Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vanessa Bell

1879London, United Kingdom | 1961Charleston, United Kingdom
Informations

British painter and designer.

The eldest of four children and sister of the future Virginia Woolf, Vanessa Bell was born to a wealthy and intellectual family: her mother, Julia Jackson, was the niece of a pioneering photographer, Julia Cameron, and one of the favourite models of the pre-Raphaelites; her father was Sir Leslie Stephen, a famous writer and alpinist. As a young woman, in 1901, she studied at the London Royal Academy of Art. After their parents died, the children continued to live together in central London. Within the Bloomsbury Group, Vanessa organised artistic evenings she called the “Friday Club.” In 1907 she married the art critic Clive Bell, with whom she would have two sons. Her early paintings – Iceland Poppies (1908-1909), for example – show the joint influence of the American painters John Singer Sargent and James Abbott McNeill Whistler. She gradually became interested in Impressionism, particularly French post-Impressionism. A great admirer of Paul Cézanne, Camille Pissarro and Vincent Van Gogh, she painted portraits with synthetic outlines, simplified shapes and bold colours, like the portrait of her sister, Virginia Woolf (1912). She made her first venture into decorative arts in 1910 with the Scottish painter Duncan Grant, with whom she had a daughter, Angelica, in 1918. The pair would work together throughout their lives. She painted boxes with geometric shapes that followed the aesthetic principle her husband had developed: the predominance of the “significant form” and of its outline and colour over the narrative subject. She took part in two exhibitions organised by Roger Fry in 1912: Quelques indépendants anglais (Barbazanges Gallery, Paris) and his second exhibition of post-impressionist art at the Grafton Galleries in London.

The following year, encouraged by Fry, she opened the Omega Workshops with Grant in London’s Fitzroy Square, where Woolf also lived. Inspired by the Wiener Werkstätte (the Viennese workshops) and Parisian fashion and interior design studios like Paul Poiret’s “Maison Martine,” the Omega Workshops employed artists on a daily basis to create fabric patterns, furniture, and interior design projects, thus promoting a dialogue between painting and decorative arts, in a search for equality between major and minor arts. In May 1914, she assisted Grant in Paris in the creation of costumes for Jacques Copeau’s staging of Twelfth Night, and visited the studios of Pablo Picasso and Henri Matisse. Upon returning to London, she created a special section devoted to fashion at Omega. She designed original dresses with very simple outlines and cuts, geometric patterns, and bold colours. She continued to paint in a style renewed by her study of decorative arts: four of the paintings she presented in 1916 at the exhibition The New Movement in Art at the Mansard Gallery in London were abstract. That same year she and Grant bought a farmhouse in Charleston, Sussex, where the couple designed all the decoration, colours and patterns of the walls, doors, furniture, tableware, carpets, and garden mosaics. The Omega Workshops closed in 1919. In the 1920s and 30s, the couple divided their time between London, Charleston and France. Bell’s first solo exhibition was held in June 1922 at the Independent Gallery in London. She and Grant designed the interiors of many private apartments, such as Mary Hutchinson’s (1889-1977) in Regent’s Park, as well as book covers for Hogarth Press (run by Leonard and Virgina Woolf), theatre scenery, and costumes. The main subjects of their pictorial repertoire were still lives, landscapes and nymphs. They taught at Euston Road School in 1938. The Arts Council of Great Britain in London held a retrospective exhibition of Vanessa Bell’s work in 1964.

Read more

Cécile Godefroy

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, The Other Room, late 1930s, 161 x 174 cm, Private collection, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo: Bill Philip, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Design for Omega Workshops Fabric, 1913, watercolor, gouache, and graphite on paper, 53.3 × 40.7 cm, Yale Center for British Art, Paul Mellon Fund., Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Landscape with Haystack, Asheham, 1912, oil on canvas, board: 60.32 x 65.72 cm, Smith College Museum of Art, Northampton, Massachusetts, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Estate  Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Street Corner Conversation, c. 1913, oil on board, 69 x 52 cm, Private collection, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo: Colin Mills, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Tents and Figures, 1913, folding screen, distemper on paper mounted on canvas, painted softwood frame, 178.4 x 205.2 x 1.8 cm, Victoria & Albert Museum, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo: Victoria and Albert Museum, London, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Virginia Woolf, c. 1912, oil on board, 40 x 34 cm, National Portrait Gallery, London, © National Portrait Gallery, London

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Asheham House, 1912, oil on board, 47 x 53.5 cm, Private collection, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo: Matthew Hollow, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Self–Portrait, c. 1915, oil on canvas laid on panel, 63.8 x 45.9 cm, Yale Center for British Art, Paul Mellon Fund., Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Nude with Poppies, 1916, oil on canvas, 23.4 x 42.24 cm, Swindon Museum and Art Gallery, © Vanessa Bell, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, On the Steps of Santa Maria Salute, Venice, 1948, oil on canvas, 49 x 36.5 cm, Private collection, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo: The Bloomsbury Workshop, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vanessa Bell

1879Londres, Royaume-Uni | 1961Charleston, Royaume-Uni
Informations

Peintre et designer britannique.

Aînée de quatre enfants, sœur de la future Virginia Woolf, Vanessa Bell est née dans un milieu aisé et intellectuellement propice : sa mère, Julia Jackson, était la nièce d’une des pionnières de la photographie, Julia Cameron, et l’une des modèles favorites des peintres préraphaélites ; son père était sir Leslie Stephen, célèbre écrivain et alpiniste. La jeune femme entre à l’école de la Royal Academy of Art de Londres en 1901. Après la mort de leurs parents, les enfants continuent à vivre ensemble dans le centre de Londres. Dans les réunions du « Bloomsbury Group », Vanessa s’occupe des soirées artistiques et de ce qu’elle appelle le « Club du vendredi ». Elle épouse le critique d’art Clive Bell en 1907 et donne le jour à deux fils. Ses peintures – Iceland Poppies (« coquelicots d’Islande », 1908- 1909), par exemple – témoignent d’abord de l’influence conjointe des peintres américains John Singer Sargent et James Abbott McNeill Whistler. Progressivement, elle s’intéresse ensuite à l’impressionnisme et surtout au post-impressionnisme français. Sensible à la peinture de Paul Cézanne, de Camille Pissarro et de Vincent Van Gogh, elle réalise des portraits à la ligne synthétique, aux formes simplifiées et aux couleurs vives, comme celui de sa sœur : Virginia Woolf (1912). En 1910, elle réalise ses premiers travaux d’arts décoratifs aux côtés du peintre écossais Duncan Grant, avec qui elle a une liaison dont naîtra une fille, Angelica, en 1918. Ils cohabiteront toute leur vie durant. Elle peint alors des coffrets aux motifs géométriques, appliquant dans ses ouvrages le principe esthétique développé par celui qui fut son mari : la prégnance de la « forme signifiante » (significant form), son dessin, sa couleur – sur le sujet narratif. Elle participe aux deux expositions organisées par Roger Fry en 1912 : Quelques indépendants anglais (galerie Barbazanges, Paris) et sa seconde exposition d’art post-impressionniste aux Grafton Galleries à Londres.

Un an plus tard, à l’initiative de R. Fry, elle ouvre avec D. Grant les Omega Workshops (« ateliers Omega »), au Fitzroy Square à Londres – où vivait également V. Woolf. Il s’agit, sur le modèle de la Wiener Werkstätte (les « ateliers viennois ») et des ateliers de mode et de décoration intérieure parisiens, telle que la « maison Martine » de Paul Poiret, d’une manufacture employant des artistes à la journée pour créer des modèles de tissu, du mobilier, et pour aménager des espaces domestiques. Le dialogue entre la peinture et les arts décoratifs y est privilégié, dans une recherche d’équivalence entre arts majeurs et arts mineurs. En mai 1914, à Paris, elle assiste D. Grant qui conçoit les costumes de La Nuit des rois montée par Jacques Copeau. Elle s’introduit dans les ateliers de Pablo Picasso et d’Henri Matisse. À son retour, elle crée au sein d’Omega une section spécifique dédiée à la mode. Elle dessine des robes originales, au schéma et à la coupe élémentaires, dont la décoration est soumise aux dessins géométriques et aux couleurs vives. Elle continue à peindre avec un style renouvelé par ses recherches en matière d’arts décoratifs : lors de l’exposition Le Nouveau Mouvement en art à la galerie Mansard de Londres en 1916, quatre des peintures qu’elle présente sont abstraites. Durant la même année, elle acquiert avec D. Grant une maison de campagne à Charleston dans le Sussex. Le couple y réalise l’intégralité de la décoration, les couleurs et motifs pour les murs, les portes, le mobilier, la vaisselle, les tapis, les mosaïques du jardin. Les ateliers Omega ferment en 1919. Dans les années 1920-1930, le couple séjourne alternativement entre Londres, Charleston et la France. La première exposition personnelle de V. Bell a lieu en juin 1922 à l’Independent Gallery de Londres. Avec D. Grant, elle aménage de nombreux appartements privés comme celui de Mary Hutchinson (1889-1977) à Regent’s Park. Ils réalisent des couvertures de livres pour les éditions Hogarth Press (dirigées par Leonard et V. Woolf) ainsi que des décors et des costumes de théâtre. Natures mortes, paysages et nymphes constituent les sujets principaux de leur répertoire pictural. En 1938, ils enseignent à l’Euston Road School. En 1964, l’Arts Council of Great Britain de Londres consacre à l’œuvre de V. Bell une exposition rétrospective.

Lire plus

Cécile Godefroy

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, The Other Room, fin des années 1930, 161 x 174 cm, Collection privée, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo : Bill Philip, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Design for Omega Workshops Fabric, 1913, aquarelle, gouache et graphite sur papier, 53,3 x 40,7 cm, Yale Center for British Art, Paul Mellon Fund., Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Landscape with Haystack, Asheham, 1912, huile sur toile, panneau : 60,32 x 65,72 cm, Smith College Museum of Art, Northampton, Massachusetts, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Street Corner Conversation, vers 1913, huile sur panneau, 69 x 52 cm, Collection privée, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo : Colin Mills, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Tents and Figures, 1913, paravent, détrempe sur papier monté sur toile, cadre en bois tendre peint, 178,4 x 205,5 x 1,8 cm, Victoria & Albert Museum, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo : Victoria and Albert Museum, Londres, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Virginia Woolf, vers 1912, huile sur panneau, 40 x 34 cm, National Portrait Gallery, Londres, © National Portrait Gallery, Londres

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Asheham House, 1912, huile sur panneau, 47 x 53,5 cm, Collection privée, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo : Matthew Hollow, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Self–Portrait, vers 1915, huile sur toile sur panneau, 63,8 x 45,9 cm, Yale Center for British Art, Paul Mellon Fund., Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, Nude with Poppies, 1916, huile sur toile, 23,4 x 42,24 cm, huile sur toile, Swindon Museum and Art Gallery, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Vanessa Bell — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vanessa Bell, On the Steps of Santa Maria Salute, Venice, 1948, huile sur toile, 49 x 36,5 cm, Collection privée, Courtesy Henrietta Garnett, © Photo : The Bloomsbury Workshop, © Estate Vanessa Bell

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29