Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina)

1937Aligarh, India | 2020London, United Kingdom

Indian visual artist.

Zarina was raised in the cultural and intellectual milieu of the Aligarh Muslim University, a world that informed her aesthetic sensibility, encompassing her father’s history books and the strong feminine bonds of the zenana. She took up printmaking while married to an officer in the Indian foreign service, first woodblock carving in Bangkok, then learning experimental ink and intaglio techniques at Atelier 17, the cosmopolitan Paris studio run by Stanley William Hayter (1901-1988). Zarina is best known for her series of etchings and woodblock prints that express the estrangement of migration, geographical dislocation and exile, captured in works such as Travels with Rani (2008), a dotted diagram of all the towns and train stations she and her family had passed through, forming a mind map of an undivided subcontinent; or Dividing Line (2001), a black-and-white woodblock print with a thickly gouged iteration of the Radcliffe Line that created Pakistan from Hindustan, capturing its violence and divisive power in minimalist simplicity. Mapping and borderlines, particularly the aerial view, were important to her apprehension of the modern world, a new global order of unprecedented freedoms and deep divisions. She often quoted lines from the Palestinian “poet of exile” Mahmoud Darwish, or the progressive poetry of Adrienne Rich, finding affinity in their work and her own experiences.

 Zarina experimented with papermaking techniques, testing the limits of the medium through lessons with expert craftsmen in India, moulding and piercing paper into sculptural and architectural forms that resembled packed earth, terracotta and stone (I Whispered to the Earth [1979], Wall II [1979], Fence [1980] and Pool I [1980]). The opportunity to leave Delhi for the United States in the 1970s brought personal and artistic freedom, but also many years of quiet struggle. After many years of itinerance, between training in Japan, family and friends in Indian and Pakistan, teaching in California, and an international artistic circle in New York, she was able to base herself in her Manhattan studio while continuing to exhibit regularly in South Asia. She allied with postcolonial feminist networks, co-curating an exhibition with the Cuban artist Ana Mendieta at the A.I.R. Gallery titled Dialectics of Isolation: An Exhibition of Third World Women Artists in the United States in 1980.

The retrospective exhibition Paper Like Skin travelled from the Hammer Museum in Los Angeles in 2012 to the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York and the Art Institute of Chicago in 2013. Zarina’s works on paper, in print and collage, and her sculptures, made from paper pulp or metal, found homes in prominent museum collections such as the Tate Modern in London, and the Metropolitan Museum, MoMA, Whitney and Guggenheim in New York. Her work is part of many private collections and recent exhibitions have been held at the Ishara Art Foundation in Dubai (2019) and the Kiran Nadar Museum in New Delhi (2020).

Read more

Nada Raza


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Spinning House, 2013, tin leafs collage on engraving with silver pencil, mounted of Somerset paper, 99,1 x 76,2 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Blinding Light, 2010, cut Okawasa paper, covered in 22 carats gold leafs, 185.4 x 100.3 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Travel with Rani II, 2008, woodcut on Okawara paper, mounted on Arches cream paper, 61 x 50.8 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Travel with Rani I, 2008, intaglio print on Arches cream paper, 61 x 50,8 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, These Cities Blotted into the Wilderness, 2003, set of nine engraving on Okawara paper, mounted on Somerset paper, chacune 41. 28 x 36.17 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Tasbih, 2011, maple wood tinted with Sumi ink, partially covered in 22 carats gold leafs threaded on black leather, 548.6 cm long, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Sinking Boat with a Heartbeat, Series “We Refugees Camps”, 2015- 2016, woodcut print on BFK paper collage mounted on Arches paper, 23.5 x 27.9 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Abyss, 2013, wood block engraved on BFK paper, mounted on Somerset Antic paper, 69.85 x 55.88 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Untitled, 2016, Arches woven paper collage mounted on Somerset antic paper, 62.2 x 43.8 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, I Whispered to the Earth, 1979, mold in paper, 58.4 x 58.4 x 2.5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Home is a Foreign Place, 1999, set of 36 woodcut on wood with Urde text print in black on Indian handmade paper mounted on Somerset paper, 266.7 x 220.9 cm, chacune 44.5 x 37.5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina)

1937Aligarh, Inde | 2020Londres, Royaume-Uni

Plasticienne indienne.

Zarina grandit au sein du milieu culturel et intellectuel de l’université musulmane d’Aligarh, ce qui influencera sa sensibilité artistique, nourrie par la lecture des livres d’histoire de son père et les liens forts développés entre les femmes au sein de la zenana. Elle se forme à la gravure durant son mariage avec un officier du service diplomatique indien. Elle apprend d’abord la gravure sur bois à Bangkok, puis les techniques expérimentales de l’encre et de la taille douce à l’Atelier 17, un atelier parisien cosmopolite tenu par Stanley William Hayter (1901-1988). Zarina est surtout connue pour avoir réalisé des séries de gravures et de xylogravures qui traduisent le sentiment d’aliénation lié à la migration, à l’éloignement géographique et à l’exil. Cela s’exprime dans des œuvres comme Travels with Rani (2008), dans laquelle un schéma en pointillé de toutes les villes et gares qu’elle traverse avec sa famille forme la cartographie mentale d’un sous-continent à part entière, et Dividing Line (2001), une xylogravure en noir et blanc où un sillon très épais marque la ligne Radcliffe, qui servit à fixer les frontières entre le Pakistan et l’Inde, l’artiste rendant compte ainsi, par un procédé d’une simplicité minimaliste, de la violence et du pouvoir qui a imposé la division. La cartographie et les lignes de démarcation, particulièrement en vue aérienne, s’avèrent d’une grande importance dans sa manière d’appréhender le monde moderne et le nouvel ordre global, faits de libertés inédites et de profonds clivages. Elle cite souvent les vers du « poète de l’exil » palestinien Mahmoud Darwich ou la poésie progressiste d’Adrienne Rich, qui entretiennent une certaine affinité avec ses expériences de vie.

Zarina s’essaie aussi aux techniques de fabrication du papier et teste les limites du médium en se formant auprès d’artisans experts en Inde. Ainsi, elle moule et perce le papier pour créer des formes sculpturales à l’apparence de pierre et de terre tassée ou cuite (I Whispered to the Earth [1979], Wall II [1979], Fence [1980] et Pool I [1980]). Son départ de Delhi pour les États-Unis dans les années 1970 lui procure une liberté à la fois personnelle et artistique, mais la confronte également à de nombreuses années de souffrance silencieuse. À l’issue d’une longue période d’itinérance, entre son apprentissage au Japon, les visites à sa famille et à ses amis en Inde et au Pakistan, son enseignement en Californie et le cercle artistique cosmopolite qu’elle fréquente à New York, elle finit par s’installer dans son atelier de Manhattan, tout en continuant d’exposer en Asie du Sud. Elle s’allie aux réseaux féministes postcoloniaux et coorganise Dialectics of Isolation: An Exhibition of Third World Women Artists in the United States avec l’artiste cubaine Ana Mendieta (1948-1985) à l’A.I.R. Gallery à New York en 1980.

Zarina bénéficie d’une rétrospective itinérante, Paper Like Skin, qui se tient notamment au Hammer Museum à Los Angeles en 2012, ainsi qu’au Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum à New York et à l’Art Institute of Chicago en 2013. Ses œuvres sur papier, gravures, collages et sculptures en pâte à papier et métal sont conservées au sein de prestigieuses institutions, notamment à la Tate Modern à Londres, au Metropolitan Museum of Art, au Museum of Modern Art, au Whitney Museum et au Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum à New York. Elles font également partie de collections particulières et ont en outre été présentées au cours de ces dernières années à l’Ishara Art Foundation à Dubai (2019) et au Kiran Nadar Museum of Art de New Delhi (2020).

Lire plus

Nada Raza

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Spinning House, 2013, collage avec feuille d’étain sur gravure avec crayon argenté montée sur papier Somerset, 99,1 x 76,2 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Blinding Light, 2010, Papier Okawara découpé et recouvert à la feuille d’or 22 carats, 185,4 x 100,30 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Travel with Rani II, 2008, Gravure sur bois sur papier Okawara, montée sur papier Arches crème, 61 x 50,8 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Travel with Rani I, 2008, Gravure en taille-douce sur papier Arches crème, 61 x 50,8 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, These Cities Blotted into the Wilderness, 2003, Portfolio de neuf gravures sur papier Okawara, monté sur papier Somerset, chacune 41, 28 x 36,17 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Tasbih, 2011, Bois d’érable teinté à l’encre Sumi, partiellement recouvert à la feuille d’or 22 carats enfilé sur cordon de cuir noir, 548,6 cm de long, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Sinking Boat with a Heartbeat, Série « We Refugees Camps », 2015- 2016, collage de gravure sur bois imprimé sur papier BFK monté sur papier Arches, 23,5 x 27,9 cm , Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Abyss, 2013, Bloc de bois gravé sur papier BFK light monté sur papier Somerset Antique, 69,85 x 55,88 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Untitled, 2016, Collage de papier Arches tissé monté sur papier Somerset Antique, 62,2 x 43,8 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, I Whispered to the Earth, 1979, moulage en papier, 58,4 x 58,4 x 2,5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Zarina Hashmi (dite Zarina) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zarina Hashmi, Home is a Foreign Place, 1999, ensemble de 36 gravures sur bois avec texte Urde imprimé en noir sur papier indien fait à la main et monté sur papier Somerset, 266,7 x 220,9 cm, chacune 44,5 x 37,5 cm, Courtesy Galerie Jeanne Bucher Jaeger, © Zarina Hashmi

Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29