Niki de Saint Phalle

1930Neuilly-sur-Seine, France | 2002San Diego, United States
Informations
Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Giulio Pietromarchi, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved

Sponsor
— Niki Charitable Art Foundation

French-American visual artist.

Niki de Saint Phalle spent the first three years of her life  in France, then moved to New York with her parents. At the age of 11, she was molested by her father; she disclosed this her 1994 book My Secret (Mon Secret), and continued to explore the event’s aftermath in her 1999 follow-up Traces.  She became a rebellious teenager and found solace in writing. She married author Harry Mathews in 1950, with whom she had a son and a daughter.  The couple moved to Paris in 1951, where Saint Phalle studied theater. She stopped abruptly in 1953 due to a terrible episode of depression, during which she began painting as therapy. In 1959, she discovered the New American painters – Willem de Kooning, Jackson Pollock, Robert Rauschenberg, Jasper Johns – which proved to be a profound revelation. The following year, she separated from Mathews, who maintained custody of their children, and moved in with the artist Jean Tinguely.
In 1961, at the Comparaisons salon in Paris, she exhibited Portrait of My Lover, an assemblage built on a target, at which viewers were invited to test their dart-throwing skill.  She also created plaster sculptures that included pouches of pigment, which she exploded by shooting at them with a rifle.  February 12th of that year, she organized the first of her shooting performances, which would continue from 1961 into 1962. This process was stunning, shocking, and quickly drew media attention.  Swedish art collector Puntus Hulten bought some of her pieces then presented them in important European exhibitions. Saint Phalle joined the Nouveaux Réalistes group as the only female member. Thanks to her participation in a project with Johns, Rauschenberg, and Tinguely, she was accepted by the era’s artistic avant-garde, which was heavily masculine. Bit by bit, she worked to tear down traditional representations of women, and deconstructed classic archetypes – the witch, the man-eater, the young wife – all slowly crept into her work. Her sculptures are a conglomeration of everyday objects and junk, indicative of the consumer-centric society that was burgeoning in those years.

In 1964, in London, she exhibited brides, woolen heads, and dragons, and, the following year, her famous Nanas came on the scene.  They were at first sculpted of yarn, papier mâché and bits of metal, but already in Saint Phalle’s characteristically vibrant colors.  In 1966, she collaborated on the sets and costumes for the Roland Petit ballet Éloge de la folie (The Praise of Folly). She also exhibited Hon-en katedral, a giant (28 meters long) nana statue, which the visitor could enter through a gaping hole between her legs, and which she installed in Stockholm with Tinguely, Per Olof Utvedt, and Rico Weber.  This work poked fun at the institution of museums, for which the female body becomes the object of all sorts of mistreatment, and proclaimed the power of the feminine.  In 1967 Saint Phalle and Tinguely created Paradis fantastique, a group of 15 moving figures, for the roof of the French pavilion at the 1967 Expo in Montreal.  The following year, the premier of her piece ICH (All About Me) took place in Kassel; it was written in collaboration with Ranier von Diez, and Saint Phalle created the sets and costumes. During this era of protest, the Nanas became a powerful symbol: playful, buxom, free — they were everywhere.  The artist created one of her first maisons nanas in the Midi region of France, as well as the beginnings of a nana town.  In 1979, inspired by the 22 cards in the tarot deck, she began working on Le jardin des tarots (The Tarot Garden), a group of monumental works in cement, covered in glass and ceramic mosaics, on a piece of land in Tuscany. In order to finance this, her masterpiece, she worked on other minor pieces on the same theme.  In 1973, she had created two versions of a script for the film Daddy, in which she starred, which explored her relationship with her father.  Among her related projects were the Stravinsky Fountain outside the Pompidou Museum in Paris, in collaboration with Tinguely (1982), and Snake Tree, a fountain outside a children’s hospital on Long Island, New York (1988). In 1986, she wrote and illustrated a book of information about AIDS entitled AIDS: You Can’t Catch It Holding Hands: it was widely distributed and adapted into an animated film, which Saint Phalle directed with her son in 1989. After making an important donation to the musée d’art moderne et d’art contemporain de Nice in 2002, the artist succumbed to emphysema, caused by inhaling materials used for her famous Nanas.

Read more

Catherine Gonnard

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Autoportrait, circa 1958-1959, paint and mixed objects (pebbles, coffee beans, fragments of crockery, etc.) on wood, 141 × 141 × 10 cm © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Lucrezia ou The White Goddess, circa 1964, paint, wire mesh and various objects on panel, 180 × 110 × 39 cm, © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, You Are My Love Forever and Ever and Ever, 1968, silkscreen print, 40 × 60 cm, © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, La mort du patriarche [The Death of the Patriarch], 1972, paint and various objects on panel, 251 × 160 × 40 cm, Sprengel Museum, Hanovre, inv. SH 75,2001, Gift of the artist, 2000, © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Cat Head Totem, 2000, polyurethane, resin, metal base and pedestal, abalone shells, stones and coloured mirror fragments, 335 × 213 × 140 cm during the exhibition Niki in the Garden at Garfield Park Conservatory, 2007, © Photo: Thomas Marlow, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, I woke up last night, 1994 © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © 2015 Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Nana noire upside-down [Black Nana Upside Down], 1965-1966, paint, wool, and fabric on wire mesh, 135 × 105 × 108 cm, MAMAC Collection, Nice, inv. 2001.13.46, Gift of the artist, 2001, © Photo: MAMAC Nice, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Overview of the Tarot Garden, 1978-1998, Garavicchio, Italy © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Niki de Saint Phalle

1930Neuilly-sur-Seine, France | 2002San Diego, États-Unis
Informations
Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Giulio Pietromarchi, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, Tous droits réservés

Soutien
— Niki Charitable Art Foundation

Plasticienne française.

Niki de Saint Phalle passe ses trois premières années en France, puis, vit à New York avec ses parents. À 11 ans, elle est violée par son père ; elle rendra public ce secret en 1994, dans son livre Mon Secret, suivi par Traces (1999), qui propose une amorce de pacification. Elle devient une adolescente révoltée et se réfugie dans l’écriture. Elle se marie en 1950 avec Harry Mathews, futur écrivain, avec qui elle aura une fille et un fils. Ils s’installent à Paris en 1951, où elle étudie le théâtre, activité qu’elle interrompt en 1953, à la suite d’une grave dépression nerveuse ; elle choisit la peinture comme thérapie. En 1959, sa découverte de la nouvelle peinture américaine – Willem de Kooning, Jackson Pollock, Robert Rauschenberg, Jasper Johns – est une fulgurante révélation. L’année suivante, elle se sépare d’H. Mathews, qui obtient la garde des enfants, et s’installe avec Jean Tinguely.
En 1961, au salon Comparaisons à Paris, elle expose Portrait of My Lover, un montage avec cible, où les visiteurs sont invités à exercer leur adresse à coups de fléchettes. Elle réalise aussi des assemblages en plâtre, dans lesquels elle intègre des sacs de couleurs qu’elle fait éclater par des tirs à la carabine. Le 12 février, elle organise la première de ses 12 actions de tirs, qu’elle va produire entre 1961 et 1962. Cette démarche étonne, choque : l’artiste est vite médiatisée. Pontus Hultén achète quelques-unes de ses œuvres, puis la présente à d’importantes expositions en Europe. Elle rejoint le groupe des Nouveaux Réalistes, parmi lesquels elle est la seule femme. Grâce à sa participation à une intervention avec J. Johns, R. Rauschenberg et J. Tinguely, elle se fait accepter par l’avant-garde artistique de l’époque, encore très masculine. Peu à peu, elle s’attaque à la représentation des femmes et aux éternels clichés : la sorcière, la dévoreuse, la jeune mariée, qui vont peu à peu envahir sa création. Ses sculptures sont un conglomérat d’objets quotidiens et de pacotille, révélateurs de la société de consommation qui s’amplifie dans ces années-là.

En 1964, à Londres, elle expose des mariées, des têtes en laine et des dragons, et, l’année suivante, les Nanas entrent en scène : elles sont d’abord en laine, papier mâché et en sculpture métallique, mais déjà de couleurs vives. En 1966, elle collabore aux décors et aux costumes du ballet Éloge de la folie de Roland Petit. Hon-en katedral, sculpture de nana géante de 28 mètres de long, où le visiteur peut entrer via son sexe béant, est mise en place par l’artiste, ainsi que par J. Tinguely, Per Olof Utvedt et Rico Weber, et exposée à Stockholm. Cette œuvre se moque de l’institution muséale, pour laquelle le corps des femmes est l’objet de tous les mauvais traitements, et proclame la puissance du féminin. En 1967, N. de Saint Phalle et J. Tinguely réalisent le Paradis fantastique, un groupe de 15 figures en mouvement pour le toit du pavillon français de l’Expo 67 à Montréal. L’année suivante a lieu à Kassel la première de sa pièce ICH (All about me), écrite en collaboration avec Rainer von Diez, et dont elle a réalisé costumes et décors. Au cours de cette période de contestation, les Nanas sont au pouvoir ; ludiques, girondes, libres, elles se multiplient. L’artiste réalise dans le Midi de la France une des premières maisons « nanas », ainsi que les premiers projets d’architecture autour d’une ville « nana ». À partir de 1979, sur un terrain en Toscane, inspirée par les 22 cartes du tarot, elle va concevoir des œuvres monumentales en ciment, qu’elle couvre de mosaïque de verre et de céramique (Le Jardin des tarots). Afin de financer son grand œuvre, elle travaille sur des produits dérivés. Auparavant, elle a signé le scénario en deux versions du film Daddy (1973), dans lequel elle joue et interroge ses relations avec son père. Parmi ses projets suivants figurent la Fontaine Stravinsky à Paris, en collaboration avec J. Tinguely (1982), Snake Tree, la fontaine de l’hôpital pour enfants de Long Island (1988). En 1986, elle écrit et illustre un livre d’information sur le sida, Aids: You Can’t Catch It Holding Hand : largement diffusé, il est adapté en film d’animation, qu’elle réalise avec son fils en 1989. Après avoir fait une importante donation au musée d’art moderne et d’art contemporain de Nice en 2002, l’artiste succombe d’une maladie pulmonaire, provoquée par l’inhalation de matériaux utilisés pour ses célèbres Nanas.

Lire plus

Catherine Gonnard

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Autoportrait, vers 1958-1959, peinture et objets divers (galets, grains de café, fragments de vaisselle) sur bois, 141 × 141 × 10 cm, © Photo : Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Lucrezia ou The White Goddess, vers 1964, peinture, treillis métallique et objets divers sur panneau, 180 × 110 × 39 cm, © Photo : Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, You Are My Love Forever and Ever and Ever, 1968, sérigraphie, 40 × 60 cm, © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, La mort du patriarche, 1972, peinture et object divers sur panneau, 251 × 160 × 40 cm, Sprengel Museum, Hanovre, inv. SH 75,2001, don de l’artiste, 2000, © Photo: Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Cat Head Totem, 2000, polyuréthane, résine, socle et armature en métal, coquille d’ormeau, pierre et éclats de miroir colorés, 335 × 213 × 140 cm, durant l’exposition Niki in the Garden au Garfield Park Conservatory, 2007, © Photo : Thomas Marlow, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, I woke up last night, 1994, © Photo : Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Nana noire upside-down, 1965-1966, peinture, laine et tissu sur treillage métallique, 135 × 105 × 108 cm, MAMAC, Nice, inv. 2001.13.46, don de l’artiste, 2001, © Photo : MAMAC Nice, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Niki de Saint Phalle — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Niki de Saint Phalle, Vue d’ensemble du Jardin des Tarots, 1978-1998, Garavicchio, Italie © Photo : Laurent Condominas, © Niki Charitable Art Foundation, All rights reserved, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29