Zubeida Agha

1922Faisalabad, Pakistan | 1997Islamabad, Pakistan
Informations
Sponsor
— Khaas Gallery

Pakistani painter.

The work of Zubeida Agha, who is regarded as “A Pioneer of Modern Art in Pakistan”, is considered feminist, although she herself “hated the term feminist, and was quite angry with the Pakistani painters who identified with this appellation.” But in an interview she conceded that “the sensitive delicacy of her color may owe something to her gender”.
Born in 1922 in a town that later became part of Pakistan, Z. Agha studied Philosophy and Political Science at Lahore’s prestigious all-women Kinnaird College. A recurring dream about painting prompted her to seek formal training in art at BC Sanyal studio in Lahore. Just as she was growing tired of the academic and more conventional style of painting at the Saniyal studios, she had the luck of meeting Mario Perlingieri, a former student of Picasso. M. Perlingieri was an Italian prisoner-of-war interned in Lahore introduced to Z. Agha by her brother, who was a bureaucrat and prominent art critic at the time. Under M. Perlingieri’s tutelage Z. Agha learned to pursue her own inspirations and to paint an object’s idea rather than its objective reality. In 1946, she showed her work for the first time, at a group exhibition at the Lahore Museum, and won awards for both painting and sculpture. Her stylized paintings with abstract titles, such as ‘Wind’, ‘Wisdom’, ‘Metamorphosis’ among others, consciously veered away from recognizable forms and displayed a sense of spiritual harmony. Her first solo exhibition, in Karachi in 1949, shook the foundations of the Pakistani audience’s perception of art. Some were scandalized by what they called a complete lack of skill, while others were in awe of the strangely familiar shapes and forms which “established her as an exceptional colorist”. ‘The cotton pickers’ and ‘In the forest’ are notable paintings from 1949. Here she reworked the figures several times “to arrive at a shape that was simple yet it captured the rhythm of movement and the mood of her subjects”.

Agha won a scholarship to study painting at St Martin’s, London in 1950. Within a year, she transferred to École des beaux-arts in Paris, where she was happier. In 1951-52 she held solo exhibitions at the Trafford Gallery, London, and Galerie Henri Tronche, Paris. Then, she returned to Karachi, where she held two more solo shows. In comparison to her earlier somber color palette, she started to employ more radiant and vibrant colors. The cityscapes painted between 1958 & 70 are full of lights, color and visual noise but devoid of any human presence “like a façade, a false front behind which lurked the emptiness of a wasteland”. In 1961 she was appointed director of Contemporary Art Gallery in Rawalpindi. This gallery is believed to have shown works that were ‘indisputably the best of its era” and laid the foundation for the Pakistan National Art Gallery and the Arts Council in Islamabad, during her sixteen year administration. She was awarded the President’s Medal for Pride of Performance (1965), Quaid-e-Azam Award (1982), Shakir Ali Award (1983) and National Award for Lifetime Achievement in Art (1996). She retired from her formal duties in 1977 and settled in Islamabad, seeking peace and quiet in her work and hosting exclusive exhibitions of her work in her house. Her major solo exhibition was held in 1993 at the National Art Gallery in Islamabad.

Over the years she borrowed and reassembled human figures, horses, landscapes, cityscapes, flowers, objects, geometric shapes, planes and volumes, and strained herself to translate them into a subjective reality outside the realm of time and space. Though the imagery looks simple, joyous and peaceful Z. Agha recounts, “I am in agony when I paint. It is a total mental experience … The creative act is not only an emotional activity. It is only when the emotion is seized by the intellect that the painting starts taking an artistic shape”. Her painting ‘Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony’ remained a landmark for her throughout life and she would jokingly say that she wanted to paint the ninth as well but could only get a gramophone record of the fifth.
Agha lived the life of a recluse. Outside her role as the director of the gallery, she met no fellow artists, except Shakir Ali. In the final period of her life, she grew more inward, insisting on her privacy and discouraging family and friends from visiting too frequently. She never married, dedicating her whole life to the development of her art.

Read more

Rabbya Naseer

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Urban Landscape, 1982, oil on canvas, 73.2 x 91.5 cm, 30 x 36 in, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Metamorphosis, 1948, oil on canvas, 61 x 71.1 cm, 24 x 28 in, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Evening, 1980, oil on canvas, unknown dimensions, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Composition, 1988, oil on canvas, 91.5 x 73.2 cm, 36 x 30 in, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Midnight, 1979, oil on canvas, 66 x 101.6 cm, 26 x 40 in, © Khaas Gallery

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Zubeida Agha

1922Faisalabad, Pakistan | 1997Islamabad, Pakistan
Informations
Soutien
— Khaas Gallery

Peintre pakistanaise.

L’œuvre de Zubeida Agha, considérée aujourd’hui comme une « pionnière de l’art moderne au Pakistan », est souvent qualifiée de féministe, bien que l’artiste ait déclaré « détester le terme ‘féministe’ et en vouloir aux peintres pakistanaises qui s’identifient comme telles ». Mais elle concède dans un entretien que « la subtile délicatesse de ses couleurs sont peut-être liées à son genre ».
Née en 1922 dans une ville qui fera plus tard partie du Pakistan, Z. Agha fait des études de philosophie et de sciences politiques à la prestigieuse université pour femmes Kinnaird à Lahore. Après avoir rêvé à plusieurs reprises de peinture, elle décide de suivre des cours d’art classique à l’atelier de B.C. Sanyal à Lahore. Alors qu’elle commence à se lasser du style académique et trop conventionnel de l’atelier, son frère, un fonctionnaire et critique d’art respecté, lui présente Mario Perlingieri, un ancien élève de Picasso et prisonnier de guerre interné à Lahore. Encouragée par M. Perlingieri, Z. Agha apprend à suivre ses propres intuitions et à peindre les objets selon l’idée qu’elle s’en fait plutôt que selon leur réalité objective. Elle présente son travail pour la première fois lors d’une exposition collective au musée de Lahore et reçoit à cette occasion des prix de peinture et de sculpture. Ses toiles stylisées aux titres abstraits, comme Vent, Sagesse ou Métamorphose s’éloignent volontairement de motifs reconnaissables et traduisent un sentiment d’harmonie spirituelle. Sa première exposition individuelle à Karachi en 1949 ébranle les fondements de ce que le public pakistanais perçoit comme de l’art. Certains sont scandalisés par ce qu’ils considèrent être une absence totale de savoir-faire, tandis que d’autres s’émerveillent de ces formes étrangement familières, confirmant ainsi son statut de « coloriste exceptionnelle ». Deux tableaux remarquables cette année-là, Les ramasseurs de coton et Dans la forêt, montrent comment l’artiste retravaille ses motifs à plusieurs reprises jusqu’à « obtenir une forme à la fois simple et capable d’exprimer le rythme du mouvement et l’atmosphère de ses sujets ».

Agha obtient une bourse d’études en peinture à la St Martin’s School of Art à Londres en 1950. L’année suivante, elle choisit néanmoins de continuer son parcours à l’École des beaux-arts de Paris, où elle se sent plus à l’aise. En 1951-1952, elle expose seule à la Trafford Gallery à Londres et à la galerie Henri Tronche à Paris. Elle retourne ensuite à Karachi, où son travail est de nouveau exposé à deux reprises. Sa palette habituellement assez sombre s’additionne désormais de couleurs plus vives et éclatantes. Les paysages urbains qu’elle peint de 1958 à 1970 sont emplis de lumière, de couleurs et d’interférences visuelles, mais sans la moindre présence humaine, « comme une façade, une fausse devanture derrière laquelle se cache le néant d’un terrain vague ». En 1961, elle est nommée directrice de la Contemporary Art Gallery à Rawalpindi. Au cours de ses seize années passées sous la direction de Z. Agha, la galerie a exposé les œuvres « indiscutablement les meilleures de l’époque » et, de ce fait, posé les bases de la Pakistan National Art Gallery et de l’Arts Council à Islamabad. Elle obtient la President’s Medal for Pride of Performance (1965), le Prix Quaid-e-Azam (1982), le Prix Shakir Ali (1983) et le National Award for Lifetime Achievement in Art (1996). Elle se retire de ses fonctions publiques en 1977 et s’installe à Islamabad pour se consacrer en toute tranquillité à sa pratique artistique et organiser des expositions privées de son travail chez elle. La National Art Gallery d’Islamabad tient une rétrospective de son œuvre en 1993.

Tout au long de sa carrière, Z. Agha s’approprie et réassemble figures humaines, chevaux, paysages, environnements urbains, fleurs, objets, formes géométriques, plans et volumes en s’efforçant d’en tirer une réalité subjective hors de l’espace et du temps. Bien que son imagerie puisse paraître simple, joyeuse et apaisée, l’artiste décrit sa pratique ainsi : « Lorsque je peins, je suis à l’agonie. C’est une immersion psychologique totale… L’acte créatif n’est pas qu’une activité émotionnelle. C’est lorsque l’intellect s’empare de cette émotion que la toile prend sa forme artistique ». Son tableau Cinquième symphonie de Beethoven sera un jalon tout au long de sa vie : elle aimait à dire qu’elle avait aussi l’intention de peindre la neuvième, mais qu’elle n’avait réussi à mettre la main que sur un disque de la cinquième.
Z. Agha a mené une vie de recluse. En dehors de son rôle de directrice de galerie, elle ne fréquentait jamais aucun autre artiste, hormis Shakir Ali. Elle s’isola encore davantage à la fin de sa vie en insistant sur le respect de son intimité et en décourageant ses proches de lui rendre trop souvent visite. Elle ne se maria jamais et consacra sa vie entière à la pratique de son art.

Lire plus

Rabbya Naseer

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Urban Landscape, 1982, huile sur toile, 73,2 x 91,5 cm, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Metamorphosis, 1948, huile sur toile, 61 x 71,1 cm, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Evening, 1980, huile sur toile, dimensions inconnues, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Composition, 1988, huile sur toile, 91,5 x 73,2 cm, © Khaas Gallery

Zubeida Agha — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zubeida Agha, Midnight, 1979, huile sur toile, 66 x 101,6 cm, © Khaas Gallery

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29