Prix AWARE

Mona Varichon
Nominee of Prix 2021

© Photo: Roman Koval

To describe the material that she uses, Mona Varichon speaks of a “pool of content” composed of video and audio recordings that she collects through a methodology derived from her sociological studies. She then proceeds to a work of collage and editing from which she transcribes a sensation or situation. Her videos can be watched on a smartphone in the subway, in a cinema screening, or on a flatscreen in an exhibition space.

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, 4 avril 2019 Mallaury chante « Assa » pour la sortie du livre « Le combat Adama », 2020, HD video, color, stereo sound, 3 min 50 sec, © Mona Varichon

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, 23 mars 2019 Gilets Jaunes Acte XIX, 2020, HD video, color, stereo sound, 11 min 23 sec, © Mona Varichon

In her series Insta Stories Archive (2020), M. Varichon focuses on collecting archives of recent news events, stockpiling videos via Instagram thanks to hashtags and location tags. Whether it be the book launch of Le Combat Adama by Assa Traoré, Kanye West’s gospel group’s Easter celebration, or the fire at Notre-Dame in Paris, it is a matter of recontextualising images created for social networks destined to disappear, treating them like filmed news stories and thus placing them in a cinematographic tradition reminiscent of the work of video artist Jonas Mekas. 23 Mars 2019 Gilet Jaunes Acte XIX (2020), for example, chronologically bears witness to a day of demonstrations experienced by several protagonists: activists, tourists and Parisians struggling to get to the gym or simply enjoying a pastry in a café. The editing allows the disparate group to be linked together while parasitising each other, revealing social behaviour in the face of political upheaval and highlighting an at times complacent reception of the capitalist society, and at others, a struggle in the face of an oppressive system.

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, April 21 2019 Kardashian-Jenner-West Easter Sunday Service at Coachella, 2020, HD video, color, stereo sound, 6 min 26 sec, © Mona Varichon

After studying sociology in Montreal, where she also played the French horn with members of the band Arcade Fire, M. Varichon moved to San Francisco where she received a Bachelor of Fine Arts at the San Francisco Art Institute. She later enrolled in the Master of Fine Arts programme at the Art Center of Los Angeles where she studied under Chris Kraus. Having recently returned to Paris, she has integrated important figures from North American culture into her practice – including the Kardashians – while working on the translation of the book Reflections from a Cinematic Cesspool, memoir of artists George and Mike Kuchar who greatly influenced the West Coast experimental scene with their artistic productions and unconventional personalities. After spending six years in the United States, M. Varichon distantly addresses societal phenomena in France and translation’s primordial role in understanding alterity. Similarly, she makes French culture accessible to English speakers by methodically subtitling her videos or by producing A4 posters adapting the system of song lyric sheets that have marked French rap. This mirrored analytical perspective allows her to evoke current issues of racial and social discrimination present in both French and North American contexts, placing her within the lineage of a new generation of French artists taking on these subjects.

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, No, I Was Thinking Of Life (CC), 2018, HD video, color, stereo sound, 12 min, © Mona Varichon

No, I Was Thinking of Life (CC) (2018) is part of a video series stemming from various phone discussions between the artist and her mother. This series presents a more intimate view on the relationship that M. Varichon has with pop culture and art. Using an arrangement that consists of a soundtrack and a black background on which English subtitles appear, she employs a monstration process that deliberately emphasises the absence of images. The void created by the black screen amplifies the voices of the two women. While one finds herself in France and then Cairo, and the other in the United States, they speak about their lives. Fuelled by various tutelary figures – from artist Kader Attia to novelist Carson McCullers – her mother indulges in her own faults and wounds that constitute her perception and experience of the world. In this series of videos, M. Varichon incessantly precedes the coming void particularly through using moments of the intimate exchange. Her films thus function through the anticipation of future disappearance, as if to better stand guard against feelings of nostalgia and sadness that accompany it.

Her works – whose approach can be compared to that of fan art – are certainly tributes to various personalities that she admires, from her mother to Assa Traoré. In this alternation between popular public figures and anonymous individuals, she tries to understand their motivations and desires by revealing their mechanisms of struggle as well as their political opinions. From English to French, from the private to the public sphere, or even social networks, M. Varichon produces video collages that make it possible to “make people speak” and “make them hear” differently. In this way she is reviving a heritage that has partly disappeared: that of beginning with the voices of others rather than her own.

Marion Vasseur Raluy

 

Mona Varichon (born Paris, 1989) is a Franco-Egyptian video artist, author and translator based in Paris, currently in residency at the Cité internationale des arts. She holds a Master’s of Fine Arts from the Art Center in Pasadena, a Bachelor’s of Fine Arts from the San Francisco Art Institute, and a degree in sociology from the Université Paris Descartes. Her videos have been shown at The Renaissance Society (Chicago, USA), CAPC (Bordeaux, France), u’s (Diamond Valley, Canada), Extramentale (Arles, France), Bel Ami (Los Angeles, USA) and FLAX Foundation (Tin Flats, Los Angeles, USA). In Spring 2021, she will participate in a group exhibition at the gallery BQ (Berlin) and presente a monographic exhibition by her mother, Malak El Zanaty Varichon, at Cocotte, the space of artist Louise Sartor in Treignac, France.
She is currently translating the memoires of American artists George and Mike Kuchar, to be published in 2021 by her publishing house Varichon & Cie.

Marion Vasseur Raluy is an independent curator and writer living and working in Paris. From 2014 to 2016 she codirected the independent space Shanaynay in Paris. She has collaborated and worked with a number of female contemporary artists, such as Angelika Markul, Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann and Mimosa Echard. She is currently writing a book as part of the Literary Creation master’s programme at the Université Paris 8 in which she uses her personal experience of illness to evoke her relationship to the art world. She recently translated the collection of poems Bonbons à l’anis by Argentine poet Cécilia Pavón, coedited by Brook and Varichon & Cie (Rosanna Puyol and Mona Varichon). In January 2021 she joined the team at CAPC in Bordeaux as associate curator of their residency programme.

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

Vidéo

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Prix AWARE

Mona Varichon
Nommée au Prix 2021

© Photo : Roman Koval

Pour définir la matière qu’elle utilise, Mona Varichon parle d’un « bassin de contenus » composé d’enregistrements vidéo et sonores qu’elle collecte avec une méthodologie dérivée de ses études de sociologie. Elle procède ensuite à un travail de collage et de montage à partir duquel elle retranscrit une sensation ou une situation. Ses vidéos peuvent être regardées autant sur un smartphone dans le métro ou dans la salle de projection d’un cinéma que sur un écran plat dans un espace d’exposition.

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, 4 avril 2019, Mallaury chante « Assa » pour la sortie du livre « Le combat Adama », 2020, vidéo HD, couleur, son stéréo, 3 min 50 sec, © Mona Varichon

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, 23 mars 2019 Gilets Jaunes Acte XIX, 2020, vidéo HD, couleur, son stéréo, 11 min 23 sec, © Mona Varichon

Dans sa série Insta Stories Archive (2020), M. Varichon se concentre sur la collecte d’archives d’événements ayant marqué l’actualité récente, en accumulant des vidéos via l’application Instagram grâce aux hashtags ou aux géolocalisations associés. Que ce soit le lancement du livre Le Combat Adama d’Assa Traoré, la célébration de Pâques par le groupe de gospel de Kanye West ou l’incendie de Notre-Dame de Paris, il s’agit de recontextualiser des images créées pour les réseaux sociaux et vouées à disparaître, en les traitant comme des journaux filmés, ce qui les replace dans une tradition cinématographique rappelant le travail du vidéaste Jonas Mekas. 23 Mars 2019 Gilets Jaunes Acte XIX (2020) témoigne par exemple, de manière chronologique, d’une journée de manifestation vécue par différent·e·s protagonistes : manifestant·e·s, touristes, Parisien·ne·s rejoignant péniblement leur salle de gym ou se délectant d’une pâtisserie dans un café. Le montage permet à l’ensemble disparate de s’enchaîner tout en se parasitant, révélant les comportements sociaux face à des bouleversements politiques et soulignant tantôt un accueil complaisant du système capitaliste, tantôt un rapport de lutte face à un système oppressif.

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, April 21 2019 Kardashian-Jenner-West Easter Sunday Service at Coachella, 2020, vidéo HD, couleur, son stereo, 6 min 26 sec, © Mona Varichon

Après avoir vécu à Montréal, où M. Varichon a étudié la sociologie et joué du cor avec certains membres du groupe Arcade Fire, elle s’installe à San Fransisco, où elle décroche un Bachelor of Fine Arts au San Francisco Art Institute pour rejoindre ensuite le master du Art Center à Los Angeles, où elle reçoit l’enseignement de Chris Kraus. Récemment revenue à Paris, elle a intégré dans sa pratique des figures importantes de la culture nord-américaine comme la famille Kardashian, tout en s’attelant à la traduction du livre Reflections from a Cinematic Cesspool, les mémoires des artistes George et Mike Kuchar, qui ont marqué la scène expérimentale de la côte ouest par leurs productions artistiques et leurs personnalités hors du commun. Après ses dix années passées aux États-Unis, M. Varichon aborde avec distance les phénomènes sociétaux en France et le rôle primordial de la traduction pour comprendre l’altérité. De même, elle rend accessible la culture française au public anglophone en sous-titrant méthodiquement ses vidéos, ou en produisant des affiches A4 qui reprennent le système des fiches de paroles de chansons qui ont marqué le rap français. Ce regard analytique en miroir lui permet d’évoquer les problématiques actuelles de discriminations raciales et sociales, qui s’appliquent autant dans le contexte français que nord-américain, l’inscrivant dans une lignée d’une nouvelle génération d’artistes français·es qui s’emparent de ces sujets.

Mona Varichon - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Mona Varichon, No, I Was Thinking Of Life (CC), 2018, vidéo HD, couleur, son stereo, 12 min, © Mona Varichon

No, I Was Thinking of Life (CC) (2018) fait partie d’une série de vidéos résultant de conversations téléphoniques avec sa mère. Cette série propose de porter un regard plus intime sur le rapport de M. Varichon à la culture populaire et à l’art. À partir d’un dispositif qui se compose d’une bande-son et d’un fond noir sur lequel apparaissent des sous-titres en anglais, elle utilise un procédé de monstration qui souligne volontairement l’absence d’images. Ce vide laissé par l’écran noir amplifie les voix des deux femmes. Alors que l’une se trouve en France puis au Caire et l’autre aux États-Unis, elles échangent sur leurs vies. Alimentée par différentes figures tutélaires, de l’artiste Kader Attia à la romancière Carson McCullers, sa mère se livre en creux sur ses propres failles et ses blessures constitutives de sa perception et de son expérience du monde. Dans cette série de vidéos, M. Varichon devance toujours le manque à venir, notamment lorsqu’elle utilise des moments d’échanges intimes. Ses films fonctionnent ainsi par anticipation de la disparition future, comme pour mieux se prémunir des sentiments de nostalgie et de tristesse qui l’accompagnent.

Ses travaux, dont la démarche peut être rapprochée de celle du fan art, sont autant d’hommages à des personnalités qu’elle admire, de sa mère à Assa Traoré. Dans cette alternance entre figures publiques populaires et personnes invisibilisées, elle essaie aussi de rendre compte de leurs motivations et de leurs désirs en révélant leurs mécanismes de luttes et leurs opinions politiques. De l’anglais au français, de l’intime à la place publique ou même aux réseaux sociaux, M. Varichon produit des collages vidéo qui permettent de « faire parler » et de « faire entendre » autrement. Elle renoue ainsi avec un héritage en partie disparu, celui de partir de la voix des autres plutôt que de la sienne.

Marion Vasseur Raluy

 

Mona Varichon (née en 1989 à Paris) est artiste vidéaste, autrice et traductrice franco-égyptienne basée à Paris, actuellement en résidence à la Cité internationale des arts. Elle est diplômée d’un Master of Fine Arts de l’ArtCenter à Pasadena, d’un Bachelor of Fine Arts du San Francisco Art Institute et d’une licence de sociologie de l’université Paris Descartes. Ses vidéos ont été exposées à The Renaissance Society (Chicago, États-Unis), CAPC (Bordeaux, France), u’s (Diamond Valley, Canada), Extramentale (Arles, France), Bel Ami (Los Angeles, États-Unis) et FLAX Foundation (Tin Flats, Los Angeles, États-Unis). Au printemps 2021, elle participera à une exposition collective à la galerie BQ (Berlin) et présentera une exposition monographique de sa mère, Malak El Zanaty Varichon, à Cocotte, l’espace de l’artiste Louise Sartor à Treignac.
Elle traduit actuellement en français les mémoires des artistes américains George et Mike Kuchar, à paraître en 2021 avec sa maison d’édition Varichon & Cie.

Marion Vasseur Raluy est commissaire indépendante et autrice. Elle vit et travaille à Paris. De 2014 à 2016, elle a codirigé l’espace indépendant Shanaynay (Paris). Elle a collaboré et travaillé avec de nombreuses artistes contemporaines, notamment Angelika Markul, Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann et Mimosa Echard. Elle rédige actuellement un livre dans le cadre du master Création littéraire de l’université Paris 8 dans lequel elle utilise son expérience personnelle de la maladie pour évoquer sa relation au milieu de l’art. Elle vient de terminer la traduction du recueil de poèmes Bonbons à l’anis de la poétesse argentine Cécilia Pavón, coédité par Brook et Varichon & Cie (Rosanna Puyol et Mona Varichon).

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29