Prix AWARE

Nicola L.
Nominee of Prix d’honneur 2018

© All rights reserved

One dares not attempt a definition of Nicola L.’s work, for she is above all else a free and singularly committed artist who has experienced some of the most iconic and fantastic artistic events of the second half of the 20th century.

Nicola L. - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nicola L., Little TV Woman : ‘I Am the Last Woman Object’, 1969, vinyl, wood, television, 111.5 × 50 × 45 cm, exhibition view, SculptureCenter, New York, 2017, collection of Xavier Gellier, Courtesy Nicola L. & Elga Wimmer PCC, © Photo: Kyle Knodell

In the early 60s, she began to engage in a multifaceted practice that made use of various mediums such as sculpture, painting, and collage. Her proximity with the new realists in those days was quite clear. As an acquaintance of the critic Pierre Restany, she ignored established artistic codes in favour of a then resolutely novel form of creation, halfway between art and design, which she called “functional art”. Her White Foot Sofa (1963), The Eye Lamp (1969) and La Femme Coffee Table (1969-2015) hybridise sculpture and furniture achieved through a dismemberment of the body at once mischievous and violent. Nicola L. shatters gender stereotypes and artistic codes in a universal celebration of the body and human mind, which Yves Klein also advocated in his own way. Her works evoke an organic connection between what we feel in our flesh and the rest of the world. According to the French art critic Raphaël Cuir, “her conceptual work revolves around two approaches that open up a myriad of possibilities: making bodies and embodying; that is, gathering bodies within a single skin in order to inhabit a space collectively, organically, and to see it from the perspective of a second skin.” 1 Red Coat Same Skin for Everyone (1969) is a large unframed canvas shaped into eleven empty pockets made to fit eleven human bodies. The cape was created as an accompanying performance piece for a Gilberto Gil and Caetano Veloso concert at the Isle of Wight music festival. In this case, the clothing item is made to disguise, complete, and link together as much as it constrains and authorises. It was the first of the series that made her famous, and which Pierre Restany named the Penetrables. After this, Nicola L. developed the idea of artwork that could be experienced physically like a second skin and, by extension, the concept of “penetration in art”.

Nicola L. - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nicola L., Sun & Moon Giant Penetrables, 1966/2012, vinyl, canvas, wooden stick, 300 × 132 × 56 cm, exhibition view, SculptureCenter, New York, 2017,Courtesy de l’artiste et Elga Wimmer PCC, © Photo: Kyle Knodell

Assertive, mischievous, sexually suggestive, exuberant and unsettling: Nicola L.’s art is a utopian and feminist adventure that has found its place both within and outside of conventions.

Nicola L. first travelled to the United States in 1967, at the same time as Klein and Christo, and immersed herself in the New York of Andy Warhol, Nico, Bob Dylan and their peers. She decided to live there permanently in the late 70s and moved into the Chelsea Hotel, where she has lived ever since. In Doors Ajar at the Chelsea Hotel, her 2011 documentary about the stronghold of the New York punk-rock scene, she shrugs off any fascination or nostalgia to let us into the everyday intimacy of her home and workplace. Simple and radical.

 

Nicola L. (1937) is a French artist born in Morocco. She studied at the Académie Julian and at the Paris School of Fine Arts. She travelled to New York for the first time in 1967 and moved there permanently in 1979. Her artwork has been the subject of many exhibitions since 1969 (the date of her first exhibition at the Daniel Templon Gallery in Paris): solo shows, both in France (Le Magasin – CNAC, Grenoble) and abroad (Elga Wimmer PCC, New York); and collective exhibitions (Tate Modern, Museu de Arte Moderna de Rio de Janeiro, musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou). A retrospective of her work, Nicola L.: Works, 1968 to the Present, was held at SculptureCenter in New York in 2017. Her work is featured in the MNAM collections, at FRAC Bretagne in Rennes, at the Gallery of Modern Art in Glasgow, and at MAMCO Geneva, among others.

1
Didier Béatrice, Fouque Antoinette and Calle-Gruber Mireille (eds.), Le Dictionnaire universel des créatrices, Paris, Éditions des femmes, 2013, p. 3172.

Commissioner: Étienne Bernard, director of Passerelle Contemporary Art Centre in Brest

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Nicola L.
Nommée au Prix d'honneur 2018

© Droits réservés

Nicola L.

On n’ose se risquer à tenter la définition du travail de Nicola L. Car elle est avant tout une artiste libre et singulièrement engagée qui a traversé parmi les plus iconiques et fantastiques expériences artistiques de la seconde moitié du xxe siècle.

Nicola L. - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nicola L., Little TV Woman : ‘I Am the Last Woman Object’, 1969, vinyle, bois, télévision, 111,5 × 50 × 45 cm, vue d’exposition, SculptureCenter, New York, 2017, collection de Xavier Gellier, Courtesy Nicola L. & Elga Wimmer PCC, © Photo : Kyle Knodell

Ainsi, dès le début des années 1960, elle s’engage dans une pratique protéiforme convoquant aussi bien la sculpture que la peinture ou le collage. À cette période, sa proximité avec les nouveaux réalistes est évidente. Cette proche du critique Pierre Restany fait fi des codes artistiques établis en revendiquant notamment une création, résolument novatrice à l’époque, à mi-chemin entre art et design qu’elle définit par le terme d’« art fonctionnel ». Le White Foot Sofa (1968), The Eye Lamp (1969) ou encore La Femme Coffee Table (1969-2015) hybrident sculpture et mobilier dans un démembrement du corps aussi malicieux que violent. Nicola L. fait voler en éclats stéréotypes de genre et codes artistiques, dans la célébration universelle du corps et de l’esprit humain, chère à Yves Klein, à sa manière. Ses œuvres évoquent une connexion organique entre chacun dans sa chair et le reste du monde. D’après le critique d’art français Raphaël Cuir, « son travail conceptuel s’articule autour de deux approches qui ouvrent la porte à une myriade de possibilités : faire des corps et incarner. Incarner, c’est-à-dire rassembler des corps à l’intérieur d’une même peau pour habiter un espace collectivement, organiquement, et le voir du point de vue d’une seconde peau1 ». Ainsi, Red Coat Same Skin for Everyone (1969) est une vaste toile sans cadre, moulée autour de onze poches vides adaptées aux dimensions de onze corps humains. Le manteau a été conçu dans le cadre d’une performance pour accompagner les musiciens Gilberto Gil et Caetano Veloso au festival de musique de l’île de Wight. Ici, le vêtement travestit, complète, lie autant qu’il empêche et autorise. La pièce sera une des premières de la série qui la rendra célèbre, les Pénétrables, du nom que Pierre Restany lui donnera. Nicola L. développe alors l’idée d’une œuvre d’art à expérimenter physiquement comme une seconde peau et, par extension, le concept de « pénétration dans l’art ».

Nicola L. - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Nicola L., Sun & Moon Giant Penetrables, 1966/2012, vinyle, toile, tiges en bois, 300 × 132 × 56 cm, vue d’exposition, SculptureCenter, New York, 2017, Courtesy de l’artiste et Elga Wimmer PCC, © Photo : Kyle Knodell

Revendicateur, espiègle, sexuellement suggestif, exubérant et déconcertant, l’art de Nicola L. est une aventure utopique et féministe qui a su s’inscrire à la fois au sein et hors des conventions.

Arrivée pour la première fois aux États-Unis en 1967, alors que Klein et Christo sont du voyage, elle plonge dans le New York d’Andy Warhol, de Nico, Bob Dylan et les autres. À la fin des années 1970, elle décide de s’y installer, pose ses bagages au Chelsea Hotel pour ne jamais en repartir. Dans Doors Ajar at the Chelsea Hotel, le documentaire qu’elle réalise en 2011 à propos de l’antre mythique de la scène punk-rock new-yorkaise, elle évacue la fascination et la nostalgie pour faire découvrir l’intimité quotidienne de son lieu de vie et de travail. Simplement radicalement.

 

Nicola L. (1937), artiste française née au Maroc, étudie à l’académie Julian et à l’École des beaux-arts de Paris. En 1967, elle se rend pour la première fois à New York où elle s’installera définitivement en 1979. Sa carrière artistique est rythmée de nombreuses expositions personnelles depuis 1969, date de sa première exposition à la galerie Daniel Templon à Paris, à la fois en France (Le Magasin – CNAC, Grenoble) et à l’étranger (Elga Wimmer PCC, New York), et collectives (Tate Modern, Museu de Arte Moderna de Rio de Janeiro, musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou). En 2017, le SculptureCenter à New York lui consacre une rétrospective, Nicola L. : Works, 1968 to the Present. Ses œuvres sont présentes, entre autres, dans les collections du MNAM, au FRAC Bretagne à Rennes, à la Gallery of Modern Art de Glasgow, au MAMCO de Genève.

1
Didier Béatrice, Fouque Antoinette et Calle-Gruber Mireille (dir.), Le Dictionnaire universel des créatrices, Paris, Éditions des femmes, 2013, p. 3172.

Rapporteur : Étienne Bernard, directeur de Passerelle centre d’art contemporain à Brest
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29