Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Samta Benyahia

1949 | Constantine, Algeria
Informations
Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Samta Benyahia

Algerian-French visual artist.

“Mashrabiya” has become a leitmotiv in Samta Benyahia’s work. Diamonds, stars, and the Mediterranean blue rosette – known as a “Fatima” in the Andalusian Arabic repertoire – are the pillars of her vocabulary. S. Benyahia grew up in Constantine, Algeria, and went on to study at the École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs in Paris from 1974 to 1980. Her reflections on engraving techniques led her to take an interest in the symbols and geometric shapes used repeatedly in Muslim art. As the first female professional engraver in Algeria, she was instrumental in the creation of the engraving workshop at the Algiers School of Fine Arts. She taught there from 1980 to 1988, before moving permanently to France, where she pursued her studies at Paris VIII – Vincennes-Saint-Denis University. Her life and her work combine both her Algerian and French backgrounds, and she is deeply committed to intermingling African, Arab, Berber, and Western cultures.
Mashrabiya is a style of mural surface, an openwork architectural element typically found in constructions from the Mediterranean basin, and acts as a transition area between public and private spaces by creating a division that offers protection from the light and heat. It is see-through but not completely, making it possible to see without being seen, therefore raising questions pertaining to perception, interpretation, and relationships, all of which fascinate S. Benyahia. Her work references the intimate spheres of the generations of women who came before her – invisible and yet very present. She works on these screens in series, in a style close to minimalism. Her process deliberately combines qualities of revealing and concealment by alternating cut-outs of hollows with solid patterns. Working mostly on site-specific installations, she uses mashrabiya of various scales and materials, ranging from three-dimensional volumes to screen-printing on glass, canvas, plastic, or ceramic.

S. Benyahia uses the language of abstraction to represent potential areas of division and communication among people and between the genders. She accentuates the play of shadows, creating environments that consider the notion of passage, and therefore encourage viewers to adapt their physical behaviour to these intermediate patterns and structures.
Her installations also often include archive footage – for instance black and white photographic portraits of family members, or blown-up postcards of the famous Constantine bridge – and recordings of poetry on the condition of women (such as the poems ritually recited during buqala games) or of texts by writer Kateb Yacine. S. Benyahia’s aim is to highlight traditional craftsmanship: to this end, she has collaborated with women embroiderers to create rosettes out of beads and sequins, and has taken series of photographs documenting bridal trousseaux. As both viewer and artist, she often speaks of the importance of “remembering the future” and of the “kaleidoscope of memory.”
In 1986, S. Benyahia’s work was shown at the Havana Biennale in Cuba. Since then, it has been presented at many international collective shows, such as the Rencontres de la Photographie in Arles (1998), Venice and Bamako Biennales (2003), Dak’Art (2004), Über Schönheit [About Beauty] in Berlin (2005), as well as La Force de l’art in Paris, and the Shenzhen and Gwangju Biennales (2006). Several of her works are kept in public collections, particularly at the Musée national des Beaux-Arts in Algiers, Bibliothèque nationale d’Algérie, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Fonds régional d’art contemporain d’Alsace, Institut français de Casablanca and by the Art in Embassies Program (ART).

Read more

Caroline Hancock

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, La Vie en Paillettes, 2003, Musée Roger Quillot, Clermont Ferrand, © Photo: Jean Christophe Sergère, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Inside Memory 2, 1992, installation view, Galerie Brigitte March, Stuttgart, Collection Frac Alsace, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, L’Empreinte du désir, 1996, installation view of residence Art In General, New York, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, De Maison Blanche à Maison Blanche, 1997, installation view, Institut Français, Casablanca, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Femme des Aurès, Cultes intimes, Un Nouveau Paysage Humain, 1998, Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie, Arles, Courtesy Samta Benyahia and Galerie Brigitte March, Stuttgart, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, “Dans la Lumière des Matins et le Luxe Naturel des Nuits, la Joie est sans Douceur”, d’après Albert Camus (working title), 2004-2005, installation view of exhibition About Beauty, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Architecture of the Veil, 2007, Fowler Museum, Los Angeles, © Photo: Don Cole, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Être au milieu, sur la ligne de rencontre d’un monde intérieur et d’un monde extérieur. Être au milieu, 2007, Mahrem, Kunsthalle Wien, Vienne, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Polygones des Cinq Continents, Laboratoire incertain, 2006, in exhibition La Force de l’Art, Grand Palais, Paris, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, The Secret of the 7 Mirrors ou les Mille et une Nuits, 2007, Mahrem, Santralistanbul, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Résurgences des Traditions Ancestrales, 1978-1979, engraving etching on arch paper, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Samta Benyahia

1949 | Constantine, Algérie
Informations
Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Samta Benyahia

Plasticienne algéro-française.

Le moucharabieh est devenu le leitmotiv principal de Samta Benyahia. Le losange, l’étoile et la rosace bleu méditerranée – connue sous le nom de Fatima dans le répertoire arabo-andalou – sont les piliers de son vocabulaire. Ayant grandi à Constantine, en Algérie, elle choisit d’étudier à l’École nationale supérieure des arts décoratifs à Paris (1974-1980). Entraînée par une réflexion sur tous les procédés liés à la gravure, elle s’intéresse aux signes, à ces motifs géométriques répétés à l’infini dans l’art musulman. Première femme à se spécialiser dans la gravure en Algérie, S. Benyahia est à l’origine de la création de l’atelier de gravure de l’École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts d’Alger où elle enseigne de 1980 à 1988, date à laquelle, elle revient s’installer définitivement en France où elle poursuit d’abord ses études (université Paris VIII – Vincennes-Saint-Denis). Sa vie et son œuvre allient sa double culture algérienne et française, et elle se passionne pour l’entremêlement des cultures africaines, arabes, berbères et occidentales.
Surface murale ou élément architectural ajouré caractéristique des constructions du Bassin méditerranéen, le moucharabieh est une zone de transition entre l’espace public et l’espace privé, qui divise et permet une protection vis-à-vis de la lumière, de la chaleur. Transparent sans l’être entièrement, il donne le pouvoir d’observer sans être vu et soulève ainsi des questions relevant de la perception, de l’interprétation et du relationnel qui fascinent S. Benyahia. Elle fait référence à ces lieux de la sphère intime des femmes des générations qui l’ont précédée, invisibles mais présentes. Elle décline ces écrans de manière sérielle dans une esthétique proche du minimalisme. Le processus mêle délibérément révélation et dissimulation par des découpages formant des pleins et des vides. Travaillant le plus souvent dans l’in situ, elle adapte le moucharabieh selon les échelles dans des matériaux divers allant de volumes tridimensionnels à des sérigraphies sur vitrage, toile, plastique ou céramique.

S. Benyahia utilise le langage de l’abstraction pour rendre compte de zones de délimitation et de communication possibles entre les êtres humains et entre les genres. Les jeux d’ombre y sont exacerbés. Ses environnements sont comme des mises en abyme de la notion de passage, incitant le public à définir son comportement physique par rapport à ces motifs et à ces structures de l’entre-deux.
Souvent, ses installations comprennent aussi des images d’archives – par exemple, des portraits photographiques noir et blanc des membres de sa famille, des cartes postales agrandies du fameux pont de Constantine – et des bandes sonores donnant à entendre des poésies sur la condition des femmes (comme celles qui sont déclamées lors des séances de boqala) ou des textes de l’auteur Kateb Yacine. S. Benyahia cherche à mettre en valeur les savoir-faire artisanaux : elle a collaboré avec des brodeuses pour la réalisation de rosettes en perles et paillettes, et a effectué des reportages photographiques sur les trousseaux des mariées. En tant que témoin engagée, elle parle volontiers de l’importance de « se souvenir du futur » et du « kaléidoscope de la mémoire ».
À partir de 1986, lorsque son travail a été présenté à la Biennale de La Havane à Cuba, S. Benyahia a participé à de nombreuses expositions collectives internationales, telles que les Rencontres de la photographie à Arles (1998), les Biennales de Venise et de Bamako (2003), Dak’Art (2004), Über Schönheit [Sur la beauté] à Berlin (2005), ou encore La Force de l’art à Paris et les Biennales de Shenzhen et de Gwangju (2006). Plusieurs de ses œuvres sont conservées dans des collections publiques, notamment au musée national des Beaux-Arts d’Alger, à la Bibliothèque nationale d’Algérie, à la Bibliothèque Nationale de France, au Fonds régional d’art contemporain d’Alsace, à l’Institut français de Casablanca et par l’Art in Embassies Program (ART).

Lire plus

Caroline Hancock

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, La Vie en Paillettes, 2003, Musée Roger Quillot, Clermont Ferrand, © Photo : Jean Christophe Sergère, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Inside Memory 2, 1992, vue d’installation, Galerie Brigitte March, Stuttgart, Collection Frac Alsace, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, L’Empreinte du désir, 1996, vue d’installation de la résidence Art In General, New York, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, De Maison Blanche à Maison Blanche, 1997, vue d’installation, Institut Français, Casablanca, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Femme des Aurès, Cultes intimes, Un Nouveau Paysage Humain, 1998, Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie, Arles, Courtesy Samta Benyahia et Galerie Brigitte March, Stuttgart, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, “Dans la Lumière des Matins et le Luxe Naturel des Nuits, la Joie est sans Douceur”, d’après Albert Camus (titre de travail), 2004-2005, vue d’installation de l’exposition About Beauty, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Architecture of the Veil, 2007, Fowler Museum, Los Angeles, © Photo : Don Cole, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Être au milieu, sur la ligne de rencontre d’un monde intérieur et d’un monde extérieur. Être au milieu, 2007, Mahrem, Kunsthalle Wien, Vienne, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Polygones des Cinq Continents, Laboratoire incertain, 2006, dans l’exposition La Force de l’Art, Grand Palais, Paris, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, The Secret of the 7 Mirrors ou les Mille et une Nuits, 2007, Mahrem, Santralistanbul, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Samta Benyahia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Samta Benyahia, Résurgences des Traditions Ancestrales, 1978-1979, gravure eau forte sur papier arche, Courtesy Samta Benyahia, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29