Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Vera Molnár
Nominee of Prix d'honneur 2018

© Galerie Oniris – Rennes

A lyrical homage/damage to the artist with the three “con-”1: Vera Molnár

One morning in the mid-2000s, Leo J. M. Koenders, a collector and member of the “Zurich readers of Ulysses” circle, called Vera Molnár to commission a tribute book from her in memory of James Joyce. Vera Molnár, an artist usually little accustomed to answering the call of commissioners – having refused for many years to show her work, instead favouring a more dematerialised form of art and thus maintaining a conceptualist orientation –, chose to accept the unexpected proposal.

Vera Molnár - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Vera Molnár, 1% de désordre bleu et rouge (A, B, C et D), 1974-1978, painting on paper, quadriptych, 4 x 50 x 50 cm, Courtesy Vera Molnár, © Galerie Oniris, Rennes, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

Against all odds, she tackled the Leopold Bloom angle, even if it felt very remote from the austere and rigoristic – constructivist and conceptual – aura that surrounded her work. The complete opposite of the ascetic intellectual Stephen Dedalus, Bloom is a Jewish advertising agent driven by his carnal desires. Like Molnár, he was born in Hungary. Coincidentally with their Hungarian origins, B-L-O-O-M – V-I-R-A-G in the original text – was born in the town of Szombathely. The artist created sixteen studies, following her customary scientific method and refusal of any form of mysticism. The variations in the position of the letter-signs are reminiscent of Joyce’s systemic and fascinating way of, according to Jacques Aubert, “giving language an enigmatic density”, “lacing words with apprehension” and “injecting silence with a certain tumult”.2 By evoking a displacement that materialises a line from East to West, Vera Molnár gives us an underlying insight into Joyce’s bizarre tangent – a form of anarchy in the repetitive task of constructivism.3

Vera Molnár - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Vera Molnár, Meule, la nuit – P, 1977-2013, acylic on canvas, 80 x 80 cm, Courtesy Vera Molnár, © Galerie Oniris, Rennes, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

Letters to my mother (1981-1990) is yet another iconoclastic work in Vera Molnár’s career. In it, she reproduces her mother’s handwriting, which, according to Molnár, was “an important event in [her] visual world”4 before she died. The Hungarian mother and her naturalized French daughter wrote every week: “My mother’s handwriting was beautiful. Slightly gothic and also a little hysterical.”5 Again, the artist’s personal history – marked by chosen exile motivated by the will to create, but nevertheless experienced in the political setting of popular trials – is the starting point of a process. In this case, it transmutes the disembodiment of the loved one into a familiar series specific to the artist’s discipline: from imaginary machine to cybernetic algorithms, the lines drawn are reminiscent of the lines of a seismograph measuring the interval produced by the introduction of disorder (hysteria) into an organised situation (Gothicism). Like the repetitions and variations of the letter M – M like Malevich or Mondrian –, which can cover both the whole surface of the page of a “livrimage” (“picturebook”) and of an all-over, Vera Molnár injects error, malformation, and damage into her structured repartition as an homage to the two masters of abstraction. A sort of “modular stutter”, a “fractal drunkenness”, a geometric “somersault”,6 which the artist inventories in her text Je m’aime.

The filiation between Vera Molnár and the currents of French abstraction or of a certain form of French minimalism7  can only be considered today in regards to the rigour with which the artist applies herself to disseminating a form of disobedience at the very heart of historiographical canons. Vera Molnár has consistently sought to distance herself from the codes of visual culture. However, rather than achieve this distance through scrupulous dogmatism, she has chosen to do so with joyful asceticism and playful rigour.

 

During World War II, Vera Molnár (1924, Hungary) was a student at the School of Fine Arts in Budapest. She quickly decided to become a painter and moved to Paris in 1947. Impressed by the paintings of Georges Braque, Jean Hélion, and Paul Klee, she embarked on a quest for simplicity, in contrast with lyrical and mystical abstraction. She became deeply interested in computer programming as from 1968 and returned to hand-drawing fundamental shapes in the 1990s. Her works are featured in a large number of international public collections, including the CNAP and musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou. Her work has been shown at the Credac (Ivry-sur-Seine), 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine (Metz), Grenoble Museum, Grand Palais, Digital Art Museum (DAM, Berlin), Ludwig Múzeum (Budapest), and many others. A retrospective of her work was held at the musée des Beaux-Arts in Rouen and Contemporary Art Centre in Saint-Pierre-de-Varengeville in 2012.

1
Vera Molnár defines her work as a cross between constructivism, conceptualism, and computer.

2
Aubert Jacques, “Heureux qui comme Ulysse… L’Ulysse de James Joyce”, Les Chemins de la philosophie radio programme, France Culture, 27 October 2014.

3
Baby Vincent, “Introduction”, in the exh. cat. Vera Molnár. Une rétrospective, 1942-2012, musée des Beaux-Arts de Rouen, 2012, Paris, Bernard Chauveau éditeur, 2012.

4
“She wrote to me weekly, and it was a important series of events in my visual world.” Online, URL: http://www.veramolnar.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/VM1991_lettres.pdf

5
Ibidem.

6
Molnár Vera, Je m’aime, in the exh. cat. Vera Molnár. Inventaire, 1946-1999, Ladenburg, Preysing, 1999, p. 89.

7
Lemoine Serge, “Vera Molnár, reConnaître”, in the exh. cat. Vera Molnár, musée de Grenoble, Grenoble, 2001-2002, Paris, RMN, Grenoble, musée de Grenoble, 2001.

Commissioner: Géraldine Gourbe, philosopher, research associate at the École nationale supérieure d’art in Dijon, and exhibition curator
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Vera Molnár
Nommée au Prix d'honneur 2018

© Galerie Oniris – Rennes

Un hommage-dommage lyrique à une artiste des trois « con1- » : Vera Molnár

Un matin au milieu des années 2000 Leo J. M. Koenders, collectionneur et membre du cercle des « Lecteurs zurichois d’Ulysse », appelle Vera Molnár pour lui passer commande d’un livre-hommage dédié à la mémoire de James Joyce. Vera Molnár, artiste peu encline à répondre aux chants des commanditaires – elle a, pendant de nombreuses années, refusé de montrer son travail, privilégiant une certaine dématérialisation de l’art, maintenant ainsi un cap conceptualiste –, se prend au jeu de la proposition inopinée.

Vera Molnár - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Vera Molnar, 1% de désordre bleu et rouge (A, B, C et D), 1974-1978, peinture sur papier, quadriptyque, 4 x 50 x 50 cm, Courtesy Vera Molnár, © Galerie Oniris, Rennes, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

Contre toute attente, elle choisit l’entrée Leopold Bloom, à mille lieues de l’image spartiate et rigoriste – constructiviste et conceptuelle – de l’aura qui entoure son travail. Diamétralement opposé à l’ascétique intellectuel Stephen Dedalus, Bloom est un publicitaire juif agité par ses désirs de chair. Mais Bloom, comme Molnár, est né en Hongrie. Coïncidence des origines hongroises, B-L-O-O-M – V-I-R-A-G dans le texte – est né dans un village nommé Szombathely. L’artiste déploie sans épanchement seize études – le choix de la méthode scientifique et le refus du mysticisme avant tout. Les variations d’emplacement des lettres-signes rappellent le jeu systémique et fascinant de Joyce qui avait su, selon Jacques Aubert, redonner une « densité énigmatique au langage », parer d’une « inquiétude les mots » et « impulser au silence un certain fracas2 ». En évoquant un déplacement qui matérialise une ligne allant de l’est vers l’ouest, Vera Molnár dessine en creux la tangente folle de Joyce, celle d’une anarchie dans la tâche répétitive du constructivisme3.

Vera Molnár - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Vera Molnár, Meule, la nuit – P, 1977-2013, acrylique sur toile, 80 x 80 cm, Courtesy Vera Molnár, © Galerie Oniris, Rennes, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

Lettres à ma mère (1981-1990) est une autre œuvre iconoclaste dans la trajectoire de Vera Molnár. Elle y reproduit l’écriture manuscrite de sa mère qui a cessé à la mort de celle-ci et constituait, selon Molnár, un « événement important dans [s]on univers visuel4 ». Toutes les semaines, mère hongroise et fille naturalisée française s’écrivaient : « Ma mère avait une belle écriture. Un peu gothique, en même temps un peu hystérique5. » Là encore, l’histoire personnelle – marquée par l’exil choisi puisqu’il était motivé par un devenir d’artiste, mais néanmoins expérimentée dans un cadre politique, celui des procès populaires – est à l’origine d’un processus. Ce dernier transmute la désincarnation de l’être aimé en une suite familière propre à la discipline de l’artiste : de la machine imaginaire aux algorithmes cybernétiques. Des traits dessinés à l’image de ceux d’un sismographe relevant la mesure de l’écart que provoque l’introduction du désordre (hystérique) par rapport à une situation d’ordre (gothique). À l’image de ses répétions et variations de la lettre M, M comme Malevitch ou Mondrian, qui peuvent occuper aussi bien une page d’un livrimage qu’un all-over, Vera Molnár impulse de l’erreur, de la malformation, du dommage dans la répartition architecturée en hommage aux deux maîtres de l’abstraction. Une sorte de « bégaiement modulaire », une « ivresse fractale », une « culbute6 » géométrique que recense l’artiste dans son texte Je m’aime.

La filiation de Vera Molnár avec les familles de l’abstraction française ou un certain minimalisme français7 ne peut être envisagée aujourd’hui qu’en tenant compte de la rigueur avec laquelle l’artiste s’applique à disséminer une forme de désobéissance au cœur même des canons historiographiques. Vera Molnár s’est employée à se détacher des codes de la culture visuelle non pas avec un dogmatisme religieux mais à partir d’un ascétisme joyeux, une rigueur facétieuse.

 

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Vera Molnár (1924, Hongrie) est étudiante à l’École des beaux-arts de Budapest. Rapidement, elle décide de devenir peintre et s’installe à Paris en 1947. Éblouie par la peinture de Georges Braque, Jean Hélion et Paul Klee, elle s’engage dans une quête de l’épure à l’opposé de l’abstraction lyrique et mystique. À partir de 1968, elle se passionne pour la programmation informatique puis, dans les années 1990, elle renoue avec des formes premières esquissées à la main. Ses œuvres figurent dans de nombreuses collections publiques internationales, dont le CNAP et le musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou. Son travail a été, entre autres, présenté au Credac (Ivry-sur-Seine), au 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine (Metz), au musée de Grenoble, au Grand Palais, au Digital Art Museum (DAM, Berlin) et au Ludwig Múzeum (Budapest). Le musée des Beaux-Arts de Rouen et le centre d’art contemporain de Saint-Pierre-de-Varengeville lui consacrent une rétrospective en 2012.

1
Vera Molnár définit son travail à la croisée du constructivisme, du conceptuel et du computer.

2
Aubert Jacques, « Heureux qui comme Ulysse… L’Ulysse de James Joyce », émission Les Chemins de la philosophie, France Culture, 27 octobre 2014.

3
Baby Vincent, « Introduction », dans cat. expo. Vera Molnár. Une rétrospective, 1942-2012, musée des Beaux-Arts, Rouen, 2012, Paris, Bernard Chauveau éditeur, 2012.

4
« Elle m’écrivait chaque semaine, et ce fut une suite d’événements importants dans mon monde visuel. » En ligne, URL : http://www.veramolnar.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/VM1991_lettres.pdf.

5
Ibidem.

6
Molnár Vera, Je m’aime, dans cat. expo. Vera Molnár. Inventaire, 1946-1999, Ladenburg, Preysing, 1999, p. 89.

7
Lemoine Serge, « Vera Molnár, reConnaître », dans cat. expo. Vera Molnár, musée de Grenoble, Grenoble, 2001-2002, Paris, RMN, Grenoble, musée de Grenoble, 2001.

Rapporteuse : Géraldine Gourbe, philosophe, chercheure associée à l’École nationale supérieure d’art de Dijon et commissaire d’expositions
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29