Browse by Themes

Sculpture: An Art Without Women?
Major Questions in Art History
12.06.2020 | Nina Meisel

Marta Pan, Lentilles flottantes, 1994, casted resin, Ø 210 cm x 105 cm, Ø 82.7 x 41.4 in., Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Camille Claudel (1864-1943) appears to be the embodiment of French female sculptors, yet she was not the exception to the rule, as women have sculpted and continue to sculpt today. Sculpture is a costly, technical and psychical practice, yet that has not stopped women from investing in it. At the beginning of the twentieth century financial pressures pushed female creators to sell their works by engaging with fashionable trends such as bestiaries, as was the case for Jane Poupelet (1874-1932) and Renée Sintenis (1888-1965), who made reputations for themselves in the art world.

Certain women took up chisels to respond to official commissions that allowed them to work with large-scale stones and to durably inscribe their works into public space. In Buenos Aires the Fuente de las Nereidas (1903) was made by Lola Mora (1867-1936), one of the best-known female Argentinian sculptors. Symbol of the Stalinist regime, erected for the USSR Pavilion at the 1937 World’s Fair in Paris, Worker and Kolkhoz Woman by Vera Ignatyevna Mukhina (1889-1953) is also a good example of a monumental and public sculpture realised by a woman. In these exercises, some women compete with men, such as Anna Semyonovna Golubkina (1864-1927) as she sculpted one of the doors of the Muscovite opera house in a clear response to the Gates of Hell of her French master Auguste Rodin (1840-1917). (It was also through representing important personalities of their time that these sculptors became well-known: A. Golubkina realised a portrait gallery amongst including poet and writer Andrei Bely (1907). As for Ausgusta Sauvage (1892-1962), she sculpted in clay the illustrious faces of the African American community.

Women artists also initiated a reflection on the artworks’ environment. Germaine Richier (1902-1959) maintained a classical approach to the body and played with the plinth, which became its constituent element. At the same time, Barbara Hepworth (1903-1975) was interested in the ovoid forms she fashioned from industrial materials. This innovation changed the artist’s relationship to the material: stone was cut, plastic was bent, steel was twisted. Artworks adapted and responded to the spaces in which they were installed. Marta Pan (1923-2008) played with double reflections in water and metal, whereas Saloua Raouda Choucair (1916-2017) realised sculptures that could be transposed into various materials – wood, stone, metal, terracotta and fiberglass – and whose scale ranged from the minuscule to the monumental.

Questions about form and the body have inhabited both modern and contemporary women sculptors who have made it a powerful tool for dissent. This can be seen not only in the work of Tayeba Begum Lipi (b. 1969), who projected her own face onto mannequins wearing niqabs and chadors in her installation Toys Are Watching Toys (2002) to denounce the Islamisation of Bangladeshi society. It is also evident in the work of Berlinde de Bruyckere (b. 1964), where suffering bodies made of pale wax are adorned with elements of Christian iconography, such as the long hair of Mary Magdalene.

Recently, the work of Marie Orensanz (b. 1936) has benefited from renewed recognition as she was awarded the AWARE 2020 Outstanding Merit Prize. Today the work of female sculptors have recognition and have been celebrated in exhibitions such as Sculpture’Elles : Les sculpteurs femme du XVIIIe siècle à nos jours (2011) at the Musée des Années 30 in Boulogne-Billancourt, France, as well as in Anne Rivière’s publication Dictionnaire des sculptrices en France (2018) that inventories the work of many women artists who remain little known.

Artists
Explore the artists
1864 — 1943 | France
Camille Claudel - AWARE

Camille Claudel

1874 — 1932 | France
Jane Poupelet - AWARE

Jane Poupelet

1888 — Poland | 1965 — Germany
Renée Sintenis - AWARE

Renée Sintenis

1867 — 1936 | Argentina
Lola Mora - AWARE

Lola Mora

1889 — Latvia | 1953 — Russia
Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina - AWARE

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina

1864 — 1927 | Russia
Anna Goloubkina - AWARE

Anna Goloubkina

1902 — 1959 | France
Germaine Richier - AWARE

Germaine Richier

1903 — 1975 | United Kingdom
Barbara Hepworth - AWARE

Barbara Hepworth

1923 — Hungary | 2008 — France
Marta Pan - AWARE

Marta Pan

1916 — 2017 | Lebanon
Saloua Raouda  Choucair - AWARE

Saloua Raouda Choucair

1969 | Bangladesh
Tayeba Begum Lipi - AWARE

Tayeba Begum Lipi

1964 | Belgium
Berlinde De Bruyckere - AWARE

Berlinde De Bruyckere

1936 | Argentina
Marie Orensanz - AWARE

Marie Orensanz

1911 — Chile | 1952 — France
Juana Muller - AWARE

Juana Muller

1922 — 2019 | Iran
Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian - AWARE

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian

1874 — Poland | 1927 — France
Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven - AWARE

Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven

1888 — Ukraine | 1968 — Israel
Chana Orloff - AWARE

Chana Orloff

1894 — 1973 | Brazil
Maria Martins - AWARE

Maria Martins

1953 | Bolivia
Carmen Perrin - AWARE

Carmen Perrin

1892 — 1962 | United States
Augusta Savage - AWARE

Augusta Savage

1869 — 1940 | United States
Janet Scudder - AWARE

Janet Scudder

1911 — Denmark | 1984 — France
Sonja Ferlov Mancoba - AWARE

Sonja Ferlov Mancoba

1963 — France | 1946 — ?
Marcelle Renée Lancelot-Croce - AWARE

Marcelle Renée Lancelot-Croce

1877 — 1967 | France
Geneviève Granger - AWARE

Geneviève Granger

1836 — Switzerland | 1879 — Italy
Marcello (Adèle d’Affry, duchesse de Castiglione Colonna, dite) - AWARE

Marcello (Adèle d’Affry, duchesse de Castiglione Colonna, dite)

1844 — 1923 | France
Sarah  Bernhardt - AWARE

Sarah Bernhardt

1825 — 1909 | France
Hélène Bertaux - AWARE

Hélène Bertaux

1828 — 1888 | France
Claude Vignon (Marie-Noémi Cadiot-Constant Rouvier, dite) - AWARE

Claude Vignon (Marie-Noémi Cadiot-Constant Rouvier, dite)

1844 — 1924 | France
Marie Cazin - AWARE

Marie Cazin

1878 — 1954 | Germany
Clara Rilke-Westhoff - AWARE

Clara Rilke-Westhoff

1859 — 1926 | France
Blanche Adèle Moria - AWARE

Blanche Adèle Moria

1940 | United States
Nancy Grossman - AWARE

Nancy Grossman

1971 | United States
Shinique Smith - AWARE

Shinique Smith

1969 | Mexico
Paula Santiago - AWARE

Paula Santiago

1894 — 1974 | Italy
Regina Cassolo Bracchi - AWARE

Regina Cassolo Bracchi

1970 | Brazil
Lídia Lisboa - AWARE

Lídia Lisboa

1926 — 2013 | United States
Ruth Asawa - AWARE

Ruth Asawa

1964 | Argentina
Nicola Costantino - AWARE

Nicola Costantino

1948 | United States
Joyce J. Scott - AWARE

Joyce J. Scott

1961 | Jamaica
Jasmine Thomas-Girvan - AWARE

Jasmine Thomas-Girvan

1902 — Germany | 1998 — Israel
Hedwig Grossmann Lehmann - AWARE

Hedwig Grossmann Lehmann

See more
Explore

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

La sculpture, un art sans femmes ?
Les grandes questions de l’histoire de l’art
12.06.2020 | Nina Meisel

Marta Pan, Lentilles flottantes, 1994, résine moulée, Ø 210 cm x 105 cm, Courtesy Galerie Mitterrand, © Fondation Marta Pan-André Wogenscky

Camille Claudel (1864-1943) apparaît comme la représentante des sculptrices françaises, mais elle n’est pas pour autant l’exception qui confirme la règle, puisque les femmes ont sculpté et sculptent encore. La sculpture est une pratique coûteuse, technique et physique, mais cela ne les a pas empêchées de s’y investir. La nécessité financière pousse les créatrices du début du XXe siècle à vendre leurs œuvres en se prêtant aux effets de modes, c’est le cas de Jane Poupelet (1874-1932) ou de Renée Sintenis (1888-1965) qui grâce au bestiaire se font une réputation dans le monde de l’art.

Certaines femmes prennent le burin et le ciseau pour répondre à des commandes officielles, celles-ci leur permettent de travailler la pierre à grande échelle et d’inscrire durablement leurs œuvres dans l’espace public. À Buenos Aires, la Fuente de las Nereidas [Fontaine des Néréides, 1903] fait de Lola Mora (1867-1936) l’une des sculptrices les plus réputées d’Argentine. L’Ouvrier et la kolkhozienne de Vera Ignatevna Moukhina (1889-1953), symbole du régime stalinien érigé pour le pavillon de l’URSS de l’Exposition universelle de 1937 à Paris, est lui aussi un bon exemple de sculpture monumentale et publique réalisée par une femme. Dans ces exercices, certaines se mesurent aux hommes, ainsi, Anna Sémionovna Goloubkina (1864-1927) lorsqu’elle cisèle l’une des portes de l’opéra moscovite, formule une réponse à la Porte de l’enfer de son maître français Auguste Rodin (1840-1917). Aussi, c’est en représentant les personnalités de leur temps que des sculptrices passent à la postérité, A. Sémionovna Gouloubkina réalise une galerie de portraits parmi lesquels celui du poète et écrivain Andreï Biély (1907), et Ausgusta Sauvage (1892-1962) quant à elle forme dans l’argile les visages illustres de la communauté noire américaine.

Des artistes initient aussi une réflexion sur l’environnement de l’œuvre : Germaine Richier (1902-1959) conserve une approche classique du corps et joue avec le socle qui en devient un élément constitutif ; en parallèle, Barbara Hepworth (1903-1975) s’intéresse aux formes ovoïdales qu’elle façonne dans des matériaux industriels. Cette innovation modifie le rapport de l’artiste à la matière : la pierre se taille, le plastique se plie, l’acier se tord… Les œuvres s’adaptent et répondent aux lieux dans lesquels elles s’installent. Marta Pan (1923-2008) s’amuse avec la double réflexion de l’eau et du métal, tandis que Saloua Raouda Choucair (1916-2017) réalise des sculptures qui se transposent dans divers matériaux – le bois, la pierre, le métal, la terre cuite ou encore la fibre de verre – et dont l’échelle va du minuscule au monumental.

Les questionnements sur la forme et le corps ont habité tant les sculptrices modernes que contemporaines qui en ont fait un outil de contestation puissant. On l’observe dans le travail de Tayeba Begum Lipi (née en 1969) qui projette son propre visage sur des mannequins en burqa – dans son installation Toys Watching Toys en 2002 – afin de dénoncer l’islamisation de la société bangladaise, mais aussi chez Berlinde de Bruyckere (née en 1964), où les corps faits de cire blême sont mis en souffrance. L’artiste y lie des éléments de l’iconographie chrétienne pour se rapprocher des sculptures religieuses réalistes espagnol du XVIIe siècle.

Récemment, le travail de Marie Orensanz (née en 1936) a bénéficié d’une nouvelle mise en lumière grâce au prix d’honneur AWARE 2020. Les œuvres des sculptrices ont aujourd’hui une reconnaissance et sont célébrées dans des expositions telles que Sculpture’Elles. Les sculpteurs femmes du XVIIIe siècle à nos jours (2011) au musée des années 30 à Boulogne-Billancourt, mais aussi des publications comme l’ouvrage d’Anne Rivière, Dictionnaire des sculptrices en France (2018) qui inventorie le travail d’un grand nombre d’artistes femmes encore peu (re)connues.

Artistes
Découvrir les artistes
1864 — 1943 | France
Camille Claudel - AWARE

Camille Claudel

1874 — 1932 | France
Jane Poupelet - AWARE

Jane Poupelet

1888 — Pologne | 1965 — Allemagne
Renée Sintenis - AWARE

Renée Sintenis

1867 — 1936 | Argentine
Lola Mora - AWARE

Lola Mora

1889 — Lettonie | 1953 — Russie
Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina - AWARE

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina

1864 — 1927 | Russie
Anna Goloubkina - AWARE

Anna Goloubkina

1902 — 1959 | France
Germaine Richier - AWARE

Germaine Richier

1903 — 1975 | Royaume-Uni
Barbara Hepworth - AWARE

Barbara Hepworth

1923 — Hongrie | 2008 — France
Marta Pan - AWARE

Marta Pan

1916 — 2017 | Liban
Saloua Raouda  Choucair - AWARE

Saloua Raouda Choucair

1969 | Bangladesh
Tayeba Begum Lipi - AWARE

Tayeba Begum Lipi

1964 | Belgique
Berlinde De Bruyckere - AWARE

Berlinde De Bruyckere

1936 | Argentine
Marie Orensanz - AWARE

Marie Orensanz

1911 — Chili | 1952 — France
Juana Muller - AWARE

Juana Muller

1922 — 2019 | Iran
Monir Shahroudy  Farmanfarmaian - AWARE

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian

1874 — Pologne | 1927 — France
Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven - AWARE

Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven

1888 — Ukraine | 1968 — Israël
Chana Orloff - AWARE

Chana Orloff

1894 — 1973 | Brésil
Maria Martins - AWARE

Maria Martins

1953 | Bolivie
Carmen Perrin - AWARE

Carmen Perrin

1892 — 1962 | États-Unis
Augusta Savage - AWARE

Augusta Savage

1869 — 1940 | États-Unis
Janet Scudder - AWARE

Janet Scudder

1911 — Danemark | 1984 — France
Sonja Ferlov Mancoba - AWARE

Sonja Ferlov Mancoba

1963 — France | 1946 — ?
Marcelle Renée Lancelot-Croce - AWARE

Marcelle Renée Lancelot-Croce

1877 — 1967 | France
Geneviève Granger - AWARE

Geneviève Granger

1836 — Suisse | 1879 — Italie
Marcello (Adèle d’Affry, duchesse de Castiglione Colonna, dite) - AWARE

Marcello (Adèle d’Affry, duchesse de Castiglione Colonna, dite)

1844 — 1923 | France
Sarah  Bernhardt - AWARE

Sarah Bernhardt

1825 — 1909 | France
Hélène Bertaux - AWARE

Hélène Bertaux

1828 — 1888 | France
Claude Vignon (Marie-Noémi Cadiot-Constant Rouvier, dite) - AWARE

Claude Vignon (Marie-Noémi Cadiot-Constant Rouvier, dite)

1844 — 1924 | France
Marie Cazin - AWARE

Marie Cazin

1878 — 1954 | Allemagne
Clara Rilke-Westhoff - AWARE

Clara Rilke-Westhoff

1859 — 1926 | France
Blanche Adèle Moria - AWARE

Blanche Adèle Moria

1940 | États-Unis
Nancy Grossman - AWARE

Nancy Grossman

1971 | États-Unis
Shinique Smith - AWARE

Shinique Smith

1969 | Mexique
Paula Santiago - AWARE

Paula Santiago

1894 — 1974 | Italie
Regina Cassolo Bracchi - AWARE

Regina Cassolo Bracchi

1970 | Brésil
Lídia Lisboa - AWARE

Lídia Lisboa

1926 — 2013 | États-Unis
Ruth Asawa - AWARE

Ruth Asawa

1964 | Argentine
Nicola Costantino - AWARE

Nicola Costantino

1948 | États-Unis

Joyce J. Scott

En voir plus
Découvrir

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29