Mandy Martin

1952 | Adelaide, Australia
Informations

Australian painter.

A graduate of the South Australian School of Art (1975), where she also taught, Mandy Martin is a figurative painter influenced by her Australian roots and the respect of nature. She first practiced engraving and created politically engaged posters: one of which, depicting Vietcong women demonstrating in front of a giant bottle of Coca-Cola, was published in the New York feminist magazine Heresies in 1977. She acquired great fame in the late 1970s by contributing to the circulation ideas linked to the Progressive Art Movement and the Women’s Art Movement. After moving to Canberra in 1978 she returned to painting with urban and industrial scenes inspired by the suburbs of Canberra and Sydney. Despite the absence of figures, the isolated buildings represented, for her, individual solitude, particularly that of women immigrants. Exhibited for the first time in Melbourne in 1981, these austere, large-format paintings with an expressionist touch highlight the overwhelming power of a machinist world and the contrast between nature and culture, as seen with the series Powerhouses (1983).

During the same period, the painter researched English Romantic landscapes from the end of the 18th and early 19thcenturies. A commission for the new Parliament House in Canberra, Red Ochre Cove (1988) reveals a dual influence: Aboriginal culture and European tradition. In the 1990s M. Martin abandoned industrial scenes for the Australian desert with ochre panoramic scenes. In 1997 she travelled to the south-west of Queensland in Australia, then to Italy, where she followed the footsteps of painter Salvatore Rosa. The socio-political dimension of her painting took a mythological and ecological turn in large-format canvases. She organised environmental art workshops in remote areas in collaboration with indigenous Australians. Her work is present in various art collections.

Read more

Fanny Drugeon

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Romantic coastal landscape, 1986, oil on canvas, 180 x 240 cm, © Tarra Warra Museum, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Pink shed 3, 1980, 63.2 x 29.5 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Pink break, 1984, oil on canvas, 173.2 x 244.3 x 3.3 cm, © National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, No voice but the silence sank like music on my heart, 1993, cream Magnani Pescia wove paper, 56.4 x 76 cm, © National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Near Innamincka, 1995, oil, earth pigment and pencil on canvas, 25.7 x 71.2 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Factories 2, 1981, oil on canvas, 120 x 182.4 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Big Boss, 1976, colour photo-screenprint, 88 x 47.8 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Beyond Metropolis, 1985, oil on cancas, 173.3 x 244.4 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, A lovely house in Springfield and a chauffeur driven Jag, 1975, prints, posters, screenprint, printed in colour inks, from multiple stencils, 67.6 x 45.8 cm, © National Gallery of Australia, © ADAGP, Paris

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Mandy Martin

1952 | Adelaïde, Australie
Informations

Peintre australienne.

Diplômée de la South Australian School of Art en 1975 puis professeure, Mandy Martin est une peintre figurative, marquée par ses racines australiennes et le respect de la nature. Elle pratique d’abord la gravure et réalise des affiches politiquement engagées : l’une d’entre elles, représentant des femmes vietcong manifestant devant une bouteille de Coca-Cola géante, est publiée dans le magazine féministe new-yorkais Heresies, en 1977. Elle acquiert une grande notoriété à la fin des années 1970, en contribuant à faire circuler les idées liées au Progressive Art Movement et au Women’s Art Movement. Installée à Canberra en 1978, elle revient à la peinture, avec des vues urbaines et industrielles, inspirées de la banlieue de Canberra et de Sydney. Malgré l’absence de personnages, les bâtiments isolés symbolisent, pour elle, la solitude de l’individu, et notamment celle des femmes immigrées. Exposées pour la première fois à Melbourne en 1981, ces peintures austères de grand format, à la touche expressionniste, soulignent souvent le pouvoir écrasant du monde usinier et le contraste entre la nature et la culture, comme, par exemple, la série des Powerhouses (1983).

La peintre mène, à la même époque, une recherche sur le paysage romantique anglais entre la fin du XVIIIe et le début du XIXe siècle. Red Ochre Cove [Crique ocre rouge, 1988], commandé pour la salle de réunion du Parlement de Canberra, témoigne de sa double influence : la culture aborigène et les traditions européennes. Dans les années 1990, M. Martin abandonne les scènes industrielles pour le désert australien, avec des vues panoramiques ocre. En 1997, elle part dans le sud-ouest du Queensland en Australie, puis en Italie, où elle suit notamment les traces du peintre Salvatore Rosa. La thématique socio-politique de sa peinture prend une tournure mythologique et écologique dans des tableaux de grand format. Elle organise aussi des ateliers d’art environnemental dans des régions reculées, en collaboration avec des Aborigènes australiens. Son œuvre est présente dans de nombreuses collections.

Lire plus

Fanny Drugeon

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Romantic coastal landscape, 1986, huile sur toile, 180 x 240 cm, © Tarra Warra Museum, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Pink shed 3, 1980, 63,2 x 29,5 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Pink break, 1984, huile sur toile, 173,2 x 244,3 x 3,3 cm, © National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, No voice but the silence sank like music on my heart, 1993, crème Magnani Pescia sur vélin, 56,4 x 76 cm, © National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Near Innamincka, 1995, huile, pigment naturels sur toile, 25,7 x 71,2 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Factories 2, 1981, huile sur toile, 120 x 182,4 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Big Boss, 1976, sérigraphie en couleur, 88 x 47,8 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, Beyond Metropolis, 1985, huile sur toile, 173,3 x 244,4 cm, © National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, © ADAGP, Paris

Mandy Martin — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mandy Martin, A lovely house in Springfield and a chauffeur driven Jag, 1975, estampe, affiches, sérigraphie, impression en couleur avec pochoirs, 67,6 x 45,8 cm, © National Gallery of Australia, © ADAGP, Paris

Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29