Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Fahrelnissa Zeid

1901Büyükada, Turkey | 1991Amman, Jordan
Informations
Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid in her studio, Paris, c. 1950s, Raad Zeid Al-Hussein Collection, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Turkish-Jordanian painter.

Born into an intellectual Ottoman family, the young Fahrinnisa Shakir Kabaağaçli was among the first women pupils at the Istanbul Women’s Beaux Arts Academy in 1919. In the 1920s, she travelled throughout Europe, visiting museums and making copious sketches, which she annotated extensively. A turning point was her 1928 enrolment at the Académie Ranson in Montparnasse, where she studied under cubist painter Roger Bissière. Upon her return to Istanbul, she abandoned her academic figurative practice and turned towards modernism and expressionism, painting in a studio in her home. In 1933, she married Iraqi diplomat Prince Zeid Al-Hussein and arabicized her name. The following decade was one of health breakdowns, short stays in Baghdad and Budapest, as well as a three-year stint in Berlin. She visited museums extensively and took painting tuition. Throughout this period, her doctors urged Fahrelnissa Zeid to paint. In 1941, she became the only Turkish female member of the Avant-garde art group D Grubu. She exhibited with them before exhibiting alone to great acclaim from 1945.

In 1946, she left for London, where she held a number of exhibitions. In 1948, she turned to abstraction (Composition, 1950), and met Charles Estienne at her first Paris solo exhibition, in 1949. He integrated her into the constellation of artists working in lyrical abstraction whom he promoted, and she became a prominent member of the Nouvelle École de Paris from its beginnings. She exhibited often with its artists as well as at the Salon des Réalités Nouvelles. Her Paris career was bolstered also by notable female gallerists developing abstract art recognition: Colette Allendy, Dina Vierny and Katia Granoff. In London, F. Zeid became in 1954 the first female artist to have a solo exhibition at the prestigious Institute of Contemporary Arts. Her work was praised by critics of the period as varied as André Breton, George Butcher, Bernard Gheerbrant, Terence Mullaly, etc. She recognized in Vassily Kandinsky’s writings a starting point for an articulation of her views, especially his conceptions of abstract composition, and painting as an “inner necessity.”

After the 1958 coup in Iraq, Fahrelnissa Zeid lived in exile between Paris, London and Ischia, until 1975, when she moved to Amman to join her son, who lived there, and began teaching art. In the 1960s, she returned to figuration via portraiture (Portrait de Charles Estienne, 1964), while inventing and developing a unique art form, coloured polyester and resin blocs encasing painted animal bones that she called Paléokrystalos and set on revolving stands, back lit with colour projectors, which she developed after her prototypes were appreciated by André Malraux. Her seminal 1981 group exhibition, which she held with her students, contributed to the normalization of abstraction in Jordan. Turkish-Jordanian modernist Fahrelnissa Zeid was the first Middle Eastern artist to conduct a career recognized at home as well as in international art centres. Despite her privileged background, she contended with personal tragedy and turmoil, and prejudice about her gender and her non-western origins to chart a unique path and become a major twentieth-century modernist.

Read more

Adila Laïdi-Hanieh

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Composition, 1950, oil on canvas, 188 x 175 cm, © Julien Vidal, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Roger-Viollet, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Fight against Abstraction, 1947, oil paint on canvas, 101 x 151 cm, Istanbul Modern Collection/ Eczacibaşi Group Donation, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein © Istanbul Museum of Modern Art

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Break of the Atom and Vegetal Life, 1962, oil on canvas, 210 x 540 cm, Z. Yildirim Family Collection, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Portrait de Charles Estienne, 1964, oil on canvas, 138 x 85 cm, © Julien Vidal, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Roger-Viollet, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Sans titre, 1955, orange and red black lithograph on Arches wove paper, 47 x 33.5 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Philippe Migeat, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Self Portrait, 1944, oil on canvas, unknown dimensions, Sema and Barbaros Cagas Collection, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Magazine
Linked article
Discover
Linked themes
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Fahrelnissa Zeid

1901Büyükada, Turquie | 1991Amman, Jordanie
Informations
Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid dans son atelier, Paris, années 1950, Collection Raad Zeid Al-Hussein, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Peintre turco-jordanienne.

Née dans une famille d’intellectuels ottomans, la jeune Fahrinnisa Shakir Kabaağaçli est l’une des premières femmes inscrites à l’Académie des beaux-arts d’Istanbul en 1919. Au cours des années 1920, elle voyage en Europe, où elle visite de nombreux musées et réalise à cette occasion une vaste quantité de croquis amplement annotés. Sa carrière prend un tournant décisif lorsqu’elle est admise à l’académie Ranson à Montparnasse, où elle étudie sous la direction de Roger Bissière. À son retour à Istanbul, elle abandonne l’académisme et sa pratique figurative et se tourne vers le modernisme et l’expressionnisme. Elle peint chez elle, dans son atelier. En 1933, elle épouse le diplomate d’Irak, le Prince Zeid Al-Hussein, et arabise son nom. La décennie suivante est marquée par de nombreux problèmes de santé, de courts voyages à Bagdad et à Budapest, ainsi qu’un séjour de trois ans à Berlin. Elle y visite les musées et suit des cours de peinture. Durant ces années, les médecins de Fahrelnissa Zeid l’encouragent vivement à peindre. En 1941, elle devient la seule femme turque à intégrer le mouvement d’avant-garde D Grubu. Elle commence par exposer avec eux avant de rencontrer un grand succès individuellement dès 1945.

En 1946, elle emménage à Londres, où son travail est exposé à plusieurs reprises. En 1948, elle se tourne vers l’abstraction (Composition, 1950) et rencontre Charles Estienne lors de sa première exposition individuelle à Paris en 1949. Celui-ci l’introduit auprès de la constellation d’artistes rattachés à l’abstraction lyrique qu’il promeut, et elle devient une membre importante de la Nouvelle École de Paris dès ses débuts. Elle expose régulièrement avec les artistes du groupe, ainsi qu’au Salon des Réalités Nouvelles. Sa carrière parisienne est également soutenue par d’éminentes galeristes femmes qui œuvrent à la reconnaissance de l’art abstrait : Colette Allendy, Dina Vierny et Katia Granoff. À Londres, F. Zeid devient en 1954 la première femme artiste à bénéficier d’une exposition individuelle à l’Institute of Contemporary Arts. Son travail séduit les critiques de l’époque, d’André Breton à George Butcher, en passant par Bernard Gheerbrant ou Terence Mullaly. Elle trouve dans les écrits de Vassily Kandinsky, notamment dans ses conceptions de la composition abstraite et de la peinture comme « nécessité intérieure », les bases à partir desquelles elle articule ses propres idées.

À la suite du coup d’état de 1958 en Irak, F. Zeid vit en exil entre Paris, Londres et Ischia jusqu’en 1975, date à laquelle elle rejoint son fils à Amman et se met à y enseigner l’art. Dans les années 1960, elle revient à la figuration à travers le portrait (Portrait de Charles Estienne, 1964), tout en inventant une forme d’art unique qu’elle développe après qu’André Malraux l’y ait encouragé : des os d’animaux peints encastrés dans des blocs de polyester et de résine colorés, qu’elle nomme Paléokrystalos et présente sur des supports pivotants rétro-éclairés par des lampes de couleur. L’exposition collective visionnaire qu’elle organise avec ses étudiants en 1981 contribue à la normalisation de l’art abstrait en Jordanie. La peintre moderniste turco-jordanienne F. Zeid est la première artiste du Moyen Orient dont la carrière a été reconnue à la fois dans son propre pays et par les institutions artistiques internationales. Malgré ses origines privilégiées, elle a dû surmonter des drames et bouleversements personnels et lutter contre les préjugés liés à son genre et à ses origines non-occidentales afin de tracer le chemin qui imposera son nom dans l’histoire de l’art moderne au XXe siècle.

Lire plus

Adila Laïdi-Hanieh

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Composition, 1950, huile sur toile, 188 x 175 cm, © Julien Vidal, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Roger-Viollet, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Fight against Abstraction, 1947, huile sur toile, 101 x 151 cm, Istanbul Modern Collection/ Eczacibaşi Group Donation, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein © Istanbul Museum of Modern Art

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Break of the Atom and Vegetal Life, 1962, huile sur toile, 210 x 540 cm, Collection Famille Z. Yildirim, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Portrait de Charles Estienne, 1964, huile sur toile, 138 x 85 cm, © Julien Vidal, Musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris, Roger-Viollet, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Sans titre, 1955, lithographie noir orange et rouge sur papier vélin d’Arches, 47 x 33,5 cm, © Centre Pompidou, MNAM-CCI, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / Philippe Migeat, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Fahrelnissa Zeid — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Fahrelnissa Zeid, Self Portrait, 1944, huile sur toile, dimensions inconnues, Collection Sema et Barbaros Cagas, © Raad Zeid Al-Hussein

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29