Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai

1895Kaunas, Lithuania | 1975Rome, Italy
Informations

Lithuanian-Italian painter and sculptor.

The artwork of nomadic artist Antonietta Raphaël Mafai was marked by her travels, and it is undoubtedly because of this that she had a certain distinctiveness in the Roman scene between the 1920s and 1970s. Born in Lithuania as a result of the diaspora, she lost her father, Rabbi Simon, in 1903. At the outbreak of the first Russian revolution in 1905, she followed her mother to London. Having graduated from the Royal Academy, she also taught piano and French, and began socialising in artistic circles (with sculptors Ossip Zadkine and Jacob Epstien, and the poet Isaac Rosenberg) as well as with anarchists. After the death of her mother in 1919, she moved to Paris, where she spent time in the Montmartre of Chaïm Soutine and Marc Chagall. In 1924, she moved to Rome, where she met the painter Mario Mafai at the Accademia di belle arti the following year; he became her life partner. The couple had three daughters together, who were often Antonietta’s models. With the painter Gino Bonichi, known as Scipione, and the sculptor Marino Mazzacurati, the couple formed the Scuola di via Cavour, which later became the Scuola Romana (The Roman School), a group influenced by the lyrical and expressionist style of the Parisian school. Up until the early 1930s, A. Raphaël Mafai practiced a syncretic, poetic and exuberant painting, with hints of Byzantine and Oriental influences, in the “primitive” flavour of a colourful ingenuity recalling the experiments of the Fauves and the tonal inspirations of C. Soutine, Moïse Kisling and Marc Chagall. In 1929, she participated in a group exhibition of women, Otoo pittrici e scultrici romance, that found success amongst critics and the public.

After returning to Paris with her husband in 1930, she took evening courses in sculpture, and then went to London in 1932, where she reconnected with J. Epstein before returning to live in Rome in 1933. Although several influences emerged during this period, none, except for that of Aristide Maillol, seemed to be decisive – her style remained completely personal. A painting that debuted a longer series, Miriam che dorme (Myriam Sleeping, 1933), shows how much sculpture renewed her art. She limited herself to few subjects­ – her husband (whose own travels often kept them apart) and her daughters – allowing her to experiment through various portraits and expressions (slumber, singing, the face of the creator), but also group poses (Le tre sorelle [the three sisters]), as well as biblical and mythological subjects. The true subject of her work was always the nature of emotions – birth, affection, fear, fatigue, creation, death. The slow, solemn and melancholic poetry of the generous, massive, and languid bodies that she sculpted firmly planted in space, in the style of Maillol, turned away from the brilliant joy of the vivid colours of her paintings. At the beginning of the twentieth century, faces were the favoured site of experimentation in visual research. The sculptor’s delicately archaic masks – timeless, and in that sense, classic – were particularly sensitive to luminous notes and expressions born from shadows and reflections. The material – plaster, cement, wood, clay, stone and bronze – was abundantly worked, not smoothed but slashed, marked and fragmented with enthusiasm and vehemence. “The mere word ‘sculpture’ is enough to fill me with an almost religious fear.” The imprints of her thumbs, the chisel and the needle are all particularly sensitive, without hindering any of the softness of her forms.

In Rome, effervescent with sculptors – Arturo Martini, Marino Marini, Mirko, Biacomo Manzù, Pericle Fazzini – she found a place for her figures, which were at once classic and antirhetorical (as described by Fronte, the Scuola Romana’s magazine from the early 1930s). In 1939, she fled from Rome, where the racist fascist laws prohibited her from exhibiting her work. After several years in Genoa, she finally was recognised after the war at the Rome Quadrennial, the Venice Biennial, as well as several solo exhibitions. Her subjects became more biblical and Ovidian. She nourished her art– sculptures, drawings, lithographs, and painting once again starting from the 1960s– with her travels in Sicily, Andalusia and China. The Journal that she left behind pleasantly teaches us more about her techniques as well as about her free and whimsical imagination, the life source for her works.

Read more

Anne Lepoittevin

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Archaeologic Walk, 1928, oil on canvas, 46.5 x 43.5 cm, Pinacoteca di Brera

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Femme accroupie, undated, 42 x 30 cm, tempera on paper, private collection

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Fillette à la bouche rouge, 1953, mixed media on canvas, 35.5 x 25 cm, private collection

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Le Tre Sorelle [The Three Sisters], 1936, Musée d’Art Moderne, Rome

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Maternité, 1964, bronze, 190 x 63 x 80 cm, Museo Novecento, Florence

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Testa di ragazzo [Boy’s head], 1945, Courtesy La Galleria Nazionale, Roma

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Fiori [Flowers], ca. 1938, oil on canvas, Museo del Novecento, Florence

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai

1895Kaunas, Lituanie | 1975Rome, Italie
Informations

Peintre et sculptrice italienne d’origine lituanienne.

Artiste nomade, Antonietta Raphaël Mafai marque son art au fer de ses voyages : c’est sans doute ce qui fait sa spécificité dans le paysage romain des années 1920- 1970. Née en Lituanie sous le signe de la diaspora, elle perd son père, le rabbin Simon, en 1903. En 1905, date à laquelle éclate la première révolution russe, elle suit sa mère à Londres. Diplômée de la Royal Academy, elle enseigne ensuite le piano et le français, et commence à fréquenter les cercles artistiques (les sculpteurs Ossip Zadkine et Jacob Epstein, le poète Isaac Rosenberg) et anarchistes. Après la mort de sa mère en 1919, elle se fixe à Paris, où elle fréquente le Montmartre de Chaïm Soutine et de Marc Chagall. En 1924, elle s’installe à Rome, où elle rencontre, l’année suivante, à l’Accademia di belle arti, le peintre Mario Mafai qui devient son compagnon de vie. Le couple aura trois filles, qu’Antonietta prend souvent comme sujets et modèles. Avec le peintre Gino Bonichi, dit Scipione, et le sculpteur Marino Mazzacurati, le couple forme la Scuola di via Cavour, devenue la Scuola romana (l’École de Rome), un groupe amplement marqué par l’influence lyrique et expressionniste de l’École de Paris. Jusqu’au début des années 1930, A. Raphaël Mafai pratique une peinture syncrétique, poétique, exubérante, aux parfums byzantins et orientaux, à la saveur « primitive » d’une ingénuité colorée rappelant les expériences récentes des Fauves et les inspirations tonales de C. Soutine, de Moïse Kisling, et de M. Chagall. En 1929, elle participe à une exposition collective de femmes, Otto pittrici e scultrici romane, qui rencontre le succès auprès des critiques, sinon auprès du grand public.

Arrivée à Paris avec son mari en 1930, elle y fréquente une école du soir de sculpture, puis se rend à Londres, en 1932, où elle retrouve J. Epstein, avant de retourner s’installer à Rome en 1933. De nombreuses influences ont été invoquées, sans qu’aucune, Aristide Maillol excepté, ne semble décisive : son style reste totalement personnel. Miriam che dorme [Myriam endormie, Rome, 1933], qui ouvre la voie à une longue série, montre à quel point ce choix de la sculpture renouvelle son art. Elle se limite à quelques sujets – son mari (dont ses propres voyages la séparent souvent) et ses filles – qui lui permettent d’expérimenter plusieurs figures du portrait et plusieurs expressions (le sommeil, le chant, le visage du créateur), mais aussi les postures de groupes (Le tre sorelle [les trois sœurs]), ainsi que quelques thèmes bibliques ou mythologiques. Le véritable sujet de ses œuvres est toujours de nature émotionnelle – la naissance, l’affection, la peur, la fatigue, la création, la mort. La poésie lente, solennelle, mélancolique, des corps qu’elle sculpte, généreux, massifs, alanguis, fermement campés dans l’espace, à la Maillol, tourne le dos à la joie éclatante des vives couleurs de sa peinture. Au début du XXe siècle, le visage est le champ d’expérimentation privilégié de la recherche plastique. Les masques délicatement archaïsants – ainsi atemporels et, en ce sens, classiques – de la sculptrice sont particulièrement sensibles aux notes lumineuses, aux expressions qui naissent des ombres et des reflets. La matière – le plâtre, le ciment, le bois, la terre cuite, la pierre, le bronze – y est abondamment travaillée, non pas lissée mais tailladée, marquée, fragmentée avec fougue et véhémence : « Le seul mot de “sculpture” suffit à m’emplir d’une peur presque religieuse. » L’empreinte du pouce, du burin, de la pointe, y est particulièrement sensible, sans qu’elle entrave en rien la douceur de ses formes.

Dans la Rome effervescente des sculpteurs – Arturo Martini, Marino Marini, Mirko, Giacomo Manzù, Pericle Fazzini –, elle trouve une place pour ses corps tout à la fois classiques et, comme l’annonçait au début des années 1930 Fronte, la revue de la Scuola romana, antirhétoriques. En 1939, elle fuit Rome, où les lois raciales fascistes lui interdisent désormais d’exposer. Après quelques années à Gênes, elle se voit enfin reconnaître durant l’après-guerre : la Quadriennale de Rome, la Biennale de Venise, de nombreuses expositions personnelles. Ses sujets se font plus bibliques et ovidiens. Elle nourrit son art – sculpture, dessins, lithographies et peinture de nouveau, à partir des années 1960 – de voyages en Sicile, en Andalousie et en Chine. Le Journal qu’elle a laissé nous renseigne plaisamment sur ses techniques comme sur son imaginaire fantasque et affranchi, source vive de ses œuvres.

Lire plus

Anne Lepoittevin

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Archaeologic Walk, 1928, huile sur toile, 46,5 x 43,5 cm, Pinacoteca di Brera

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Femme accroupie, non daté, 42 x 30 cm, tempera sur papier, collection particulière

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Fillette à la bouche rouge, 1953, technique mixte sur toile, 35,5 x 25 cm, Collection particulière

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Le Tre Sorelle [Les trois sœurs], 1936, Musée d’Art Moderne, Rome

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Maternité, 1964, bronze, 190 x 63 x 80 cm, Museo Novecento, Florence

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Testa di ragazzo [Tête de garçon], 1945, Courtesy La Galleria Nazionale, Roma

Antonietta Raphaël Mafai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Antionietta Raphaël Mafai, Fiori [Fleurs], vers 1938, huile sur toile, Museo del Novecento, Florence

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29