İnci Eviner

1955 | Polatlı, Turkey
Informations
Sponsor
— İnci Eviner

Turkish visual artist.

Trained as a painter at the Istanbul Academy of Fine Arts, İnci Eviner has always used drawing as a point of departure, formally and conceptually. In her artistic practice, spanning over forty years, Eviner’s increasingly layered constellations of objects, images, sounds, performances, videos and situations have most been hosted in architectural structures that mimic the labyrinthine vision of her drawings.
İ. Eviner’s exploration of the subject as an ever-changing, permeable entity has led her to delve into the tenuous nature of representation. The intimate scrutiny of the female body in her practice stems from a conflicted gaze, constantly negotiating the imminence of death, constructing a fragile structure for her webs of images and mark-making. İ. Eviner challenges familiarity through her persistent upheavals of form – the self-contained nature of her visual universe calls attention to the need for strength to bear witness to the world today.

As part of the 13th Istanbul Biennial, which took place a few months after the Gezi protests, in 2013, İ. Eviner worked collaboratively with a group of forty student artists to conduct a forty-day performative research on a stage she constructed at the Galata Greek School, which visitors could view from the mezzanine (Co-Action Device, 2013). The artist, who has been a teacher throughout her artistic practice, underscored the integrated nature of her work by creating a framework in which research was conducted in semi-permeable sections, a self-reflexive gesture of setting up co-learning as a performance, articulating publicly a shared space.
İ. Eviner’s video Harem (2009) takes on the fetishising gazes onto the East and the unseen space of the Harem to dissolve renditions of gestures, movements and bodies, seemingly moving in compulsive manners. Her treatment of the different levels in a Antoine-Ignace Melling drawing –Scènes de la vie quotidienne à l’intérieur du harem (1804) – to unpack the Cartesian treatment of a fantasy space inherently hosts the tension between the imagination and pictorial representation that İ. Eviner seeks to unpack with her works. Through the looping video, a spectral image and movement linger, reinforcing the distance between seeing and knowing.

In 2019 İ. Eviner represented Turkey at the Venice Biennial with her installation We, Elsewhere, taking Hannah Arendt’s 1943 essay “We Refugees” as a starting point. Particularly of interest for İ. Eviner was H. Arendt’s notion that people are losing the spontaneity of their relationship with the world. Collaboratively working with dancers and musicians to create a fully immersive space that included multiple architectural layers, the artist pointed to the staging innate to the structure of a national pavilion. İ. Eviner explored the potential of the individual to merge somewhere with the we, tracing that space with images and objects that palpitated with the transformative potential of the presence of the audience.
İ. Eviner’s work is held in collections including Arter and Istanbul Modern Museum in İstanbul; musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou in Paris; Guggenheim Museum in New York; and TBA21 Wien in Vienna.
She was the subject of a retrospective exhibition Who’s Inside You? at Istanbul Modern Museum, in 2016, and among her solo exhibitions are Harem, Whitechapel Gallery, London (2009), Broken Manifestos, Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris, Paris (2011) and Runaway Girls, The Drawing Center, New York (2015).

Read more

Merve Ünsal

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Beuys Underground, 2017, video still, video installation 4K, 2’40’’, Courtesy Sharjah Art Foundation, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Baby Woman, 2005, ink on paper, 153 x 113 cm, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Birdmind-3, 2017, silkscreen and ink on paper, 140 x 108 cm, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Broken Manifestos, 2010, 3 channel HD video, 3’ loop, 6 channel sound installation, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Harem, 2009, single channel HD video, 3’ loop, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Islamic Grader, 2007, acrylic and silkscreen on canvas, 220 x 320 cm, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Parliement, 2010, single channel HD video, 3’ loop, 2 channel sound, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Reenacment of Heaven, 2018, 4K video, 2 channels, 4’ loop, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, We, Elsewhere, 2019, architecture structure, sound design, video, drawings, Venice Biennial Turkish Pavilion, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, We, Elsewhere, 2019, architecture structure, sound design, video, drawings, Venice Biennial Turkish Pavilion, © İnci Eviner

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

İnci Eviner

1955 | Polatlı, Turquie
Informations
Soutien
— İnci Eviner

Plasticienne turque.

İnci Eviner a suivi des études de peinture à l’Académie des beaux-arts d’Istanbul. Elle a toujours utilisé le dessin comme base formelle et conceptuelle de son travail. Sa pratique artistique, qui s’étend sur quatre décennies, laisse la part belle à une constellation de superpositions, de plus en plus complexes, d’objets, de sons, de performances, de vidéos et de situations, exposées sous l’aspect de structures architecturales évocatrices de la dimension labyrinthique de ses dessins.
L’exploration du sujet en tant qu’entité perméable et en perpétuelle évolution a conduit l’artiste à creuser la question de la nature délicate de la représentation. L’examen minutieux du corps féminin au sein de sa pratique découle d’un regard ambigu qui compose constamment avec l’imminence de la mort, construisant une structure fragile sur laquelle reposent ses tissages d’images et de marquages. İ. Eviner remet en cause l’impression de familiarité par un bouleversement perpétuel de la forme. Le caractère autonome de son univers visuel révèle le courage requis pour témoigner du monde aujourd’hui.

À l’occasion de la XIIIe Biennale d’Istanbul, quelques mois après les manifestations du parc Gezi en 2013, İ. Eviner travaille en collaboration avec un groupe de 40 étudiants et étudiantes en école d’art sur un projet de performance-recherche. Celui-ci se déroule sur une scène qu’elle fait construire à la Galata Greek School, et le public peut l’observer d’une mezzanine (Co-Action Device, 2013). L’artiste, qui est également enseignante, souligne cet aspect hybride de son travail en créant un cadre au sein duquel la recherche s’effectue par sections semi-perméables, issues d’une volonté réfléchie d’envisager le coapprentissage comme une performance, comme une façon d’ouvrir à tous et à toutes un espace partagé.
Sa vidéo Harem (2009) met en jeu une vision fétichisée de l’Orient et l’espace clos du harem en dissolvant la représentation des gestes, des mouvements et des corps, qui semblent bouger de manière compulsive. Son traitement des différents niveaux d’un dessin d’Antoine-Ignace Melling, Scènes de la vie quotidienne à l’intérieur du harem (1804), déconstruit la conception cartésienne d’un espace fantasmé et porte en son sein une tension entre l’imaginaire et la figuration picturale que la plasticienne cherche à analyser dans ses œuvres. La vidéo, diffusée en boucle, prolonge les mouvements et leurs traînées spectrales, accentuant ainsi l’écart entre vision et connaissance.

En 2019, İ. Eviner représente la Turquie à la Biennale de Venise avec son installation We, Elsewhere, qui prend pour point de départ l’essai de Hannah Arendt Nous autres réfugiés (1943). L’artiste s’intéresse à l’idée de H. Arendt selon laquelle nous sommes en train de perdre en spontanéité dans notre rapport au monde. Elle travaille avec des danseur·euse·s et des musicien·ne·s afin de créer un espace entièrement immersif sur plusieurs niveaux d’architecture et, ce faisant, attire l’attention sur la mise en scène intrinsèque de la structure d’un pavillon national. Elle explore la capacité de chaque individu de fusionner en certains points avec le collectif, et délinée cet espace à l’aide d’images et d’objets animés par le potentiel transformateur de la présence du public.
Les œuvres d’İ. Eviner figurent dans le fonds de nombreuses institutions, dont la galerie Arter et le musée d’Art moderne d’Istanbul, le musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou à Paris, le Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum à New York et TBA21 à Vienne.
Une rétrospective de son œuvre, Who’s Inside You?, a été organisée au musée d’Art moderne d’Istanbul en 2016. Parmi ses expositions individuelles, citons Harem à la Whitechapel Gallery, à Londres (2009) ; Broken Manifestos, au musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris (2011), et Runaway Girls au Drawing Center, à New York (2015).

Lire plus

Merve Ünsal

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Beuys Underground, 2017, capture de vidéo, installation vidéo 4K, 2’40’’, Courtesy Sharjah Art Foundation, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Baby Woman, 2005, encre sur papier, 153 x 113 cm, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Birdmind-3, 2017, sérigraphie et encre sur papier, 140 x 108 cm, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Broken Manifestos, 2010, 3 canaux vidéo HD, boucle de 3 minutes, installation sonore à 6 sorties, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Harem, 2009, canau simple, vidéo HD, boucle de 3 minutes, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Islamic Grader, 2007, acrylique and sérigraphie sur toile, 220 x 320 cm, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Parliement, 2010, canau simple, vidéo HD, boucle de 3 minutes, 2 sorties de son, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, Reenacment of Heaven, 2018, vidéo 4K, 2 canaux vidéo HD, boucle de 4 minutes, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, We, Elsewhere, 2019, structure architecturale, design sonore, vidéo, dessins, Pavaillon turque de la Biennale de Venise, © İnci Eviner

İnci  Eviner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

İnci Eviner, We, Elsewhere, 2019, structure architecturale, design sonore, vidéo, dessins, Pavaillon turque de la Biennale de Venise, © İnci Eviner

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29