Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mira Schendel

1919Zurich, Switzerland | 1988São Paulo, Brazil
Informations

Brazilian painter and sculptor.

The daughter of a German-speaking Czech Jew and a Jewish-Christian Italian mother, Mira Schendel spent her childhood and adolescence in Milan. Between 1941 and 1949 her flight to escape Nazism and her post-war “displaced person” passport forced her into an itinerant exile in Europe that prevented her from pursuing her studies. Her awareness of having no particular attachment to either a country or a discipline, plus the double nature of her upbringing – Czech Judaism and Italian Catholicism – undoubtedly influenced her as a self-taught artist. From the time of her arrival in Brazil in 1949, Mira (she had simplified her first name) drew and sculpted but mostly devoted her efforts to painting. Her approach, which focused much more on subject (whether scientific or religious) than on form, brought her close to a group of intellectuals starting in 1955, particularly the physicist and art critic Mário Schenberg.

In 1951 her work was included in the São Paulo Biennale. Her concern for the corporal dimension of painting, which was already apparent in her early figurative works inspired by the art of Giorgio Morandi, took on a more radical form at the start of the 1960s with the series Pinturas matéricas, in which she saturated the painted surface with marks made with disruptive strokes. One direction of her artistic research employed light sheets of rice-paper on which she hardly intervened at all: this was the series of Monotypias (which represented two-thirds of her entire output between 1964 and 1967), in which she soaked the paper with ink applied on planks of wood. Composed initially of minimal lines, these works subsequently featured calligraphic and then typographic characters. This method allowed her to embrace in her work the dualism that obsessed her (her Jewish-Latin heritage), and permitted a reading both from left to right and right to left. Some of the monotypes suspended between sheets of Plexiglas became Objetos gráficos, which were shown at the 1968 Venice Biennale. From time to time she also practised tempera painting, including her last series, Sarrafos, which remained unfinished at the time of her death. She made sculptures – also of paper – that she called droguinhas [“little things”, 1966].

In the early 1970s the series Cadernos [“notebooks”] and Datiloscritos [“ink on paper”] took her explorations involving writing a step further, which, despite the return to her first figurative motifs in the years leading up to her death, was the most important contribution made by this solitary, intellectual and mystical artist. She had many exhibitions, amongst them the retrospective Tangled Alphabets, in which her work was presented in 2009 with that of the Argentine artist León Ferrari at the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

Read more

Liliana Padilla

Translated from French by Timothy Stroud.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled from the series Droguinhas (Little Nothings), c 1964-1966, japanese paper, 90 x 70 cm, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled (Disks), 1972, transfer lettering and graphite on paper between acrylic sheets, 4 pins and nylon fishing wire, 27 x 27 x 0.7 cm, © Tate, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, A Fabric Net (A trama), 1960s, oil transfer drawing on paper, 45.1 x 62.2 cm, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled, 1963, oil paint on canvas, 145,9 x 114 cm, © Tate, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Little train, 1965, Japanese paper and nylon, variable dimensions, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled, 1960-1970, watercolour, metallic paint, fiber-tip pen on Asian Paper, 35.5 x 22 cm, © Harvard Art Museums, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled from the series Graphic objects (Objetos graficos), 1967, graphite, transfer type, and oil on paper between transparent acrylic sheets with transfer type, 99.8 x 99.8 x 1 cm, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artist
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Mira Schendel

1919Zurich, Suisse | 1988São Paulo, Brésil
Informations

Peintre et plasticienne brésilienne.

Fille d’un père juif tchèque germanophone et d’une mère italienne judéo-chrétienne, Mira Schendel passe son enfance et son adolescence à Milan. De 1941 à 1949, sa fuite pour échapper au nazisme puis, dans l’après-guerre, son passeport de « personne déplacée » la forcent à un exil itinérant en Europe qui l’empêche de poursuivre ses études. La conscience de n’avoir aucune attache, ni à un pays ni à une discipline particulière, ainsi que les dualismes inhérents à sa condition – le judaïsme tchèque et le catholicisme italien, par exemple – influencent très certainement l’œuvre de cette autodidacte. Dès son arrivée au Brésil en 1949, Mira – qui simplifie alors ainsi son prénom – dessine, sculpte, mais se consacre surtout à la peinture. Sa démarche, focalisée sur le sujet (scientifique, religieux) beaucoup plus que sur la forme, la rapprochera, en particulier après 1955, d’un cercle d’intellectuels, et notamment du physicien et critique d’art Mário Schenberg.

En 1951, elle participe à la Biennale de São Paulo. Sa préoccupation pour la dimension corporelle de la peinture, déjà présente dans ses premières toiles, figuratives, inspirées du travail de Giorgio Morandi, se radicalise au début des années 1960 avec la série Pinturas matéricas, où la surface picturale explorée se voit saturée des traces laissées par des gestes perturbateurs. Son enquête se poursuit, entre autres, avec un support léger, sur lequel elle intervient à peine : c’est la série Monotypias (deux tiers de son œuvre totale, réalisée entre 1964 et 1967), faite de petites feuilles de papier de riz imprégnées de l’encre que l’artiste a préalablement appliquée sur des planches en bois. Composés d’abord de traits minimes, ces travaux comportent ensuite des caractères calligraphiques, puis typographiques. Ce dispositif permet de saisir les dualismes qui l’obsèdent (son héritage judéo-latin), avec notamment une lisibilité possible de gauche à droite comme de droite à gauche. Quelques monotypes suspendus entre deux plaques de plexiglas deviennent les Objetos gráficos, exposés en 1968 à la Biennale de Venise. Par période, elle pratique aussi la peinture a tempera, dont sa dernière série, Sarrafos, reste inachevée. Elle conçoit également des sculptures, en papier toujours, les droguinhas [« petites choses », 1966).

Au début des années 1970, les séries Cadernos [« cahiers »] et Datiloscritos [« encre sur papier »] prolongent ses recherches sur et avec l’écriture, qui, malgré le retour à ses premiers motifs figuratifs dans les années précédant sa mort, constituent l’apport fondamental de cette artiste solitaire, intellectuelle et mystique. Elle a bénéficié de nombreuses expositions, notamment la rétrospective Tangled Alphabets [« Alphabets enragés »], où son œuvre est présentée en 2009 avec celle de l’argentin León Ferrari au Museum of Modern Art de New York.

Lire plus

Liliana Padilla

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled de la série Droguinhas (Little Nothings), vers 1964-1966, papier japon, 90 x 70 cm, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled (Disks), 1972, caractères de transfert et graphite sur papier entre feuilles acryliques, 4 broches et fil de pêche en nylon, 27 x 27 x 0,7 cm, © Tate, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, A Fabric Net (A trama), années 1960, dessin par transfert d’huile sur papier, 45,1 x 62,2 cm, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled, 1963, huil peinte sur toile, 145,9 x 114 cm, © Tate, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Little train, 1965, papier japon et nylon, dimensions variables, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled, 1960-1970, aquarelle, peinture métallisée, stylo fibre sur papier asiatique, 35,5 x 22 cm, © Harvard Art Museums, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Mira  Schendel — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mira Schendel, Untitled de la série Graphic objects (Objetos graficos), 1967, graphite, caractères de transfert et huile sur papier entre feuilles acryliques transparentes avec caractères de transfert, 99,8 x 99,8 x 1 cm, © MoMA, © Estate of Mira Schendel

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artiste liée
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29