Agnès Varda

1928Ixelles, Belgium | 2019Paris, France
Informations

French film-maker, photographer and visual artist.

After living in Belgium and then in Sète (southern France), Agnès Varda studied photography in Paris at the École de Vaugirard, and became a photographer at Jean Vilar’s National Popular Theatre from 1951 to 1961. Without any technical knowledge, and without even being a film enthusiast, she made her first film in 1954, La Pointe courte, wich portrayed the story of the demise of a relationship, into which were interspersed depictions of a fishing neighbourhood in Sète. Alain Resnais provided the editing for the project. A successful first attempt; the film was acclaimed by critics as a breath of fresh air, and won the Grand Prix for avant-garde film in Paris. This earned its director the nickname “the grandmother of the New Wave”, which she rejected because she did not feel part of any collective. She soon created her own production company, Ciné-Tamaris, which enabled her to establish herself as a “craftswoman” and to pursue her creative work in complete freedom. While she continued working with short films – a medium she was particularly fond of because it permitted creative impulses to take form more quickly – she also produced feature films, an art form she viewed as yet another zone of experimentation. She seized every opportunity she could: a commission about the châteaux of the Loire (Ô saisons, ô châteaux, 1957), another on the Riviera (Du côté de la Côté, 1958), a work based on photographs taken during a trip to Cuba (Salut les Cubains, 1963), and a film about an uncle rediscovered by chance in San Francisco (Oncle Yanco, 1967). In these works, she displays a gift for turning everything into film and juggling with formats, genres, and conventions – making reality and fiction merge through the elegance of a playful subjectivity, a unique way of looking at things, one that is both mischievous and generous. Always curious about the other, she celebrates the encounter in all its forms within her “subjective documents” (to use her own words), such as L’Opéra-Mouffe (1958, a notebook documenting a pregnancy in the Mouffetard neighbourhood); Daguerréotypes (1975, “filmography of [her] neighbours”, selected for the Best Documentary Oscar); and Cléo de 5 à 7 (1961 Méliès Prize), a feature film about a singer awaiting the results of a medical analysis and wandering around Paris in a state of both poetry and anxiety. In this film especially, her form was innovative (we follow Cléo’s day and thoughts in real time), and her themes were courageous (death, taboos surrounding cancer, the Algerian war); it became a cult classic. After Le Bonheur, another daring film awarded many prizes (1964, Delluc Prize, Silver Bear at Berlin), Varda followed her companion, Jacques Demy (they met in 1958), to Los Angeles, where she hung out with Warhol and his gang. While there, she made two films bearing witness to the period (Black Panthers, 1968; Lions Love, 1969).

In the years that followed, two films she directed, Réponses de femmes (1975), and L’une chante l’autre pas (1976), marked a high point in the struggle for women’s rights, treating their serious topic with lively wit. The works of A. Varda are tied up with and shed light on the eras in which they were made, while her own artistic activity has evolved in tandem with technical and social changes. In 1985, she was awarded the Golden Lion at the Venice film Festival for Sans toi ni loi, a reconstruction of the tragic last days of a young vagabond (Sandrine Bonnaire) using the testimony of people who crossed paths with her; one her greatest achievements, this film remains her greatest commercial success. After two closely related films with/about Jane Birkin* (one titled Jane B. par Agnès V., 1987) and three others in homage to Demy (including one titled Jacquot de Nantes, 1991), her career took a new turn in1999. She welcomed new technologies in photography, and saw in her small digital camera new ways of remaining close to her subjects, she directed a highly personal work which touched a large number of viewers: Les Glaneurs et la Glaneuse (2000). Exploring social themes, in line with her documentary method of investigation and her liking for narratives marked by abrupt shifts, she sought out people struggling against precariousness with wit and ingenuity. In 2008, she made Les Plages d’Agnès, a self-portrait that reflected on her work and her life, and for which she was awarded the César for best documentary film. More recently, she has also created installations, including L’Ile et Elle, which was shown by the Cartier Foundation for Contemporary Art in 2006 and Les Cabanes d’Agnès, which was exhibited in 2009 at the Lyon Biennale of Contemporary Art. She has received a host of prizes and distinctions from around the world, including the René-Clair Prize from the French Academy, which rewarded the whole of her œuvre in 2002, and the Carrosse d’Or (awarded by the Society of Film Directors) at the 2010 Cannes Festival; among her most prestigious awards is the Palme d’honneur of the Cannes Festival, which she was the first woman to receive, in 2015.

Read more

Jennifer Have

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Une cabane de cinéma : La serre du Bonheur, 2018, metal structure of 30 mm square tubes with 35 mm prints of the film Le Bonheur (1964), 12 terracotta pot and false weathered sun flowers on duckboard, Led with adjustable brightness, 325 x 430 x 300 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, La cabane du film La Pointe Courte, 2017, wooden structure covered with film super 8 from the film La Pointe Courte (1954), mixed media, interior lighting with switch, 27.5 x 122.5 x 39 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Jeune femme et son fils, 2016, on the centre: photograph silver print on baryta paper warmtone (1961, Anne-Marie R.), on sides: digital photographs on rag baryta paper (2016), metal frames, 44.3 x 112 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Bord de mer, 2009, photo projection, video, 1’ loop, sand, 360 x 480 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia, © Agnès Varda

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Calder et sa famille, 1954, silver print, from the negative 9/12, mounted on Isorel, 29.3 x 23.7 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Black Panthers, 1967, colour film, 31’, © Agnès Varda

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Chine, Enfant assis et slogan d’économie politique, 1957, silver print by the artist, 16 x 23.6 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Cha-Cha-Cha danced by members of the I.C.A.I.C.- Film student, Sarita Gomez, woman and children (Cuba series), 1962-1963, silver print by the artist, 20.7 x 29.8 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Lions Love, 1968, colour film, 107’, © Max Raab / Agnès Varda

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Mur Murs, 1980, colour film, 81’, Courtesy Agnès Varda, © cine-tamaris

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Agnès Varda

1928Ixelles, Belgique | 2019Paris, France
Informations

Cinéaste, photographe et plasticienne française.

Ayant vécu en Belgique puis à Sète, Agnès Varda étudie à Paris la photographie à l’École de Vaugirard et devient photographe au Théâtre national populaire de Jean Vilar de 1951 à 1961. Sans aucune connaissance technique, sans même être cinéphile, elle réalise son premier film en 1954, La Pointe courte, l’histoire d’un couple en décomposition à laquelle se mêle la chronique d’un quartier de pêcheurs de Sète. Alain Resnais en assure le montage. Un coup d’essai réussi ; le film est accueilli par les critiques comme une bouffée d’air frais et gagne le Grand Prix du film d’avant-garde de Paris. Cela vaut à son auteure d’être surnommée « la grand-mère de la Nouvelle Vague », ce qu’elle réfute, ne se sentant faire partie d’aucun collectif. Elle crée bientôt sa société de production, Ciné-Tamaris, qui lui permet de s’établir en « artisane » et de créer en totale liberté. Tout en s’adonnant au court-métrage, qu’elle affectionne tout particulièrement parce qu’il permet à la pulsion créatrice de se matérialiser plus rapidement, elle réalise des longs-métrages qui sont autant de terrains d’expérimentation. Elle fait feu de tout bois : une commande sur les châteaux de la Loire (Ô saisons, ô châteaux, 1957) ou la Côte d’Azur (Du côté de la Côte, 1958), des photographies prises lors d’un voyage à Cuba (Salut les Cubains, 1963), un oncle retrouvé par hasard à San Francisco (Oncle Yanco, 1967). Elle possède le don de tout transformer en cinéma, de jongler avec les formats, les genres et les conventions, la réalité et la fiction fusionnent par la grâce d’une subjectivité ludique ; car A. Varda, c’est un regard unique, espiègle et généreux. Toujours curieuse de l’autre, elle célèbre la rencontre sous toutes ses formes au sein de « documents subjectifs » (selon sa propre formule), tels L’Opéra-Mouffe (1958, carnet de notes d’une grossesse dans le quartier Mouffetard); Daguerréotypes (1975, « filmographie des [ses] voisins », sélectionné pour l’Oscar du meilleur documentaire); ou encore Cléo de 5 à 7 (1961, prix Méliès), long-métrage sur l’errance parisienne poétique et angoissée d’une chanteuse qui attend les résultats d’une analyse médicale ‒ la forme est novatrice (on suit en temps réel la journée et les pensées de Cléo) et les thèmes (la mort, le tabou du cancer, la guerre d’Algérie), courageux ; le film deviendra culte. Après Le Bonheur, autre film audacieux bardé de prix (1964, prix Delluc, Ours d’argent à Berlin), A. Varda suit son compagnon Jacques Demy (rencontré en 1958) à Los Angeles où elle fréquente Warhol et sa bande. Elle y réalise deux films témoins de cette époque (Black Panthers, 1968 ; Lions Love, 1969).

Dans les années qui suivent, temps fort de la lutte pour les droits des femmes, elle dirige Réponses de femmes (1975) et L’une chante l’autre pas (1976) qui s’en font l’écho avec un humour roboratif. Les œuvres de cette cinéaste moderne épousent et éclairent leur époque tandis que sa propre pratique artistique évolue au gré des changements techniques et sociaux. Elle reçoit en 1985 le Lion d’or à Venise pour Sans toit ni loi, reconstitution des derniers jours tragiques d’une jeune vagabonde (Sandrine Bonnaire) à travers les témoignages des gens qui ont croisé sa route ; point d’orgue de son art, c’est à ce jour son plus grand succès. Après deux films gigognes avec/sur Jane Birkin (dont Jane B. par Agnès V., 1987) et trois autres en hommage à Demy (dont Jacquot de Nantes, 1991), elle fait prendre à sa carrière un nouveau tournant en 1999. Accueillant les nouvelles technologies avec bonheur, voyant en sa petite caméra numérique un moyen d’être toujours au plus près de ses sujets, elle réalise une œuvre très personnelle qui touche un grand nombre de spectateurs : Les Glaneurs et la Glaneuse (2000). Creusant toujours le sillon social selon sa méthode d’enquête documentaire et son goût pour la narration « coq-à-l’âne », elle va à la rencontre de personnes qui luttent avec humour et ingéniosité contre la précarité. En 2008, elle réalise Les Plages d’Agnès, un autoportrait qui revient sur son œuvre et sa vie, qui lui vaut le César du meilleur film documentaire. Devenue plasticienne, elle décline par ailleurs son univers dans des installations, dont L’Île et Elle, accueillie par la fondation Cartier pour l’art contemporain en 2006, ou encore Les Cabanes d’Agnès exposée à la Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon en 2009. Créatrice mondialement reconnue, elle a reçu une multitude de prix et de distinctions, dont le prix René-Clair de l’Académie française qui récompense l’ensemble de son œuvre en 2002, ou le Carrosse d’or (remis par la Société des réalisateurs de films) lors du Festival de Cannes 2010 ; parmi les plus prestigieux, la Palme d’honneur, qu’elle est la première femme à recevoir en 2015 à Cannes.

Lire plus

Jennifer Have

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Une cabane de cinéma : La serre du Bonheur, 2018, pellicule 35mm d’une copie standard du film Le Bonheur (1964), 12 pots en terre cuite et faux tournesols patinés sur caillebotis, Led à luminosité modulable, structure métallique de tubes carrés de 30mm, 325 x 430 x 300 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, La cabane du film La Pointe Courte, 2017, structure en bois couverte de pellicule super 8 du film La Pointe Courte (1954), éléments divers, éclairage intérieur avec interrupteur, 27,5 x 122,5 x 39 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Jeune femme et son fils, 2016, au centre : tirage argentique sur papier baryté (1961, Anne-Marie R.), sur les volets : photographies numériques (2016) et montage sur papier photo baryté, cadres en métal repoussé, 44,3 x 112 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Bord de mer, 2009, projection d’une photo, vidéo, 1’ en boucle, sable, 360 x 480 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia, © Agnès Varda

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Calder et sa famille, 1954, tirage argentique d’époque, à partir du négatif 9/12, contrecollé sur Isorel, 29,3 x 23,7 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Black Panthers, 1967, film couleur, 31’, © Agnès Varda

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Chine, Enfant assis et slogan d’économie politique, 1957, tirage argentique d’époque par l’artiste, 16 x 23,6 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Cha-Cha-Cha danced by members of the I.C.A.I.C.- Film student, Sarita Gomez, woman and children (Cuba series), 1962-1963, tirage argentique d’époque par l’artiste, 20,7 x 29,8 cm, Courtesy Agnès Varda / Galerie Nathalie Obadia

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Lions Love, 1968, film couleur, 107’, © Max Raab / Agnès Varda

Agnès Varda — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Agnès Varda, Mur Murs, 1980, film couleur, 81’, Courtesy Agnès Varda, © cine-tamaris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29