Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster

1965 | Strasbourg, France
Informations
Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Giasco Bertoli

Sponsor
— Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster

French visual artist and film-maker.

From the earliest biographical spaces in the early 1990s (the “portraits” and the “bedrooms”), to the open environments of this last decade, the plurality of worlds remains Dominique Gonzales-Foerster’s primary discovery—her “astronomical” position in art. Her projects thus shift from one field to another, from art to film, and from literature to architecture, all so many worlds which she does not regard as separate, but as transfer zones, and temporary halts.  At a very early stage, film and words had an important place in her imagination, acting like entrances, areas of influence, and horizons.  The artist does not, however, borrow from film, literature or art history: she inhabits their territories. These entrances of film, literature and architecture are never clearly indicated, and, even if we may rely here and there on a title, or an evocative element, they determine the structure of her pieces, and their arrangements, leaving nothing more than imprints, and sensations of films, books, and travels (as she also likes talking of “art sensations”). Throughout her oeuvre there is first and foremost an act of tracing, an attempt to explore a foreign space, or make the portrait of a city (the film trilogy Riyo, Central, Plages, 1999-2001). This crossing of signs and landscapes is not the same as colonizing them, but simply means going ahead of the images, to see from what they are born, from what experiences.

Gonzales-Foerster does not try her hand at either fiction or the documentary.  Her work is situated on the boundary between the image and the visible.  In the place of something missing, in the murkiness and confusion of the different levels of reality, precisely where information becomes dissolved, is lost, and links back up with the subject of a conquest. In her “programmatic” environments (Cosmodrome, produced with the musician Jay-Jay Johanson in 2001), and in her public parks (A Plan for Escape, for documenta 11 in Kassel in 2002; Roman de Münster for SKulptur Projekte Münster in 2007), we see how the system of the exhibition is replaced by the narrative of a landscape, caught in a dialectical system, a sort of “non-site”, thus a fragment, a formation that is closed, inner, delimited, and concentrated, which leads towards a “site”, another exterior, peripheral, and boundless space.  The park, the beach, and the garden are among these non-sites, chronic spaces, cut-out parts of the world.  We find all these dimensions again in her museum projects and her first solo show, Expodrome, at the City of Paris Museum of Modern Art, in 2007, for which the artist put together an “exhibition crew”, a collaborative principle which refers to the early days of a collective adventure in Grenoble, when she was exploring a new exhibition vocabulary, with Pierre Joseph, Philippe Parreno, and Bernard Joisten, a bit like a film crew. Expodrome was a turning point, which gauged the architectural curve of the space of the ARC (Animation Research Confrontation), and of light and its scale, questioning the notion of artwork, and re-enacting the classical conditions of the exhibition.  Devised as an open and novel experience, the project took into account the time of the visitor’s movements, summoned as he was to have a “narrative journey”, alternating contemplation, reading, walking, and film.

Another significant turning point in her output was the spectacular environment TH.2058 (2008), conceived for the Tate Modern’s The Unilever Series programme, where the artist projected a science fiction landscape, a climatic revolution, and a journey in time.  In 2058, a permanent deluge strikes London, a disturbance producing strange effects on people and things:  these urban works start to grow like gigantic tropical plants, and become monumental. “To put an end to this growth, it has been decided to put them away inside, among the hundreds of bunk beds which, day and night, house refugees or people fleeing from the rain.” The initial scenario describes the cinematographic nature of the experience to come, while the curtain of red and green plastic strips, which spectators pass through to access this refuge, confirms the theatricality of the very principle of the exhibition, thus introducing the imprecise image of the access to a hangar providing health care. Then come the sensations:  the permanent sound of heavy rain, the metal and the yellow and blue colours of the bunk beds, the presence of books arrayed on these beds, the monstrousness of these sculptures by Louise Bourgeois, Calder and Claes Oldenburg, the memory of the last film, and the endless daydream of a world without sun.

Read more

Stéphanie Moisdon

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Lola Montez in Berlin (M.2062), 2014, Berlin, Courtesy Esther Schipper © Photo: Andrea Rossetti, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, M.2062 (Fitzcarraldo), 2014, © Photo: Giasco Bertoli, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, RWF (chambre), Esther Schipper, Cologne, 1993, Courtesy Esther Schipper, © Photo: Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Splendide Hotel, 2014, Palacio de Cristal, Madrid, © Joaquín Cortés / Román Lores, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, TH.2058, The Unilever Series, 2008, Tate Modern, London, © Photo:  Tate Photography, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Desert Park, Inhotim, Brumadinho, 2010, © Photo : Christoph Wiesner, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Ballard Garden, 2014, DeSingel International Kunstcentrum, Antwerp, © Photo: Robbie Depuydt, © DeSingel International Kunstcentrum and Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Atomic Park, 2004, 8′, Anna Sanders Films/Camera Lucida Production, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Euquinimod & Costumes, 2014, 303 Gallery, New York © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster and 303 Gallery, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Euquinimod & Costumes, 2014, 303 Gallery, New York © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster and 303 Gallery, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster

1965 | Strasbourg, France
Informations
Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Giasco Bertoli

Soutien
— Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster

Plasticienne et cinéaste française.

Depuis les premiers espaces biographiques au début des années 1990 (les « portraits » et les « chambres ») jusqu’aux environnements ouverts de cette dernière décennie, la pluralité des mondes demeure la première découverte de Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, sa position « astronomique » dans l’art. Ainsi, ses projets transitent d’un champ à un autre, de l’art au cinéma, de la littérature à l’architecture, tout autant d’univers qu’elle ne considère pas séparés, mais comme des zones de transferts, de haltes provisoires. Très tôt, le cinéma et le texte occupent une place importante dans son imaginaire, agissent comme des entrées, des sphères d’influence, des horizons. Pourtant, l’artiste n’emprunte pas au cinéma, à la littérature ou à l’histoire de l’art : elle habite leurs territoires. Ces entrées de cinéma, de littérature, d’architecture ne sont jamais clairement indiquées, et, même si on peut s’appuyer ici et là sur un titre, un élément évocateur, elles déterminent la structure de ses pièces, leurs agencements, pour ne plus laisser que des empreintes, des sensations de cinéma, de lecture, de voyage (comme elle aime aussi parler de « sensations d’art »). Dans toute son oeuvre, il y a d’abord un acte de tracement, une tentative d’explorer un espace étranger, de faire le portrait d’une ville (la trilogie des films Riyo, Central, Plages, 1999-2001). Cette traversée des signes et des paysages ne revient pas à les coloniser, mais simplement à aller au-devant des images, à voir de quoi elles naissent, de quelles expériences.

D. Gonzalez-Foerster ne s’essaye ni à la fiction ni au documentaire. Son travail se situe à la limite de l’image et du visible, à l’endroit d’un manque, dans le trouble et la confusion des différents niveaux de réel, là où l’information se dissout, se perd et rejoint le sujet d’une conquête. Dans ses environnements « programmatiques » (Cosmodrome, réalisé avec le musicien Jay-Jay Johanson en 2001), dans ses parcs publics (A Plan for Escape, pour la Documenta 11 de Kassel en 2002 ; Roman de Münster pour SKulptur Projekte Münster en 2007), on voit comment se substitue au système de l’exposition le récit d’un paysage, pris dans un système dialectique, sorte de « non-site », donc un fragment, une mise en forme fermée, intérieure, délimitée, concentrée, qui mène vers un « site », un autre espace extérieur, périphérique, illimité. Le parc, la plage, le jardin sont parmi ces non-sites, espaces chroniques, parties découpées du monde. On retrouve toutes ces dimensions dans ses projets de muséographie et sa première monographie, Expodrome, au musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris en 2007, pour laquelle l’artiste constitue une « équipe d’exposition », principe collaboratif qui renvoie aux premiers temps d’une aventure collective à Grenoble, quand elle explorait un nouveau vocabulaire de l’exposition, avec Pierre Joseph, Philippe Parreno, Bernard Joisten, un peu à l’image d’une équipe de tournage. Expodrome est un tournant, qui prend la mesure de la courbe architecturale de l’espace de l’Arc (Animation recherche confrontation), de la lumière, de son échelle, qui interroge la notion d’oeuvre, rejouant les conditions classiques de l’exposition. Pensé comme une expérience ouverte, inédite, le projet prend en compte le temps de déplacement du visiteur, appelé à vivre un « voyage narratif », alternant contemplation, lecture, promenade et cinéma.

Autre tournant important dans sa production : l’environnement spectaculaire TH. 2058 (2008), conçu pour le programme The Unilever Series de la Tate Modern, où l’artiste projette un paysage d’anticipation, une révolution climatique, un voyage dans le temps. En 2058, un déluge permanent s’abat sur Londres, perturbation qui produit des effets étranges sur les gens et les choses : ces œuvres urbaines commencent à croître comme des plantes tropicales géantes et se monumentalisent. « Pour mettre un terme à cette croissance, il a été décidé de les remiser à l’intérieur, parmi les centaines de lits superposés, qui, jour et nuit, accueillent les réfugiés de la pluie. » Le scénario initial dit la nature cinématographique de l’expérience à venir, tandis que le rideau de bandes de plastique rouge et vert, que les spectateurs traversent pour accéder à ce refuge, affirme la théâtralité du principe même de l’exposition, induisant aussi l’image imprécise de l’accès à un hangar médicalisé. Puis viennent les sensations : le son permanent d’une pluie lourde, le métal et les couleurs jaunes et bleues des lits superposés, la présence des livres disposés sur ces lits, la monstruosité de ces sculptures de Louise Bourgeois, Calder ou Claes Oldenburg, le souvenir du dernier film, la rêverie infinie d’un monde sans soleil.

Lire plus

Stéphanie Moisdon

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Lola Montez in Berlin (M.2062), 2014, Berlin, Courtesy Esther Schipper © Photo : Andrea Rossetti, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, M.2062 (Fitzcarraldo), 2014, © Photo : Giasco Bertoli, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, RWF (chambre), Esther Schipper, Cologne, 1993, Courtesy Esther Schipper, © Photo : Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Splendide Hotel, 2014, Palacio de Cristal, Madrid, © Joaquín Cortés / Román Lores, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, TH.2058, The Unilever Series, 2008, Tate Modern, London, © Photo :  Tate Photography, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Desert Park, Inhotim, Brumadinho, 2010, © Photo : Christoph Wiesner, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Ballard Garden, 2014, DeSingel International Kunstcentrum, Antwerp, © Photo : Robbie Depuydt, © DeSingel International Kunstcentrum et Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Atomic Park, 2004, 8′, Anna Sanders Films/Camera Lucida Production, © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Euquinimod & Costumes, 2014, 303 Gallery, New York © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster et 303 Gallery, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster, Euquinimod & Costumes, 2014, 303 Gallery, New York © Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster et 303 Gallery, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29