Huda Lutfi

1948 | Cairo, Egypt
Informations
Sponsor
— Huda Lutfi

Egyptian visual artist and historian.

Huda Lufti was born in Egypt. After graduating with a PhD in history from McGill University, Montréal, in 1983, she returned to her home country, where she taught at the American University in Cairo (AUC) until 2010. Among other courses, she introduced several new ones focusing on Sufism and gender dynamics. In 1991-1992, she also taught at Harvard University, Cambridge. Following major surgery that left her bedridden, she taught herself to make collages from catalogues and images that she collected. She had her first solo exhibition, Women and Memory, at the AUC in 1996.
History and gender are intertwined not only in H. Lufti’s academic research, but also in her artistic work, which covers a wide range of mediums: collage, assemblage painting, photography, sculpture, installation, and video. Her self-taught practice gained recognition in 1997 when she was awarded 2nd prize at the Biennial for Women Artists of the Mediterranean (Marseille and Arles). The same year, H. Lufti relocated to downtown Cairo and set up a studio at the Townhouse Gallery. Since then she has participated in a number of group or solo exhibitions, both locally and internationally. As an heir of the artist Effat Nagy (1905-1994), H. Lufti’s work engages with pharaonic, Coptic, Arabian, African, European and Indian iconography. Like an urban archaeologist, she digs through the city as if it were a palimpsest with overlapping layers of time.

Drawing inspiration from Sufism’s tradition of reflective repetition (dhikr), H. Lufti’s work echoes similar elements, often producing an almost magical effect, whether in the meditative gestures of the artist, in the incantatory power of the pieces, or in the joy that the viewer may experience while looking at them. In the 2000s, H. Lufti’s repetitive approach became a contestation tool to express her criticism of patriarchy and capitalist globalisation. Her assemblages of mass-produced dolls acted as a denunciation of the decline of local craftsmanship in the face of rampant globalising trends. Her series Magnetic Bodies (2018), consisting of installations made out of mannequins – emblematic silhouettes in Cairo’s shopfronts – questioned gendered norms in urbanised spaces.
In 2011, H. Lufti’s proximity to the demonstrations in Tahrir Square facilitated her participation in the events. Guided by her historian instinct, she began to photograph the gatherings and to collect archival material covering the events, which subsequently became the basis for her series Cut and Paste (2013). In 2014, two of the videos from the series won the grand prize at the Alexandria Biennial for Mediterranean Countries. In the series Still (2018), her recycling and collage techniques produced various visual and conceptual outcomes which differed from the exteriority of her previous series and initiated a new exploration of interiority. H. Lufti further examined this inner journey in the series When Dreams Call for Silence (2018), in which she turned to the subliminal and drew inspiration from her dreams and from the writings and memoirs of surrealist artists. The title of the series was inspired by the musings of French-Egyptian surrealist poet Joyce Mansour (1928-1986).

Huda Lufti’s work has gained international recognition and is featured in the collections of the British Museum in London, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA), the Barjeel Art Foundation in Sharjah, and the Indianapolis Museum of Art.

Read more

Florie Bavard

Translated from French by Florie Bavard et Lucy Pons.

Publication made in the framework of the Season Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Lingerie, detail, 2016, mixed media on leather and wood, electric lights, 3 pieces, 56 x 8 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Star, 2008, installation in 7 pieces, wooden shoe moulds, photocollage, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Woman Cut in Half, 1991, collage, 26 x 16 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, No to War, 2003, wood, paint, found dolls, 24 x 34 x 11.5 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Duchamp’s Jaconde, 2003, installation, collage, found objects, wood, acrylic, mirror, 165 x 45 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Suma’s Book Of Songs 1, Diptych, 2008, painted photo collage and arabic text, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, I speak to you so you may understand, 2008, 13 painted recycled paper and text on resin, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Discarded, 2013, mixed media (detail), 200 x 200 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, The Walls of Shaykh Rayhan, 2015, mixed media, tryptich, 70 x 40 cm each, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Stepping on Nails, 2008, collage, acrylic, text, 65 x 48 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Making a Man Out of Him, 2010, plastic toys, acrylic, wood, 30 x 20 x 10 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Hand of Silence, 2019, detail, 142 x 160 x 24 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Resting, 2019, paint, © Huda Lutfi

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Huda Lutfi

1948 | Le Caire, Égypte
Informations
Soutien
— Huda Lutfi

Plasticienne et historienne égyptienne.

Née en Égypte, Huda Lutfi obtient un doctorat en histoire à l’université McGill à Montréal en 1983, puis de retour dans son pays, elle enseigne jusqu’en 2010 à l’Université américaine du Caire (AUC). Elle y introduit plusieurs cours, notamment sur le soufisme et sur les rapports de genre. En 1991 et 1992, elle enseigne également à Harvard University, à Cambridge. Immobilisée à la suite d’une opération, elle s’initie au collage à partir de catalogues et d’images qu’elle collectionne. Elle présente sa première exposition personnelle, Women and Memory, à l’AUC en 1996.
L’histoire et le genre s’entremêlent aussi bien dans ses recherches universitaires que dans son travail artistique, par le recours à des médiums variés tels que le collage, la peinture d’assemblages, la photographie, la sculpture, l’installation et la vidéo. Sa pratique autodidacte est récompensée en 1997, quand elle remporte le deuxième prix de la Biennale des femmes artistes de la Méditerranée (Marseille et Arles). La même année, H. Lutfi déménage dans le centre du Caire et installe son studio à la galerie Townhouse. Elle participe dès lors à de nombreuses expositions collectives et individuelles, à l’échelle nationale et internationale. Héritière de l’artiste Effat Nagy (1905-1994), H. Lutfi dialogue avec les iconographies pharaonique, copte, arabe, africaine, européenne et indienne. Endossant le rôle d’archéologue urbaine, elle fouille la ville comme s’il s’agissait d’un palimpseste où se superposent des couches de temporalité à excaver.

Inspirée par les répétitions réflexives (dhikr) de la tradition soufie, l’œuvre de H. Lutfi joue d’échos similaires et suscite souvent un effet proche du magique, qui émane d’une part du geste méditatif de l’artiste, d’autre part du pouvoir incantatoire de ses créations, enfin de la joie de celui ou de celle qui les contemple. Dans les années 2000, son approche répétitive devient un outil de contestation grâce auquel elle exprime sa critique du patriarcat et de la mondialisation capitaliste. Ses combinaisons de poupées, issues de la production de masse, dénoncent le déclin de l’artisanat local, éclipsé par l’accélération de la globalisation. Dans la série Magnetic Bodies (2016), ses installations de mannequins – silhouettes emblématiques des devantures du Caire – questionnent les normes genrées des espaces urbanisés.
En 2011, la proximité entre son domicile et les manifestations de la place Tahrir contribue à sa participation aux événements. Guidée par sa perspective d’historienne, elle commence alors à photographier ces rassemblements et à réunir des documents d’archives. Ce travail sert ensuite de base à sa série Cut and Paste (2013). En 2014, deux vidéos extraites de ce projet remportent le grand prix de la Biennale d’Alexandrie des pays méditerranéens. Dans sa série Still (2018), les techniques de recyclage et de collage offrent des résultats visuels et conceptuels qui diffèrent de l’extériorité du cycle précédent, en amorçant une chronique de l’intériorité. H. Lutfi explore encore cette quête intérieure avec sa série When Dreams Call for Silence (2019). Se tournant vers le subliminal, elle puise dans ses rêves ou dans les écrits et mémoires d’artistes surréalistes. Le titre de cette série lui est ainsi inspiré par les songes de la poétesse surréaliste franco-égyptienne Joyce Mansour.

Les œuvres de H. Lutfi connaissent un rayonnement international et sont entrées dans les collections du British Museum à Londres, du Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA), de la Barjeel Art Foundation à Sharjah et du Museum of Art d’Indianapolis.

Lire plus

Florie Bavard

Publication réalisée dans le cadre de la Saison Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Lingerie, detail, 2016, techniques mixtes sur cuire et bois, éclairage électrique, 3 pièces, 56 x 8 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Star, 2008, installation en 7 pièces, moulage de chaussures en bois, photomontage, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Woman Cut in Half, 1991, collage, 26 x 16 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, No to War, 2003, bois, peinture, poupées trouvées, 24 x 34 x 11,5 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Duchamp’s Jaconde, 2003, installation, collage, objets trouvés, bois, acrylique, miroir, 165 x 45 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Suma’s Book Of Songs 1, Diptych, 2008, collage de photographies peintes et textes arabes, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, I speak to you so you may understand, 2008, 13 papier recycle peint et texte sur résine, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Discarded, 2013, techniques mixtes (détail), 200 x 200 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, The Walls of Shaykh Rayhan, 2015, techniques mixtes, triptique, 70 x 40 cm each, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Stepping on Nails, 2008, collage, acrylique, texte, 65 x 48 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Making a Man Out of Him, 2010, jouets en plastique, acrylique, bois, 30 x 20 x 10 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Hand of Silence, 2019, détail, 142 x 160 x 24 cm, © Huda Lutfi

Huda Lutfi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Huda Lutfi, Resting, 2019, peinture, © Huda Lutfi

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29