Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nairy Baghramian

1971 | Isfahan, Iran
Informations
Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Oliver Jackl

Sponsor
— Studio Nairy Baghramian

Iranian visual artist.

Nairy Baghramian fled Iran with her family for political reasons in the mid-1980s and settled in Berlin, where she still lives to this day. After a deliberately eclectic succession of academic studies (in art history, visual arts, theatre, film, dance, and architecture, among others) at the Universität der Künste and Freie Universität in Berlin, and at Goldsmiths College in London, she began her artistic career in the 2000s.
Sculpture quickly became her medium of choice, the status of which she has since constantly challenged – in terms of composition, layout, and presentation to the public – and formally reinvented in order to expand its possibilities and renew its perspectives. By revisiting traditional concepts, she has imagined a new form of vocabulary that borrows indiscriminately from visual, performing, and decorative arts. She finds inspiration in the history of sculpture – in particular classical statuary –, avant-garde modernist movements, and minimalist art, as well as in theatre, dance, performance, design, arts and crafts, and fashion. Her experiments are driven by a plural reflection and give rise to highly innovative assemblages that rely on the juxtaposition, interplay, and friction of materials, textures, and colours. Whether flexible or rigid, soft or rugged, manufactured or handcrafted, one-of-a-kind or sorted into series, N. Baghramian’s works make light of appearances and contradictions. Just as they seem on the verge of collapsing, crumbling, or breaking up, their supposed fragility is undermined by the materials used.

Retainer (2012) is an emblematic circular installation that consists in an ensemble of irregularly-cut resin panels mounted on structures made out of metallic rods, like scraps of flesh presented on orthopaedic pins. In her more recent series Maintainers (2018), different-sized coloured blocks are firmly held together between the jaws of vices. Whether they represent body parts, protuberances and cavities reminiscent of human physiology, or architectural elements, furniture or interior decoration items, enlarged or hijacked objects, or even perhaps futuristic prostheses and animal shells, the artist develops a multitude of hybrid and strangely familiar shapes that seem to emerge from one another. Her abstract and sometimes monumental sculptures – which can be presented on the floor, on the wall or ceiling, in a doorway, on a column or a rooftop, alone or in groups, vertically or horizontally, indoors or out – reconfigure the exhibition space by establishing a close dialogue with their surroundings. Their layout is determined by their architectural environment and is almost choreographic in the way it influences the movements of the viewers, as is particularly visible in the piece French Curve (2014), a sculpture shaped like the slough of a reptile winding across the floor. N. Baghramian considers the space in which she exhibits as an extension of her sculptures, and is therefore prone to question and reinterpret them each time the context of their presentation changes, thus making her protean work a malleable and living organism.
N. Baghramian has gained significant recognition on the international art scene, as testified to by the presence of her works in prestigious public and private collections, her many museum exhibitions and her participation in major events such as the Venice Biennale (2011), documenta Kassel (2017) and Skulptur Projekt Münster (2007 and 2017).

Read more

Ludovic Delelande

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Maintainers F, 2018, casted aluminum, painted aluminum, cork, styrofoam, paraffin wax, variable dimensions, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Nick Ash

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Sitzengebliebene / Stay Downers, 2016, polyurethane, laccquered metall, silicone, size installed variable, installation view Déformation Professionnelle, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Drawing Table (Homage to Jane Bowles), 2017, waxed wood, lacquered aluminium, rope, painted canvas, mouth-blown glass, polyurethane, marble plaster, steel, stainless stell, wax, 290 x 610 x 130 cm, installation view documenta 14, Athens, 2017, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Dimitris Parthimos

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Installation view Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Luxembourg, 2019, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Rémi Villagg

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Breathing Spell, 2017, cast and powder coated aluminium, 40.64 x 43.18 x 33.02 cm, © Nairy Baghramian

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Maintainers E, 2018, casted aluminum, painted aluminum, cork, styrofoam, paraffin wax, variable dimensions, installation view Maintainers, Festival d’Automne, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 2018-2019, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Margot Charon

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Installation view Breathing Spell, Reina Sofia Crystal Palace, Madrid, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Installation view Déformation Professionnelle, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Installation view Déformation Professionnelle, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Installation view Dwindle Down, Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, 2017, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Cathy Carver

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Installation view Scruff of the Neck, Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, 2016, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Thierry Bal

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, The Iron Table (Homage to Jane Bowles), 2002, painted wood, painted metal, sand, wire cable, synthetic cable, mast, 2 spotlights, 540 x 320 x 530 cm, installation view documenta 14, Kassel, 2017, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo: Timo Ohler

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nairy Baghramian

1971 | Ispahan, Iran
Informations
Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Oliver Jackl

Soutien
— Studio Nairy Baghramian

Plasticienne iranienne.

Au milieu des années 1980, Nairy Baghramian, accompagnée de sa famille, fuit l’Iran pour des raisons politiques et s’installe à Berlin où elle vit encore aujourd’hui. Après une formation universitaire qu’elle a voulue éclectique (histoire de l’art, arts visuels, théâtre, film, danse, architecture…), à l’Universität der Künste et à la Freie Universität de Berlin et au Goldsmiths College à Londres, elle s’engage dans une pratique artistique au tournant des années 2000.
Rapidement, la sculpture s’impose comme un médium de prédilection dont l’artiste n’a alors de cesse de questionner le statut – composition, mise en espace et rencontre avec le public – pour en réinventer les formes, en étendre les possibilités et en renouveler les enjeux. En revisitant les concepts traditionnels, elle imagine un vocabulaire novateur qui emprunte à la fois aux arts visuels, aux arts vivants et aux arts décoratifs. En effet, elle s’inspire aussi bien de l’histoire de la sculpture, et tout particulièrement de la statuaire classique, des mouvements modernistes d’avant-garde et de l’art minimal que du théâtre, de la danse et de la performance ou encore du design, de l’artisanat et de la mode. Portées par une réflexion plurielle, ses expérimentations donnent naissance à des assemblages inédits qui procèdent par rencontre, par croisement et par frottement, de matières, de textures et de couleurs. Molles ou rigides, douces ou rugueuses, manufacturées ou façonnées manuellement, uniques ou organisées en série, les œuvres de N. Baghramian se jouent des apparences et des contradictions. Alors qu’elles semblent sur le point de s’écrouler, de se déliter ou de se briser, leur supposée fragilité se voit contredite par les matériaux utilisés.

Emblématique, Retainer (2012) est une installation circulaire composée d’un ensemble de plaques de résine aux contours indéfinis, fixées sur une armature de barres métalliques, tels des lambeaux de chair exhibés sur des broches orthopédiques. Plus récemment, dans la série Maintainers (2018), des volumes colorés d’amplitudes différentes sont fortement maintenus entre eux par les mâchoires d’un étau. Qu’il s’agisse de morceaux de corps, de protubérances et cavités qui évoquent la physiologie humaine, mais aussi d’éléments d’architecture, de mobilier et de décoration intérieure, ou d’objets agrandis et détournés, ou encore de prothèses futuristes et de carapaces animales, l’artiste développe une pluralité de formes hybrides étrangement familières qui semblent émaner les unes des autres. Disposées au sol, au mur ou au plafond, dans l’embrasure d’une porte, sur une colonne ou sur un toit, se déployant seules ou en nombre, dans la hauteur ou dans la largeur, en intérieur ou en extérieur, ses sculptures abstraites, parfois monumentales, reconfigurent le lieu d’exposition avec lequel elles entretiennent un dialogue étroit. Impulsée par les données architecturales, leur mise en situation correspond à un dispositif quasi chorégraphique dont le mouvement va également influer sur la déambulation du spectateur ou de la spectatrice, à l’instar de ce que l’on observe dans French Curve (2014), courbe aux allures de mue reptilienne qui se répand au sol. Considérant l’espace comme un prolongement de ses sculptures, N. Baghramian n’hésite pas à les questionner et à les réinterpréter en fonction du contexte de présentation, faisant de son œuvre protéiforme un organisme malléable et vivant.
N. Baghramian bénéficie d’une reconnaissance majeure sur la scène artistique internationale, en témoignent sa présence dans des collections publiques et privées de premier plan, ses nombreuses expositions muséales et sa participation à des manifestations importantes telles que la Biennale de Venise (2011), la documenta de Cassel (2017) ou le Skulptur Projekt de Münster (2007 et 2017).

Lire plus

Ludovic Delelande

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Maintainers F, 2018, aluminium moulé, aluminium peint, liège, polystyrène, cire de paraffine, dimensions variables, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Nick Ash

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Sitzengebliebene / Stay Downers, 2016, polyuréthane, métal laqué, silicone, diemensions variables, vue de l’installation Déformation Professionnelle, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Drawing Table (Homage to Jane Bowles), 2017, bois ciré, aluminium laqué, corde, toile peinte, verre soufflé à la bouche, polyuréthane, enduit à marbre, acier, acier inoxydable, cire, 290 x 610 x 130 cm, vue de l’installation à la documenta 14, Athens, 2017, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Dimitris Parthimos

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, vue de l’installation Beliebte Stellen / Privileged Points, Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Luxembourg, 2019, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Rémi Villagg

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Breathing Spell, 2017, aluminium coulé et poudré, 40,64 x 43,18 x 33,02 cm, © Nairy Baghramian

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, Maintainers E, 2018, aluminium moulé, aluminium peint, liège, polystyrène, cire de paraffine, dimensions variables, vue de l’installation Maintainers, Festival d’Automne, musée des Beaux-Arts, Paris, 2018-2019, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Margot Charon

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, vue de l’installation Breathing Spell, Reina Sofia Crystal Palace, Madrid, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, vue de l’installation Déformation Professionnelle, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, vue de l’installation Déformation Professionnelle, Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, 2018, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Timo Ohler

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, vue de l’installation Dwindle Down, Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, 2017, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Cathy Carver

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, vue de l’installation Scruff of the Neck, Marian Goodman Gallery, New York, 2016, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Thierry Bal

Nairy  Baghramian — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nairy Baghramian, The Iron Table (Homage to Jane Bowles), 2002, bois peint, métal peint, sable, câble métallique, câble synthétique, mât, 2 spots, 540 x 320 x 530 cm, vue de l’installation à la documenta 14, Kassel, 2017, © Nairy Baghramian, © Photo : Timo Ohler

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29