Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Feliza Bursztyn

1933Bogota, Colombia | 1982Paris, France
Informations
Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Rafael Moure

Sponsor
— Studio Camilo Leyva

Colombian sculptor.

Feliza Bursztyn was born to Polish Jewish immigrants. Her father owned a small textile factory, which allowed F. Bursztyn to pursue studies first in Bogotá, then at the Art Students League in New York, and lastly at the Académie de la Grande Chaumière in Paris. ln 1960 she converted a section of her father’s factory into an art studio. Her early decision to work with scrap metal and other pieces of discarded material was due to a combination of accessibility and of having met the Nouveau Réalisme sculptor César (1921-1998). When F. Bursztyn presented her first of eleven chatarras (sculptures made from scrap) in 1961, she received a harsh review from Walter Engel, one of Colombia’s leading art critics. By 1964 and on the occasion of her second solo show, however, W. Engel and others had reconsidered the possibilities of junk as an art medium. ln 1965 F. Bursztyn won first prize in sculpture at the 17th Salón Nacional, and in 1967 she unveiled a new body of work, made of stainless steel and with a kinetic conponent, which she titled Las Histéricas [The hysterical ones]. These motorized sculptures were occasionally presented in immersive environments that included not only a loud mechanical sound but also a short film titled Hoy Feliza [Today Feliza] by the experimental filmmaker Luis Ernesto Arocha.

ln the 1970s two important works—the series Las Camas [The Beds, 1974] and La baila mecámica [The mechanical dance, 1979]—fully embraced the possibilities of kinetic art in a multimedia setting. Debuting in 1974 at the Museo de Arte Moderno de Bogotá, Las camas consisted of thirteen motorized beds with strange shapes moving suggestively underneath satin sheets to a sound track composed by the experimental musician Jacqueline Nova. Similarly, for La baila mecámica, F. Bursztyn built seven large upright covered sculptures resembling bodies. As with the beds, the figures would “dance” to music with dramatic lighting to complete the stagelike presentation. Some saw these works as political commentaries against the state and the church, which did not bode well for F. Bursztyn. ln 1981, alter two trips to Cuba, she was detained and questioned for two days by the military. Shortly after her release she sought political asylum in Mexico and then settled in Paris, where in 1982 she died of a heart attack at the age of forty-nine. Her work has been collected privately and also by public institutions, such as the Museo de Arte Moderno, Museo Nacional de Colombia, and Banco de la República, all in Bogotá, and Tate Modern, London.

Read more

Marcela Cristina Guerrero

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Untitled, from Las Histéricas serie [Hysterics], 1968, stainless steel scraps, 83 x 55 x 60 cm, © Photo: Ernesto Monsalve

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Las Camas [Beds], 1974, 13 bunk beds, stainless steel scraps, modified motors, satin fabric, music in the installation by Jacqueline Nova, variable dimensions, Museo Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Untitled, Minimáquinas [Mini Machines], 1973, scrap metal from typewriter, 15.5 x 7.8 x 9.5 cm, © Photo: Ernesto Monsalve

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, La baila mecanica [The mechanical dance], 1979, linen, steel, motors and wheels, variable dimensions

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Monumento a Alfonso López Pumarejo [Monument to Alfonso López Pumarejo],   1967-2009, Oil pipeline scraps, 1200 x 500 x 300 cm, Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogota, © Photo: Ernesto Monsalve

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Untitled, form Color serie, 1981, scrap metal, 98 x 200 x 89 cm, © Photo: Ernesto Monsalve

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Feliza Bursztyn

1933Bogota, Colombie | 1982Paris, France
Informations
Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Rafael Moure

Soutien
— Studio Camilo Leyva

Sculptrice colombienne.

Feliza Bursztyn est née de parents juifs polonais immigrés en Colombie. Son père possède une fabrique textile prospère, ce qui permet à la jeune femme de faire des études, à Bogota d’abord, puis à l’Art Students League à New York et enfin à l’académie de la Grande Chaumière à Paris. En 1960, elle installe son atelier dans une des salles de la manufacture paternelle. Très tôt, à la suite de sa rencontre avec le sculpteur César (1921-1998), membre des nouveaux réalistes, elle travaille avec des chutes de métal et d’autres matériaux de rebut, faciles à obtenir. La présentation de la première de ses onze chatarras (sculptures faites de ferraille), en 1961, lui vaut un jugement acerbe de la part de Walter Engel, l’un des critiques d’art les plus influents de Colombie. Cependant, quand elle organise sa deuxième exposition en solo en 1964, W. Engel et ses collègues se sont ravisé·e·s et portent désormais un nouveau regard sur le rebut comme moyen d’expression artistique. En 1965, F. Bursztyn remporte le premier prix de sculpture au XVIIo Salón Nacional. En 1967, elle dévoile une nouvelle œuvre, en acier inoxydable et porteuse d’une dimension cinétique, qu’elle nomme Las Histéricas [Les hystériques]. Cet ensemble de sculptures motorisées trouve parfois place dans un environnement immersif qui inclut, outre un grand bruit mécanique, un court-métrage, intitulé Hoy Feliza [Aujourd’hui Feliza], réalisé par le cinéaste expérimental Luis Ernesto Arocha (1932-2016).

Dans les années 1970, F. Bursztyn embrasse pleinement les perspectives ouvertes par l’art cinétique et le multimédia avec deux œuvres majeures : la série Las Camas [Les lits, 1974] et La Baila mecánica [La danse mécanique, 1979]. Exposée pour la première fois au Museo de Arte Moderno de Bogota, Las Camas est composée de treize lits motorisés, où des formes étranges se meuvent de façon suggestive sous des draps de satin, sur une bande-son composée par la musicienne expérimentale Jacqueline Nova (1935-1975). Pour La Baila mecánica, F. Bursztyn conçoit sept hautes sculptures verticales, semblables à des corps couverts de tissus. Comme les lits, les figures « dansent » au son de la musique, tandis qu’un éclairage théâtral renforce l’effet de représentation. Certains ont alors vu dans ces créations un discours politique contre l’État et l’Église, ce qui ne présageait rien de bon pour F. Bursztyn. En 1981, après deux séjours à Cuba, elle est arrêtée et interrogée deux jours durant par l’armée. Une fois relâchée, elle demande l’asile politique au Mexique avant de s’installer à Paris, où elle meurt d’une crise cardiaque en 1982, dans sa quarante-neuvième année. Son œuvre est aujourd’hui conservée dans des collections privées ainsi que dans des musées, tels le Museo de Arte Moderno, le Museo Nacional de Colombia et le musée du Banco de la República, tous situés à Bogota, ou encore la Tate Modern, à Londres.

Lire plus

Marcela Cristina Guerrero

Traduit de l'anglais par Charlotte Matoussowsky.

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Untitled, issu de la série Las Histéricas [Les Hystériques], 1968, chutes d’acier inoxydable, 83 x 55 x 60 cm, © Photo : Ernesto Monsalve

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Las Camas [Les Lits], 1974, 13 lits superposés, chutes d’acier inoxydable, moteurs modifies, tissu satiné, musique de Jacqueline Nova dans l’installation, dimensions variables, Museo Nacional de Colombia, Bogotá

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Untitled, Minimáquinas [Minimachines], 1973, pièces de métal de machine à écrire, 15,5 x 7,8 x 9,5 cm, © Photo : Ernesto Monsalve

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, La baila mecanica [La danse mécanique], 1979, draps, acier, moteurs et roues, dimensions variables

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Monumento a Alfonso López Pumarejo [Monument à Alfonso López Pumarejo],  1967-2009, pièces d’oléoduc, 1200 x 500 x 300 cm, Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Bogota, © Photo : Ernesto Monsalve

Feliza Bursztyn — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Feliza Bursztyn, Untitled, issu de la série Color, 1981, chutes de métal, 98 x 200 x 89 cm, © Photo : Ernesto Monsalve

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29