Carol Rama

19182015 | Turin, Italy
Informations
Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Sponsor
— Associazione Archivio Carol Rama

The self-taught artist Carol Rama regarded her activity as a therapy: because her inspiration was very much autobiographical, the material drawn from her memory was often transformed into strange figures, highly charged with pathos and an unusual and raw poetry. At the age of 12, she went through a serious breakdown and for a while reported to a hospital as a day patient, an experience which left a deep mark on her, as did the encounters she made there. When Carol Rama was 15, her mother, whose mental health was fragile, was committed to a psychiatric hospital, and her father committed suicide when his small bicycle factory went bankrupt. From 1936 on, the young woman produced drawings of truncated, mutilated bodies, and even of simple parts detached from those bodies. This work developed further in the form of watercolours and engravings. At that time she was close to the painter Felice Casorati, leading figure of the Turin Six, whose personality dominated the Turin art scene. Her first exhibition, which was due to be held just after the Liberation of Italy at the Faber gallery, was banned by the Christian-democrat government, scandalized by the overtly sexual and provocative content of her works. That youthful work would not be shown for some 40 years.

After the war, like many Italian artists, Rama moved in the direction of abstraction, which she saw as a chance to organize her compositions with a new rigour. She drew close to the Movimiento Arte Concreta of Atanasio Soldati, Gilles Dorfles, and Bruno Munari, which advocated a painting separated from any reference to reality. She was solidly rooted in the Turin scene: her work was championed with great constancy by her friend, the poet and academic Edoardo Sanguineti, whose tales also acted as inspiration for her. She was also close to the architect and designer Carlo Mollino, the art historian Paolo Fossati, and the architect Corrado Levi. In the 1960s, she reverted to a more personal inspiration and developed what E. Sanguineti has called her “bricolages” (makeshift works), thus borrowing Claude Lévi-Strauss’s word and applying it to those modest assemblages, made using available eclectic elements: she thus glued animal claws and cigarette-holders onto backgrounds worked with large patches of colour. In the following decade, she travelled in Europe and the United States with her gallerist Luciano Anselmino; it was then that she met Andy Warhol, Orson Welles and, above all, Man Ray. Her works focused on issues associated with the great postwar fears: the atom bomb, and the cold war. The series Napalm, formed by dolls’ eyes scattered in bunches over sprayed backgrounds, represented a striking image of guilt. The artist also worked on large formats with used inner tubes which she cut up and stuck into the canvas in geometric motifs, or else suspended on a horizontal axis: the irregularities of the rubber lend these ensembles their material quality.

The 1980s were years of recognition, in particular thanks to the art critic Lea Vergine and her exhibition L’Altra Metà dell’avanguardia (Milan, Rome, Stockholm, 1980). That event, devoted to women artists, enabled C. Rama to show her older works; stimulated by that success, she took up her initial style of figuration once more, presenting a fantastic and uninhibited humanity and bestiary. That activity was based on a desire and on impulses, which she externalized and displayed, symbolized by tongues being stuck out and an uncompromising description of bodies, and the genitals in particular. She drew a great deal, on recycled paper, either construction diagrams or architectural plans, and transformed that material into both sentimental and erotic images. After the exhibition at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam in 1998, major retrospectives were held abroad around her works. Apotheosis came in 2003, when Rama won the Lion d’Or at the Venice Biennale. The health panic around Creutzfeldt-Jakob’s disease inspired her to produce a whole series of works focusing on the mad-cow image.

Read more

Marie Frétigny

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, I due pini [The Two pines], 1941, watercolour and pastel on paper, 33 x 23 cm © Photo: Pino Dell’Acquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Opera n. 47, 1940, watercolour and pastel on paper, 34.5 x 24.5 cm © Photo: Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Bricolage, 1964, oil, lacquer, beads, and metal shavings on Masonite, 69.5 x 51.5 cm © Photo: Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Untitled (Bricolage), 1967, ink, doll eyes, glue on paper, 34 x 46 cm © Photo: Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Organismi ancora ben definiti e vulnerabili, 1970, collage of bicycle inner tubes on fabric, 110 x 110 cm © Photo: Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Movimento e immobilità di Birnam [Movement and stillness of Birnam], 1977, collage of bicycle inner tubes and iron hook with bicycle inner tubes on canvas, 150 x 129 cm © Photo: Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Carol Rama

19182015 | Turin, Italie
Informations
Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Soutien
— Associazione Archivio Carol Rama

Artiste autodidacte, Carol Rama considère sa pratique comme une thérapie : son inspiration étant très largement autobiographique, le matériau tiré de sa mémoire est souvent transformé en des figures étranges, fortement chargées de pathos et d’une poésie insolite et crue. À l’âge de 12 ans, elle traverse une grave crise et fréquente pendant quelque temps un hôpital de jour, expérience qui la marque profondément, ainsi que les rencontres qu’elle y fait. À 15 ans, sa mère, de santé psychique fragile, est internée, et son père se suicide lorsque sa petite usine de bicyclettes fait faillite. À partir de 1936, la jeune femme réalise des dessins de corps tronqués, mutilés, voire de simples fragments détachés de ces corps. Ce travail se prolonge dans des aquarelles et des gravures. Elle est alors proche du peintre Felice Casorati, le chef de file des Six de Turin, dont la personnalité domine le contexte artistique turinois. Sa première exposition, qui devait se tenir juste après la Libération à la galerie Faber, est interdite par le gouvernement démocrate-chrétien, scandalisé par la charge ouvertement sexuelle et provocante de ses œuvres. Cette production de jeunesse ne sera plus montrée pendant une quarantaine d’années.

Après la guerre, comme beaucoup d’artistes italiens, C. Rama évolue vers l’abstraction, qu’elle voit comme une occasion d’ordonner ses compositions avec une rigueur nouvelle. Elle se rapproche du Movimiento Arte Concreta d’Atanasio Soldati, Gilles Dorfles, Bruno Munari, qui prône une peinture détachée de toute référence au réel. Elle est très ancrée dans le contexte turinois : son travail est défendu avec une grande constance avec son ami, le poète et universitaire Edoardo Sanguineti, dont les récits sont aussi une inspiration pour elle. Elle est aussi proche de l’architecte et designer Carlo Mollino, de l’historien de l’art Paolo Fossati, de l’architecte Corrado Levi. Dès les années 1960, elle revient à une inspiration plus personnelle et élabore ce que E. Sanguineti a appelé ses « bricolages », reprenant ainsi la formule de Claude Lévi-Strauss à propos de ces modestes assemblages, réalisés avec des éléments hétérogènes à portée de main : elle colle ainsi des griffes animales, des fume-cigarettes sur des fonds travaillés de larges taches. Au cours de la décennie suivante, elle voyage à travers l’Europe et les États-Unis avec son galeriste Luciano Anselmino ; c’est alors qu’elle rencontre Andy Warhol, Orson Welles et surtout Man Ray. Ses œuvres portent sur des problématiques liées aux grandes peurs de l’après-guerre : la bombe atomique, la guerre froide. La série Napalm, constituée d’yeux de poupées répartis par grappes sur des fonds traités au spray, forme une image frappante de la culpabilité. L’artiste travaille aussi sur de grands formats avec des chambres à air usagées qu’elle découpe et colle sur la toile en des motifs géométriques, ou bien qu’elle suspend à un axe horizontal : les irrégularités du caoutchouc donnent à ces ensembles leur matérialité.

Les années 1980 sont celles de la reconnaissance, notamment grâce à la critique d’art Lea Vergine et à son exposition L’Altra Metà dell’avanguardia (Milan, Rome, Stockholm, 1980). Cet événement, consacré aux artistes féminines, permet à C. Rama de montrer ses créations les plus anciennes ; stimulée par ce succès, elle reprend son mode de figuration initial, mettant en scène une humanité et un bestiaire fantaisistes et sans inhibition. Cette pratique est fondée sur le désir et sur les pulsions, qu’elle extériorise et expose, symbolisés par les langues tirées et une description sans complaisance des corps, en particulier des appareils génitaux. Elle dessine souvent, sur des papiers récupérés, des schémas de construction ou bien des dessins d’architecte, et transforme ce matériau en images sentimentales et érotiques à la fois. À la suite de l’exposition du Stedeljik Museum d’Amsterdam en 1998, d’importantes rétrospectives sont organisées à l’étranger autour de ses œuvres. La consécration arrive en 2003, lorsque C. Rama reçoit le Lion d’Or de la Biennale de Venise. La panique sanitaire autour de la maladie de Creutzfeldt-Jakob lui a inspiré toute une série d’œuvres centrée sur l’image de la vache-folle.

Lire plus

Marie Frétigny

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, I due pini [Les deux pins], 1941, aquarelle et pastel sur papier, 33 x 23 cm © Photo : Pino Dell’Acquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Opera n. 47, 1940, aquarelle et pastel sur papier, 34,5 x 24,5 cm © Photo : Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Bricolage, 1964, huile, vernis, perles et copeaux de métal sur Masonite, 69,5 x 51,5 cm © Photo : Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Untitled (Bricolage), 1967, encre, yeux de poupées, glue sur papier, 34 x 46 cm © Photo : Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Organismi ancora ben definiti e vulnerabili, 1970, collage of bicycle inner tubes on fabric, 110 x 110 cm © Photo : Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Carol Rama — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carol Rama, Movimento e immobilità di Birnam [Mouvement et l’immobilité de Birnam], 1977, collage de chambres à air de vélo et crochet de fer avec chambres à air de bicyclettes sur toile, 150 x 129 cm © Photo : Pino Dell’Aquila © Archivio Carol Rama, Turin

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29