Barbara Chase-Riboud

1939 | Philadelphia, United States
Informations

Plasticienne états-unienne.

Particularly precocious, at the age of 18 Barbara Chase-Riboud won a scholarship to study at the American Academy in Rome. She used this opportunity to travel to Egypt where the art of the pharaohs made a great impression on her, as seen in The Last Supper (1958). After returning to the United States in 1958, she attended Yale. The only African-American woman in her department, she studied painting with the former Bauhaus master Josef Albers, and design with Louis Kahn. The rigour of the former and the spirituality of the latter stimulated her creativity. Mostly abstract, her visual language made opposing elements clash: the hard and the soft, the noble and the trivial, the masculine and the feminine, and so on. After moving to France and marrying the Magnum photographer Marc Riboud, she went on numerous trips, notably to the USSR and China. Her encounter with the figures of the Black Panther Party at the Pan African Festival in Algiers in 1966 revolutionised her work, which became definitely more politically committed, as seen in the Malcolm X series (1970).

Exhibited in the United States in 1970, her sculptures in polished bronze combined with silk and wool ropes revealed her affinity with Sheila Hicks (born in 1934) and Magdalena Abakanowicz (1930-2017). Her deepest inspiration came from her travels in Africa, where she became familiar with the natural materials of raffia and hemp. In the 1980s she began her career as a novelist with the bestseller Sally Hemings (1979): a novel about the slave and mistress of President Thomas Jefferson. Amongst her works is the politically charged sculpture, Africa Rising (1998), a commission in honour of New York’s historic African cemetery. This monumental bronze work, inspired by the Victory of Samothrace, combines a Shona (a tribe from Zimbabwe) style base with Ashanti (a tribe from Ghana) elements. Featuring a profile of Hottentot Venus and nicknamed “The African Victory”, it is decorated with pendants representing African-American figures, such as the thinker W. E. B. Du Bois.

Read more

Sonia Recasens

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, The Albino, 1972, bronze with black patina, wool and other fibers, 457.2 x 320 x 76.2 cm, MoMA, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Malcolm X #3, 1969, polished bronze, cotton, and rayon, 299,72 x 119,38 x 22,86 cm, Philadelphia Museum of Art, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, La Musica Red Parkway, 2007, Courtesy Michael Rosenfeld Gallery LLC, New York, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, All That Rises Must Converge Red, 2008, red bronze, silk and synthetic silk, 187.96 x 106.68 x 71.12 cm, Collection particulière, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Zanzibar Black, 1974-1975, bronze with black patina, silk and wool over a steel armature, 208.3 x 76.2 x 68.6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Well of the Concubine Pearl, 1967, polished aluminum, silk, wool, linen, synthetic fibers, and steel chain on painted steel base, 205.74 x 76.2 x 76.2 cm, Courtesy of Michael Rosenfeld Gallery LLC, New York, NY, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Untitled, 1967, pencil and charcoal on paper, 28 x 26 cm, MoMA, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Barbara Chase-Riboud

1939 | Philadelphie, États-Unis
Informations

Plasticienne états-unienne.

Particulièrement précoce, Barbara Chase-Riboud décroche à l’âge de 18 ans une bourse pour étudier à l’Académie américaine de Rome. Elle en profite pour voyager en Égypte où l’art des pharaons l’impressionne profondément, comme en témoigne The Last Supper (1958). De retour aux États-Unis en 1958, elle intègre Yale. Seule étudiante africaine-américaine de son département, elle étudie la peinture avec l’ancien maître du Bauhaus Josef Albers et le design avec Louis Kahn. La rigueur de J. Albers et la spiritualité de L. Kahn stimulent sa créativité. Son langage plastique, en grande partie abstrait, fait s’entrechoquer des éléments contraires : le dur et le mou, le noble et le trivial, le masculin et le féminin… Installée en France et mariée au photographe de l’agence Magnum Marc Riboud, elle effectue de nombreux voyages, notamment en URSS et en Chine. Sa rencontre avec les figures du Black Panther Party au Festival panafricain, à Alger en 1966, bouleverse son œuvre, qui se fait définitivement plus engagée, comme en témoigne la série Malcolm X (1970).

Exposées aux États-Unis en 1970, ses sculptures en bronze poli associé à des cordes en soie et en laine révèlent ses affinités avec Sheila Hicks (née en 1934) et Magdalena Abakanowicz (1930-2017). L’inspiration la plus profonde vient de ses voyages en Afrique, où elle se familiarise avec les matériaux naturels que sont le raphia et le chanvre. Dans les années 1980, elle débute sa carrière de romancière avec le best-seller La Virginienne (1979) : un roman sur l’esclave et maîtresse du président Thomas Jefferson. Parmi ses œuvres, on peut citer sa première sculpture à caractère politique, Africa Rising (1998), une commande en l’honneur de l’historique cimetière africain de New York. Cette oeuvre en bronze monumental, inspirée de la Victoire de Samothrace, allie un socle de style shona (tribu du Zimbabwe) à des éléments ashanti (tribu du Ghana). Dotée d’un profil de Vénus hottentote et surnommée « La Victoire africaine », elle est ornée de pendentifs représentant des personnalités africaines-américaines, comme le penseur W.E.B. Du Bois.

Lire plus

Sonia Recasens

Traduit de l'anglaisa par Katia Porro.

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, The Albino, 1972, bronze à patine noire, laine et autres fibres, 457,2 x 320 x 76,2 cm, MoMA, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Malcolm X #3, 1969, bronze poli, coton et rayonne, 299,72 x 119,38 x 22,86 cm, Philadelphia Museum of Art, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, La Musica Red Parkway, 2007, Courtesy Michael Rosenfeld Gallery LLC, New York, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, All That Rises Must Converge Red, 2008, bronze rouge, soie et soie synthétique, 187,96 x 106,68 x 71,12 cm, Collection particulière, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Zanzibar Black, 1974-1975, bronze à patine noire, soie et laine sur armature en acier, 208,3 x 76,2 x 68,6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Well of the Concubine Pearl, 1967, aluminium poli, soie, laine, lin, fibres synthétiques et chaîne en acier sur base en acier peint, 205,74 x 76,2 x 76,2 cm, Courtesy of Michael Rosenfeld Gallery LLC, New York, NY, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Barbara Chase-Riboud — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Barbara Chase-Riboud, Untitled, 1967, crayon et fusain sur papier, 28 x 26 cm, MoMA, © Barbara Chase-Riboud

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29