Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Pat Steir

1940 | Newark, United States
Informations
Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Eric Boman

Sponsor
— Lévy Gorvy Gallery

American painter.

Over the course of her education at the Pratt Institute and then the Boston University College of Fine Arts, Pat Steir studied under Philip Guston and Richard Lindner. She first worked as an illustrator, graphic designer, and became friends with well-known conceptual artists such as Sol LeWitt, Lawrence Weiner, and others. Her meeting with Agnes Martin (1912-2004) left a deep impression on her, and as a result she turned to a brand of abstraction that did not exclude reality. Apart from her pictorial practice, she also worked in publishing: from very early on, she was hired by feminist magazines, including Heresies and Semiotext(e). Her paintings act as an inquiry into the nature of painting itself. She creates series focused on landscapes and self-portraits that she periodically revisits. For example, Waves and Waterfalls (1982-1992), Summer Moon (2005), Gold and Silver Moon Beam (2006), Water & Stone (2010), are nods to the landscapes of Courbet, Turner, and Hokusai. Their numerous vertical lines, produced by as many evenly-spaced drips, echo Jackson Pollock’s dripping technique. In the famous Waterfalls series, the artist dilutes the oil paint, which streams down from the top of the painting to the ground. About Steir’s self-portraits, Denys Zacharopoulos wrote: “Self-Portrait is not a painting and does not depict a face, her face in any kind of way. This plural expression, reversible, equivocal, changing, at one with time, proliferates into an infinity of others in space, her shape-shifting and mercurial being, both enveloping and enveloped, is the “self-portrait (Pat Steir, 1990)”.

Steir’s work raises questions about image, sign, and symbol: Deviations and Variations (1973) is a grid in which every part is occupied by a cross, a bird, or a black square. Inspired by the common ground covered by conceptual artists, she elaborates a form of painting that includes colour charts, as well as words and images. By doing so she lends her work an indelibly poetic tone. In 1981, she began a series of flower paintings. In The Brueghel Series (A Vanitas of Style) (1982-1984), she finds inspiration from Jan Brueghel the Elder: the composite image of a flower vase is cut up into several little rectangles, which are arranged in order to form a structure of huge rectangles. Arranged in a grid, certain panels are composed of eight rectangles by eight, others, four by four; the larger ones amount to incredibly vibrant paintings, the others are resolutely polychromatic. Through the grooves inserted between the parts, she undertakes a new meditation on “vanity” as a path. Due to this use of images in the manner of a puzzle, Steir situates herself halfway between meditative painting and constructivism. Her work is entirely made up of these syntheses between different forms and eras of painting. In the late 1980s, she developed her splashed and poured “waterfall” technique. She associates the pattern resulting from the movement of the pigmented material with the image of the waterfall (Waterfall Painted with the Chinese in Mind, 1987). Part fine outline and part materiality of the drip, she arrived at a precarious balance, which makes these paintings true spaces for meditation. In 1993, the Elective Affinities series, inspired by Goethe’s novel, also made use of the Waterfall principle. She claims to not distinguish between the process that leads to abstraction and the one that leads to figuration. After having painted in grey hues, Steir progressively reintroduced the use of colour.

All of her work functions on the principle of the series and variation. Opacity and transparency, dynamism and simplicity are reconciled in her paintings: as demonstrated for example, in Sixteen Waterfall of Dreams, Memories and Sentiments, in the 1990s. In her recent works (Moons and a River, 2004), she continues her research in large vibrant paintings, obtained by applying subtle colours such as yellow and white. Some of her output, such as Sun Moon, attain a near invisible whiteness, while Black Moon covers the entire canvas in black. In the Blue River series, very large horizontal formats are divided into several colour blocks, with blue dominating the central section.

Read more

Marion Daniel

Translated from French by Toby Cayouette.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Smaller Yellow on Blue Waterfall, 1992, oil on canvas, 304.8 x 213.7 cm, 120 x 84 in., © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Nabaye Tabastan for L., T., and R., 1974, oil on canvas, 213.4 x 213.4 cm, 84 x 84 in., collection of The Museum of Modern Art, New York, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Tyne International Panorama (Panel 2, detail), 1990, oil on canvas, 5 panels; 335.3 x 365.8 cm, 132 x 144 in. each, collection of Candy and Tim Johnson, Sun Valley, ID, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Tyne International Panorama (Panel 4, detail), 1990, oil on canvas, 5 panels; 335.3 x 365.8 cm, 132 x 144 in. each, collection of Candy and Tim Johnson, Sun Valley, ID, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Dragon Tooth Waterfall, 1990, oil on canvas, 233.7 x 336.6 cm, 92 x 132 1/2 in., © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, The Brueghel Series (A Vanitas of Style) Polychrome, 1982-1984, oil on canvas, 64 panels, each 72.4 x 57.2 cm, 28 1/2 x 22 1/2 in., © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Curtain Waterfall, 1991, oil on cotton duck, 351.8 x 295.9 cm
138 1/2 x 116 1/2 in., collection of National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., gift of Mr. and Mrs. Barney A. Ebsworth, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, About the Black I, 2007, oil on canvas, 323.2 x 276.9 cm, 127 1/4 x 109 in., collection of Narciso Rodriguez, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Winter Group 3: Red, Green, Blue and Gold, 2009-2011, oil in canvas, 334.3 x 336.2 cm, 131 5/8 x 132 3/8 in., collection of The Museum of Modern Art, New York, donated in Honor of Agnes Gund, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Naples Yellow and Mica, 2013, oil on canvas, 335.3 x 335.3 cm, 132 x 132 in., collection of Los Angeles County Museum of Art, LA MoCA, © Pat Steir

Discover
Linked themes
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Pat Steir

1940 | Newark, États-Unis
Informations
Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Eric Boman

Soutien
— Lévy Gorvy Gallery

Peintre américaine.

Au cours de ses années de formation au Pratt Institute puis à la Boston University College of Fine Arts, Pat Steir est l’élève de Philip Guston et Richard Lindner. Elle travaille d’abord comme illustratrice, graphiste, et devient l’amie de personnalités telles que Sol LeWitt, Lawrence Weiner et d’autres artistes conceptuels. Marquée par sa rencontre avec Agnes Martin (1912-2004), elle tend vers une forme d’abstraction n’excluant pas la réalité. Outre sa pratique picturale, elle travaille aussi dans l’édition : depuis ses débuts, elle est engagée auprès de revues féministes, dont Heresies et Semiotext(e). Ses toiles sont une réflexion sur la peinture. Réalisant des séries qu’elle reprendra tout au long de sa vie, elle axe son œuvre autour du paysage et de l’autoportrait. Ainsi, Waves and Waterfalls (« vagues et cascades », 1982-1992), Summer Moon (« lune d’été », 2005), Gold and Silver Moon Beam (« rayon de lune or et argent », 2006), Water & Stone (2010) font signe aux paysages de Courbet, de Turner et d’Hokusai ; leurs multiples traits verticaux, produits par maintes coulures régulières, résonnent avec le dripping de Jackson Pollock. Dans la célèbre série des Waterfalls, l’artiste dilue en effet la peinture à l’huile, qui ruisselle du haut du tableau jusqu’au sol. Denys Zacharopoulos écrit au sujet des autoportraits de P. Steir: « Self-Portrait n’est pas un tableau et ne représente aucunement un visage, son visage. Ce regard pluriel, réversible, équivoque, changeant, qui fait un avec le temps et se divise à l’infini des autres dans l’espace, son être protéiforme et mouvant, enveloppant- enveloppé, est “l’autoportrait” » (Pat Steir, 1990).

L’œuvre de P. Steir interroge les questions de l’image, du signe et du symbole : Deviations and Variations (1973) est une grille, dont chaque partie est occupée par une croix, un oiseau ou encore un carré noir. Inspirée par les réflexions communes menées par les artistes conceptuels, elle développe une peinture qui inclut des chartes de couleurs, mais aussi des mots et des images ; elle adopte ainsi, immédiatement, une tonalité très poétique. À partir de 1981, elle réalise des peintures de fleurs. Dans Brueghel Series (Vanitas of Style) (1982-1984), elle s’inspire du peintre Jan Brueghel le Vieux : l’image composite d’un vase de fleurs est découpée en de multiples petits rectangles, structurant dans leur ensemble d’immenses rectangles ; élaborée sous forme de grille, elle présente certains panneaux composés de huit rectangles par huit, d’autres, de quatre par quatre ; les plus grands produisent une peinture absolument vibrante, les autres sont polychromes. Par les rainures ménagées entre les parties, une nouvelle méditation sur la vanité en tant que passage est amorcée. Grâce à cette utilisation d’images à la manière d’un puzzle, P. Steir se situe à mi-chemin entre une peinture méditative et le constructivisme. Son œuvre est tout entière faite de ces synthèses entre différentes formes et époques de la peinture. À la fin des années 1980, elle met en place sa technique de « déversements en cascade », qui multiplie les coulures. Elle associe le motif produit par le mouvement de la matière colorée à l’image de la cascade (Waterfall Painted with the Chinese in Mind, 1987). Entre tracé fin et matérialité des coulures, elle invente un équilibre très fragile, qui fait de ces peintures de véritables espaces de méditation. En 1993, la série Elective Affinities, d’après le titre de Goethe, reprend le principe des Waterfalls. Elle affirme ne pas faire de différence entre le processus qui mène à l’abstraction et celui qui mène à la figuration. Après avoir peint dans des tonalités de gris, P. Steir réintroduit progressivement la couleur.

Toute son œuvre fonctionne sur le principe de la série et de la variation. Opacité et transparence, dynamisme et simplicité se réconcilient dans ses toiles : c’est le cas par exemple dans Sixteen Waterfall of Dreams, Memories and Sentiments, dans les années 1990. Dans ses peintures récentes (Moons and a River, 2004), elle poursuit sa recherche sur ses grandes toiles vibrantes, obtenues par l’application subtile de couleurs telles que le jaune et le blanc. Certaines œuvres, telles que Sun Moon, vont jusqu’à l’invisibilité du blanc, tandis que Black Moon recouvre toute la toile de noir. La série Blue River, enfin, partage de très grands formats horizontaux en plusieurs plages de couleur, le bleu dominant au centre.

Lire plus

Marion Daniel

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Smaller Yellow on Blue Waterfall, 1992, oil on canvas, 304,8 x 213,7 cm, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Nabaye Tabastan for L., T., and R., 1974, oil on canvas, 213,4 x 213,4 cm, collection du The Museum of Modern Art, New York, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Tyne International Panorama (Panel 2, détail), 1990, huile sur toile, 5 panneaux ; 335,3 x 365,8 cm chacun, collection de Candy et Tim Johnson, Sun Valley, ID, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Tyne International Panorama (Panel 4, détail), 1990, huile sur toile, 5 panneaux; 335,3 x 365,8 cm chacun, collection de Candy et Tim Johnson, Sun Valley, ID, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Dragon Tooth Waterfall, 1990, huile sur toile, 233,7 x 336,6 cm, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, The Brueghel Series (A Vanitas of Style) Polychrome, 1982-1984, huile sur toile, 64 panneaux, chacun 72,4 x 57,2 cm, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Curtain Waterfall, 1991, huile sur duvet de canard, 351,8 x 295,9 cm, collection du National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C., cadeau de Mr. and Mrs. Barney A. Ebsworth, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, About the Black I, 2007, huile sur toile, 323,2 x 276,9 cm, collection de Narciso Rodriguez, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Winter Group 3: Red, Green, Blue and Gold, 2009-2011, oil in canvas, 334.3 x 336.2 cm, collection du Museum of Modern Art, New York, don en l’honneur de Agnes Gund, © Pat Steir

Pat Steir — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pat Steir, Naples Yellow and Mica, 2013, huile sur toile, 335,3 x 335,3 cm, collection du Los Angeles County Museum of Art, LA MoCA, © Pat Steir

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29