Maria Pinińska-Bereś

1931Poznań, Poland | 1999Kraków, Poland
Informations
Sponsors

Polish sculptor.

Maria Pinińska-Bereś graduated in 1956 from the sculpture studio of Xawery Dunikowski (1875–1964) at the Akademia Sztuk Pięknych im Jana Matejki in Kraków. There she met her future husband Jerzy Bereś (1930–2012), whom she married in 1957; their daughter Bettina, also an artist, was born in 1958. M. Pinińska-Bereś lived in Kraków until her death; she played an active role in creating the city’s artistic milieu (for example, in 1962 she and her husband initiated an annual exhibition, Sculpture of the Year, aimed at promoting younger avant-garde artists).
Her first sculptures fit into the formula of modernity popular amongst Polish artists in the period of the so-called Thaw (the de-Stalinization that happened in the second half of the 1950s). In the mid-1960s she began to transform her works, gradually creating what is now recognized as her style. First, she introduced small quilted blankets to concrete sculptures (for example, Lady with a Bird, 1964). Then she began using new materials, including paper maché, linen, burlap, leather and plywood, and colours, essentially white, but also pink and yellow (for example the Corset and Psycho-Small-Furniture series  created at the end of the 1960s and at the beginning of the 1970s). Finally, pink soft stuffed forms of cotton became dominant in her artistic production (for example, Sea Foam-Arisen Venus, 1977). She remained faithful to this aesthetic until the end of her life. It was also in the mid-1960s when femininity and different forms of cultural oppression women experience became her most important subjects, alongside devoting much attention to issues of eroticism. In her later statements (1994) the artist revealed that it was her upbringing in “an ultra-Catholic family whose head… was a patriarchal elder, still shaped by the nineteenth century” that strongly influenced her art, which she produced as “a woman with all the insights and experiences of a woman’s fate”.

M. Pinińska-Bereś is recognized primarily as a sculptor, but in the second half of the 1970s she also presented performances, either for small groups of friends in her neighbourhood, or during the artists’ meetings (for example, Landscape Annexation, 1980, an outdoor performance in Świeszyno). She paid special attention to props, amongst which a pink banner, referred to by the artist as a “personal banner”, played one of most important roles. Pink – appearing in her works in different ways – gradually became her trademark. Some researchers consider M. Pinińska-Bereś to be a pioneer of feminist art in Poland, but she herself distanced herself from feminism, considering it an ideology and she believed that ideology should not dominate over art.

Read more

Agata Jakubowska

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Swirl on San Marco, 1993, acrylic paint, plywood, foam and textile, 72 x 72 x 95 cm, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation & Galeria Monopol

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Landscape Annexation, 1980, performance documentation, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation & Galeria Monopol

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Dumpling, 1987, acrylic paint, plywood, foam, textile and glass, 18 x 45 x 43 cm, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation & Galeria Monopol

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Laundry II, 1981, performance documentation, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation & Galeria Monopol

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Smudged with the Sky, 1985, plywood, cotton and sponge padded canvas, 135 x 192 x 110 cm, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Kite-Letter, 1976, performance documentation, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation & Galeria Monopol

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Authors Standard, 1979, performance documentation, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation & Galeria Monopol

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, The Banner, 1980, performance documentation, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation & Galeria Monopol

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, Dark side of the moon, 1989, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation

Maria  Pinińska-Bereś — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maria Pinińska-Bereś, De-Kon-Strukcja Krzywej Wieży II, 1995, sponge, plywood, acrylic, Courtesy Maria Pinińska-Bereś and Jerzy Bereś Foundation

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Maria Pinińska-Bereś

1931Poznań, Pologne | 1999Cracovie, Pologne
Informations
Soutiens

Sculptrice polonaise.

Maria Pinińska-Bereś étudie la sculpture dans l’atelier de Xawery Dunikowski (1875-1964) au sein de l’Académie des beaux-arts Jan Matejko de Cracovie, dont elle sort diplômée en 1956. Elle y rencontre son futur mari, Jerzy Bereś (1930-2012), qu’elle épouse en 1957. Leur fille, Bettina, également artiste, naît en 1958. M. Pinińska-Bereś vit à Cracovie jusqu’à sa mort et participe activement au développement culturel de la ville (en 1962, son mari et elle fondent une exposition annuelle, Sculpture of the Year, dont le but est de mettre en avant de jeunes artistes d’avant-garde).
Ses premières sculptures sont en adéquation avec le style moderne en vogue parmi les artistes polonais·e·s de la période dite « du dégel » (un déclin du stalinisme à partir de la seconde moitié des années 1950). Son travail commence à changer au milieu des années 1960 pour acquérir le style que nous reconnaissons aujourd’hui comme le sien. Elle ajoute peu à peu de petites couvertures matelassées à ses sculptures en béton (comme dans Lady with a Bird, 1964), puis se met à utiliser de nouveaux matériaux, dont le papier mâché, le lin, la toile de jute, le cuir et le contreplaqué, et à y ajouter de la couleur – principalement du blanc, mais aussi du rose et du jaune (notamment dans les séries des Corsets et des Psycho-Small-Furniture réalisées à la fin des années 1960 et au début des années 1970). Les formes en tissu rose rembourré finissent par dominer sa production artistique (Sea Foam-Arisen Venus, 1977). Elle restera fidèle à ce choix esthétique jusqu’à la fin de sa vie. C’est également au milieu des années 1960 que la féminité et les diverses sortes d’oppression culturelle que subissent les femmes deviennent ses sujets de prédilection, avec une attention toute particulière accordée à l’érotisme. Dans ses notes d’intention plus tardives (1994), elle révèle que c’est son éducation dans « une famille ultracatholique, avec à sa tête un patriarche dont les valeurs étaient encore celles du XIXe siècle » qui a fortement influencé son œuvre, qu’elle a créée en tant que « femme parfaitement consciente de ce qu’implique le sort des femmes ».

Bien que M. Pinińska-Bereś soit principalement connue pour sa sculpture, elle met également en scène à partir de la fin des années 1970 des performances, soit pour des groupes d’ami·e·s de son quartier, soit lors de rencontres d’artistes (notamment la performance Landscape Annexation à Świeszyno en 1980). Elle attache une grande importance aux accessoires, parmi lesquels une bannière rose, qu’elle appelle sa « bannière personnelle » et qui joue un rôle primordial dans ses performances. La couleur rose, qui apparaît sous plusieurs formes dans ses œuvres, devient progressivement sa marque de fabrique. Bien que certain·e·s placent M. Pinińska-Bereś parmi les pionnières de l’art féministe en Pologne, celle-ci prend ses distances vis-à-vis du féminisme, qu’elle considère comme une idéologie qui, en tant que telle, ne doit pas l’emporter sur l’art.

Agata Jakubowska

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec l’Institut Polonais de Paris.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29