Alena Kučerová

1935 | Prague, Czech Republic
Informations

Czech visual artist.

Alena Kučerová is one of the most original Czech artists of her generation. She studied during the years marked by the official dogmatism (1954-1959) at the School of Applied Arts in Prague in the illustration workshop. By 1958 she had discovered the poetry of Christian Morgenstern and the drawings that she created on the occasion (1961) helped liberate her artistic language. After an interesting period of geometric abstraction, in 1963 she developed an experimental technique and then in 1965 began realising large-format engravings. For these she did not rely on traditional processes but rather made perforations in industrial metal sheets using her grandfather’s cobbling tools. These difficult and physically demanding processes allowed her to create structural engravings whose subjects are reduced to figures with essential lines composed of isolated dots. A. Kučerová drew her original subjects from the intimacy of her family. As she said at the time, she wanted to “express happy moments”, often linked to the experience of the body plunging into water.

The simplified form of these figures, imbued with sensuality, is linked to a network of geometric abstraction. This duality gave these works a radical generosity of expression, as well as a distinctive ornamental quality. Towards the end of the 1960s the artist explored a new theme – landscape – which she treated in the same way as her figures. In the 1980s she transformed this concept. Her new engravings – close up images of landscapes, which she created from the horseback rides she took in the forests of her childhood – recalled the drawings of the17th-century Dutch masters, whose complexity surpassed the classical genre of landscape, which she now used as a metaphor for the universe. A. Kučerová did not abandon her perforation technique but she added grey and black markings that created an extremely intense sensual atmosphere, visually rich, that could be close to the works produced by Rembrandt’s (1606-1669) entourage.

Starting with her first solo exhibition (Prague, 1965), she presented not only powerful engravings, but even matrices suspended in space, so visitors could discover their characteristics, such as the voids left by the perforations. At the end of the 1980s A. Kučerová gave up engraving. For the next few decades, she worked with old matrices. She integrated them into frames made of found wood – tree branches, used trays – creating assemblages. She occasionally returns to her interest in distinctive colour and covered matrices (or frames) with industrial paint (Minerve, 1968 and 2002). She expanded the concept by replacing the matrices with compositions that she “drew” using small nails hammered into used cardboard. The base of the abstract lines that the nails form remain vegetal, focused on details and sensual. These assemblages combine an extreme fragility with a roughness of the material in a fascinating way.

The influence of C. Morgenstern’s writings remain palpable throughout her career. On several occasions, she has produced different versions of drawings illustrating the poet’s Galgenlieder (Gallow Songs). This poetry has not only given her a choice of motifs but has also allowed her to confront enigmas of humour and nonsense and to constantly find a balance between the real and the abstract.

In the last decade A. Kučerová has developed another rarely used technique: she embroiders rich ornamental compositions. She combines Morgensternian themes with elements of nature and allusions to her own early works. Several major exhibitions have been devoted to her, including those organized by the Prague City Gallery in 1990 and 2007.

Read more

Marie Klimešová

Translated from the French by Katia Porro.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Repose, 1967, etching with blind embossing, 50 x 68.5 cm, private collection

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Sans titre, 1967, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Hélène Peter ,© Rights reserved / Cnap

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, The Cliff, 1967, etching, 53.3 x 75.9 cm, MoMA

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Untitled, 1968, printing from a perforated plate on paper, 13.5 x 19.5 cm, private collection

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Zeď [Wall], 1962, paper, frame, glass, 62 × 43 ;5 cm, private collection

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Alena Kučerová

1935 | Prague, République tchèque
Informations

Plasticienne tchèque.

Alena Kučerová est l’une des artistes tchèques les plus originales de sa génération. Elle étudie pendant les années marquées par le dogmatisme officiel (1954-1959) à l’École des arts appliqués de Prague, dans l’atelier d’illustration. Dès 1958, elle découvre la poésie de Christian Morgenstern et les dessins qu’elle crée à cette occasion (1961) l’aident à libérer son langage artistique. Après une intéressante période d’abstraction géométrique, en 1963 elle met au point une technique expérimentale puis commence, dès 1965, à réaliser des gravures de grand format dans lesquelles elle ne recourt pas aux procédés traditionnels mais opère des perforations ponctuelles dans tôles métalliques industrielles à l’aide des outils de son grand-père cordonnier. Ce processus difficile et très physique lui permet de créer des gravures structurales, dont les sujets sont réduits à des figures aux lignes essentielles composées de points isolés. A. Kučerová puise ses premiers sujets dans l’intimité de sa famille. Comme elle le dit alors, elle veut « exprimer des moments heureux », souvent liés à l’expérience du corps plongeant dans l’eau.

La forme simplifiée de ces figures, empreintes de sensualité, s’attache à un réseau abstrait géométrique. Cette dualité confère à ces œuvres une générosité d’expression radicale, de même qu’une qualité ornementale spécifique. Vers la fin des années 1960, l’artiste explore un nouveau thème, le paysage, qu’elle traite de la même manière que ses figures. Dans les années 1980, elle transforme ce concept. Ses nouvelles gravures – des paysages vus de très près, qu’elle crée d’après les promenades à cheval qu’elle faisait dans les forêts de son enfance – rappellent les dessins des maîtres néerlandais du XVIIe siècle, dont la complexité surpasse le genre classique du paysage qu’elle montre à présent comme une métaphore de l’univers. A. Kučerová n’abandonne pas sa technique de perforation, mais elle y ajoute des taches grises et noires qui créent une atmosphère sensuelle extrêmement intense, visuellement riche, que l’on pourrait rapprocher en un sens des œuvres produites dans l’entourage de Rembrandt (1606-1669).

Dès sa première exposition personnelle (Prague, 1965), elle présente non seulement des gravures puissantes, mais même des matrices suspendues dans l’espace, pour qu’on puisse découvrir leurs caractéristiques, tels les vides laissés par les perforations.

À la fin des années 1980, A. Kučerová abandonne la gravure. Durant les décennies suivantes, elle travaille avec des matrices anciennes. Elle les intègre aux cadres faits de bois trouvé – des branches d’arbres, des planches usées – et crée des assemblages. Elle revient parfois à son intérêt pour la couleur distinctive et en couvre des matrices (ou des cadres) de peinture industrielle (Minerve, 1968 et 2002). Elle élargit le concept en remplaçant les matrices par des compositions qu’elle « dessine » à l’aide de petits clous qu’elle plante dans un carton usé. La base des lignes abstraites des clous reste végétale, concentrée sur les détails et sensuelle. Ces assemblages combinent d’une façon fascinante une extrême fragilité avec une rugosité de la matière.

Durant toute sa carrière, l’influence des écrits de C. Morgenstern est palpable. À plusieurs reprises, elle donne différentes versions de dessins qui illustrent les Galgenlieder (Les Chansons du gibet) du poète. Cette poésie non seulement lui offre le choix des motifs, mais lui permet aussi de se confronter aux énigmes de l’humour, du nonsense, et de trouver constamment l’équilibre entre le réel et l’abstrait.

Au cours de la dernière décennie, A. Kučerová développe une autre technique, rarement utilisée : elle brode de riches compositions ornementales. Elle y associe des thèmes morgensterniens à des éléments de la nature et à des allusions à ses propres œuvres anciennes. Plusieurs expositions majeures lui ont été consacrées, notamment celles qu’a organisées la galerie de la Ville de Prague en 1990 et en 2007.

Lire plus

Marie Klimešová

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Repose, 1967, eau-forte avec gaufrage aveugle, 50 x 68,5 cm, collection particulière

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Sans titre, 1967, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Hélène Peter ,© droits réservés / Cnap

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, The Cliff, 1967, gravure, 53,3 x 75,9 cm, MoMA

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Untitled, 1968, impression à partir d’une plaque perforée sur papier, 13,5 x 19,5 cm, collection particulière

Alena Kučerová — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Alena Kučerová, Zeď [Mur], 1962, papier, cadre, verre, 62 × 43,5 cm, collection particulière

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29