Claire Falkenstein

1906Coos Bay, États-Unis | 1997Venice, États-Unis
Informations

Sculptrice états-unienne.

Claire Falkenstein grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and graduated with an art degree from the University of California, Berkeley in 1930. Three years later she received a scholarship to Mills College in Oakland, California, where she studied under sculptor Alexander Archipenko (1887-1964), and met László Moholy-Nagy (1895-1946) and György Kepes (1906-2001). During those years she created abstract paintings and ceramic sculptures which figure among the first known examples of non-objective works in the United States. They show the artist’s marked and lifelong interest in flowing and open shapes, as well as her taste for incorporating negative space within her sculpture. In the 1940s, in the dynamic atmosphere of the city of San Francisco – which at the time had become a major artistic hub on the West Coast – she met Clyfford Still (1904-1980), Richard Diebenkorn (1922-1993) and Hassel Smith (1915-2007), she had several tenures as a teacher at Mills College (1946-1947) and at the California School of Fine Arts (1947-1949). Over time her appetite for new materials and techniques grew. Between 1941 and 1944 she developed a series of wooden sculptures, Exploded Volumes, the unrestrained and fragmented forms of which she assembled and combined in such a way that the public could manipulate, deconstruct and rearrange them at will. From 1944 she also started to create her first jewellery pieces, which would become an inseparable part of her sculptural work that she would develop throughout her life. In the artist’s own words: “Jewellery [making] is the best schooling I ever had. [One] can make mistakes, experiment in structure, design and relationship to the human body.”

The 1950s were a major turning point in C. Falkenstein’s artistic career. She left America and moved to Paris – a decision that coincided with her use of unconventional materials, such as lead bars, stovepipes and metal wire, which she liked to weld together, bend and assemble to produce a form of writing in space: “Everything is drawing”, “sculpture is drawing”, she said about the series Sun (1954-1960). While she chose to work with inexpensive and accessible materials, partly because of post-war shortages, the way she used them attest to her desire to create constantly expanding forms aimed at achieving an increasingly intense exploration of the concept of infinite space. This can be explained by the fact that C. Falkenstein was deeply interested in scientific theories surrounding the notion of space-time, particularly Albert Einstein’s theory of relativity, which are extensively echoed in her work. The following years saw her creating prestigious monumental sculptures, including the gates to Princess Pignatelli’s estate in Rome, as well as the gates to the Venice palace that is now home to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection. These commissioned works led C. Falkenstein to perfect a new technique that allowed her to insert pieces of coloured glass into a webbed metal structure, a technique she would also use in her Fusion series.

Upon returning to California permanently in 1963, the artist undertook multiple collaborations with architects, dotting the region with many of her site-specific works, including the Three Fires fountain in Fresno (1966); gates and stained-glass windows for the Saint Basil Church in Los Angeles (1968-1969); a series of pieces for the California State University in Long Beach (1965). In her later years C. Falkenstein took up painting again as she had at the start of her career, and all the while continued to produce graphic work. Her 4,000 “structures”, as she liked to call the various elements that make up her body of work, are a testament to her tireless experiments with a wide range of materials – steel, iron, glass, wood, brass, cement, resin, plastic, copper, and molten glass – which she spent over six decades reinterpreting, transforming and opening up to new uses. Her art was acknowledged very early on by critics and institutions, and was exhibited on multiple occasions in France and abroad: solo exhibitions at Galerie Stadler in Paris (1955, 1960, 1985), at the Martha Jackson Gallery in New York (1960, 1963, 1965), at the Esther Robles Gallery in Los Angeles (1963, 1964, 1965), as well as at the Phoenix Art Museum (1967), Fresno Art Center (1969), and Jack Rutberg Fine Arts Gallery in Los Angeles (1984, 1986, 1989). Her works are kept and regularly presented in the collections of the Musée National d’Art Moderne – Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Tate Britain in London, and in the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice.

Read more

Sabrina Dubbeld

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Conic, 1959, brazed copper, 177.7 x 97.7 x 26.6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Untitled III (I, II), 1952, etching, 52.7 x 43.2 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Envelope, 1958, steel wire assemblage, 122 x 152.4 x 91.4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Moving Point, 1975, India ink on watercolor paper, 57.8 x 80 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Corona, 1971, brazed copper and fused glass, 21 x 31.1 x 19 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Floating Structure, 1958-1959, cut and brazed iron, 76.8 x 128.9 x 44.4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Fertiliy, 1941, polychromed ash, 97.8 x 43.2 x 29.8 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Branding, 1943, India ink, colored pencil, pencil and watercolor on paper, 36.8 x 47.6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Untitled I, 1952, etching, 38.1 x 40.6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Baseball Bat, 1941, polychromed ash, 95.6 x 14.6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, The Temptation of St. Anthony-by Hieronymous Bosch #3, 1978, crayon and pastel on paper, 48.3 x 63.5 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Moon II, 1958, welded iron with Venetian glass, 53 x 52 x 44.13 cm, SF MOMA, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Lumber Mill, 1934, watercolor on paper, 53.3 x 71.1 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Claire Falkenstein

1906Coos Bay, États-Unis | 1997Venice, États-Unis
Informations

Sculptrice états-unienne.

Après une enfance passée dans la baie de San Francisco, Claire Falkenstein s’inscrit à l’University of California de Berkeley d’où elle sort diplômée en art en 1930. Trois ans plus tard, elle obtient une bourse pour étudier au Mills College d’Oakland, en Californie, où enseigne le sculpteur Alexander Archipenko (1887-1964). Elle fait alors la connaissance de László Moholy-Nagy (1895-1946) et de György Kepes (1906-2001). Durant ces années-là, elle se consacre à la réalisation de peintures abstraites et de sculptures en céramique qui comptent parmi les premiers exemples connus de pièces non objectives aux États-Unis. Ces dernières témoignent d’un intérêt marqué, sans cesse renouvelé par la suite, pour les formes fluides et ouvertes, ainsi que pour l’incorporation d’espaces négatifs au cœur même de sa sculpture. Au cours des années 1940, bénéficiant de l’environnement dynamique de la ville de San Francisco – devenue à cette époque le centre artistique incontournable de la côte ouest des États-Unis –, elle fait la rencontre de Clyfford Still (1904-1980), Richard Diebenkorn (1922-1993) et Hassel Smith (1915-2007) et occupe différents postes d’enseignante, au Mills College (1946-1947) ou encore à la California School of Fine Arts (1947-1949). Peu à peu, son appétit de nouveaux matériaux et techniques grandit. Ainsi, entre 1941 et 1944, elle développe une série de sculptures en bois, intitulée Exploded Volumes, dont les formes libres et fragmentées s’agencent et se combinent de telle sorte qu’elles peuvent être manipulées, démontées et réagencées à l’envi par le public. À partir de 1944, l’artiste s’attelle également à la création de ses premières pièces de joaillerie, pratique indissociable de son travail sculptural, qu’elle aura l’occasion d’enrichir tout au long de son existence. « La fabrication de bijoux est la meilleure formation que j’aie jamais eue. On peut faire des erreurs, expérimenter la structure, la conception et la relation avec le corps humain » confie-t-elle.

Les années 1950 constituent un véritable tournant dans la carrière artistique de C. Falkenstein. Celle-ci quitte le continent américain pour s’installer à Paris, décision qui coïncide avec l’adoption de matériaux non conventionnels, tels des barres de plomb, des tuyaux de poêle ou encore des fils métalliques qu’elle se plaît à souder, à tordre et à assembler de façon à former une véritable écriture dans l’espace : « Tout dessine », « la sculpture est le dessin » déclare-t-elle (série Sun, 1954-1960). Si son choix se porte sur des matériaux peu coûteux et accessibles principalement à cause des pénuries importantes que connaît la France d’après-guerre, l’usage qu’elle en fait confirme sa volonté de créer des formes en constante expansion, explorant toujours plus intensément le concept d’un espace infini. C’est que l’artiste est passionnée par les théories scientifiques autour de la notion de l’espace-temps, notamment la théorie de la relativité d’Albert Einstein à laquelle sa production fait largement écho. Les années qui suivent sont marquées par la réalisation de sculptures monumentales prestigieuses, parmi lesquelles figurent les portes de la grotte de la propriété de la princesse Pignatelli à Rome, ainsi que celles du palais de Venise abritant aujourd’hui la collection de Peggy Guggenheim. Ces commandes amènent C. Falkenstein à perfectionner une technique inédite lui permettant d’inclure des morceaux de verres colorés dans des structures en métal qui s’étendent dans toutes les directions ; elle y aura également recours pour les pièces de sa série Fusion.

Après son retour définitif en Californie en 1963, l’artiste multiplie les collaborations avec des architectes, ponctuant peu à peu le territoire de ses nombreuses réalisations : fontaine Three Fires à Fresno (1966) ; portes et vitraux sculpturaux de l’église Saint-Basile à Los Angeles (1968-1969) ; travaux pour le campus de la California State University de Long Beach (1965)… Au soir de sa vie, C. Falkenstein, qui pratiquait la peinture dans ses œuvres de jeunesse, n’hésite pas à reprendre ses pinceaux et, parallèlement, elle poursuit également son activité graphique. Ses 4 000 « structures », ainsi qu’elle aime à nommer les différents éléments qui composent son grand œuvre, témoignent de son inlassable travail autour des matériaux – acier, fer, verre, bois, laiton, ciment, résine, plastique, cuivre, verre fondu – qu’elle s’est amusée, durant plus d’une soixantaine d’années à détourner, à décloisonner, à métamorphoser. Sa production, qui a été très tôt reconnue par la critique et les institutions, a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions, tant en France qu’à l’étranger : expositions personnelles à la galerie Stadler à Paris (1955, 1960, 1985), à la Martha Jackson Gallery à New York (1960, 1963, 1965), à l’Esther Robles Gallery à Los Angeles (1963, 1964, 1965), mais aussi au Phoenix Art Museum (1967), au Fresno Art Center (1969), ou encore à la galerie Jack Rutberg Fine Arts à Los Angeles (1984, 1986, 1989). Ses œuvres sont conservées et régulièrement présentées au musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou à Paris, au Los Angeles County Museum of Art, à la Tate Britain à Londres, à la Peggy Guggenheim Collection à Venise.

Lire plus

Sabrina Dubbeld

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Conic, 1959, cuivre brassé, 177,7 x 97,7 x 26,6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Untitled III (I, II), 1952, gravure, 52,7 x 43,2 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Envelope, 1958, assemblage de fil d’acier, 122 x 152,4 x 91,4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Moving Point, 1975, encre de Chine sur papier aquarelle, 57,8 x 80 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Corona, 1971, cuivre brasé et verre fondu, 21 x 31,1 x 19 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Floating Structure, 1958-1959, fer coupé et brasé, 76,8 x 128,9 x 44,4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Fertiliy, 1941, frêne polychromé, 97,8 x 43,2 x 29,8 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Branding, 1943, encre de Chine, crayon de couleur, crayon et aquarelle sur papier, 36,8 x 47,6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Untitled I, 1952, gravure, 38,1 x 40,6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Baseball Bat, 1941, frêne polychromé, 95,6 x 14,6 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, The Temptation of St. Anthony-by Hieronymous Bosch #3, 1978, crayon et pastel sur papier, 48,3 x 63,5 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Moon II, 1958, fer soudé avec verre vénitien, 53 x 52 x 44,13 cm, SF MOMA, © Claire Falkenstein

Claire Falkenstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Claire Falkenstein, Lumber Mill, 1934, aquerelle sur papier, 53,3 x 71,1 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Claire Falkenstein

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29