Tomorrow, We Move?

Paris April 2020 O
21.04.2020 | Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann
<i>Paris April 2020 O</i> - AWARE

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann, Paris April 2020 O, 2020, video, 11’’56’, © Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann

Like a conjuration, the video Paris April 2020 O explores the creative process in times of pandemic through silent restraint and apparent duality. Combining slow motion images of a watch dog in dire straits and an extract of H.D’s Notes on Thought and Vision1, Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann condenses two sources of imagination which– beyond possible visual and textual divergences– account for the mysterious moments in which polarities seem to fade away. The perception of the text is exacerbated by both the visual aggressiveness and the contained fragility of the domesticated animal.

“I decided to work with a slow, muted and relatively long video for the web because I think I need calmness, time and a ‘window’ with little commotion (be it media, political, emotional, physical…) in order to comprehend what we are living on a both global and intimate scale. Perhaps also as a way to fight against this search for content at all costs. The Doberman’s fangs and the sequence’s slowness oppose that, for me at least.”

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann, Paris April 2020 O, 2020, video, 11’’56’, © Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann

1
Hilda “H.D.” Doolittle (1886-1961) was a poet, novelist, and memoirist well-known for her role with the avant-gard Imagist group.

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann’s artistic works revolve around the notion of para-architecture. Her research is situated at the intersection of several fields including domesticity, psychology and feminism. Her practice is centred around the concept of design and its history as a social and political expression. She works with installation, sculpture and performance, as well as with photography and graphic design. A graduate of the École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts, Paris-Cergy in 2006, Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann (Paris, 1980) was awarded the 2017 AWARE Prize. Her work has been the subject of several solo and group shows, including: Musée départemental d’art contemporain de Rochechouart (Rochechouart, France), Beeler Gallery (Columbus, Ohio), MRAC (Sérignan, France), MUSEION (Bolzano, Italy), MUDAM (Luxembourg), Centre Pompidou (Metz and Paris, France), @KCUA Gallery (Kyoto, Japan), La Galerie CAC (Noisy-Le-Sec, France), Via Farini (Milano, Italy), CAC Passerelle (Brest, France), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), MAMVP (Paris). She took part in the Pavillon residency programme at Palais de Tokyo in 2011-2012 and was selected for the Villa Kujoyama research residency in Kyoto, Japan, in 2016. Badaut Haussmann is represented by Galerie Allen and teaches at Parsons Paris – The New School.

 

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Demain on déménage ?

Paris April 2020 O
21.04.2020 | Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann
<i>Paris April 2020 O</i> - AWARE

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann, Paris April 2020 O, 2020, vidéo, 11’’56’, © Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann

Telle une conjuration, Paris April 2020 O explore par sa sourde retenue et son apparente dualité la notion du processus créatif en temps de pandémie. En associant l’image au ralenti d’un·e chien·ne de garde aux abois et un extrait des Notes sur la pensée et la vision (1919) de H. D.1, Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann concentre deux sources d’imagination, qui, au-delà des possibles divergences visuelles et textuelles, rend compte de ces moments mystérieux dans lesquels les polarités semblent s’effacer. La perception du texte se trouve exacerbée par l’agressivité visuelle autant que par la fragilité contenue de l’animal domestiqué.

« J’ai décidé de travailler sur une vidéo lente, muette et relativement longue pour un format Web car je pense avoir besoin de calme, de temps et d’une “fenêtre” sans trop d’agitation (médiatique, politique, émotionnelle, physique…) pour pouvoir appréhender ce que nous vivons à l’échelle globale et intime. Peut-être aussi pour aller contre cette recherche de contenu à tout prix. Les crocs du doberman et la lenteur de la séquence s’opposent à tout cela, du moins pour moi. »

 

Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann, Paris April 2020 O, 2020, vidéo, 11’’56’, © Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann

1
Hilda “H. D” Doolittle (1886-1961) : poète, romancière et mémoire connue pour son rôle au sein du groupe imagiste d’avant-garde.

À travers la notion de para-architecture, Laëtitia Badaut Haussmann (Paris, 1980) poursuit une recherche au croisement de plusieurs champs dont la domesticité, la psychologie et le féminisme. Sa pratique porte essentiellement sur la culture du design et de son histoire comme expression sociale et politique. Elle travaille autant l’installation, la sculpture, la performance que la photographie et le graphisme, son médium principal étant l’exposition. Diplômée de l’École Nationale Supérieure d’Arts de Paris-Cergy en 2006, Badaut Haussmann est lauréate du Prix AWARE 2017. Son travail a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions personnelles ou collectives, parmi lesquelles : Musée départemental d’art contemporain de Rochechouart (Rochechouart), Beeler Gallery (Columbus, Ohio), MRAC (Sérignan), MUSEION (Bolzano), MUDAM (Luxembourg), Centre Pompidou (Metz et Paris), @KCUA Gallery (Kyoto), La Galerie CAC (Noisy-Le-Sec), Via Farini (Milan), CAC Passerelle (Brest), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), MAMVP (Paris). Elle a intégré le programme de résidence du Pavillon au Palais de Tokyo en 2011-2012, et a été lauréate de la résidence de la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto, Japon, en 2016. Badaut Haussmann est représentée par la Galerie Allen et enseigne à Parsons Paris – The New School.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29