Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Ann Hamilton

1956 | Lima, Ohio, United States
Informations

American visual artist.

With a BFA in textiles from the University of Kansas (1979) and an MFA from Yale University (1985), Ann Hamilton has focused primarily on sculpture. Since the beginning of the 1990s, she has been recognised internationally, and even represented the United States at the 48th Venice Biennial in 1999. Among her early works is the body/object series (1984–1993), a collection of black and white photographs full of humour, provocation and poetry in which the artist placed objects of daily life on her body as a continuation of it, only to become trapped when the object becomes obsolete. If A. Hamilton enforces the issue of the body and its vulnerability in these works, she also invites the viewer to use their senses to surpass it. This is particularly true in her large theatre installations (which she is well-known for), in which she pushes the spectator to redefine the body and the spaces in which it evolves. She creates situations of discomfort and awkwardness in which the movements of the actors are embarrassing, entangled, repetitive and interrupted.

In the installation tropos at the Dia Art Foundation in New York in 1993, the visitors walked on a fleece of horses’ manes and tails as a performer read and burned the text of a booklet line after line, while a man’s hesitant and jerky voice reading the same text was transmitted in the space. A. Hamilton often evokes language and its disjunctions in articulation (like the jerky voice) or the significance that it should convey, such is the case in lineament (1994–1996), where actors empty the contents of books creating balls from the bands of text. Her work on language brings her to more discrete gestures, such as the miniscule stones that cover each letter on the page of a book in untitled (1992). Imbued with melancholy, her works experiment with the anxieties and frustrations of the human condition.

Read more

Annalisa Rimmaudo

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, (bearings), 1996, silk organza curtains, metal rails, motors, rods and steel rings, variable dimensions, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, © Photo: Richard-Max Tremblay, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, 0, 2008, litograph, 14 x 12 cm, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Commute 1, 2001, inkjet print, 86.4 x 116.8 cm, Brooklyn Museum, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Indigo Blue, 1991-2007, installation, SFMOMA, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Portal 5, 1999, Black and white photograph, 4.44 x 5.08 cm, IMMA , © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Reflection (12h00 to 12h55), 2000, suite of twelve color Iris prints, 60.96 x 60.96 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Untitled, 2002, inkjet digital print, 46.1 x 46.1 x 1.8 cm, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum, © Ann Hamilton

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Ann Hamilton

1956 | Lima, Ohio, États-Unis
Informations

Plasticienne américaine.

Diplômée d’un BFA (Bachelor of Fine Arts) en textile de l’université du Kansas (1979) et d’un MFA (Master of Fine Arts) de l’université Yale (1985), Ann Hamilton oriente ses recherches autour de la sculpture. Connue sur la scène internationale depuis le début des années 1990, elle représente les États-Unis à la 48e Biennale de Venise en 1999. Parmi ses premières œuvres figure la série de photographies en noir et blanc body and object series (1984-1993), pleine d’humour, de provocation et de poésie, dans laquelle l’artiste place sur son corps des objets du quotidien comme une continuation de celui-ci, qui se trouve pris au piège tandis que l’objet devient obsolète. Si dans ces œuvres A. Hamilton impose la problématique du corps et de sa vulnérabilité, elle nous invite à utiliser nos sens pour la dépasser, en particulier dans ses grandes installations théâtrales – qui ont fait sa notoriété – où elle pousse le spectateur à redéfinir le corps et les espaces où il évolue. Ainsi, elle crée des situations de malaise et de gêne dans lesquelles les mouvements de ses acteurs ou figurants sont embarrassés, empêtrés, répétitifs ou interrompus.

Dans l’installation tropos, réalisée au Dia Center for the Arts de New York en 1993, on marche sur une toison de crinières et de queues de chevaux ; un figurant lit et brûle ligne après ligne le texte d’un livret tandis qu’est diffusé l’enregistrement de la voix hésitante et saccadée d’un homme lisant ce même texte. Souvent, A. Hamilton évoque le langage et ses disjonctions dans l’articulation (comme la voix saccadée) ou dans les significations qu’il devrait véhiculer, comme dans lineament (1994-1996), où des personnages vident les contenus des livres en fabriquant des pelotes de bandes de textes. Son travail sur le langage l’amène aussi à des gestes plus discrets comme les minuscules pierres qui recouvrent chaque lettre d’une page d’un livre dans untitled (1992). Imprégnées de mélancolie, ses œuvres expérimentent les inquiétudes, les contrariétés de la condition humaine.

Lire plus

Annalisa Rimmaudo

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, (bearings), 1996, voilages en organza de soie, rails métalliques, moteurs, tiges et anneaux d’acier, dimensions variables, Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, © Photo : Richard-Max Tremblay, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, 0, 2008, litographie, 14 x 12 cm, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Commute 1, 2001, impression jet d’encre, 86,4 x 116,8 cm, Brooklyn Museum, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Indigo Blue, 1991-2007, installation, SFMOMA, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Portal 5, 1999, photographie noir et blanc, 4,44 x 5,08 cm, IMMA, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Reflection (12h00 to 12h55), 2000, suite de douze impressions couleur iris, 60,96 x 60,96 cm, Albright-Knox Art Gallery, © Ann Hamilton

Ann Hamilton — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ann Hamilton, Untitled, 2002, Impression numérique à jet d’encre, 46,1 x 46,1 x 1,8 cm, Harvard Art Museums, Fogg Museum, © Ann Hamilton

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29