Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Kimsooja

1957 | Daegu, South Korea
Informations
Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Bryan Thatcher

Sponsor
— Galleria Raffaela Cortese

Korean visual and video artist.

After studying art in Seoul, Kimsooja took part in a lithography workshop at the École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts in Paris, followed by a residency at New York’s Museum of Modern Art PS 1. Her early work makes use of fabric, which would quickly become her favorite medium, given how it is emblematic of weaving, and therefore representative of a traditionally feminine art. First stitched together like pieces of a puzzle, the large colorful embroidered covers she displays come from traditional Korean practices—wedding bedspreads, package wrapping—these fabrics are either suspended from wires or placed on the ground like large carpets, or restaurant tablecloths. In 1997 Kimsooja embarked on a journey of 2,727 kilometers through South Korea, perched on a truck full of bottaris, bundles enveloped by brightly colored fabric. In a video entitled Bottari Truck, she is filmed from the back, with the scenery slowly passing slowly before her. This piece, composed of a truck and a film projection, was presented at an exhibition entitled Cities on the Move :art and architecture in Asia, in 1998 at CAPC , musée de Bordeaux. It was then projected at Mac/Val, the Museum of Contemporary Art of Vitry (2007), serving as a symbol of travel and the wandering nature of the globalized contemporary art. After a journey ending at the St. Bernard church, a site of protests about the struggles of undocumented immigrants, the piece was finally shown at the International Contemporary Art Fair in Paris, in front of the entrance to the Louvre’s Cour Carrée in 2008.

The metaphor of weaving is embodied in a series of videos titled Needle Woman (1999-2000): her own body motionless, resting in the heart of busy crowds in the world’s biggest cities (Tokyo, Seoul, Mexico City) becomes the needle that weaves the continuous flow of human bodies; or lying on a rock between heaven and earth, it unites the two worlds. During a trip to India, Kimsooja filmed the dyers and launderers of Mumbai. Mumbai: A Laundry (2008) consists of four screens showing the hard labor and living conditions in India but also the beauty of this practice and the colors of the country. Continuing her investigation of world traditions, she undertook a series of films about the various practices of weaving in Peru and Africa, to show the permanence of the ritual, despite cultural differences. Alongside these more anthropological pieces with their large, formal aesthetic, she created more abstract and sensory works, like her screens of changing colors, presented at La Fenice theater in Venice in 2005, then at the théâtre du Châtelet during the 2009 Nuit Blanche in Paris. Or the palace of mirrors that she installed in Madrid, in the Buen Retiro park in 2006.

Read more

Marie-Laure Bernadac

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Encounter – Looking Into Sewing, 1998-2002, vivachrome print, 2.12 x 1.18 m, 83 3/4 x 49 5/8 in., Courtesy Kimsooja Studio, © Photo: Lee Jong Soo

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Deductive Object, 1996, used Korean bedcovers, used clothes, variable dimensions, installation at Akira Ikeda Gallery, Taura, Japon, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milano and Kimsooja Studio

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, A Needle Woman – Kitakyushu, 1999, single channel video projection, 6’33’’ loop, silent, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milano and Kimsooja Studio

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Cities on the Move – Bottari Truck, 2000, 2.5 ton truck stacked with Bottaris, installation view at Rodin Gallery, Seoul, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese and Kimsooja Studio, © Photo: Kim Hyunsoo

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, A Laundry Woman – Yamuna River, India, 2000, single channel video projection, 10’30’’ loop, silent, commissioned by ICC Tokyo, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milano and Kimsooja Studio

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Respirar – Una Mujer Espejo / To Breathe – A Mirror Woman, 2006, diffraction grating film, mirror, “The Weaving Factory”, 2004 (sound performance by the artist), The Crystal Palace, Madrid, Courtesy Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, Galería La Fábrica, Madrid and Kimsooja Studio, © Photo: Jaeho Chong

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, A Needle Woman, 2009, installation image Nuit Blanche, Ville de Paris, Courtesy Kimsooja Studio, © Photo: Thierry Depagne

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Deductive Object, 1996, used Korean bedcovers, used clothes, variable dimensions, installation at Akira Ikeda Gallery, Taura, Japon, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milano and Kimsooja Studio

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Kimsooja

1957 | Daegu, Corée du Sud
Informations
Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Bryan Thatcher

Soutien
— Galleria Raffaela Cortese

Plasticienne et vidéaste coréenne.

Après des études artistiques à Séoul, Kimsooja suit un atelier de lithographie à l’École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts de Paris, puis part en résidence à New York, au Museum of Modern Art PS 1. Ses premiers travaux font appel aux étoffes, au tissu, qui va devenir très vite son matériau de prédilection, car il est l’emblème du tissage, donc d’une caractéristique féminine. Tout d’abord assemblées et cousues comme les morceaux d’un puzzle, les grandes couvertures colo rées et brodées qu’elle déplie dans l’espace viennent de pratiques traditionnelles coréennes : couvre-lits de mariage, enveloppes de paquets ; ces tissus sont soit suspendus sur des fils, soit posés au sol comme de grands tapis, ou bien servent de nappes sur des tables de restaurant. En 1997, Kimsooja entreprend un voyage de 2 727 kilomètres dans le sud de la Corée, perchée sur un camion rempli de bottaris, sorte de baluchons de nomade. Dans une vidéo intitulée Bottari Truck, elle est filmée de dos, avec le paysage qui défile lentement devant elle. Cette œuvre, composée du camion et de la projection filmée, est présentée dans l’exposition Cities on the Move : art et architecture en Asie, 1998, CAPC musée de Bordeaux ; puis c’est au Mac/Val, musée d’Art contemporain de Vitry (2007) que cette vidéo nomade, symbole du voyage et de l’errance de l’art contemporain mondialisé, est projetée, après un périple jusqu’à l’église Saint-Bernard, lieu manifeste de la lutte des sans-papiers ; elle est enfin montrée lors de la Foire internationale d’art contemporain à Paris, devant l’entrée de la cour Carrée du Louvre en 2008.

La métaphore du tissage est incarnée ensuite dans une série de vidéos intitulées Needle Woman (« couturière », 1999-2000) : son propre corps, immobile, posé au cœur des foules passantes des grandes villes du monde (Tokyo, Séoul, Mexico), devient l’aiguille qui tisse le flux continu des corps humains ; ou bien allongée sur un rocher entre terre et ciel, elle unit les deux mondes. Lors d’un voyage en Inde, Kimsooja filme les teinturiers et blanchisseurs de Bombay : Mumbai: A Laundry (« Mumbai, une blanchisserie », 2008) est composé de quatre écrans montrant la dureté du travail et des conditions de vie en Inde, mais aussi la beauté de cette pratique et des couleurs du pays. Poursuivant ses investigations des traditions du monde, elle entreprend une série de films sur les diverses pratiques du tissage au Pérou et en Afrique afin de montrer la permanence d’un rite, malgré les différences culturelles. Parallèlement à ces travaux à caractère anthropologique d’une grand esthétique formelle, elle réalise des œuvres plus abstraites et sensorielles, comme ces écrans de couleurs changeantes, présentés au théâtre de la Fenice à Venise en 2005, puis au théâtre du Châtelet, au cours de la Nuit blanche (2009), ou encore le palais de miroirs qu’elle a installé à Madrid, dans le jardin du Buen Retiro, en 2006.

Lire plus

Marie-Laure Bernadac

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Encounter – Looking Into Sewing, 1998-2002, vivachrome print, 2,12 x 1,18 cm, Courtesy Kimsooja Studio, © Photo : Lee Jong Soo

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Deductive Object, 1996, couvertures coréennes d’occasion, vêtements d’occasion, dimensions variables, installation à la Akira Ikeda Gallery, Taura, Japon, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milan et Kimsooja Studio

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, A Needle Woman – Kitakyushu, 1999, projection video à canal unique, 6’33’’ en boucle, sans son, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milan et Kimsooja Studio

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Cities on the Move – Bottari Truck, 2000, camion de 2,5 tonnes avec des bottaris empliés, vue de l’installation à la Rodin Gallery, Séoul, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese et Kimsooja Studio, © Photo : Kim Hyunsoo

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, A Laundry Woman – Yamuna River, India, 2000, projection video à canal unique, 10’30’’ en boucle, sans son, commande du ICC Tokyo, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milan et Kimsooja Studio

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Respirar – Una Mujer Espejo / To Breathe – A Mirror Woman, 2006, film de diffraction, mirroir, “The Weaving Factory”, 2004 (performance sonore de l’artiste), The Crystal Palace, Madrid, Courtesy Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid, Galería La Fábrica, Madrid et Kimsooja Studio, © Photo : Jaeho Chong

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, A Needle Woman, 2009, installation image Nuit Blanche, Ville de Paris, Courtesy Kimsooja Studio, © Photo : Thierry Depagne

Kimsooja — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Kimsooja, Deductive Object, 1996, couvertures coréennes d’occasion, vêtements d’occasion, dimensions variables, installation à la Akira Ikeda Gallery, Taura, Japon, Courtesy Galleria Raffaella Cortese, Milan et Kimsooja Studio

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29