Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Study day

They create, collect, and support… Women and the Arts since Antiquity

Study day with Mnémosyne association, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris

25.02.2017

Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun, Autoportrait, 1790, Uffizi Gallery, Florence

The invisibility of women in the art world has only recently been denounced in France. Both academic research and militant associations have highlighted not only the concealment of women artists – genius and talent being traditionally associated with men –, but also the lack of consideration for the role played by women patrons, sponsors, collectors, art critics, or art dealers.

The first major seminar to tackle the subject was Féminisme, art et histoire de l’art in 1990, followed by the exhibition elles@centrepompidou in 2009 and 2011. These are crucial issues, in that not only do they concern creation, but also the question of the place of women as mediators, cultural intermediaries, and art world professionals.

The Mnémosyne Association for the development of the history of women and gender has partnered with AWARE (Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions) on the occasion of a study day that will examine these questions and discuss the place of women and gender in the field of visual arts since the earliest times in history.

Programme
Sat. 25 February 2017
Centre Pompidou, Salle cinéma 2
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Journée d’étude

Elles créent, elles collectionnent, elles soutiennent… Femmes et arts de l’Antiquité à nos jours

Journée d'étude avec l'association Mnémosyne, Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris

25.02.2017

Elisabeth Vigée-Lebrun, Autoportrait, 1790, Galerie des Offices, Florence

L’invisibilité des femmes dans les mondes de l’art est depuis peu dénoncée en France. Les recherches universitaires comme les associations militantes mettent en évidence non seulement l’occultation des femmes artistes – le génie et le talent étant historiquement associés au masculin, mais également la cécité à l’égard du rôle joué par les femmes mécènes, commanditaires, collectionneuses, critiques d’art ou marchandes d’art.

Il a fallu attendre 1990 pour qu’un premier colloque d’envergure intitulé Féminisme, art et histoire de l’art ouvre le débat, qui a plus récemment été relancé par l’accrochage elles@centrepompidou organisée en 2009-2011. Les enjeux sont majeurs : ils touchent non seulement à la création mais aussi à la question de la place des femmes comme médiatrices, intermédiaires culturelles, professionnelles des mondes de l’art.

L’Association Mnémosyne pour le développement de l’histoire des femmes et du genre et l’association AWARE (Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions) s’unissent autour d’une journée d’études pour évoquer ces questions et débattre de la place des femmes et du genre dans les arts plastiques, et ce depuis les périodes les plus anciennes de l’histoire.

Programme
sam. 25 février 2017
Centre Pompidou, Salle cinéma 2
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29