Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Loulou Cherinet

1970 | Gothenburg, Sweden

Swedish-Ethiopian visual artist.

Born to an Ethiopian father and Swedish mother, Loulou Cherinet left her hometown for Indonesia in the early 1990s after working for some time at the Göteborgs Konstmuseum. While living at the edge of a Balinese forest, she began to work on her first experimental works, which consisted of paintings and installations, and showed her work for the first time at an exhibition in Jakarta in 1993. Following this initiatory period, she went on a search for her paternal roots and moved to Addis Ababa, where she studied at the School of Fine Arts and Design, before moving back to Sweden to complete her training at the Royal Institute of Art in Stockholm, from which she graduated in 2005.
L. Cherinet’s artistic approach, which she developed in the early 2000s, is informed by an in-depth, attentive and continuous observation of the world that surrounds her, which she translates into still or moving images. Through her works – mostly videos and occasionally photographs – the artist seeks to decipher and call into question the mechanisms that underlie society’s functioning and the relationships between human beings, especially between men and women, or people from different ethnic backgrounds. It also questions the notions of time and space, identity and gender, and moral and cultural values. Her empirical, sensitive, and at times critical approach relies on a permanent back and forth movement in which opposites come together to better confront and renew attitudes: present/past, here/there, inside/outside, personal/universal, public/private, stranger/confidant…. L. Cherinet finds her study subjects in her immediate surroundings, between Sweden and Ethiopia, where she recruits performers whom she directs in her own scripts. While their framework is predefined, the situations that she imagines are characterised by a great economy of means – an elementary script, simple staging and minimal directions, so as to encourage improvisation and maintain the performers’ spontaneity in dialogue and reactions, in which each protagonist usually plays their own role. In her videos, reality and fiction mingle together until they become indistinguishable: these videos are monumental projections or screenings, which draw references from both feature films and documentaries.
In White Women (2002), African men all dressed in striped sweaters sit at a dinner table to share their experiences with European women. Magical Transformations of the World (2009), which draws visual inspiration from Carl Theodor Dreyer’s film The Passion of Joan of Arc (1927), shows close-ups of common emotional responses (grief, humour, distress, indifference and rage) on the faces of five women. In Big Data (2014), L. Cherinet examines the way urban spaces, in this case the Ethiopian capital, are influenced by political, economic, and social history. Her work can also take the form of an open archive, such as Axis (2016), which delves into our perception of time in the light of new technologies and of our continuously connected world.

Always poetic and humorous, sometimes ironic, L. Cherinet’s reflections resonate intensely in the present, like invitations to better envision the future.

Read more

Ludovic Delalande

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, White Women, 2002, video, 52’ loop, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Magical Transformation of the World, 2009, still from video, 7’ loop, no sound, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Bleeding men 1:1, 2003, video, 8’ loop, no sound, installation view at Museum Kunst Palats, Düsseldorf, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Minor Field Study, 2006, still from two channel video, 10’ loop, no sound, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, The Allegory of the Cock, 2006, video, 12’ loop, installation view at Röda Sten Konsthall, Gothenbourg, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Big Data, 2014, still from video, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Big Data, 2014, still from video, © Loulou Cherinet

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Loulou Cherinet

1970 | Göteborg, Suède

Plasticienne suédo-éthiopienne.

Née d’un père éthiopien et d’une mère suédoise, Loulou Cherinet quitte sa ville natale, après avoir travaillé un temps au Göteborgs konstmuseum, pour se rendre en Indonésie au début des années 1990. Alors qu’elle s’est établie à la lisière d’une forêt balinaise, elle réalise ses premières expérimentations, qui prennent la forme de peintures et d’installations, puis participe à une première exposition en 1993, à Jakarta. Après ce séjour initiatique, elle part à la rencontre de ses racines paternelles et emménage à Addis-Abeba où elle suit l’enseignement de l’École supérieure d’art et de design avant de rentrer en Suède pour compléter sa formation à l’Institut royal d’art de Stockholm dont elle sort diplômée en 2005.
Développée au début des années 2000, la démarche artistique de L. Cherinet se nourrit d’une observation profonde, attentive et continue du monde qui l’entoure, dont elle témoigne avec des images, fixes ou animées. À travers ses œuvres – essentiellement des vidéos et parfois des photographies –, l’artiste cherche à décrypter et à interroger les mécanismes de fonctionnement de la société comme les rapports entre les humains, notamment entre les hommes et les femmes ou entre des personnes d’origines différentes, à questionner les notions de temps et d’espace, mais aussi d’identité et de genre, ou encore les valeurs morales et culturelles. Son approche empirique et sensible, parfois critique, repose sur un basculement permanent où s’associent les contraires pour mieux confronter et renouveler les points de vue : présent/passé, ici/ailleurs, intérieur/extérieur, personnel/universel, public/privé, étranger/confident… C’est dans son environnement immédiat, entre la Suède et l’Éthiopie, que l’artiste puise ses sujets d’étude et recrute les interprètes qu’elle dirige dans ses scénarios. Alors que le cadre est préalablement défini, les situations imaginées par L. Cherinet se caractérisent par une grande économie de moyens – un script élémentaire, des mises en scène simples et des indications minimales pour favoriser l’improvisation et préserver la spontanéité des dialogues et des réactions afin que chacun et chacune des protagonistes soit le plus à même de jouer son propre rôle. Réalité et fiction se mêlent jusqu’à se confondre dans des vidéos, projections monumentales ou diffusions sur écran, qui empruntent leurs références aussi bien au cinéma qu’au film documentaire.

Alors que, dans White Women (2002), des hommes africains portant tous une marinière sont réunis autour d’un dîner pour partager leurs expériences avec des femmes européennes, Magical Transformations of the World (2009), dont l’imagerie s’inspire de La Passion de Jeanne d’Arc (1927) de Carl Theodor Dreyer, montre en gros plan des réactions émotionnelles ordinaires (chagrin, humour, détresse, indifférence et rage) exprimées par les visages de cinq femmes. Dans Big Data (2014), L. Cherinet s’intéresse à la manière dont l’espace urbain est marqué par l’histoire politique, économique et sociale en choisissant l’exemple de la capitale éthiopienne. Prenant également la forme d’une archive ouverte, Axis (2016) sonde notre perception du temps à l’aune des nouvelles technologies et d’un monde continuellement connecté.

Poétiques et humoristiques, parfois ironiques, les réflexions de L. Cherinet résonnent intensément avec le présent, comme une invitation à mieux penser le futur.

Lire plus

Ludovic Delalande

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, White Women, 2002, video, 52’ en boucle, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Magical Transformation of the World, 2009, vue de vidéo, 7’ en boucle, sans son, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Bleeding men 1:1, 2003, vidéo, 8’ en boucle, sans son, vue d’installation à Museum Kunst Palats, Düsseldorf, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Minor Field Study, 2006, vue de vidéo à deux canaux, 10’ en boucle, sans son, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, The Allegory of the Cock, 2006, vidéo, 12’ en boucle, vue d’installation à Röda Sten Konsthall, Göteborg, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Big Data, 2014, vue de vidéo, © Loulou Cherinet

Loulou Cherinet — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Loulou Cherinet, Big Data, 2014, vue de vidéo, © Loulou Cherinet

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29