Andrea Fraser

1965 | Billings, Montana, United States
Informations

American performance artist and essayist.

Andrea Fraser studied at the New York School of Visual Arts and at New York University. She became known in the 1980s for performance pieces presented in a humorous and often satirical tone, and aimed at questioning the position of the artist within the institutional context of the art world. Her first performances stood at the intersection of a specific tradition of feminist performance and of the “institutional critique” informed by the ideas of Pierre Bourdieu – who wrote the foreword to the artist’s collection of theoretical writings, Museum Highlights (2005) – and explored history and function of museums, which she perceived as spaces of latent social conflict. In Museum Highlights: A Gallery Talk, she posed as Jane Castleton, a young volunteering lecturer, who leads a tour through the Philadelphia Museum of Art, describing its every detail in overly emphatic terms, and in doing so paints a picture of the social and political history of museums.

Fifteen years later, in a new filmed performance, Little Frank and His Carp (2001), she plays a visitor reacting exaggeratedly to the audio tour’s description of Frank Gehry’s architecture, even simulating sexual pleasure in the museum’s entrance hall. The performance revealed the underlying ideology of a place of consumption and power masquerading as an artistic institution. Andrea Fraser has also used this method of “institutional critique” in installations and photographs, most notably at the Berkeley Art Museum (1992), Kunstverein Munich (1993), Austrian Pavilion of the Venice Biennale (1993), and Whitney Museum Biennale (1993). She has also written essays and scripts for her performances, regularly takes part in debates and symposiums, and teaches at the University of California (Los Angeles).

Read more

Claire Bernardi

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Inaugural Speech, 1997, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Antwerp

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, May I Help you?, 1991, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Antwerp

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Museum Highlights A Gallery Talk, 1989, video, colour, Courtesy Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin, © Andrea Fraser

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Official Welcome, 2001-2003, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Antwerp

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Set of 5 unlimited edition videos: Museum Highlights, May I Help You, Welcome to the Wadsworth, Inaugural Speech, Official Welcome, 1989-2001, videotape, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Set of 5 unlimited edition videos: Museum Highlights, May I Help You, Welcome to the Wadsworth, Inaugural Speech, Official Welcome, 1989-2001, videotape, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Set of 5 unlimited edition videos: Museum Highlights, May I Help You, Welcome to the Wadsworth, Inaugural Speech, Official Welcome, 1989-2001, videotape, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Welcome to the Wadsworth, 2001-2003, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Antwerp

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Andrea Fraser

1965 | Billings, Montana, États-Unis
Informations

Performeuse et essayiste américaine.

Après avoir étudié à la School of Visual Arts de New York puis à la New York University, Andrea Fraser se fait connaître dans les années 1980 en réalisant des « conférences-performances » au ton humoristique, souvent satirique, défiant la position de l’artiste au sein du champ institutionnel de l’art. Au carrefour d’une certaine tradition de la performance féministe et de la « critique institutionnelle » nourrie de la pensée de Pierre Bourdieu – il a préfacé Museum Highlights (2005), les écrits théoriques de l’artiste –, ses premières performances explorent l’histoire et la fonction des institutions muséales, perçues comme lieux de conflit social latent : dans Museum Highlights : A Gallery Talk, elle joue le rôle d’une jeune conférencière bénévole, Jane Castleton, qui présente, dans un style emphatique et surjoué, le bâtiment qui l’entoure, le Philadelphia Museum of Art, jusque dans ses moindres commodités, brossant ainsi une histoire socio-politique des musées.

Quinze ans plus tard, dans une nouvelle performance filmée, Little Frank and His Carp (2001), elle incarne une visiteuse, réagissant de manière outrée à la description du bâtiment de Frank Gehry émise par l’audioguide, allant jusqu’à simuler le plaisir érotique dans le hall du musée. Elle révèle ainsi l’idéologie sous-jacente, celle d’un espace institutionnel de l’art comme lieu de consommation et de pouvoir. En outre, Andrea Fraser a également mis en œuvre cette « critique performative » sous la forme d’installations et de photographies, notamment au Berkeley Art Museum (1992), au Kunstverein de Munich (1993), à la Biennale de Venise pour le pavillon autrichien (1993), à la Biennale du Whitney Museum (1993). Elle est aussi l’auteure d’essais et de scripts de ses performances, intervient régulièrement dans des débats et colloques, et enseigne à l’université de Californie (Los Angeles).

Lire plus

Claire Bernardi

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Inaugural Speech, 1997, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Anvers

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, May I Help you?, 1991, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Anvers

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Museum Highlights A Gallery Talk, 1989, vidéo couleur, Courtesy Galerie Nagel Draxler, Berlin, © Andrea Fraser

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Official Welcome, 2001-2003, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Anvers

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Set of 5 unlimited edition videos: Museum Highlights, May I Help You, Welcome to the Wadsworth, Inaugural Speech, Official Welcome, 1989-2001, cassette vidéo, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Set of 5 unlimited edition videos: Museum Highlights, May I Help You, Welcome to the Wadsworth, Inaugural Speech, Official Welcome, 1989-2001, cassette vidéo, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Set of 5 unlimited edition videos: Museum Highlights, May I Help You, Welcome to the Wadsworth, Inaugural Speech, Official Welcome, 1989-2001, cassette vidéo, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum

Andrea Fraser — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Andrea Fraser, Welcome to the Wadsworth, 2001-2003, DVD, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen, Anvers

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29