Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Füsun Onur

1938 | Istanbul, Turkey
Informations
Sponsor
— Arter

Turkish Sculptor and visual artist.

Füsun Onur is a pioneer in Turkish art, bringing conceptualism into her sculptural practice and arriving at the installation form during the 1970s and 1980s. After studying traditional sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts of Istanbul, F. Onur went to the United States in 1962 with a Fulbright scholarship, earning a Master’s Degree in Sculpture at the Maryland Institute College of Art in 1967.
Starting in her early abstract geometric sculptures, F. Onur’s exploration of lines and planes grappled with the dualities of absence and presence, and the relationship of what is visible and known to what remains hidden and unknown. Using simple materials such as paper, cardboard and wood, her early works carry some of the core concerns that run through her entire œuvre, such as the relationship between form and process, an interest in themes and variations, and a reflection on space and movement which puts the viewer’s experience in a central position with regards to meaning and interpretation.

Nude (1974), a decorative plastic doll fragmented with broken mirror parts; and Life Is Beyond Walls (1975), an installation with Plexiglas planes, cut out figures and found objects, are some of the first examples of works in which F. Onur’s sculptural practice turns toward the use of everyday objects taken out of their original contexts and rearranged to underline their relationship to space and temporality. Her embrace of perishable, transparent materials (tulle, textile, lace, Plexiglas) and everyday found objects (furniture, wood, beads, figurines, flowers) collected from her home, her neighborhood and her hometown Istanbul, remained a constant in her practice, marking a conceptual as well as material rootedness in the domestic and familiar spaces of everyday life. Her sculptural practice gradually opened up to a spatial and temporal deployment in the form of installations. Third Dimension in Painting, Come Inside (1981) and Floral Counterpoint, Blue (1982) are both designed as immersive environments that encompass the viewer and flow in time and space. Arranged in rhythmic compositions, her installations are, in her own words, “rhythmic extensions of forms”, allowing for absence and negative space to intrude upon these forms.

Musicality became an increasingly prominent conceptual feature of F. Onur’s work in the 1990s and 2000s, as she received international recognition through successive participations in the Istanbul Biennial (1987, 1995, 1999 and 2011) and a series of exhibitions in Europe. Most discernible in titles and arrangements such as Note (1998) and Caprice (1998), her exploration of musical composition culminated in some her most majestic installations. Opus IIFantasia (2001), composed with knitting needles, braids, pedestals and small figurines, and conceived as the monologue of a single instrument, alongside Impromptu (2003) in reference to improvised piano pieces, operate like silent visual scores composed with found objects and perishable, light materials that resonate within the surrounding space, the music unfolding through sequential activations as the viewer moves through them.

F. Onur frequently accompanied her installations with detailed artistic statements and wrote several reviews questioning the art criticism of her time. Her writings attest to her extremely precise and controlled choices in materials and arrangements, all the while refraining from imposing meaning upon the viewer, inviting them instead to take part in the process. F. Onur’s works, but also her writing, challenged the predominant notions of authenticity and authorship, advocating for an inclusive approach to art and life.
The year 2012 marked F. Onur’s participation in documenta 13 in Kassel and the subsequent publication of a monographic book on her work: Füsun Onur followed by Through the Looking Glass, her largest retrospective exhibition to date, at Arter, Istanbul, in 2014. Füsun Onur’s works are held in the collections of the Tate Modern in London, MAK – Österreichisches Museum für angewandte Kunst/Gegenwartskunst in Vienna, Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven and Vehbi Koç Foundation in Istanbul.

Read more

Asli Seven

Translated from French by Asli Seven.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Counterpoint with Flowers, 1982, installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Untitled (July), 1983, Arter Collection, © Photo: Hadiye Cangökçe, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Elegy for Tekir, 2009-2012, installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Untitled, 1983, Arter Collection, © Photo: Hadiye Cangökçe, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Dream of Old Furniture, 1985, installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Icons of Time, 1990, installation view from What Time Is It?, Arter, 2019, Arter Collection, © Photo: Hadiye Cangökçe, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Pink Boat, 1993, video still, Arter Collection, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Any Chair, 1991 & Pink Boat, 2014, installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Whisper, 2010 & Istanbul Obsession, 1994, installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, War through the Eyes of a Child, 1994, installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Mirrored Labyrinth, 2014 (model from 1972), installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Pegged, 2014, installation view from Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo: Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Füsun Onur

1938 | Istanbul, Turquie
Informations
Soutien
— Arter

Plasticienne et sculptrice turque.

Figure pionnière en Turquie, elle introduit une approche conceptuelle dans sa pratique de la sculpture pour présenter ses œuvres sous forme d’installations dans les années 1970 et 1980. Après des études traditionnelles à l’Académie des beaux-arts d’Istanbul, Füsun Onur obtient une bourse Fulbright en 1962 pour partir aux États-Unis où elle est diplômée en 1967 d’un master en sculpture au Maryland Institute College of Art.
Dès ses premières sculptures géométriques abstraites, F. Onur aborde, en explorant lignes et plans, la dualité de l’absence et de la présence ou encore du visible et de l’invisible. Réalisés avec des matériaux simples comme le papier, le carton et le bois, ces travaux précoces sont porteurs de problématiques majeures traversant l’ensemble de son œuvre : le rapport entre forme et processus, un intérêt pour les thèmes et les variations, ainsi qu’une réflexion sur l’espace et le mouvement. L’artiste n’assigne pas de signification à ses créations mais incite le public à en faire sa propre interprétation, celui-ci occupant dès lors une place centrale.

Nu (1974), une poupée décorative en plastique, fragmentée par des morceaux de miroir cassé, et Life Is beyond Walls [La vie est au-delà des murs] (1975), une installation en Plexiglas, avec des figures découpées et objets trouvés, sont les premiers exemples d’œuvres où F. Onur utilise des éléments familiers, qu’elle extrait de leur contexte d’origine et se réapproprie afin de souligner leur rapport à l’espace et à la temporalité. Son usage des matériaux périssables et transparents (tulles, textile, lacets, Plexiglas) et des objets du quotidien (meubles, perles, figurines, fleurs), récupérés dans sa maison, son quartier ou sa ville natale, demeure une constante dans sa carrière et marque un enracinement à la fois conceptuel et physique dans la sphère domestique. Sa pratique sculpturale s’ouvre progressivement vers un déploiement spatial et temporel. Third Dimension in Painting, Come Inside [Troisième dimension dans la peinture, viens à l’intérieur] (1981) et Floral Counterpoint, Blue [Contrepoint floral, bleu] (1982) sont conçus comme des environnements immersifs qui entourent le spectateur et la spectatrice et se répandent de toutes parts, dans la durée. Arrangées comme des variations musicales, ces « extensions rythmiques de formes », d’après ses propres mots, permettent à l’absence et à l’espace négatif de s’infiltrer dans les installations tout entières.

La musicalité devient une caractéristique de plus en plus importante des créations de l’artiste dans les années 1990 et 2000, alors qu’elle gagne une reconnaissance internationale à travers des participations successives à la Biennale d’Istanbul (1987, 1995, 1999 et 2011) et une série d’expositions en Europe. Déjà perceptible dans les titres et arrangements d’œuvres comme Note (1998) et Caprice (1998), sa recherche musicale trouve son aboutissement dans ses pièces les plus majestueuses. Opus II – Fantasia (2001), constitué de fils à coudre, de perles, de socles et de petites figurines et conçu comme le monologue d’un seul instrument, de même qu’Impromptu (2003), dont le titre renvoie aux morceaux instrumentaux du même nom, fonctionnent comme des notations silencieuses composées avec des objets trouvés et matériaux périssables et légers qui résonnent avec l’espace environnant et sont activés par le mouvement des spectateurs et spectatrices se déplaçant pour découvrir les œuvres.

F. Onur a souvent accompagné ses installations de déclarations artistiques détaillées et a publié plusieurs textes sur la critique d’art de son temps. Ces écrits démontrent sa précision et son contrôle dans les choix de matériaux et de composition, tout en s’abstenant d’imposer une signification au spectateur et à la spectatrice, et en l’invitant, au contraire, à s’emparer des œuvres. Par sa défense d’une approche inclusive de l’art et de la vie, elle a remis en cause les notions prédominantes d’authenticité et d’autorité.
L’année 2012 a vu la participation de F. Onur à la documenta 13, à Cassel, ainsi que la sortie d’une monographie : Füsun Onur, suivies en 2014 par Through the Looking Glass, une grande rétrospective organisée à Arter, à Istanbul. Nombre de ses œuvres sont présentes dans les collections publiques et privées, telles que celles de la Tate Modern à Londres, du MAK – Österreichisches Museum für angewandte Kunst/Gegenwartskunst à Vienne, du Van Abbemuseum à Eindhoven et de la Vehbi Koç Foundation à Istanbul.

Lire plus

Asli Seven

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Counterpoint with Flowers, 1982, vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Untitled (July), 1983, Arter Collection, © Photo: Hadiye Cangökçe, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Elegy for Tekir, 2009-2012, vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Untitled, 1983, Arter Collection, © Photo: Hadiye Cangökçe, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Dream of Old Furniture, 1985, vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Icons of Time, 1990, vue de l’installation What Time Is It?, Arter, 2019, Arter Collection, © Photo : Hadiye Cangökçe, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Pink Boat, 1993, extrait de vidéo, Arter Collection, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Any Chair, 1991 & Pink Boat, 2014, vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Whisper, 2010 & Istanbul Obsession, 1994, vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, War through the Eyes of a Child, 1994, vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Mirrored Labyrinth, 2014 (modèle de 1972), vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Füsun  Onur — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Füsun Onur, Pegged, 2014, vue de l’installation Through the Looking Glass, Arter, 2014, Arter Collection, © Photo : Murat Germen, © Füsun Onur

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29