

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Sans titre, 1997, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Yves Chenot, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Sans titre, 1997, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Yves Chenot, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, The Dark Threat of Absence Fragmented and Sliced, 2002, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Galerie Thaddaeus Ropac, © Sturtevant Estate / Cnap

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Warhol Flowers, 1990, peinture acrylique, 122 x 122 cm, musée d’Art ancien et contemporain, Epinal, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais et Michèle Bellot, © Sturtevant Estate

Sturtevant — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elaine Sturtevant, Warhol Licorice Marilyn, 2004, acrylique et sérigraphie sur toile, 40,7 x 32 cm, collection particulière

Magazine
Article lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29