Judy Pfaff

1946 | London, United Kingdom
Informations
Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Arthur Mones, Judy Pfaff, 1989, gelatin silver photograph, 26.7 x 34.3 cm, Brooklyn Museum

American multimedia artist.

Judy Pfaff studied in several American universities before graduating from Yale in 1973. In 1998 she became a professor at Bard College. Known for her installations, she represented the United States at the São Paulo Biennial in 1998. Exhibited across the globe, her practice, encompassing painting, drawing and sculpture can be found in various museum collections, notably at the Museum of Modern Art and the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York. Through sculptures that recall living organisms, her work is based on the relationship between the natural world and manmade creations, while referencing artistic movements such as abstraction, cubism and surrealism. The artist describes herself as a post-minimalist and is as interested in processes as well as optical effects. Since 1975, J. Pfaff has realised more than forty temporary and permanent installations. One of her most recognised and impressive works made for the Philadelphia Convention Center, Cirque, cirque (1995), is more than 6,500 square metres of multiple spheres and tubes, made of stainless steel, automotive paint, aluminium and glass. Blue and yellow glass spheres also appear in the installation, as seen on the ceiling of Grand Central Station in New York, a source of inspiration for the artist.

The ensemble produces effects similar to water’s surface. The phenomena of expansion and developmental sprawl are treated in a poetic and musical manner, characteristic of most of her works. In her wall hangings and drawings she treats the same themes of expansion and abundance (Horror Vacui, 1988). Working with materials such as glass, fibreglass and fabric, she creates saturated and colourful ensembles referencing an abstraction based on an exploration of colour and movement (Superette, 1987; 3D, 1983). Her most recent installations, full of lines and suspensions, unfold in an even more airy way, as seen with Wild Rose (2007) and … All of the Above (2007). In parallel to her installations, J. Pfaff developed a practice of very lightweight, steel wire sculptures, as well as drawings based on the association of objects with a plethora of lines forming immense webs.

Read more

Marion Daniel

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Untitled, 1993, ink, pastel, watercolor and collage on paper, 50.8 × 76.2 cm, Detroit Institute of Art, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Feet First, 1998, etching and encaustic printed in color ink in artist-designed frame, 182.2 × 80.6 cm, Detroit Institute of Arts, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Untitled #8, 2008, etching, relief and digital printing in color ink with hand punching on artist designed printed papers, 26 × 37.5 cm, Detroit Institute of Arts, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, The Drum and the Dance, 1996, mixed intaglio and lithography on paper, with artist-designed custom frame, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Blue Vase with Nasturtiums, 1987, enamel on steel and plastic laminate on wood, 292.1 x 260.3 x 167.7 cm, MoMA, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Judy Pfaff

1946 | Londres, Royaume-Uni
Informations
Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Arthur Mones, Judy Pfaff, 1989, photographie argentique, 26,7 x 34,3 cm, Brooklyn Museum

Artiste multimédia américaine.

Diplômée de Yale en 1973, Judy Pfaff a étudié dans plusieurs universités américaines. À partir de 1998, elle devient professeure au Bard College. Connue pour ses installations, elle a représenté les États-Unis à la Biennale de São Paulo en 1998. Son travail de sculpture, de peinture et de dessin, montré dans le monde entier, est présent dans diverses collections, notamment celle du Museum of Modern Art et du Whitney Museum of American Art à New York. Elle développe le thème de la relation entre le monde naturel et les créations de l’homme, à travers des structures évoquant des organismes proliférants ; elle montre à la fois des objets naturels et construits, tout en faisant référence à des mouvements artistiques tels que l’abstraction, le cubisme ou le surréalisme. L’artiste se définit elle-même comme postminimaliste et s’intéresse davantage aux processus qu’aux effets visuels. Depuis 1975, J. Pfaff a réalisé plus de 40 installations temporaires ou permanentes. Cirque, cirque (1995), l’une des plus célèbres et des plus impressionnantes, destinée au Philadelphia Convention Center, est une pièce de plus de 6 500 mètres carrés, composée de multiples sphères et tubes, et réalisée à partir d’acier inoxydable, de peinture pour automobile, d’aluminium et de verre ; des sphères de verre bleues et jaunes y sont disposées, comme sur le plafond de Grand Central Station à New York (source d’inspiration).

L’ensemble produit des effets de surface d’eau : les phénomènes d’expansion, de développement tentaculaire sont traités sur un mode poétique et musical, qui caractérise le plus souvent ses œuvres. Dans ses pièces murales et ses dessins, elle exploite les mêmes thèmes de l’extension et du débordement (Horror Vacui, [horreur du vide], 1988). À l’aide de matériaux tels que le verre, la fibre de verre, le tissu, elle crée également des ensembles saturés, colorés, faisant référence à une abstraction fondée sur une recherche de la couleur et du mouvement (Superette, 1987 ; 3 D, 1983). Ses installations les plus récentes, telles que Wild Rose (2008) ou …All of the Above [tout ce qui précède, 2007], tout en lignes et en suspensions, se déploient de manière plus aérienne encore. Parallèlement, J. Pfaff poursuit un travail de sculptures très légères, en fil d’acier, et de dessins fondés sur l’association d’objets, avec une profusion de lignes formant d’immenses réseaux.

Lire plus

Marion Daniel

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Untitled, 1993, encre, pastel, aquarelle et collage sur papier, 50,8 × 76,2 cm, Detroit Institute of Art, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Feet First, 1998, gravure à l’eau-forte et encaustique imprimées à l’encre de couleur dans un cadre conçu par l’artiste, 182,2 × 80,6 cm, Detroit Institute of Arts, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Untitled #8, 2008, eau-forte, relief et impression numérique à l’encre de couleur avec perforation à la main sur des papiers imprimés par l’artiste, 26 × 37,5 cm, Detroit Institute of Arts, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, The Drum and the Dance, 1996, taille douce et lithographie sur papier, avec cadre personnalisé conçu par l’artiste, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Pfaff — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Pfaff, Blue Vase with Nasturtiums, 1987, émail sur acier et plastique stratifié sur bois, 292,1 x 260,3 x 167,7 cm, MoMA, Courtesy Judith Pfaff, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29