Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Fujiko Nakaya

1932 | Sapporo, Japan
Informations

Japanese visual artist.

Before she began her painting career, Fujiko Nakaya studied at the High School of Japan Women’s University in Tokyo and at Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois. Her first solo exhibition was held at the Tokyo Gallery in 1962. Her work took an important turn in 1966, when she joined the Experiments in Art and Technology collective of artists and engineers (EAT) founded by Billy Klüver – who would later advise her in the technical development of her work – a collective for which she became the Tokyo representative, in 1969. On the occasion of the Osaka Expo ’70 and construction of the Pepsi pavilion, F. Nakaya surrounded the outside of the building with her first artificial fog sculpture (Fog Sculpture #47773). Since then, she has developed immersive and unstable environments, making her a pioneer of the genre. Her work also focuses on video.

With these artificial environments, created using a technical device that sprays billions of droplets of water from a nozzle system, the artist seeks to reproduce the effect of natural fog. To this end, F. Nakaya uses air and wind-inspired dynamics to make her work as similar as possible to natural occurrences. Starting in the 1970s, the artist began to envision these ever-changing outdoor works as pieces to be experienced to their fullest potential. Her fog sculptures became shared spaces for a variety of collaborations, such as with David Tudor in 1974 – Fog Environment for David Tudor Concert (Project) – on Knavelskär Island, Sweden; with Trisha Brown in 1980 for the choreography Opal Loop, during which she designed her first indoor fog as a setting for dancers; or that same year for a Bill Viola improvised concert in the Ojika River Valley in Japan (Fog Sculpture/Performance #47690). The number used in the title always matches the international code of the weather station where the piece is set up.

 

For over forty years, F. Nakaya has explored the impermanence of art and designed her fog environments/sculptures according to the physical data and atmospheric conditions of their settings. This “conversation with the wind”, as the artist beautifully puts it, enables her to create works that constantly shift in form and surprise viewers with their infinite variations. F. Nakaya’s work has seldom been shown in France. The first time was for the Vents des forêts initiative in the Meuse, to which she was invited in 2011. She also created a temporary fog installation (Moss Garden. Fog Garden #07172) in Nicey-sur-Aire, which is reactivated each spring, transforming the atmosphere of the small Japanese garden. Her work was also featured at the exhibition Dynamo (Paris, Grand Palais, 2013), for which F. Nakaya set up a temporary fog sculpture in the Nymph Fountain at the entrance of the Grand Palais.

Read more

Valérie Da Costa

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Bridge, 2013, Exploratorium, San Francisco, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, 1970, Pepsi Pavilion Expo 70, Osaka, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, 1988, Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, 1988, Guggenheim Museum, Bilbao, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, View of the Dynamo exhibition, Grand Palais, 2013, © Fujiko Nakaya

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Fujiko Nakaya

1932 | Sapporo, Japon
Informations

Plasticienne japonaise.

Fujiko Nakaya est formée à la High School of Japan Women’s University de Tokyo puis au sein de la Northwestern University d’Evanston dans l’Illinois (États-Unis) et commence sa carrière comme peintre. Sa première exposition personnelle a lieu à la Tokyo Gallery en 1962. En 1966, elle donne une autre direction à son travail : elle rejoint le groupe Experiments in Art and Technology (EAT), fondé par Billy Klüver – celui-ci la conseillera par la suite dans le développement technique de son œuvre –, qui réunit ingénieurs et artistes, puis elle devient, en 1969, la représentante de l’EAT à Tokyo. À l’occasion de l’Exposition universelle d’Osaka en 1970 et de la construction du pavillon Pepsi, F. Nakaya réalise un brouillard artificiel (Fog Sculpture #47773) qui enveloppe l’extérieur du bâtiment : c’est sa première sculpture de brouillard. L’artiste déploie dès lors des environnements immersifs et instables qui en font une des pionnières dans ce domaine, tout en se consacrant parallèlement au médium vidéo.

Dans ces environnements artificiels élaborés à partir d’une installation technique qui diffuse, par un système de buses, des milliers de gouttes d’eau, l’artiste cherche à reproduire l’effet d’un brouillard naturel. Dans cette perspective, F. Nakaya utilise les dynamiques liées à l’air et au vent afin que son travail soit le plus proche possible des processus naturels. À partir des années 1970, ces environnements, toujours en extérieur et perpétuellement changeants, sont envisagés par l’artiste comme des œuvres dont nous devons vivre pleinement l’expérience. Ces brouillards deviennent aussi des lieux partagés dans le cadre de nombreuses collaborations. Tel est le cas avec David Tudor en 1974 – Fog Environment for David Tudor Concert (Project) – sur l’île de Knavelskär en Suède, avec Trisha Brown en 1980 pour la chorégraphie Opal Loop au cours de laquelle elle produit son premier brouillard d’intérieur, que traversent les danseurs, ou encore, la même année, avec Bill Viola, où dans la vallée de la rivière Ojika, au Japon, elle crée une sculpture de brouillard (Fog Sculpture/Performance #47690) pendant que lui improvise un concert. Le numéro associé au titre correspond toujours au code international de la station météo où l’œuvre prend place.

Depuis plus de quarante ans, F. Nakaya développe une recherche sur l’impermanence de l’œuvre et conçoit ses environnements/sculptures de brouillard en fonction des données physiques du lieu et des conditions atmosphériques. Cette « conversation avec le vent », selon ses beaux mots, est une manière de proposer une œuvre dont l’image varie constamment et de se laisser surprendre par ses changements infinis. En France, son travail est rarement montré. C’est le projet Vent des forêts, dans la Meuse, qui l’a invitée pour la première fois en 2011. F. Nakaya a réalisé à Nicey-sur-Aire un brouillard temporaire (Moss Garden. Fog Garden #07172) qui depuis est réactivé chaque printemps et transforme ce fragment de paysage, qui est alors aménagé comme un jardin japonais. On a pu également voir son travail lors de l’exposition Dynamo (Paris, Grand Palais, 2013), pour laquelle F. Nakaya a installé un brouillard temporaire dans le bassin des nymphes devant l’entrée du Grand Palais.

Lire plus

Valérie Da Costa

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Bridge, 2013, Exploratorium, San Francisco, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, 1970, Pavillon Pepsi Expo 70, Osaka, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, 1988, musée Guggenheim, Bilbao, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, 1988, musée Guggenheim, Bilbao, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Fog Sculpture, National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, © Fujiko Nakaya

Fujiko Nakaya — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fujiko Nakaya, Vue de l’exposition Dynamo, 2013, Grand Palais, © Fujiko Nakaya

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29