Eva Aeppli

1925Zofingen, Switzerland | 2015Honfleur, France
Informations

Swiss painter and sculptor.

Eva Aeppli studied painting, engraving and sculpture at the Kunstgewerbeschule in Basel. At the age of 16 she learned of the existence of concentration camps while reading Die Moorsoldaten (Peat Bog Soldiers, 1935) by Wolfgang Langhoff. This song had a long-lasting effect on her work. In 1951, she married Jean Tinguely. “I was scared that his art would suffocate me. That is why I did not want to see any of his works, nor did I want to let myself be influenced by him,” she stated. Her independence from her husband had no equivalent, considering what she exhibited with regard to art in general, fashions, trends and means of recognition.  E. Aeppli defended the amateur and totally individual characteristics of her art, expressed herself rarely, and was recognised quite late and sporadically by the institutions of her time. Nevertheless, she had an enormous influence on the work of J. Tinguely’s second wife, Niki de Saint Phalle, who in 1963 temporarily named her the physical and spiritual manager of her work in the event of the sculptor’s death. In 1952, E. Aeppli moved to Paris with her husband and created marionettes that she sold in toy stores to pay their rent. They lived miserably. Helped by Daniel Spoerri, they moved into a modest studio in the famous Impasse Ronsin.

Between 1953 and 1957, it was she who provided for the household. J. Tinguely always gave her this role of leader and supporter, having previously encouraged her to become an artist, and to move from charcoal to oil painting. In 1960, they separated and she dedicated herself to large format paintings in which stacked skeletal characters and skulls define compositions on the limit of abstraction, and contemporary danses macabres represent death and a dominating pessimism. She progressively turned towards a more sculptural body of work, one of the first signed by a woman in the 1960s and 1970s (alongside Germaine Richier and Barbara Hepworth). Mostly made up of stitched, mute and solitary fabrics as if seized with pain and fright, the characters are treated with a great economy of means: they are monochrome, of undefined gender, with the same pale face, skeletal body with dangling arms and puny legs. The artist herself called these “Maccabees”. Certain groups of these fabric mannequins are considered her masterpieces today: La Table (1967); Groupe de 13 (hommage à Amnesty international) (1968). Her works address frontally the victims of the century, from the deported to the victims of torture. The gaze is dark with no escape, as she explained to a critic who reportedly misunderstood La Table, “You are wrong to assume that I put death at the centre of the table to convey a message of despair contrary to Jesus’s message of hope. On the contrary, my work was a commentary on the fact that people feel abandoned, they are consumed by the fear of death, they refuse the gift of eternal life from the centre that Jesus should represent. I hope that through their expressions we can see the isolation of these figures at the table, imprisoned in their negative world,” (Eva a Myth?, 2000).

From the mid-1970s, the fabric mannequins were replaced by bronze, individual figures and a series of monumental busts made in velour, cotton and leather stuffed with kapok, most of which were dedicated to astrology: Les Planètes (1974–1976) followed by Le Zodiaque (1979–1980). In 1991, the couple created a series of works exhibited at the Musée de l’Hôtel-Dieu in Mantes-la-Jolie in 2002. This collaborative work as well as the relationships that E. Aeppli had with major artists of her time are “exhibited” in her books Livres de vie, a wordless autobiography that she kept for fifty years (1954–2002). In them, she collected letters, manuscripts, drawings, images, photographs sent by friends, and reproductions of her works. Life and artistic creation came together to form an indivisible entity, all the more unique and useful as E. Aeppli always refused to comment on her creations. This photo journal is also an image of post-war Europe. The 1994 retrospective dedicated to her work in Bonn was followed by others at the Garden of the Zodiac in Omaha, Nebraska in 2000 and later at the Musée Tinguely in Basel in 2006.

Read more

Camille Morineau

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Groupe de 13 (Hommage à Amnesty International), 1968, silk, kapok, cotton, velvet, iron, wood, 250 x 370 cm

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Jean Tinguely, Mirha, 1991, wrought iron, fabric and candles, 63 x 52 x 58 cm, private collection

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Dame oder Bella [Lady or Bella], 1967, velvet, silk, metal wheelchair, 140 × 50 × 90 cm, Ludwigmuseum

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Handpuppe [puppet], 1940-1950, different fabrics, 92 cm high, private collection

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, The Five Widows, 1972, silk, cotton, kapok filling, variable dimensions, Museum Tinguely

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Le Pensionnat, 1961, watercolour, 130 x 232 cm, private collection

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Les livres de vie, 2006, book

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Eva Aeppli

1925Zofingue, Suisse | 2015Honfleur, France
Informations

Peintre et sculptrice suisse.

Eva Aeppli pratique la peinture, la gravure et la sculpture à la Kunstgewerbeschule de Bâle. Elle découvre, à l’âge de 16 ans, l’existence des camps de la mort en lisant Die Moorsoldaten [le soldat dans la boue, 1935] de Wolfgang Langhoff. Cette lecture marquera durablement son œuvre. Elle se marie en 1951 avec Jean Tinguely. Son indépendance à l’égard de son époux – « J’avais peur que son art m’étouffe. C’est pourquoi je ne voulais voir aucune de ses œuvres ; je ne voulais pas non plus me laisser influencer par lui » – n’a d’équivalent que celle qu’elle montre ensuite vis-à-vis de l’art en général, ses modes, ses courants, ses modes de reconnaissance. E. Aeppli défend le caractère autodidacte et totalement individuel de son art, s’exprime peu, et sera de fait reconnue tardivement et sporadiquement par les institutions de son époque. Elle exercera toutefois une énorme influence sur le travail de Niki de Saint Phalle, la seconde femme de J. Tinguely, qui, en 1963, la nommera provisoirement gestionnaire physique et spirituelle de son œuvre, en cas de décès du sculpteur. En 1952, E. Aeppli s’installe à Paris avec son mari et fabrique des marionnettes qu’elle vend dans les magasins de jouets pour payer leur loyer. Ils vivent misérablement ; aidés par Daniel Spoerri, ils aménagent dans un modeste atelier de la fameuse impasse Ronsin.

Entre 1953 et 1957, c’est elle qui subvient aux besoins du ménage : J. Tinguely lui reconnaîtra toujours ce rôle de guide et de soutien, l’ayant auparavant encouragé à devenir artiste, puis à passer du fusain à la peinture à l’huile. En 1960, ils se séparent, et elle se consacre à la peinture dans de larges toiles, où crânes et personnages entassés, squelettiques, définissent des compositions à la limite de l’abstraction, danses macabres contemporaines, où la représentation de la mort et le pessimisme dominent. Progressivement, elle se tourne vers une œuvre sculpturale, l’une des premières signées par une femme dans les années 1960-1970 (avec Germaine Richier et Barbara Hepworth). Des personnages confectionnés pour la plupart en tissus cousus, muets et solitaires, comme saisis de douleur et de frayeur, sont traités avec une grande économie de moyens : ils sont monochromes, au genre indéfini ; ils ont le même visage blafard, le même corps squelettique ou les bras ballants le long du corps, les jambes rachitiques. L’artiste les appelle elle-même des « macchabées ». Certains groupes de ces mannequins textiles sont aujourd’hui considérés comme ses chefs-d’œuvre : La Table (1967) ; Groupe de 13 (hommage à Amnesty international) (1968). Il s’agit toujours d’évoquer frontalement le sort des grandes victimes du siècle, les déportés et les victimes de tortures : le regard est noir et sans aucune échappatoire, ainsi qu’elle le fait remarquer à un critique qui avait, selon elle, mal interprété La Table : « Vous avez tort de supposer que j’ai mis la mort au centre de la table pour envoyer un message de désespoir contraire au message d’espoir de Jésus. Au contraire, mon travail était un commentaire du fait que les gens se sentent abandonnés, qu’ils sont consommés par la peur de mourir, qu’ils refusent le don de la vie éternelle venant du centre et que Jésus devrait représenter. J’espère qu’à travers leurs expressions on voit l’isolement de ces figures à la table, emprisonnées dans leur monde négatif » (Eva a Myth ?, 2000).

À partir du milieu des années 1970, les mannequins en tissu sont remplacés par des bronzes, des figures individuelles et des cycles de têtes monumentales en velours, coton et cuir rembourrées de kapok dont la plupart sont consacrées au thème de l’astrologie : Les Planètes (1974-1976) précèdent Le Zodiaque (1979-1980). En 1991, le couple crée en collaboration une série d’œuvres exposées en 2002 au musée de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Mantes-la-Jolie. Ce travail en commun ainsi que les relations d’E. Aeppli avec les artistes majeurs de son temps sont « montrés » dans ses Livres de vie, une autobiographie sans mot, qu’elle tient pendant cinquante ans (1954-2002) ; elle y collectionne lettres, manuscrits, dessins, graphiques, photographies envoyées par ses amis, et reproductions de ses œuvres. Vie et création artistique s’entrelacent pour former une entité indivisible, d’autant plus unique et utile qu’E. Aeppli s’est toujours refusée à commenter ses propres créations. Ce journal de bord en images est aussi un tableau de l’Europe d’après-guerre. La rétrospective qui lui est consacrée à Bonn en 1994 est suivie par celle du Garden of the Zodiac à Omaha (Nebraska) en 2000, puis celle du musée Tinguely à Bâle en 2006.

Lire plus

Camille Morineau

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Groupe de 13 (Hommage à Amnesty International), 1968, soie, Kapok, coton, velours, fer, bois, 250 x 370 cm

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Jean Tinguely, Mirha, 1991, fer forgé, tissu et bougies, 63 x 52 x 58 cm, collection particulière

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Dame oder Bella [Dame ou Bella], 1967, velours, soie, fauteuil roulant en métal, 140 × 50 × 90 cm, Ludwigmuseum

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Handpuppe [pantin], 1940-1950, tissus différents, 92 cm de haut, collection particulière

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, The Five Widows, 1972, soie, coton, Kapok, dimensions variables, Museum Tinguely

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Le Pensionnat, 1961, aquarelle, 130 x 232 cm, collection particulière

Eva  Aeppli — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eva Aeppli, Les livres de vie, 2006, livre

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29