Browse by Themes

Female Artists Take Over Parisian Transport
Female Pioneers at Work
24.04.2020 | Pauline Créteur

Geneviève Cadieux, La voie lactée, 1992, luminous panel, inkjet on canvas lumiflex, 183 x 457 cm, Courtesy Photo synthese

Since its creation at the beginning of the twentieth century, the Parisian metro has welcomed artistic creations, with the works of Hector Guimard that decorate station entrances. Yet, it was during renovations of the early 1970s that public transport stations incorporated works of art. Until recently female artists were underrepresented in these spaces, as they also have been in the naming of these stations (less than 2%), and the streets around them (12%).

In the same way as public commissions that were long reserved for male artists, public transport magnifies the differentiated experiences of public spaces by women and men. The Virage 2015 survey conducted by the French National Institute for Demographic Studies (INED) shows that in Île-de-France nearly half of all assaults against women take place on transport systems, and that more than half of female passengers are afraid to use public transport. Yet the latter is the descendent of the omnibus, which represents, etymologically, transport for all. The fight against violence against women takes on many forms, including greater parity in gender representation in the public space. Female artists contribute to this.

In the early 1980s, artist Marie-Claire Van Vuchelen (b. 1938), together with Daniel Hicter, proposed representations of her home city of Liège for the station of the same name on metro line 13. She was the first woman to receive a commission for the Paris metro. Later, in 1989, Liliane Bélembert and Odile Jacquot (b. 1960) designed the fresco for the Bastille station; and in 1991 the decoration for the Concorde station was created based on a work by Françoise Schein (b. 1953). These three works are decorative “interventions”, according to the terminology of the Régie Autonome des Transports Parisiens (RATP).

It wasn’t until 2008 that an “original work” was created, for the station Bir Hakeim by American artist Judy Ledgerwood (b. 1959). Night and Day was created when a metro entrance by H. Guimard was sent to Chicago as part of an exchange. A similar initiative of a transatlantic alliance – this time with Montreal­ – Voix lactée (2011) by Canadian artist Geneviève Cadieux (b. 1955) can now be seen in the corridors of the Saint-Augustin station. In 2020 South Korean artist Kimsooja (b. 1957) will create a work for the inauguration of the Mairie de Saint-Ouen station.

It is mainly thanks to the various phases of construction on the T3 tramway that more female artists will be visible on public transport. Thus, both French and international creators, such as Sophie Calle (b. 1953), Nancy Rubins (b. 1952), Anita Molinero (b. 1953), Angela Bulloch (b. 1966) and Joana Vasconcelos (b. 1971) are making a lasting, physical and artistic mark on the presence of women on the tramway line. It is also on the T3b route that parity in the naming of stations is being achieved for the first time.

This momentum continues to grow with the artistic projects accompanying the creation of the Grand Paris Express’s sixty-eight new stations. Susanna Fritscher (b. 1960), Eva Jospin (b. 1975) and Tatiana Trouvé (b. 1968) are amongst the thirty or so artists contributing to this ambitious project that will perhaps signal to that the public space is also theirs.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

Les artistes femmes investissent les transports parisiens
Pionnières à l'œuvre
24.04.2020 | Pauline Créteur

Geneviève Cadieux, La voie lactée, 1992, panneau lumineux, jet d’encre sur toile lumiflex, 183 x 457 cm, Courtesy Photo synthese

Depuis sa création au début du XXe siècle, le métro parisien accueille des réalisations artistiques avec les édicules d’Hector Guimard, entourages marquant les entrées des stations. Mais c’est surtout à partir des années 1970, dans un contexte de rénovation, que les stations de transports en commun se dotent d’œuvres d’art. Les artistes femmes y ont été jusqu’à récemment sous-représentées, tout comme le sont les femmes de manière générale pour nommer ces stations (moins de 2%) ou les rues qui les entourent (12%).

À l’instar de la commande publique très longtemps réservée aux artistes masculins, les transports en commun sont un miroir grossissant de l’expérience différenciée faite de l’espace public par les femmes et les hommes. L’enquête Virage 2015 de l’Ined le montre : près de la moitié des agressions à l’encontre des femmes se déroulent dans les transports d’Île-de-France et plus de la moitié des usagères ont peur de les utiliser. Ces derniers ont pourtant pour ancêtre l’omnibus, soit étymologiquement, le transport pour tou·te·s. La lutte contre les violences envers les femmes prend de nombreuses formes, notamment celle d’une plus grande parité dans la représentation des genres dans l’espace public. Les artistes femmes y contribuent.

Au début des années 1980, l’artiste liégoise Marie-Claire Van Vuchelen (née en 1938), avec Daniel Hicter, propose des représentations de la ville de Liège pour la station de la ligne 13 éponyme. Elle est la première femme à recevoir une commande pour le métro parisien.  Puis, Liliane Bélembert et Odile Jacquot (née en 1960) conçoivent la fresque de la station Bastille en 1989 ; et c’est à partir d’une œuvre de Françoise Schein (née en 1953) que le décor de la station Concorde est réalisé en 1991. Ces trois réalisations sont des « aménagements » décoratifs, selon la terminologie de la Régie autonome des transports parisiens (RATP).

Il faut attendre 2008 pour découvrir une « œuvre originale », celle de l’États-unienne Judy Ledgerwood (née en 1959) pour la station Bir Hakeim. Night and Day est conçue dans le cadre d’un échange avec un édicule de H. Guimard envoyé à Chicago. A l’initiative du même procédé d’amitié outre-Atlantique – avec Montréal cette fois – Voix lactée (2011) de l’artiste canadienne Geneviève Cadieux (née en 1955), est présente dans les couloirs de la station Saint-Augustin. En 2020, la sud-coréenne Kimsooja (née en 1957) réalise une œuvre pour l’inauguration de la station Mairie de Saint-Ouen.

C’est surtout grâce aux différentes phases de travaux du tramway T3 que de plus nombreuses artistes vont pouvoir investir les transports en commun. Ainsi, des créatrices des scènes française et internationales telles que Sophie Calle (née en 1953), Nancy Rubins (née en 1952), Anita Molinero (née en 1953), Angela Bulloch (née en 1966) et Joana Vasconcelos (née en 1971) inscrivent durablement, physiquement et artistiquement la présence des femmes aux abords de la ligne de tramway. C’est également sur le tracé du T3b que la parité dans la dénomination des stations est atteinte pour la première fois.

Cette dynamique continue de s’amplifier avec les projets artistiques qui accompagnent la conception des 68 nouvelles gares du Grand Paris Express. Susanna Fritscher (née en 1960), Eva Jospin (née en 1975) et Tatiana Trouvé (née en 1968) comptent parmi la trentaine de créatrices qui contribuent à cet ambitieux projet et donneront peut-être le signal aux femmes que cet espace public est aussi le leur.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29