Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Seund Ja Rhee

1918Jinju, South Korea | 2009Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Informations

South Korean painter, engraver, and ceramicist.

Seund Ja Rhee studied at the Jinju Girls’ High School and at the Jissen Women’s College in the administrative district of Tokyo. She was separated from her three children by the Korean War, and left Asia to settle in Paris in the early 1950s. She continued her artistic training at the Grande Chaumière academy, with Henri Goetz and Yves Brayer. Her early paintings were marked by depictions of her everyday life in Europe and an esthetic close to that of abstract art. One painting in particular, La Neige sur la rue Vaugirard [Snow on the rue Vaugirard, 1956], attracted the attention of Parisian critics for its sharp contrasts of light and dark colours, edging on abstraction. During the following years, she introduced basic geometric figures, such as lines, triangles, squares, and circles, which appear simultaneously as subject and as background. Today this period in her output is often named “Woman and Earth”.

Although she produced relatively few abstract compositions during the 1950s, abstraction became an identifiable part of her work by the beginning of the next decade. Indeed, the 1960s marked a turning point in S. Rhee’s work as she moved toward the abstraction which would define her signature works. Some of the dot patterns these works employ bear comparison with those found in aboriginal art, a link made all the more apparent by her use of wood as a support (she created dozens of woodcuts). However, the influence of Asia accounts for the omnipresence of the two forms to be found in her iconic work Yin and Yang, May 1975 No. 1 (1975). Starting in 1970, she developed a whole iconography inspired by the Yin and Yang symbols, her homeland’s emblem. These two elements both express the duality of her personal journey between East and West and reveal her genuine progression towards spirituality. She also used them later to plan her imagined studio and living space, which she built in Tourettes-sur-Loup, in the department of Alpes-Maritimes.
In S. Rhee’s work, poetry and literature fuel the spiritual existence. She has created several works with Michel Butor, a close friend she met in 1977. These include artists’ books in which words by one of them are accompanied by engravings by the other, and vice versa (Replis des sources, 1977).

In many of her later works, earth, mountains, and cosmos mingle with her favoured emblem, transformed into genuine celestial landscapes. The large format series Chemin des antipodes (1980-1994) represents the peak of her visual study of simple geometric shapes. The different versions, unveiled in the two main colours of the Korean flag – red and blue – offer a moment of contemplation outside of the common reference points of space and time. It is within this world that the sensation of voluntary weightlessness sought by S. Rhee operates.
A prolific artist, she had left behind more than 1,300 paintings, 12,000 engravings, and 500 ceramics when she died in 2009, the majority held in public and private South Korean and French collections, especially those of the National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art (South Korea) and of the Centre national des arts plastiques.

Read more

Fanny Verdier

Translated from French by Clara Bouveresse.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La Cité de Janvier 74, 1974, woodcut in 4 colors, on vellum BFK Rives 250 grammes, 56.5 x 75.8 cm, © Cnap, © Photo: Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Untitled, ca 1956, oil on canvas, 33 x 41 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Sans titre, 1957, oil on canvas, 38 x 55 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Une nuit d’été, 1959, oil on canvas, 92 x 73 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Douce soleil, 1963, oil on canvas, 60 x 73 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La poupée d’un navire, 1963, oil on canvas, 50 x 65 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La Cité Outre-Mer, 1972, woodcut in 3 colors, on vellum BFK Rives 210 grammes, 50.4 x 65.1 cm, © Cnap, © Photo: Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Alphabet des lichens, 1972, woodcut in 4 colors, on Arches vellum 300 grammes, 105 x 75.4 cm, © Cnap, © Photo: Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La Mer VI, 1977, woodcut with airbrush background, in 6 colors, on yellow Canson paper 210 grammes, 50 x 64.7 cm, © Cnap, © Photo: Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Une ville de Mercure, 2002, oil on canvas, 116 x 89 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Seund Ja Rhee

1918Jinju, Corée du Sud | 2009Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Informations

Peintre, graveuse et céramiste sud-coréenne.

Seund Ja Rhee étudie à la Jinju Girls’ High School, à Jinju, et à l’université Jissen pour femmes (Jissen Women’s College), dans la préfecture de Tokyo, avant d’être séparée de ses trois enfants par la guerre de Corée et de quitter l’Asie pour s’installer à Paris au début des années 1950. Elle poursuit son apprentissage artistique à l’académie de la Grande Chaumière auprès d’Henri Goetz et d’Yves Brayer. Ses débuts dans la peinture se partagent entre la représentation de son quotidien en Europe et une esthétique proche de l’art abstrait. La toile intitulée La Neige sur la rue Vaugirard (1956) retient particulièrement l’attention de la critique parisienne par la dichotomie de ses couleurs sombres et claires et par sa tendance à l’abstraction. Durant les années suivantes – période souvent appelée aujourd’hui « Woman and Earth » –, l’artiste introduit également des figures géométriques simples, telles que la ligne, le triangle, le carré et le rond, qui se déclinent à la fois comme sujets et comme arrière-fonds des toiles.

Si les compositions abstraites sont rares dans les années 1950, elles deviennent évidentes à partir du début de la décennie suivante. Cette dernière marque un tournant dans la pratique de S. Rhee et s’y amorce l’abstraction caractéristique de ses célèbres tableaux. Certains motifs de points peuvent être rapprochés du style aborigène, d’autant plus par l’utilisation que fait l’artiste du bois comme support – elle réalise plusieurs dizaines de xylographies –, mais c’est plutôt du côté de l’Asie qu’il faut chercher la raison de l’omniprésence des deux formes de l’œuvre iconique Yin et Yang, mai, no 1, 75 (1975). Elle développe, à partir de 1970, toute une iconographie autour du yin et du yang, emblème de son pays natal. Ces deux éléments sont à la fois l’expression de la dualité de son parcours entre l’Orient et l’Occident et la preuve d’un véritable cheminement vers le spirituel. Ils seront d’ailleurs repris comme plan de l’atelier et lieu de vie qu’elle imagine et construit à Tourrettes-sur-Loup, dans les Alpes-Maritimes.
Chez S. Rhee, le spirituel puise aussi son existence dans la poésie et l’écriture. Très proche de Michel Butor qu’elle rencontre en 1977, elle crée avec lui plusieurs œuvres croisées, livres d’artiste où les mots de l’un accompagne les dessins ou gravures de l’autre et inversement (Replis des sources, 1977).

Par la suite, ce sont la terre, les montagnes, le cosmos qui, mêlés au signe fétiche de l’artiste, deviennent de véritables paysages célestes. La série de grands formats Chemin des antipodes (1980-1994) constitue l’apogée de son étude visuelle autour de quelques formes simples de la géométrie. Les différentes versions, déclinées dans les deux couleurs principales du drapeau coréen, le rouge et le bleu, offrent un moment de contemplation hors de tout repère spatio-temporel. Dès lors opère la sensation d’apesanteur voulue et recherchée sur tous les supports par S. Rhee.
Prolifique, S. Rhee décède en 2009 en laissant derrière elle plus de 1 300 peintures, 12 000 gravures et 500 céramiques, essentiellement réparties dans des collections publiques et privées sud-coréennes et françaises, notamment celles du National Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art (Corée du Sud) et du Centre national des arts plastiques (France).

Lire plus

Fanny Verdier

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La Cité de Janvier 74, 1974, gravure sur bois en 4 couleurs, sur vélin BFK Rives 250 grammes, 56,5 x 75,8 cm, © Cnap, © Photo : Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Untitled, ca 1956, huile sur toile, 33 x 41 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Sans titre, 1957, huile sur toile, 38 x 55 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Une nuit d’été, 1959, huile sur toile, 92 x 73 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Douce soleil, 1963, huile sur toile, 60 x 73 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La poupée d’un navire, 1963, huile sur toile, 50 x 65 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La Cité Outre-Mer, 1972, gravure sur bois en 3 couleurs, sur vélin BFK Rives 210 grammes, 50,4 x 65,1 cm, © Cnap, © Photo : Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Alphabet des lichens, 1972, gravure sur bois en 4 couleurs, sur vélin d’Arches 300 grammes, 105 x 75,4 cm, © Cnap, © Photo : Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, La Mer VI, 1977, gravure sur bois avec fond à l’aérographe, en 6 couleurs, sur papier Canson jaune 210 grammes, 50 x 64,7 cm, © Cnap, © Photo : Yves Chenot, © ADAGP, Paris

Seund Ja Rhee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Seundja Rhee, Une ville de Mercure, 2002, huile sur toile, 116 x 89 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29