Ottilie W. Roederstein

1859Zurich, Switzerland | 1937Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Informations
Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein in her studio at the Strädel Art Institute, Frankfurt am Main, ca. 1894, Roederstein-Jughenn-Archiv im Städel Museum

Swiss and German painter.

Born into a German merchant family in Zurich in 1859, Ottilie W. Roederstein initially met with opposition from her parents to become a painter. At the age of 17 she was allowed to take painting lessons with Eduard Pfyffer (1836-1899) in Zurich and later with the renowned portrait painter Karl Gussow (1843-1907) in Berlin. In 1882 O. W. Roederstein settled in Paris where she refined her mastery of portraiture as well as nude painting– a field of activity still largely taboo for women artists – in the ladies’ studio of Carolus-Duran (1837-1917) and Jean-Jacques Henner (1829-1905).
She began showing her works at the Salon as early as 1883. At both the 1889 and 1900 Exposition Universelles in Parisshe was awarded a silver medal, for Miss Mosher (c. 1887) among other works. She returned to Zurich in 1887 but kept her studio in Paris until 1914.
In 1891 O. W. Roederstein settled in Frankfurt am Main with her partner Elisabeth H. Winterhalter, a gynaecologist from Munich. The painter was able to establish herself quickly in the conservative metropolis on the Main. In addition to portraits, she devoted herself increasingly to allegorical and religious depictions. Around 1893, inspired by her intense study of the art of the Italian and German Renaissance, and encouraged by her new Frankfurt colleagues Karl von Pidoll zu Quintenbach (1847-1901) and Hans Thoma (1839-1924), O. W. Roederstein began working in tempera. This technique, which underwent a revival across Europe toward the end of the 19th century, was considered simultaneously both traditional and avant-garde. It paved her way to a new, linear aesthetic as well as a simplified formal language, which went hand in hand with an idealistic conception of art. Her Self-Portrait with Red Cap (1894) is regarded as programmatic for this change of style.
Throughout her career O. W. Roederstein portrayed herself; more than eighty self-portraits have been documented. She usually staged herself in a self-confident pose with a stern gaze, in a posture that at the time was considered masculine, for example in Self-Portrait with Folded Arms (1926). Her self-portraits can therefore also be read as a sign of her emancipation.

Around 1900 O. W. Roederstein’s reputation was consolidated and she made her international breakthrough. In 1912 she was the only female artist to represent Switzerland at the seminal Sonderbund exhibition in Cologne – alongside her male colleagues including Ferdinand Hodler (1853-1918). A hand injury in 1901 initially made it difficult for her to continue tempera painting in the finely detailed manner, leading her to practice a sketchy mode of brushwork in oil for a time while brightening her colour palette.
In 1909 she and her partner E. Winterhalter settled in the rural town of Hofheim am Taunus. She described the years from 1910 onwards, when she fully resumed the tempera technique, as a search for her personal style. She repeatedly alternated between painterly expression and a contour-emphasising style. Then, in the 1920s, she found her way to a prosaic and objective visual language.

Large solo exhibitions in Zurich and Frankfurt am Main in 1925, 1929 and 1934 brought O. W. Roederstein substantial recognition and she was also awarded several honours. In addition to her successful career as a painter, O. W. Roederstein was a patron of the arts and, together with her partner, also promoted education for women.
After her death in 1937 the artist, who was highly regarded as one of the leading female portraitists of early Modernism, lapsed into obscurity. Her multifaceted oeuvre is now being rediscovered.

Read more

Sandra Gianfreda

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Autoportrait au chapeau, 1904, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Portrait of the Painter Jakob Nussbaum, 1909, oil on canvas, 87 x 61 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Autoportrait, 1894, tempera on pannel, 36 x 24 cm

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Self-Portrait with Folded Arms, 1926, huile sur toile, 55.1 x 46 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Lebensweisheit oder Drei weltabgewandte Frauen [La sagesse ou Trois femmes détournées du monde], 1926, tempera on canvas, 46 × 73 cm, Stadtmuseum Hofheim am Taunus

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Miss Mosher ou Fin d’été, ca. 1887, private collection

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Nude study, 1913, oil on canvas

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Portrait of a Painter in a Parisian Studio, 1887, oil on canvas, 86.1 x 49.5 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Porträtkopf Gräfin von Wartensleben [Portrait de la Comtesse von Wartensleben], 1937, pencil drawing, 50.3 x 38.3 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Portrait of Irene Holz, 1919, private collection

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Ottilie W. Roederstein

1859Zurich, Suisse | 1937Hofheim am Taunus, Alemagne
Informations
Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein dans son atelier au Strädel Art Institute, Francfort-sur-le-Main, vers 1894, Roederstein-Jughenn-Archiv im Städel Museum

Peintre suisse et allemande.

Née dans une famille de commerçants allemands à Zurich en 1859, Ottilie W. Roederstein doit faire face aux réticences de ses parents, qui s’opposent à son désir de poursuivre une carrière de peintre. À l’âge de 17 ans, ils l’autorisent néanmoins à suivre des cours de peinture avec Eduard Pfyffer (1836-1899) à Zurich, puis avec le célèbre portraitiste Karl Gussow (1843-1907) à Berlin. En 1882, O. W. Roederstein s’installe à Paris, où elle parfait sa maîtrise du portrait et du nu – un domaine encore tabou chez les femmes artistes – à l’atelier non mixte de Carolus-Duran (1837-1917) et de Jean-Jacques Henner (1829-1905).
Elle commence à exposer au Salon en 1883. Elle reçoit une médaille d’argent aux Expositions universelles de Paris en 1889 et 1900, notamment pour son tableau Miss Mosher (vers 1887). Elle retourne à Zurich en 1887 mais garde son atelier parisien jusqu’en 1914.
En 1891, O. W. Roederstein s’installe à Francfort-sur-le-Main avec sa compagne, la gynécologue munichoise Elisabeth H. Winterhalter. La peintre s’intègre rapidement à la vie de cette métropole conservatrice et, outre ses portraits, peint de plus en plus d’œuvres allégoriques et religieuses. Vers 1893, inspirée par ses recherches sur l’art de la Renaissance italienne et allemande, et encouragée par ses nouveaux confrères de Francfort, Karl von Pidoll zu Quintenbach (1847-1901) et Hans Thoma (1839-1924), O. W. Roederstein se met à peindre à la tempera. Cette technique, qui connaît un regain d’intérêt en Europe à la fin du XIXe siècle, est considérée à la fois comme traditionnelle et avant-gardiste. Elle ouvre la voie à une nouvelle esthétique linéaire et à un langage formel simplifié qui vont de pair avec une certaine conception idéaliste de l’art. Son Autoportrait à la casquette rouge (1894) est vu comme précurseur de ce changement de style.
O. W. Roederstein ne cesse de peindre des autoportraits tout au long de sa carrière : on n’en recense pas moins de quatre-vingts. Elle se représente le plus souvent de manière assurée, avec un regard sévère, et adopte des poses considérées à l’époque comme masculines, comme dans son Autoportrait aux bras croisés (1926). De ce fait, ses autoportraits peuvent être interprétés comme des preuves de son émancipation.

Vers 1900, O. W. Roederstein bénéficie déjà d’une solide réputation et se fait connaître à l’étranger. En 1912, elle est la seule artiste femme à représenter la Suisse lors de l’exposition précurseure de la Sonderbund à Cologne, aux côtés de ses collègues masculins, notamment Ferdinand Hodler (1853-1918). Une blessure à la main en 1901 l’empêche de peindre correctement en détail à la tempera, ce qui la pousse un temps à adopter la peinture à l’huile et une touche plus sommaire, tout en éclaircissant sa palette de couleurs.
En 1909, elle emménage avec E. Winterhalter à la campagne dans la ville de Hofheim am Taunus. O. W. Roederstein décrit les années qui suivent, au cours desquelles elle retrouve l’usage de la tempera, comme une période de recherche d’un style personnel. Elle alterne l’usage d’une touche très picturale et d’une accentuation prononcée des contours. Puis, dans les années 1920, elle s’oriente vers un langage visuel plus prosaïque et objectif.

O. W. Roederstein bénéficie d’expositions individuelles d’envergure à Zurich et à Francfort en 1925, 1929 et 1934, qui lui valent une grande reconnaissance et la remise de plusieurs distinctions. En plus de sa carrière de peintre, elle est également mécène et milite avec sa compagne pour l’éducation des femmes.
Bien qu’elle ait été considérée comme l’une des plus grandes portraitistes des débuts du modernisme, O. W. Roederstein tombe dans l’oubli après sa mort en 1937. Ce n’est qu’aujourd’hui que le public redécouvre son œuvre aux multiples facettes.

Lire plus

Sandra Gianfreda

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Autoportrait au chapeau, 1904, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Portrait of the Painter Jakob Nussbaum, 1909, huile sur toile, 87 x 61 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Autoportrait, 1894, tempera sur panneau, 36 x 24 cm

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Self-Portrait with Folded Arms, 1926, huile sur toile, 55,1 x 46 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Lebensweisheit oder Drei weltabgewandte Frauen [La sagesse ou Trois femmes détournées du monde], 1926, tempera sur toile, 46 × 73 cm, Stadtmuseum Hofheim am Taunus

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Miss Mosher ou Fin d’été, vers 1887, collection particulière

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Nude study, 1913, huile sur toile

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Portrait of a Painter in a Parisian Studio, 1887, huile sur toile, 86,1 x 49,5 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Porträtkopf Gräfin von Wartensleben [Portrait de la Comtesse von Wartensleben], 1937, dessin au crayon, 50,3 x 38,3 cm, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Ottilie W. Roederstein — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Portrait of Irene Holz, 1919, collection privée

Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29