Lorenza Böttner

1959Punta Arenas, Chili | 1994Munich, Germany
Informations

Performeuse, peintre et sculptrice chilienne-allemande.

Lorenza Böttner drew and sculpted with her mouth and feet; her multifaceted career also encompassed photography, performance and installation. L. Böttner was born to a family of German descent in Chile, on 6 March 1959, and at birth was given the name Ernst Lorenz Böttner. At the age of eight, Ernst suffered an accident in which he was electrocuted by power lines he had climbed while chasing after a bird; this resulted in the amputation of both of his arms. When he was a teenager, his mother Irene took him to Germany for better medical care and rehabilitation. Refusing prosthetics, however, Ernst began to call himself Lorenza, and learned to paint and sculpt, primarily using her mouth and feet. Many of her works were simply left untitled, but key ones include Face Art (1983) and Das Männergesicht (1988).

L. Böttner also was a fixture in the Negerhalle “scene” in Munich, where she did performance art. She supported herself in part by painting Christmas cards that were sold by the German Association of Mouth and Foot Painting Artists (VDMFK). She studied Fine Arts at the University of Kassel, and also took classes towards an MFA at New York University, where she did a memorable performance as the Venus de Milo. While in the United States she posed for the photo Bacchus Amelus, New Mexico (1986) by Joel-Peter Witkin (born in 1939), and worked as part of a performance group called OmniCircus in San Francisco. Back in Europe, she played the part of Petra, the mascot of the 1992 Paraolympics in Barcelona, who was drawn by the artist Javier Mariscal (born in 1950). She was the subject of a 1992 short documentary by Michael Stahlberg, Lorenza – Portrait of an Artist, made as a project for Stahlberg’s degree at the Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film in Munich. Although L. Böttner never met the Chilean authors Roberto Bolaño and Pedro Lemebel, they both wrote about her extraordinary life, in the 1996 works Estrella Distante [Distant star] and Loco Afán. Crónicas del Sidario [Crazy Ardor. Sidatorium Chronicles], respectively. P. Lemebel heard about her from the artist Mario Soro (born in 1957), a distant relation of L. Böttner’s, who met her in 1989 when his work was exhibited as part of the Cirugía Plástica [Plastic surgery] exhibition of contemporary Chilean art in the Staatlichen Kunsthalle in Berlin. They also spent time together in Chile in the early 1990s, where she briefly returned and gave a performance at the Galeria Bucci in Santiago. L. Böttner died in early 1994, of AIDS-related complications.

Later, when the philosopher and curator Paul B. Preciado gained access to an archive of L. Böttner’s artistic work that was in the hands of her mother, P. B. Preciado curated a solo exhibition of the work, Requiem for the Norm. The exhibition was first shown at La Virreina Centre de la Imatge in Barcelona in 2018-2019, then at the Württembergischer Kunstverein in Stuttgart in 2019, and at the University of Toronto Art Museum in 2020.

Read more

Carl Fischer


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, undated, black-and-white photograph, 24 x 22 cm

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, undated, black-and-white photograph, 18 x 12.7 cm

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, 1987, graphite and pastel on paper, 91.3 × 63.3 cm, private collection

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, undated, black-and-white photograph mounted on cardboard, image: 35.5 x 27.9 cm, private collection

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, undated, black-and-white photograph, 35.5 x 27.9 cm, private collection

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, undated, three black-and-white photographs mounted on cardboard, 34.8 x 45.5 cm overall, private collection

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, 1983, pencil on paper, 29.8 x 20.9 cm, private collection

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, 1985, pastel on paper, fifteen sheets joined with adhesive tape, 23.5 x 35.5 cm each, approx. 114 x 104 cm overall, private collection

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Lorenza Böttner

1959Punta Arenas, Chili | 1994Munich, Allemagne
Informations

Performeuse, peintre et sculptrice chilienne-allemande.

L’artiste Lorenza Böttner dessinait et sculptait avec sa bouche et ses pieds. Son parcours aux multiples facettes fait également la part belle à la photographie, à la performance et à l’installation. L. Böttner voit le jour au sein d’une famille d’origine allemande au Chili, le 6 mars 1959, et reçoit à la naissance les prénoms d’Ernst Lorenz. À l’âge de 8 ans, Ernst est victime d’un accident au cours duquel il est électrocuté par un poteau électrique qu’il escalade, à la poursuite d’un oiseau, et doit être amputé des deux bras. Pendant son adolescence, sa mère, Irene, l’emmène en Allemagne afin qu’il bénéficie de soins et d’une rééducation de meilleure qualité. Ernst refuse cependant toute prothèse, se rebaptise « Lorenza » et se met à peindre et à sculpter en se servant principalement de ses mains et de ses pieds. La plupart de ses œuvres restent sans titre, mais Face Art (1983) et Das Männergesicht [Le visage des hommes, 1988] comptent parmi les plus importantes.

L. Böttner devient également une figure de la scène Negerhalle à Munich, au sein de laquelle elle crée des performances. Elle gagne sa vie en exécutant des cartes de Noël vendues par la Vereinigung der mund- und fussmalenden Künstler (VDMFK, Association allemande des artistes peignant de la bouche et du pied). L. Böttner fait des études d’arts plastiques à l’Universität Kassel (Cassel) et s’inscrit également en master d’arts plastiques à la New York University, où elle réalise une performance mémorable sous les traits de la Vénus de Milo. Lors de son séjour aux États-Unis, elle pose pour le photographe Joel-Peter Witkin (né en 1939) dans son cliché Bacchus Amelus, New Mexico (1986) et travaille avec le collectif de performance OmniCircus à San Francisco. De retour en Europe, elle sert de modèle pour Petra, la mascotte des Jeux paralympiques de Barcelone en 1992, dessinée par l’artiste Javier Mariscal (né en 1950). Michael Stahlberg la filme pour son court-métrage documentaire Lorenza – Portrait of an Artist (1992), qu’il présente comme film de fin d’études à la Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film de Munich. Bien qu’ils n’aient jamais rencontré L. Böttner en personne, les auteurs chiliens Roberto Bolaño et Pedro Lemebel racontent sa vie extraordinaire dans leurs ouvrages respectifs Estrella Distante (Étoile distante, 1996) et Loco Afán. Crónicas del Sidario (Folle Ardeur. Chroniques de sidatorium, 1996). P. Lemebel en entend parler par l’intermédiaire de l’artiste Mario Soro (né en 1957), qui fait la connaissance de L. Böttner en 1989 lors de l’exposition d’art chilien Cirugía Plástica [Chirurgie plastique] à la Staatliche Kunsthalle de Berlin. Il·elle·s se fréquentent également au Chili au début des années 1990, où Lorenza se rend brièvement pour réaliser une performance à la Galería Bucci à Santiago. L. Böttner meurt en 1994 de complications liées au VIH.

Plus tard, le philosophe et commissaire d’exposition Paul B. Preciado accède aux archives des œuvres de l’artiste détenues par sa mère et en tire une rétrospective, Requiem for the Norm. L’exposition est présentée pour la première fois en 2018-2019 à La Virreina, Centre de la Imatge à Barcelone, puis en 2019 à la Württembergischer Kunstverein à Stuttgart, et enfin à l’Art Museum de l’University of Toronto en 2020.

Lire plus

Carl Fischer

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, sans date, photographie noir et blanc, 24 x 22 cm

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, sans date, photographie noir et blanc, 18 x 12,7 cm

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, 1987, graphite et pastel sur papier, 91,3 x 63.3 cm, collection particulière

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, sans date, photographie noir et blanc montée sur carton, image : 35,5 x 27,9 cm, collection particulière

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, sans date, photographie noir et blanc, 35,5 x 27,9 cm, collection particulière

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, sans date, trois photographies en noir et blanc montées sur carton, 34,8 x 45,5 cm au total, collection particulière

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, 1983, crayon sur papier, 29,8 x 20,9 cm, collection particulière

Lorenza Böttner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lorenza Bottner, Untitled, 1985, platre sur papier, quinze feuilles jointes avec du ruban adhésif, 23,5 x 35,5 cm chacune, environ 114 x 104 cm au total, collection particulière

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29