Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Margarita Azurdia

1931Antigua, Guatemala | 1998Guatemala City, Guatemala
Informations

Guatemalan visual artist.

Born in Guatemala, Margarita Azurdia was educated in private boarding schools and attended a Catholic high school, Loretto Academy, in Niagara Falls, in Canada. She returned to Guatemala and married Carlos Fanjul when she was twenty years old. Primarily self-taught, she first became known as an artist under the name Margot Fanjul. Her first solo exhibition, in 1963, set the tone for her career as a constant, irreverent experimenter. During the 1960s M. Azurdia produced critically acclaimed large-scale abstract paintings, some composed of rhythmic arrangements of parallel lines, others consisting of large, flat fields with geometric and linear patterns in unusual color combinations reflecting indigenous textile designs. The influential Argentine critic Marta Traba extolled her paintings as among the most emblematic examples of art from Central America. M. Azurdia’s series Asta 104 received an honorary mention at the 10th Bienal de São Paulo in 1969 and signaled the artist’s lifelong search for the identity of human beings in the cosmos. With her presentation of manipulable marble abstract sculptures at the 3rd Bienal de Arte Coltejer in Medellín, in Colombia, in 1972, she sought to solicit public participation in her work. Azurdia’s first performance, Favor quitarse los zapatos [Please take off your shoes, 1970], presented at the 2nd Bienal de Arte Coltejer, tested the possibilities of “integrating the body of the public into the work, exploring sensorial capacities other than vision and expanding psychological awareness.”

Between 1971 and 1974 she created Homenaje a Guatemala [Tribute to Guatemala], a group of fifty wood sculptures painted and carved by local artisans, after the artist’s drawings. Following a divorce and a return to her maiden name in 1974, M. Azurdia left Guatemala and moved to Paris, where she concentrated on drawing and writing poetry. She also took contemporary dance classes. In 1982 she returned to Guatemala and founded an experimental performance group, Laboratorio de Creatividad, which included the artists Benjamin Herrarte, Marta Olga Herrarte, Lucrecia Herrera, Fernando Iturbíde, Maria del Carmen Pellecer Mayora and Marie Joe Rochas. Their goal was to conjure corporeal experiences in public places and outside the confines of art institutions to mobilise the public to action. When the group disbanded around 1985, M. Azurdia continued her explorations of sacred dance, everyday ritual, feminine spirituality, and unity with the earth. Regardless of her polemics, her work was widely recognised in national and international biennials and competitions and can be found in the collection of the Museo Nacional de Arte Moderno Carlos Mérida in Guatemala City and Colección de Arte del Banco de la República de Colombia in Bogotá, among many others. Azurdia died in 1998.

Read more

Dorota Biczel

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Favor quitarse los zapatos [Please take off your shoes], 1970, photographic documentation of interactive installation three black-and-white photographs, Biblioteca Pública Piloto, Medellín

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, La Libertad [Freedom], 1970-1974, wood with polychrome and plaster with string, horsehair and metal hook, 139.7 x 58.42 x 45.72 cm, Five Colleges and Historic Deerfield Museum Consortium

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Las Bananeras de Homenaje a Guatemala [The banana plantations of Tribute to Guatemala], 1971-1974

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Soy dos vidas con dos vidas [I am two lives with two lives], 1971, marble, 74 cm high, Arte del Banco de la Rebublica collection

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, The Coming of the Goddess, 1970-1974, wood with polychrome and plaster with feathers, twine and horsehair, 124.46 x 137.16 x 27.94 cm, Five Colleges and Historic Deerfield Museum Consortium

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Untitled, ca. 1968, acrylic on canvas, private collection

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Margarita Azurdia

1931Antigua, Guatemala | 1998Guatemala, Guatemala
Informations

Plasticienne guatémaltèque.

Margarita Azurdia naît au Guatemala et effectue sa scolarité dans des pensionnats privés, puis dans un lycée catholique, la Loretto Academy, à Niagara Falls, au Canada. Elle retourne ensuite au Guatemala et épouse Carlos Fanjul à l’âge de 20 ans. Essentiellement autodidacte, elle entame son parcours artistique sous le nom de Margot Fanjul. Sa première exposition individuelle, en 1963, donne le ton d’une carrière qui sera placée sous le signe d’une expérimentation constante et irrévérencieuse. Au cours des années 1960, M. Azurdia peint des tableaux abstraits en grand format qui lui valent un succès critique. Certains d’entre eux sont constitués d’agencements réguliers de lignes parallèles, d’autres de grands aplats et de motifs géométriques et linéaires dont les associations de couleurs inhabituelles rappellent les textiles des populations autochtones. L’influente critique d’art argentine Marta Traba classe ses tableaux parmi les exemples les plus emblématiques de l’art centraméricain. Sa série Asta 104, qui obtient un prix d’honneur à la Xe Biennale de São Paulo en 1969, symbolise la quête d’identité des êtres humains au sein du cosmos, sujet qui préoccupera l’artiste tout au long de sa vie. En 1972, elle expose une série de sculptures abstraites, en marbre et manipulables, à la IIIe Biennale d’art Coltejer à Medellín, en Colombie, et, ce faisant, encourage le public à participer à son œuvre. Sa première performance, Favor Quitarse los Zapatos [Veuillez enlever vos chaussures, 1970], présentée à la IIe Biennale d’art Coltejer, teste la possibilité « d’intégrer le corps des visiteurs et visiteuses au travail, d’explorer nos capacités sensorielles au-delà de la vue, et d’élargir notre conscience psychique ».

Entre 1971 et 1974, M. Azurdia crée Homenaje a Guatemala [Hommage au Guatemala], un groupe de cinquante sculptures en bois, qu’elle fait peindre et tailler par des artisans locaux d’après ses dessins. Après son divorce et après avoir repris son nom de jeune fille en 1974, elle quitte le Guatemala et s’installe à Paris, où elle se consacre au dessin et à la poésie. Elle suit également des cours de danse contemporaine. En 1982, elle retourne au Guatemala et fonde le groupe de performance expérimentale Laboratorio de Creatividad, dont font partie les artistes Benjamín Herrarte, Marta Olga Herrarte, Lucrecia Herrera, Fernando Iturbide, María del Carmen Pellecer Mayora et Marie Joe Rochas. Leur objectif est de faire surgir des expériences corporelles dans l’espace public et en dehors de frontières des institutions artistiques afin de pousser le public à l’action. Lorsque le groupe se dissout aux alentours de 1985, M. Azurdia poursuit son exploration de la danse sacrée, du rituel quotidien, de la spiritualité féminine et du lien avec la terre. Malgré son aspect polémique, son travail est amplement reconnu au sein des biennales et concours, au Guatemala et à l’étranger. Ses œuvres sont conservées dans de nombreuses collections, dont celles du Museo Nacional de Arte Moderno Carlos Mérida à Guatemala et la Colección de Arte del Banco de la República à Bogota en Colombie. M. Azurdia s’éteint en 1998.

Lire plus

Dorota Biczel

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Favor quitarse los zapatos [Veuillez enlever vos chaussures], 1970, documentation photographique de l’installation interactive en trois photographies en noir et blanc, Biblioteca Pública Piloto, Medellín

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, La Libertad [La liberté], 1970-1974, bois polychrome et plâtre avec chaînes, crin et crochet en metal, 139,7 x 58,42 x 45,72 cm, Five Colleges and Historic Deerfield Museum Consortium

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Las Bananeras de Homenaje a Guatemala [Les bananeraies de Hommage au Guatemala], 1971-1974

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Soy dos vidas con dos vidas [Je suis deux vies avec deux vies], 1971, marbre, 74 cm de haut, Collection Arte del Banco de la Rebublica

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, The Coming of the Goddess, 1970-1974, bois polychrome et plâtre avec plumes, ficelle et crin, 124,46 x 137,16 x 27,94 cm, Five Colleges and Historic Deerfield Museum Consortium

Margarita  Azurdia — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Margarita Azurdia, Untitled, vers 1968, acrylique sur toile, collection particulière

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29